Asheville West KOA

309 Wiggins Road

Candler, NC 28715

Reserve: 800-562-9015

Info: 828-665-7015

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 31, 2015
Bath houses were the best I've seen. Very clean!
Aug 31, 2015
Love the trees on each spot. Very clean and quite (except for expressway noise).
Aug 31, 2015
Very nice campground. The staff was friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were clean and well maintained. We will come back again.
Aug 31, 2015
Wonderful park, nice amenities only drawback is road noise but that also means has easy access to I40.
Aug 30, 2015
Not a lot of room to spread out around fire ring. Plenty of road noise from I-40 but can get used to it. Fairly good incline to driveway. Close by to nearby attractions and services if needed.
Aug 30, 2015
We stayed for one night. The camp site was good. The staff friendly. The noise level was loud due to the camps closeness to I-40 but still acceptable for our purposes.
Aug 30, 2015
Traffic noise but there isn't anything the wonderful owners can do about that. We love the area!
Aug 28, 2015
Only primitive tent site is between dump station and cell tower. Can watch and hear trucks using air brakes going down mountain freeway all night. Stark contrast to usual KOAs.
Aug 26, 2015
Love this campground. We stay here every trip to see our children in SC. Clean and friendly staff.
Aug 26, 2015
Great cabins, very clean and comfortable. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
Aug 26, 2015
I didn't give this KOA the best rating because of the awkward entrance to the campground. The road was steep and curvy - not trailer friendly. Once in we had no problem. We arrived between 4:30 and 5:00 pm and the office was already closed, which isn't the standard to which I've grown accustomed at KOA campgrounds. Staff did leave our paperwork for us and the campground was well-maintained.
Aug 25, 2015
everyone is very nice and helpful.Heather is a great person
Aug 24, 2015
Staff is nice. She helped us what we planned about where the waterfall are.
Aug 24, 2015
We had a great experience at this KOA. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They were able to give us some direction regarding excursions etc.
Aug 24, 2015
Friendly and clean
Aug 23, 2015
We will be back! Beautiful place to stay if going to Ashville for the weekend.
Aug 22, 2015
Had everything we needed for our stay
Aug 22, 2015
Aug 22, 2015
Excellent campground. Always look for KOA first when traveling.
Aug 21, 2015
Stayed in this campground last year and again this year. Hope to do it again.
Aug 21, 2015
Nice friendly place with a lot of spots!
Aug 21, 2015
Nice people that run it. Trees need trimming cause my camper kept getting hit with limbs, even in my spot.
Aug 20, 2015
Nice park but road noise from I-40
Aug 19, 2015
The campground was very clean. The people were very nice. My family would go there again when we are down there.
Aug 19, 2015
Great Cabin! We loved chilling in the swings by the campfire. The only improvement that could be made are the beds. They made a lot of noise.
Aug 19, 2015
It was an overnight stay and we were surprised the store closed at 6:00PM as we arrived at 5:50. Showers and bathrooms were nice.
Aug 19, 2015
Small but nice.
Aug 19, 2015
Very helpful attendents, clean and well kept
Aug 17, 2015
Our family rented the 5 cabins with the stove top and sink area in the center. It is enjoyable each family having their own cabin,but sharing everything else. The swings around the fire pit are awesome! A wonderful time was had by all.
Aug 17, 2015
We were tent campers. Great that tent sites were put together - separate from RV's. Campers were quiet by 10pm. Truck stop behind us & hum of hwy40 on opposite side of campground. Smell from RV sewage was bad. Few trees for tying tarps, so be prepared. Toilet paper in ladies restroom ran out. 1 of 2 men's commodes was unusable all weekend.
Aug 17, 2015
Nice, quiet, friendly place, Heather was very gracious and professional.
Aug 17, 2015
Loved it ! Very friendly staff! Clean sites! Highway noise overcome with Rain app!
Aug 17, 2015
Our only real concern is that it was too close to the highway. All that traffic noise made it difficult to sleep.
Aug 15, 2015
Aug 15, 2015
Decent place, pretty bare bones/overnight stay kinda place. Small pool, some highway noise. Very close and handy to Asheville proper. Not a destination, but a decent place to put in for a night.
Aug 15, 2015
Very nice people and clean bathrooms park is nice we will go back
Aug 14, 2015
Great service - I had to check in after hours. Staff very helpful.
Aug 12, 2015
we had a very nice stay at this KOA
Aug 12, 2015
The only issue we had was the noise from the highway but everything else was great.
Aug 11, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay. We were especially happy with the clean showers and restrooms. We are very interested in returning to stay in one of the cabins. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the quiet atmosphere also.
Aug 11, 2015
The Hosts were very accommodating and welcoming. The grounds were clean and in good order.
Aug 10, 2015
Office was very helpful. Cabin was located where I had requested. Cabin was clean and a/c running. Location was easily accessible. No complaints.
Aug 10, 2015
Clean bathrooms. Friendly staff. We asked to move to a site with more shade--no problem. One issue we had...a group of college kids in a nearby campsite played drinking games until late at night. They were not too rowdy, but it wasn't a family-friendly situation.
Aug 09, 2015
Tree branches are too low in the road ways and camp sites. They scrape on the roof of the camper and could damage antennas, vents, air conditioners, and tear the rubber roof material!
Aug 09, 2015
We stayed in the deluxe cabin. There were five adults and 2 toddlers. The cabin was very clean and we had plenty of room and everything we needed. We wish we could have stayed longer. We enjoyed the pool, fire pit, and an early morning walk around the park. It is a well maintained park -very quiet and beautiful.
Aug 09, 2015
Super friendly staff. The KOA was nice, the bath house was pretty clean. Site was nice but tight (almost too short to leave hooked up over night). Thanks for the stay hope to come back to check the place out some more.
Aug 09, 2015
spent only one night. wasn't bad but could here interstate traffic.
Aug 08, 2015
Aug 08, 2015
Would stay again, nice spots.
Aug 07, 2015
Clean and friendly. Close to attractions

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.