Washington DC / Capitol KOA

Open March 1 - November 28

Reserve: 800-562-0248

Info: 410-923-2771


768 Cecil Avenue North - PO Box 9

Millersville, MD 21108

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm


Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Nov 04, 2015
Very nice Campground, friendly staff, great Halloween-program and decorations, clean restrooms, nice shop.
Oct 27, 2015
Think of it as "Camp", not camping. Sure, we were in a tent and we camped, but Weeeeee the DC KOA was a blast and a half! What an awesome time we had! When we camp, we normally go the mountains, but this time we kept it close to home for a positive experience minus the hour & 1/2 drive. Our 4&1/2 year old had so much fun that she actually asked to go to bed!
Oct 27, 2015
Oct 26, 2015
Great site and great service. The one complaint I have is all the children running through our camp site while we were trying to relax. Other than that a fantastic experience. We will definitely be back.
Oct 26, 2015
This is a great KOA with only a few downsides. The noise from Rt97 and the sewage smell from the septic tanks around the playground (although infrequent). The staff is what makes this KOA great. They are always wonderful and go out of their way to ensure everyone enjoys their stay.
Oct 26, 2015
The staff members are very friendly and helpful. The grounds are kept really clean. This place is the best! We had a wonderful weekend! Stay here!!
Oct 22, 2015
Awesome... Had a blast great weather... Campground staff here is the best!!! Especially the young lady's that helped my 3year old with arts and crafts... Super super nice folks here!!!!
Oct 20, 2015
It was our first time staying so despite the cold weather overnight it was a great weekend.
Oct 19, 2015
Out of all the places we've stayed in the last 6 months this was the most value for our dollar. In general we like to stay at places that cost even less and don't mind having few to no amenities. This KOA had a nature trail, easy access to highways to Baltimore and DC, very clean nice showers, and a really fun giant "jumping pillow" (kind of like a trampoline).
Oct 19, 2015
Oct 14, 2015
Park was very clean. Playground was nice. However, how it really shone... customer service was SUPERB! The only reason I might not recommend to some of my friends is some of the older kids there were unsupervised and pushed around the younger kids. (obviously through no fault of the KOA)
Oct 12, 2015
We love the staff, location & amenities. We've stayed twice this fall and will def be back in the spring!
Sep 28, 2015
Nice facility, friendly people. My only complaint is the Water/Electric sites. Tree roots are everywhere, you need to squeeze your camper in-between trees. It served the purpose for me but I would not pay $66 a night for these sites.
Sep 27, 2015
Stayed with a Girl Scout troop of 13 year olds. Girls absolutely loved the jumping pillow, as did us moms. ;) Bathrooms were extremely clean. Campground itself is small, but had lots of amenities. Hope to go back again. :)
Sep 26, 2015
All was great as MOST KOA are, this particular one was great from the area to the people running it. A++++ and the extra added shuttle into DC was great, can't beat it, Tom the driver is great.
Sep 21, 2015
Bathrooms were pretty hot & stinky & I was a little disappointed using my VIP membership for a BOGO weekend & we got a crappy site in the grass when there were all kinds of other cool sites in the woods that weren't even an option when booking, yet there were tents set up there??
Sep 14, 2015
My kids love camping. KOA makes it easy to have a good time. The staff is friendly and the parks are well kept. Thank you
Sep 08, 2015
A very nice Campground with lots of things to do especially for the kids. The bus driver on Saturday was great as well! A very nice man!
Sep 08, 2015
The quality of the campground was just fine. Unfortunately our neighbors were noisy around their campfire until I finally got out of my tent at 1am and asked them to please be quiet. Campground quiet hours are posted 10pm - 8am. Also, the interstate noise is fairly loud. Other than not sleeping very well, my kids had fun at the playground area. Staff was friendly.
Sep 08, 2015
I was very satisfied with our family's camping experience as the KOA in Millersville, MD. It was conveniently located, well maintained, and provided several recreational activities, including a bounce pillow, playground, swimming pool, pedal carts, and outdoor movie. The staff was also friendly and professional.
Sep 03, 2015
Every morning when we went to the office to ask about our day trip, not only did they give us maps but also advise on how to get there. Eg: Instead of just sending us to the closest metro stop, we were directed to and end of a line so there was no confusion. If we're ever out that way again, we shall stay at the koa happily.
Aug 31, 2015
Amazing location. The facilities were very clean and the staff was extremely helpful and knowledgeable.
Aug 31, 2015
We enjoyed our time at KOA in Millersville. Friendly staff, clean and tons of activities for our little ones. The only negative, and its a big one is that the tent sites are WAY to close together. You are pretty much on top of the site next to you. You better enjoy your neighbors (which we didn't, a group of about 15 twenty year olds who were up partying until 4 in the morning).
Aug 31, 2015
Aug 29, 2015
We were there for concerts and Merriweather Post Pavilion and we definitely plan to come back next time with the family and go to DC.
Aug 25, 2015
Aug 25, 2015
Aug 22, 2015
OK, but a few things could be improved. Our site was at the bottom of a slope, so some shaping (berm?) would have helped when it rained. I asked back in May about the shuttle service filling up, but was told not to worry, as there are 3 shuttles. When we got there, we missed out, because only one ran. We were told we could have something mailed there, but you returned it before we got there.
Aug 19, 2015
Did not like that the shared water spigot faced our tent spot. Our tent got sprayed by water b/c we picked the flattest area in the dark to set it up not realizing the spigot was there. That being said the staff was wonderful and helpful. Had to have my car jump started in the morning and received quick and friendly assistance with it. Wish we had more time to enjoy the campsite!
Aug 17, 2015
We had so much fun! Very relaxed place.
Aug 17, 2015
Great location! Very convenient to DC and Baltimore. Stayed for two nights and had a great, relaxing stay. They even upgraded us from our regular tent site to a tent site with electric hook-ups and water at no charge, just to be nice! Great staff! Def worth your time and money!
Aug 17, 2015
Very kid friendly camp site.. May want to consider bathroom cleaning twice a day. With a full camp site, the bathroom because a little dirty at the end of the day.
Aug 17, 2015
Very nice staff and there is so much to keep everyone busy with the pool, playground, and other activities. Great for families.
Aug 14, 2015
I enjoyed my stay and have nothing but good to say to friends and family about ny time here.
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
Site 83- enjoyed it very much- only slight problem was a big branch that fell from the pine tree and onto our car (broke the moon roof) but we were ok ( we're at the picnic table right beside the car - whew)
Aug 10, 2015
Other KOA's have much better tent sites. A good tent site is flat. Your tent sites are expensive. Shower doors and walls are to low.
Aug 10, 2015
The camp ground was very clean inviting. We had a lot of fun staying there. The staff was friendly, courteous and helpful. My kids had a blast playing at the park and on the air pillow. There were scheduled events planned such as arts and crafts, ice cream social, and movie nights. I thought the events were a plus and added to the great experience. We will defiantly stay with Capital KOA again.
Aug 06, 2015
This campground was fantastic. Wonderful amenities and the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back and KOA will be our only camping choice in the future.
Aug 02, 2015
Wonderful staff and great campground.
Aug 01, 2015
The tent sites were very close together and the one we were at had no shade. The staff is wonderful, extremely friendly and helpful.
Aug 01, 2015
Staff was friendly, camp sites were decently sized, lots of nice amenities. The shuttle bus to DC worked out great. Toilets were often clogged, but for the most part things were clean.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 25, 2015
Our family had a great time. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Very clean and well cared for.
Jul 22, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
Cabin lights were on all night and interfered with my sleep as the light was shining right on my tent. Otherwise, friendly staff. $50 a night seemed steep for a tent.
Jul 15, 2015
This is a retirement home not a KOA. The pool is meant for a few adults to swim around in, not for kids to splash and have fun. The "attendant" that is apparently needed for the jump pad just sat there as a little girl was crying profusely. I've been to other KOAs and they don't have attendants at the jump pad. The front desk will lie cust saying no parking in DC so they will ride the shuttle.
Jul 14, 2015
Exceptionally good service and many engaging childrens' activities.
Jul 14, 2015
The Good: Was met at the office at 1AM by a very friendly staff member and he went out of his way to get us settled in for the night. Even more than I expected and just what we needed after 12 hours on the road. Bathrooms, showers, office and staff were all great and all was clean. The bad: Tent site #49 where we stayed was horrible. Sloped.
Jul 13, 2015
This was our first time ever camping and the experience wasn't to bad. The staff was extremely nice and friendly. So we're the other campers... Because I needed help lol My only issue was the site we stayed at was not that great. A lot of tree roots sticking up and it was on a slight hill, so the kids and I kept sliding out of our sleeping bags. But over all had a wonderful time!

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals