Asheville West KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9015

Info: 828-665-7015

Email

309 Wiggins Road

Candler, NC 28715

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 25, 2016
We stayed in tent site T-11. The site was spacious and clean but a poor site for a tent. Soil was too shallow (2-3 inches) to hold tent stakes. With the interstate 100 yards away it was a loud night of semi trucks and attempting to restake the tent. The bath house is close and an easy walk but the floodlight outside shines like a spotlight into a tent.
Apr 25, 2016
Nice place in the woods. But the roads could use a bit of grading. They were hard on the RV.
Apr 25, 2016
Really the best KOA I have stayed at so far with the mountains, flowering trees, trees, and very clean facilities. Loved the cabin also.
Apr 21, 2016
Nice campground but too close to the highway for us, a lot of traffic noise
Apr 21, 2016
Someone stole our air hose out of our car during the night. Reported to koa staff.
Apr 20, 2016
Everyone was real nice
Apr 19, 2016
The staff was super friendly and everything was very clean. We stayed in a cabin, and surprisingly could still hear the traffic from the interstate. But other than that, our stay was wonderful. Very nice campground and would definitely stay here again!
Apr 19, 2016
Very nice park, rustic but it is in the mountains! Heather very helpful with tickets to Biltmore and other info. Others complained about road noise, we did not think it was a problem
Apr 18, 2016
We stayed in the Lodge Cabin. Cabin was nice and clean. We utilized the fire pit every night. The staff are friendly and the campground looked well taken care of. My only complaint is the proximity to the highway and the noise from the traffic.The noise really takes away from the peaceful atmosphere.
Apr 18, 2016
Nice friendly staff,clean facilities. A little too much traffic noise for us though.
Apr 16, 2016
This KOA is conveniently located near Asheville itself. It is nicely maintained, and it was very easy to stay there for a week or so.
Apr 15, 2016
Apr 14, 2016
It was in March. So not a lot of people. But we were treated just wonderful. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.
Apr 14, 2016
The ground were well kept and the bath house was clean and convenient.
Apr 13, 2016
Apr 12, 2016
The kabin was clean and comfortable as was the bathhouse. The kamp kitchen was very handy, but the stovetop was pretty grubby and greasy from previous campers. The I-40 traffic noise was bad, but putting up a wall of any kind to absorb the sound would detract from the beautiful scenery. We loved the circle of swings around the firebowl. Overall, a beautiful camp and enjoyable stay.
Apr 12, 2016
Nice campground,pleasant host's. Had a little problem with the 50 amp box, but they arrived quickly to fix it. Would stay here again.
Apr 11, 2016
Great stay.
Apr 11, 2016
Nice easy access on and off interstate. Very friendly,helpful staff.
Apr 10, 2016
Apr 10, 2016
Apr 10, 2016
We had a nice stay. Trash pickup was a nice benefit. We didn't stay long enough to visit the entire campground but we hope to return and stay a little longer. Very convenient to I-40.
Apr 10, 2016
Great location and even greater staff. Could not have been more helpful and accommodating, from local advise to purchases. Many Thanks Heather! Bob & Maryhelen
Apr 10, 2016
We stayed in a Kamping Kabin and liked it very much. It was cold so it was important to have heat! The bathrooms were clean and very close to the Kabins. The service was very good and very helpful.
Apr 09, 2016
Easy access from I4, steep drive up to campground, would stay here again.
Apr 09, 2016
The Kamping Kabins were great but the tent sites were horrible. It is a small campground overall. Okay place for a one night stay. The employees were very friendly
Apr 07, 2016
Very nice. I read the reviews about the road noise. Of course you hear it but it really did not bother us. The sites were spacious enough while being rustic and enjoyable. They are working hard to upgrade the fire pits and other amenities. A must stay. BTW, the Sagebrush Steakhouse at the Canton exit is awesome
Apr 07, 2016
We just wish there was a little more space at each site.
Apr 07, 2016
Great night. Staff very helpful
Apr 06, 2016
We love this campground..nice folks..great place to walk the dogs.
Apr 06, 2016
Very nice staff. Clean.
Apr 04, 2016
Nice campground, frendly operators, could use a dog park, kind of a lot of highway noise.
Apr 04, 2016
Apr 04, 2016
Best Wi-Fi w have experienced at any campground! Site was level and well maintained. Our only issue (minor) was the proximity of I-40 - traffic noise while outside the camper was distracting, but bearable - not noticeable in the camper however.
Apr 04, 2016
Apr 04, 2016
We had one of the best cabins around with all the amenities you'd ever need or want. In a nutshell, we had a great time for the short while we were there.
Apr 03, 2016
Very clean, well kept and can see improvements being made
Apr 02, 2016
Used the deluxe cabin for 3 nights - very nice!! Only problem was the carpenter bees. They seemed threatening (afternoons, in the sun) but they were totally not harmful to humans. However, I imagine the cabin is getting a lot of damage, and if the bees make it into the actual cabin ceiling, big problem. unexpected items on bill $/per person - not aware that charge would be there. Great visit.
Apr 02, 2016
Very friendly and helpful staff. Extremely clean cabin. Noise from the interstate that others complain of was barely noticeable. Compared to other Koa's the cabins are quite close together and no fancy ammenities for the kids like a bouncy pillow, but if you are simply looking for a clean comfortable and adorable no frills place to stay close to Asheville I would highly recommend.
Apr 02, 2016
Great friendly staff and very clean bathrooms and showers
Apr 01, 2016
Very clean and quiet for a mom with two young kids
Apr 01, 2016
We spent a couple of days at Asheville West and was very pleased with the overall appearance of the site. The owners were very friendly and informative. Showers and rest rooms were very clean. We would definitely stay here again.
Mar 31, 2016
Easy access from the interstate and a good campground. I came in late but my reservation was waiting for me with a map to my campsite. This KOA is very remote so be prepared before you stop.
Mar 29, 2016
I would've liked to have our own fire-pit and we were close to the bathrooms and showers but perhaps a little too close. The staff was very kind and helpful. Overall it was perfect for our vacation.
Mar 29, 2016
There could be more bathrooms with better privacy than across from the store
Mar 29, 2016
Small sites Campground needs work Main building is good
Mar 29, 2016
This KOA is just right for us. Restrooms and amenities very clean and up-to-date. Heather and Rex are friendly and most accommodating. We had a great stay. Many thanks.
Mar 27, 2016
Our site was fine, but can't imagine staying in a tent. Needed heat/air running to drown out I-40 noise, especially trucks using air/compression brakes. Staff were great though. Site well maintained.
Mar 27, 2016
A nice campground in the trees, with some breathing space. Very friendly and helpful attendant. The lot was Sandy and not perfectly level, but quite a nice stop while traveling through.
Mar 26, 2016
We were in a pickup camper and noise from interstate was quite loud but people we friendly and bathrooms really clean
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy