Santa Cruz / Monterey Bay KOA

1186 San Andreas Road

Watsonville, CA 95076

Reserve: 800-562-7701

Info: 831-722-0551

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Jun 30, 2015
Other than the raccoon and skunk getting into our camp site while we slept, we had a great time! Pack lots of warm blankets, it's Cold At night even in June
Jun 29, 2015
This was our first KOA stay, and it won't be our last! We were so impressed with the amenities for the kids and adults alike. The pool was great, play area and activities were perfect for our family. We went with 6 other families, and everyone stayed in the various accommodations you offered... tent camping, cabin and lodge. It was perfect for everyone! Your staff was excellent!
Jun 29, 2015
We had wonderful time at KOA. There are so many activities planned for kids. Kids had lots of fun.
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 29, 2015
Facilities were kept clean and staff couldn't have been any nicer!
Jun 28, 2015
we enjoyed the cleanliness of park! the cleanliness of the bathroom! our neighbor next to us smoked that was frustrating but we were only there ome night. Do you have a designated non smoking area for camperes? thank you for a lovely stay
Jun 27, 2015
My son asked to see the ocean and go camping for 7th. I cant tell you how thrilled he was. Both my boys enjoyed our stay very much. As a first time camper myself, I can say, Im hooked! We will be returning, hopefully soon! Thank you so much for our lifelong memories!!
Jun 21, 2015
Very clean , nice staff, fast service
Jun 20, 2015
Space 1 a little noisy and rates are high but overall all a good experience.
Jun 18, 2015
The BEST EVER! Thank you to the front desk gals for getting us settled and answering our numerous questions. Thank you Nathan for helping Nathan up the palm tree. Thank you Jonathan for the planes and your genuine kindness. Thank you Daniel for the train ride. Thank you all. An amazing place!!
Jun 18, 2015
great location, great staff
Jun 16, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
There should be a warning that this facility is not intended for tent camping. This was the worst night of camping of my entire life. Because the sites are on top of each other you hear everything that your neighbors say and do, which meant I was kept awake past 1am and was woken up at 5:30am. And there was a street light shining directly into my tent the whole night.
Jun 13, 2015
Nice camping for kids! We stay'ed for 5 nights on a tent site which was perfect and now we stay 6 nights in an airstream which is a little expensive for what you get! And the airstream was not very clean.
Jun 13, 2015
Very family oriented
Jun 11, 2015
This KOA is our favorite! Very clean bathrooms, Grounds are kept up, lots of activities for kids. Clean Pool/Jacuzzi, Huge on-site store. FYI- Tent sites are VERY close to one another.
Jun 09, 2015
I was great although it would be nice to have a farmers market or something like that in the front field
May 30, 2015
We forgot our hammer, I walked down to the office to see if we could borrow one to get our tent stakes in the ground. My brother was hammering in the stakes by the time I could walk back to our tent. They got the hammer there that quickly. Great friendly staff, clean grounds. A great KOA to stay at.
May 26, 2015
Excellent for families with children. Lots of activities. Pool, bounce pillow, sand, large field out front to play various sports, large playground. We stayed on a sold out holiday weekend and spaces are tight! If you are looking for real camping, getting away from it all then this would't be the place. Looking for lots of things to keep the kids busy while you hang out with the adults, yes.
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
Great for kids!!! Would be nice to have the quiet hours policed better
May 21, 2015
The campground was beyond clean, the shoppette was convenient, wood was delivered immediately, trash pick up was curbside. AND we were able to watch the horse races via the WiFi. Convenient, yet still sleeping out side. Also, everything seemed VERY safe.
May 18, 2015
May 12, 2015
May 10, 2015
Everything was great...checkin, facilities, tent site (although the ground was really hard to get tent stakes into). only complaint is the people in the site across from us had two dogs that weren't leashed and one of them charged my dog and I as we were walking by. I asked the front desk about it and they said they'd address it, but I never saw anybody go there, and the dogs were still at large.
May 07, 2015
First time at KOA. Overall it was nice. Bathrooms were often in poor shape from very large girl scout group. Calls to the office got results but also a bit of attitude. Midnight arrivals in tent section were loud and woke up everyone around them while they set up camp. Sites are very close together. Not sure its worth the money.
May 04, 2015
tent sites are too small and too close together. No privacy whatsoever. Could hear snoring next door, only about 3 feet apart.
May 04, 2015
The tent site was just OK, but the restrooms and showers were not clean. Specially in the morning, in the rush hours between 8 to 10am there was a long cue and the cleaning ladies were cleaning at the same time. That was not good at all.
May 03, 2015
This was hard to rate because depending on your usage it would be a different answer. The park was clean, bathrooms were clean, and the showers were warm. The campsites were tiny and most of the teeny tiny sites were filled with large family or combinations of families so it was very busy and loud. Not great place w/o kids.The woman with long red hair at front desk is a great employee- keep her
May 02, 2015
This is my favorite spot! Making it a every year thing!
Apr 29, 2015
Enjoyed 1 night stay here in tent campsite. Well maintained & clean, nice grounds, @1 mile from beach. Plenty RV sites & Kamping Kabins. 1 criticism: not allowing people to sleep in their mini-vans. I am not homeless and wanted to camp by sleeping in mini-van. I was told KOA does not allow this, but let me do it this one time. Would recommend KOA anyway.
Apr 27, 2015
Great place for kids
Apr 22, 2015
Apr 12, 2015
Great place for families, lots for the kids to do, cleanest public bathrooms and showers I have ever seen outside a hotel. The pool could be heated a bit more during off season, it was cold!!! Ten minutes drive from Santa Cruz. The boardwalk is so much fun for kids- A great way to end your vacation at KOA.
Apr 09, 2015
The Santa Cruz/Monterey Bay KOA facility is an outstanding camping experience. It was a good stay but the rain slightly ruin the outdoor activities. We'll definitely stay there again.
Apr 07, 2015
Great place for families with children. There was never a dull moment, always something to keep the children entertained. Clean grounds, clean bathroom, great location!
Apr 06, 2015
Over priced and over rated. The kids activities were appreciated, but majority of the kids were running around causing chaos while the parents were no where to be found. No supervision on the bouncy pillow made it difficult to enjoy since unsupervised kids ran rampant. The trike rentals were a joke. My child almost got run down by one. They went down the hill by sites 3-6 spinning out and crashing
Apr 06, 2015
We love this campground. The staff is so friendly and helpful. We also enjoyed the pool, big bouncer, mini golf, and location near the beach.
Apr 06, 2015
Nice campsite close to the beach, clean and nice staff!
Apr 06, 2015
so much fun!!
Apr 05, 2015
We had a great time. Plenty to do for the kids. Friendly staff and clean facilities. Even our dogs enjoyed it.
Apr 05, 2015
My son really loved the jumping pillow, he thought it was "epic"! We tried the banana bikes, which were "awesome".It is a fabulous place for kids, which makes it equally as good for parents. This was our 2nd time, and we will be back. We tell everyone!
Apr 04, 2015
We camp here a few times a year. Really great place. It was a bit frustrating that bathrooms by our site were closed but the next bathroom was not too far away so it was ok. Employees are awesome and always helpful. We'll be back this summer!
Apr 03, 2015
Apr 03, 2015
Great staff. Slight hassle for us that the nearest bathroom facility was closed for renovation and the water was off for several hours one day
Apr 02, 2015
After moving our camp space twice and dealing with the ports potties dirty bathrooms in the cramped camp we were done with our trip before it started, your Los really isn't set up for larger tents so we will go elsewhere in the future thanks
Apr 01, 2015
I wish there was a little more room between the campsites - especially given the popularity of the campground. Overall, very organized and operated.
Mar 29, 2015
Great KOA! Was very pleased.
Mar 28, 2015
Very cool vibe here!
Mar 23, 2015
Customer Service was incredible! We stayed in the Air Stream which was really comfortable. Camping areas were clean. We had a blast and we are already planning another trip to go back.
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.