Asheville West KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9015

Info: 828-665-7015

Email

309 Wiggins Road

Candler, NC 28715

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 21, 2016
Nice place esp for overnight clean bathrooms nice hosts
Aug 21, 2016
It was ok I like the pool and activities available for campers. However, I prefer a more secluded site which is not possible at your location.
Aug 21, 2016
We love any KOA that allows a pet in the cabin when we visit. Very convenient and close to Asheville.
Aug 21, 2016
Would like to have had a pull thru site. The road between the camp site rows was a little tight.
Aug 18, 2016
Stayed in the back section.the bathroom was small but clean.sites are mixed of gravel and dirt making for very muddy condition if it rains and its red mud.very nice size pool and very clean.laundry faculties are also very nice.the reason I give only 3 stars are the condition on the sites.need better drainage with better gravel and the fire areas are nothing but rocks. Picnic tables are poor
Aug 17, 2016
nice sites. We will stay again.
Aug 16, 2016
Aug 16, 2016
Would have stayed longer if I could.
Aug 16, 2016
Got lost leaving, need more signs for exit, also need a fan or a/c in laundry room-so HOT! other than that, nice campground!
Aug 15, 2016
NOT kid friendly. My 2 girls were reprimanded in front of me 2x by staff & 1x in front of another camper for running, but they werent. 1st time @ pool I thought I missed it when I looked down, 2nd time I know she wasnt & we were outside, & 3rd time camper told me -not true. 3rd time was presented as a threat. My husband thought I was over-reacting until he saw her do it to another child.
Aug 15, 2016
Clean park, friendly staff and easy to get in and out.
Aug 15, 2016
Pictures are not what the place looks like,,,too close to interstate,right on it,,,very loud,,would not stay there again
Aug 14, 2016
Aug 14, 2016
We stayed for 2 nights in the camping cabins. They were very minimal, but clean, well kept, and charming. We loved the porch swing, the common outdoor kitchen, and the fire circle surrounded by more porch swings! All of the facilities were well-maintained and we enjoyed our dip in the pool! We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay for our North Carolina adventure!
Aug 12, 2016
very friendly helpful staff. Clean restrooms, nice location, plenty of shade
Aug 12, 2016
This campground is onl good for a one night stay while traveling.
Aug 12, 2016
So close to the interstate...very noisy.
Aug 10, 2016
Small but quaint. Our only issue came from sharing the fire and kitchen at the kamping kabins.
Aug 10, 2016
Just could use cement pads. Clean and friendly
Aug 09, 2016
all good wonderful stay
Aug 09, 2016
Road noise. Sites to close. borderline harassment from the security staff lady. Upon getting our wet firewood burning, flames were about waist high. She drives by, panics, tells me I have a bonfire, that it must be knocked down, stands there and tells my son to knock logs off and push it down.I ask how high can they be? she doesn't know and holds up 2 fingers(about 6" apart),fire goes out.NICE!
Aug 08, 2016
Aug 07, 2016
Restrooms clean, swimming pool was clean and very appropriate in size and depth for teenagers. The rock bed parking space for the camper was level. It was a quite environment. We had great cellphone service. The campground was clean and well maintained. The staff was very helpful and friendly in setting up and also changing our reservations to met our schedule changes.
Aug 06, 2016
The campground is in a really nice setting with views of the smoky mountains. The big problem is the campground is literally only a few feet away from Interstate 40 so the road noise is horindous. When visiting Asheville again we will seek out another campground.
Aug 05, 2016
Heather and Paul were super helpful and the facilities and grounds were well maintained. My family (& dog) and I also enjoyed the trails with wooden bridges. :)
Aug 05, 2016
We had a great time. Clean clean clean. We stayed in the 4 person cabin near bathhouse. Workers were extremely friendly and we will Be back.
Aug 04, 2016
Neat, clean and well priced.
Aug 04, 2016
Friendly staff, nice pool and facilities. Not much privacy, muddy sites and poison ivy forests.
Aug 03, 2016
Nice and clean campground. Only concern is the close proximity to the sounds from the nearby expressway. This would only be relevant for tents though.
Aug 03, 2016
This is the first time I have rented a KOA Cabin instead of a hotel room. It was great and I will do it again!
Aug 03, 2016
Super close to Asheville!! Just what we needed for a couple of days!!
Aug 02, 2016
Aug 02, 2016
Clean, well managed. RV backin sites are rather short. Pull thru sites and cabins are squeezed together, lacking space & privacy. But low price reflects these shortcomings. Interstate noise, as mentioned in other reviews, was loud.
Aug 01, 2016
Loved the campground however the noise from the interstate hwy was very loud at our site.
Aug 01, 2016
Great time!
Jul 31, 2016
Very nice campground, clean bath house and friendly staff. Since the campground is close to I40, we could hear the traffic from the highway.
Jul 31, 2016
We loved our stay. The grounds and bathrooms are all well kept. The only downside was that our campsite did nit have any level space for our tent.
Jul 31, 2016
Jul 31, 2016
Quick overnight on the way to Gatlinburg. Camp is average.
Jul 31, 2016
Our stay was just one night. The staff we encountered were friendly but we were slightly disappointed in our site due to an old, broken picnic table and no fire ring/fire pit. Camp store did not impress; eggs in the refrigerator were a day old...
Jul 30, 2016
Beautiful area & CLEAN - but too close to interstate & needs basic tent camping.
Jul 30, 2016
Excellent campground. Extremely clean bathrooms, very clean pool, very friendly people.
Jul 29, 2016
Heather was wonderful!
Jul 29, 2016
Friendly hosts and pretty spot.
Jul 29, 2016
I always hate to give less than favorable ratings....but this one just did not seem to match up to our usual KOA experience. Roads to sites were horrible. So rough our fridge and freezer doors flew open. Sites were also just barely long enough for our big rig and tow vehicle. It would be fine for smaller campers or motorhomes, but isn't too big rig friendly.
Jul 29, 2016
Likes: Clean and well maintained facilities. Nice partially shaded site with good room for our pop up and a tent. Campground wasn't full and it often felt like we had bathrooms to ourselves. Dislike: Road noise from nearby highways and truck stop just over the bank from our site.
Jul 29, 2016
Nice enough campground, decent amenities, but the road noise is pretty bad. Have to run the A/C to drown it out. Otherwise, it has some nice view sites and decent sized.
Jul 28, 2016
Clean campground. Pull through sites are nice and there are some trees. The water/electric only sites are small and on a hill. Nice pool and friendly staff.
Jul 27, 2016
I loved my experience at Asheville West KOA. Heather and Paul were professional and helped camper with helpful hints. Thank u. You are a Great KOA char
Jul 26, 2016
Great place to spend the 4th of July ... beautiful surroundings ... awesome staff/mgmt ... can't wait to return.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals