Asheville West KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9015

Info: 828-665-7015

Email

309 Wiggins Road

Candler, NC 28715

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 26, 2016
Great place to spend the 4th of July ... beautiful surroundings ... awesome staff/mgmt ... can't wait to return.
Jul 26, 2016
My two daughters and I stayed with our two dogs in a cabin, which was clean upon arrival. We used most of the amenities, I did not however appreciate the smell of sewage from one of the close by rvs which filled our area one evening when we arrived after a long day of hiking. We did enjoy the space in any event.
Jul 26, 2016
Site B6. Over built so with rear entry door, had a long drop off and was on an angle. Noise from Interstate was LOUD, to say the least. No WIFI at site. Otherwise KOA was nice and staff was really nice. The Site buildup, noise and no WIFI on the "B" sites lend this KOA to a middle rating.
Jul 26, 2016
Location very loud next to interstate, entry very unsafe in curve. Quiet hours not observed and no employees to be found after 8:30ish. Any camper or RV over 10 feet will get scratched..trees hang down into campground roads. Gameroom is a room with boardgames and none of them complete enough to play. 2 pet walks listed on map yet are nonexistant. Pond is sad!! Grounds were at least clean!!
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
The grounds were clean, well maintained, convenient, and the staff was terrific! The noise from the freeway was loud but not disruptive and certainly didn't diminish the experience. There is plenty to do in the surrounding mountain towns but the immediate neighborhood of the campground leaves much to be desired. Again, the campground was great and offers a lot of amenities. Loved our cabin!
Jul 25, 2016
Very clean bathrooms and trash is being picked up regularly and the pool simply gorgeous. Thank you for letting us stay.
Jul 25, 2016
Location is wonderful and easy to find! Bathrooms were extremely clean and the employees were very friendly and helpful!! Would stay here again!
Jul 24, 2016
Jul 24, 2016
Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jul 24, 2016
Great time for the whole family! Clean facilities. Lots of good trails to hike for the kids. Playground could have been a little nicer but other than that, it was perfect!
Jul 24, 2016
Friendly people but the Wi-Fi didn't work where we were parked and very narrow road to try and pull around.
Jul 23, 2016
Jul 23, 2016
First we stayed here in a class A motorhome. The positives were utilities were excellent. The negative, trees needed trimming badly but the worst was they allowed a tractor trailer to rent a site and it didn't fit the site making departure from site 23 a nightmare. They knew the truck and trailer didn't fit but chose to do nothing to rectify the situation.
Jul 22, 2016
Peaceful and nice. Cd b bigger campsites but not necessarily
Jul 21, 2016
Paul and Heather were so friendly and helpful and the campgrounds were immaculate.
Jul 21, 2016
Playground too far away and inadequate. No parking. And boring.To close to Interstate (Noisy). Store closes at 5PM way to early. Pool was very nice.
Jul 21, 2016
Cabin smelled like a ashtray. Everything else great.
Jul 20, 2016
showers amazing and a good spot to travel from to and fro.
Jul 19, 2016
The people in the office couldn't have been nicer,the site was level, wooded and well spaced, however the interstate noise was excessive.
Jul 19, 2016
Pros: 1) friendly & helpful staff 2) clean Kamping Kabin Cons: 1) noise of highway 2) lack of amenities (compared to other KOA's) 3) gravel everywhere: nowhere for young children to ride bikes 4) campfire was a hole in the ground next to gravel road 5) futon terribly uncomfortable 6) not the "KOA feel" we've experienced at the 3 other KOA's we've stayed at, couldn't wait to leave each
Jul 19, 2016
Once again came in late. Your associate was just getting into her car and leaving about 10:40 pm. She got out of her car, helped me register, showed us to our site and got out of her car and backed me in with a flashlight. Now that was service with a BIG Smile!!!
Jul 18, 2016
The showers stalls were great! The lack of camping kitchen for use during the rain and getting scolded for using the only shelter b/c of the rain was not.
Jul 18, 2016
This is our 3rd time staying at this KOA. This time, we brought 4 friends and rented the lodge- which was nicer than what we expected. The staff is so friendly and helpful!
Jul 18, 2016
The staff is super friendly! Camp ground is clean and well maintained. The pool was clean with a lot of chairs and umbrellas for shade. Picnic pavilion with large grill for gathering was impressive. Cabins are cute if you are not camping. Wi-Fi worked throughout the entire campground. Will be back!
Jul 18, 2016
Nice Kabin
Jul 18, 2016
Clean, friendly staff, cabin was perfect. Everyone friendly to my kids. Wish I didn't get stung by bees on that lower trail while running and go to the ER - but hey, nature! Really perfect.
Jul 17, 2016
Very clean and friendly Koa staff. Go for the pull thrus named F1 and up, you are near the main building, the pool and the kabins common outside kitchen, very useful. Near the highway, so not difficult to find and reasonable distance to Asheville attractions.
Jul 17, 2016
Too close to the road
Jul 17, 2016
Everyone was really nice. The campsites are quite small. I did scope out some of the bigger ones while walking around for next trip though. Highway noise isn't bad over the crickets.
Jul 16, 2016
4 stars for cleanliness and extreamly nice and helpful staff very small sites and the busy highway is much too close.
Jul 16, 2016
The campground layout is awesome, as are the sites. The negatives.... Horrendous road noise from I40, and Glacially slow internet.
Jul 16, 2016
Very helpful staff. Nice sites.
Jul 15, 2016
Jul 15, 2016
Stayed with a girlfriend and service dog. Place was fairly clean save for the spider webs and dust. Grounds looked good. Bed was what you'd expect. AC worked wonderfully. I'd happily use them again!
Jul 15, 2016
Nice clean pool. Nice bathrooms & shower rooms in office building. Lower sites are nicer & more convenient.
Jul 15, 2016
Jul 14, 2016
Loved our stay. Our cabin was exactly what we expected and wanted! The campground was very clean and secure. The staff went out of their way to make sure our staff was perfect!!
Jul 14, 2016
Wifi was not reliable. Needs stronger signal. Clean updated restrooms, some road noise but overall quite acceptable.
Jul 14, 2016
Hard to see sign that points to entrance. If you miss the entrance it is a very small road. Did not have ammenities like other KOA's.
Jul 14, 2016
The staff were so nice and helpful. The showers were super clean. We loved the grounds and the ambience of our cabin community. It was way more than we had expected. A bonus was being able to do our laundry. We would definitely come back.
Jul 14, 2016
Jul 12, 2016
Campsites are close together, but it's a convenient stop outside Asheville. I think for an overnight it's okay, maybe two nights. The highway behind the campground can be loud at night. It's clean and the hosts are friendly and helpful.
Jul 12, 2016
This KOA has the cleanest cabins, showers and restrooms. The staff were friendly. Great stay! We will be back.
Jul 12, 2016
Beautiful treed large sites. Very helpful staff. Altogether very pleasant. We will return.
Jul 11, 2016
The facilities are clean and well maintained. The staff are fantastic. The site is overall quiet but there is some noise from the adjacent truck stop and interstate. Great location for access to Ashville and Pisgau National Forest. I26 can get slow due to traffic.
Jul 11, 2016
Jul 11, 2016
Jul 10, 2016
Jul 10, 2016
It felt closer to a state park than most KOAs we have encountered. Staff friendly. Washrooms clean.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals