Washington DC / Capitol KOA

768 Cecil Avenue North - PO Box 9

Millersville, MD 21108

Reserve: 800-562-0248

Info: 410-923-2771

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Sep 28, 2015
Nice facility, friendly people. My only complaint is the Water/Electric sites. Tree roots are everywhere, you need to squeeze your camper in-between trees. It served the purpose for me but I would not pay $66 a night for these sites.
Sep 27, 2015
Stayed with a Girl Scout troop of 13 year olds. Girls absolutely loved the jumping pillow, as did us moms. ;) Bathrooms were extremely clean. Campground itself is small, but had lots of amenities. Hope to go back again. :)
Sep 26, 2015
All was great as MOST KOA are, this particular one was great from the area to the people running it. A++++ and the extra added shuttle into DC was great, can't beat it, Tom the driver is great.
Sep 21, 2015
Bathrooms were pretty hot & stinky & I was a little disappointed using my VIP membership for a BOGO weekend & we got a crappy site in the grass when there were all kinds of other cool sites in the woods that weren't even an option when booking, yet there were tents set up there??
Sep 14, 2015
My kids love camping. KOA makes it easy to have a good time. The staff is friendly and the parks are well kept. Thank you
Sep 08, 2015
A very nice Campground with lots of things to do especially for the kids. The bus driver on Saturday was great as well! A very nice man!
Sep 08, 2015
The quality of the campground was just fine. Unfortunately our neighbors were noisy around their campfire until I finally got out of my tent at 1am and asked them to please be quiet. Campground quiet hours are posted 10pm - 8am. Also, the interstate noise is fairly loud. Other than not sleeping very well, my kids had fun at the playground area. Staff was friendly.
Sep 08, 2015
I was very satisfied with our family's camping experience as the KOA in Millersville, MD. It was conveniently located, well maintained, and provided several recreational activities, including a bounce pillow, playground, swimming pool, pedal carts, and outdoor movie. The staff was also friendly and professional.
Sep 03, 2015
Every morning when we went to the office to ask about our day trip, not only did they give us maps but also advise on how to get there. Eg: Instead of just sending us to the closest metro stop, we were directed to and end of a line so there was no confusion. If we're ever out that way again, we shall stay at the koa happily.
Aug 31, 2015
Amazing location. The facilities were very clean and the staff was extremely helpful and knowledgeable.
Aug 31, 2015
We enjoyed our time at KOA in Millersville. Friendly staff, clean and tons of activities for our little ones. The only negative, and its a big one is that the tent sites are WAY to close together. You are pretty much on top of the site next to you. You better enjoy your neighbors (which we didn't, a group of about 15 twenty year olds who were up partying until 4 in the morning).
Aug 31, 2015
Aug 29, 2015
We were there for concerts and Merriweather Post Pavilion and we definitely plan to come back next time with the family and go to DC.
Aug 25, 2015
Aug 25, 2015
Aug 22, 2015
OK, but a few things could be improved. Our site was at the bottom of a slope, so some shaping (berm?) would have helped when it rained. I asked back in May about the shuttle service filling up, but was told not to worry, as there are 3 shuttles. When we got there, we missed out, because only one ran. We were told we could have something mailed there, but you returned it before we got there.
Aug 19, 2015
Did not like that the shared water spigot faced our tent spot. Our tent got sprayed by water b/c we picked the flattest area in the dark to set it up not realizing the spigot was there. That being said the staff was wonderful and helpful. Had to have my car jump started in the morning and received quick and friendly assistance with it. Wish we had more time to enjoy the campsite!
Aug 17, 2015
We had so much fun! Very relaxed place.
Aug 17, 2015
Great location! Very convenient to DC and Baltimore. Stayed for two nights and had a great, relaxing stay. They even upgraded us from our regular tent site to a tent site with electric hook-ups and water at no charge, just to be nice! Great staff! Def worth your time and money!
Aug 17, 2015
Very kid friendly camp site.. May want to consider bathroom cleaning twice a day. With a full camp site, the bathroom because a little dirty at the end of the day.
Aug 17, 2015
Very nice staff and there is so much to keep everyone busy with the pool, playground, and other activities. Great for families.
Aug 14, 2015
I enjoyed my stay and have nothing but good to say to friends and family about ny time here.
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
Site 83- enjoyed it very much- only slight problem was a big branch that fell from the pine tree and onto our car (broke the moon roof) but we were ok ( we're at the picnic table right beside the car - whew)
Aug 10, 2015
Other KOA's have much better tent sites. A good tent site is flat. Your tent sites are expensive. Shower doors and walls are to low.
Aug 10, 2015
The camp ground was very clean inviting. We had a lot of fun staying there. The staff was friendly, courteous and helpful. My kids had a blast playing at the park and on the air pillow. There were scheduled events planned such as arts and crafts, ice cream social, and movie nights. I thought the events were a plus and added to the great experience. We will defiantly stay with Capital KOA again.
Aug 06, 2015
This campground was fantastic. Wonderful amenities and the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back and KOA will be our only camping choice in the future.
Aug 02, 2015
Wonderful staff and great campground.
Aug 01, 2015
The tent sites were very close together and the one we were at had no shade. The staff is wonderful, extremely friendly and helpful.
Aug 01, 2015
Staff was friendly, camp sites were decently sized, lots of nice amenities. The shuttle bus to DC worked out great. Toilets were often clogged, but for the most part things were clean.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 25, 2015
Our family had a great time. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Very clean and well cared for.
Jul 22, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
Cabin lights were on all night and interfered with my sleep as the light was shining right on my tent. Otherwise, friendly staff. $50 a night seemed steep for a tent.
Jul 15, 2015
This is a retirement home not a KOA. The pool is meant for a few adults to swim around in, not for kids to splash and have fun. The "attendant" that is apparently needed for the jump pad just sat there as a little girl was crying profusely. I've been to other KOAs and they don't have attendants at the jump pad. The front desk will lie cust saying no parking in DC so they will ride the shuttle.
Jul 14, 2015
Exceptionally good service and many engaging childrens' activities.
Jul 14, 2015
The Good: Was met at the office at 1AM by a very friendly staff member and he went out of his way to get us settled in for the night. Even more than I expected and just what we needed after 12 hours on the road. Bathrooms, showers, office and staff were all great and all was clean. The bad: Tent site #49 where we stayed was horrible. Sloped.
Jul 13, 2015
This was our first time ever camping and the experience wasn't to bad. The staff was extremely nice and friendly. So we're the other campers... Because I needed help lol My only issue was the site we stayed at was not that great. A lot of tree roots sticking up and it was on a slight hill, so the kids and I kept sliding out of our sleeping bags. But over all had a wonderful time!
Jul 12, 2015
We couldn't have asked for anything easier for our stay! Check in was so quick and our site was amazingly convenient for our family!
Jul 12, 2015
Staff was nice. Campsite was okay as well. A little rocky but nothing unbearable. Bathhouses were very dirty. Floor was constantly wet and slippery. Was expecting more for the price of our stay.
Jul 07, 2015
Overall the location is great and convenient to all the sites and cities. The location is very clean, however all the water spigots pointed straight out & hard to use without a hose. Would be nice if they had a tv in the laundry room.
Jul 06, 2015
Very clean grounds. Really friendly and helpful staff. Perfect location for a vacation. So much to do in the area you can't see it all in a week.
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 01, 2015
Awesome STAFF!
May 28, 2015
The staff were very accommodating! They were very friendly at check in and when we needed a grate for our fire pit they found one for us to use. The campgrounds were clean and had lots to do!
May 28, 2015
We loved Capitol KOA! This was our first camping trip as a family and it was perfect. We all had a blast! Loved the pillow, the pool, chess, bikes,horseshoes, the outdoor movie, campsite, the entire site was safe and clean, staff fantastic. Our kids, 5 and 7 can't wait to come back!
May 26, 2015
This was one of the best camp grounds that we have ever stayed at!The bathrooms were so clean, which is a huge deal for me. The staff were amazing,friendly and helpful! My only issue all weekend- it was Memorial Day weekend and there were tons of bikers bc of DC and at 5:30-6:00 each morning it got very loud when they left each morn for DC. Other than than, best campground we have stayed at!!
May 26, 2015
We always love coming to koa , we always request the same site and we have had a lot of memories there !! I love the kids activities for our 4 children and everyone is always so friendly!!
May 26, 2015
Excellent facilities for the entire family.
May 26, 2015
Nice big play area for kids. Minimum dept in pool 3 ft, so not ideal for young kids up to about 4 years old. Great and helpfull staff.
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.