Santa Cruz / Monterey Bay KOA

1186 San Andreas Road

Watsonville, CA 95076

Reserve: 800-562-7701

Info: 831-722-0551

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Jul 22, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Nice quiet campground with easy access to state beaches.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
The campgrounds were clean, the staff friendly, and there were so many things to do! Just right for my three and seven year old boys! The service was exceptional and we are already planning our trip next year!
Jul 19, 2014
We loved staying at KOA in Santa Cruz! The location was great and there were so many activities for our two young boys. The campsites were a little closer together than I would like, but other than that everything was great. Staff was very friendly and helpful, and everything was very clean.
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Our stay was ok, very disappointed with the tent camping site as we felt it wasn't truly camping. We could hear conversations and the car next door when open could have hit our tent. Had no privacy between the sites. We will not come back to tent camp. Our kids had fun with the activities but for the price that we paid to tent camp it was too much money.
Jul 13, 2014
I think that this is only a great place to camp if you have small children. The tent campsite we stayed in was way too small and I kind of felt that I was camping in a parking lot. It wasn't as close to the beach as I had hoped and in order to drive to any of the nearby beaches there was a $10 fee. I felt as though I could have rented a hotel room for the price that we paid to camp.
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
This kamp ground had to many cabins. It felt more like it's own town than a camping experience. The tent camping sites were small and clustered together in a way that made it feel like it wasn't a true campsite. This KOA would be amazing if you stayed in a cabin but is awful for tent camping
Jul 11, 2014
We chose KOA Santa Cruz because it looked so kid-friendly online. We were not disappointed! The kids loved the banana bikes, the jumping pillow, the playground. We had a wonderful time and will definitely be back.
Jul 10, 2014
we enjoyed the clean showers and bath room the friendly associates everyone was very helpful
Jul 10, 2014
One of the nicest KOA's I've seen. Best part is how quiet it was at night.
Jul 08, 2014
The facilities were very nice and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. Lots of fun stuff for the kids to do and they had a great time playing with their cousins at our family reunion. Tent sites could be a bit larger as it is hard to fit a family size car and tent in the site.
Jul 03, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Wonderful facilities, staff, and activities! So much fun!
Jun 30, 2014
We had a great time! So much for the kids to do here and great fun for the family! We booked our next year's vacation before we left!
Jun 29, 2014
We had the best time at the Santa Cruz KOA. Kids had a blast, loved the bounce pillow and mini golf. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We will be back for sure.
Jun 27, 2014
This is camping with comfort. The staff is great and always around if you need them. Bath and showers were really clean. Lots of fun for the kids. Really close to lots of activities including beach but inland enough to not be as cold and foggy.
Jun 24, 2014
Myself and 2 other dads were up after 10 at our campfire and Kevin (staff) was exceedingly rude. Bear in mind were not drunk, on drugs, making rude comments, but only sitting around chatting. When we tried to tell him that he was mistaken and that nobody had come to our site "multiple times" like he stated, He became irate and threatened to get "Duke" to "handle us". then threatened police. BAD
Jun 23, 2014
Almost a flawless experience, except for the night watch who quickly threatened to get the cops to have us removed during a discussion while we were outside enjoying the last of our campfire. Enforcing "quiet hours" did not need to be rude or unprofessional and it soured an otherwise perfect stay. Rest of the staff was very pleasant and helpful. Facilities and activities were great.
Jun 23, 2014
KOA is a great place to stay if you're with a family with kids. As someone who doesn't have kids, it was very difficult to sleep in the tents area, given the noise. But otherwise I don't have any complaints - friendly staff.
Jun 22, 2014
This was our families first stay at a KOA and it was a great experience. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, everything is clean and taken care of, and our sites were perfect. An EXCELLENT choice for traveling families.
Jun 21, 2014
The campground/crew were great! We felt the tent sites were extremely small and not private and #5 did not give us the room that we usually have with our 4 grandsons. We had a scary/upsetting issue on the first night we were there 6/16 and my husband reported to Pat in the office and he said he would get back to us, but we never heard from him. I am not sure I would TENT camp there again!
Jun 21, 2014
We had a great 3-night stay at KOA Santa Cruz. I would definitely camp here again. The only con was that the tent spaces were so extremely close to one another and you don't have much privacy. I could literally hear people's conversations in the tent next to us. Otherwise, the location was convenient, as it was only 7-10 miles away from grocery stores and Target and the mall!
Jun 21, 2014
We have been csmping with you many years now we always enjoyed our stay with you. I've seen many improves that's very nice. The problem we encountered was at night with unruly campers. Noone called security if there was someone on duty I think they should patrol the area because the disturbance went on for hours.
Jun 19, 2014
This was a fun, safe , friendly , clean and all round happy time for my son and I who stayed for twelve nights from Chicago! Now I can hardly wait to come back next year. Thank you!
Jun 18, 2014
Bad service, small site, way too expensive. First and Last time we do koa
Jun 17, 2014
This was the best 4-day vacation for my family. We stayed on the tent site and enjoyed it very much! We will definitely be back.
Jun 15, 2014
Beautiful park. Just wrong time for us to go there with a limb falling and putting a small tear in our tent, cool weather and family time with their special kids. Was loud in the mornings. Otherwise, an awesome KOA in the middle of Santa Cruz and Monterey Bay. Great for your family time!!
Jun 14, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
Jun 08, 2014
Clean, alot of showers, hot tub and internet worked well. Camping spots were a bit too close. We could hear the neighbor tent talking late into the night.
Jun 07, 2014
Jun 06, 2014
Jun 06, 2014
Our stay was amazing. We felt safe and comfortable and our toddler had the time of her life. The staff was friendly and we are already planning our next stay and planning a complete family vacation I'm excited to go again but next time stay longer than a day
Jun 03, 2014
we tent camped for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. The campgrounds were clean, staff were friendly, activities were great fun. Can't wait to stay again!
Jun 02, 2014
Loved the staff and the amenities, but it felt like camping in a parking lot - especially space 149. They couldn't even put wood chips down over the dirt. Just dirt and a chopped down tree. Especially disappointing for the price. We may consider coming back, but would definitely stay in a cabin.
Jun 02, 2014
Everything was good except the tent camp sites were very, very small and w/o any privacy!
May 28, 2014
Poison Oak along the back of our Camp site had no warning that it was there. We understand you can't control it. But a wall or notice would be better.
May 28, 2014
park was clean and staff was extremely helpful activities were fun for the kids,
May 28, 2014
VERY clean park , friendly and helpful staff, the gentleman picking garbage up sunday whom i believe name was polo he was very kind in helping us load our car THANK YOU
May 23, 2014
I love it there!
May 12, 2014
We had a wonderful stay. We were assigned a small tent site at first but they quickly accommodated us and set us up in a bigger site with no questions asked. Everyone was very friendly and the camp ground was always kept clean. Very impressed.
Apr 29, 2014
The staff at this KOA are great! There was a tree fall on one night and we went without power and water for about 24 hours. In all this time the staff remained very friendly. There were a lot of guests that were not very pleasant and they remained upbeat and pleasant. I am a Hotel General Manager in Yosemite and I have been though natural disasters and keeping your spirits is not always easy.
Apr 26, 2014
I enjoyed the service thoroughly, unfortunately, the pictures online were rather deceiving. It wasn't very spacious, so there wasn't much privacy. It was a pain in the neck trying to leave with the amount of cars, and the lack of space, as well as all the screaming kids everywhere. I really appreciated the convenience of the office, and all they had to offer. However, it was just a bit too crowded
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.