Santa Cruz / Monterey Bay KOA

1186 San Andreas Road

Watsonville, CA 95076

Reserve: 800-562-7701

Info: 831-722-0551

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Sep 09, 2014
The Indian crap was awful. It was after 10:00 and the poor guy working went 4 times to tell them to keep it down. didn't work. The campground tent sites are not what we saw on your advertisement. We did have fun neighbors next to us the first night so that was fun.
Sep 08, 2014
I was impressed with the campground and the amenities in the beginning. There was a large homeless camp behind the fence of our campsite with a terrible smell. There was a very large group of people (~100) who were extremely loud and disruptive all night and the quiet hours were not enforced. The wireless internet they provided did not work. I was extremely dissatisfied and demanded a refund.
Sep 02, 2014
I was there for the labor day weekend with several adults and several kids and no one was bored the entire time! The location is great and easy to get to things and the camp is soooo clean. They have someone cleaning the bathrooms & showers all the time! I will definitely be back.
Aug 30, 2014
Hasta la vista!
Aug 29, 2014
Aug 28, 2014
The spot where we camped was immaculate. Love the curbside garbage pickup. Great hot showers! Felt really welcome.
Aug 27, 2014
Enjoyed the remoteness and proximity to the ocean and clean grounds. The shower/bath setup is ideal. My problem with KOA in general is non-enforcement of the quiet hours. Campers just don't appreciate the fact that groups cannot lionize the camping environment. This will keep me away from KOAs in future.
Aug 24, 2014
There are many fun activities for the kids! And everyone is so friendly.... It's so clean and welcoming, we will be back. :-)
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Just need to improve the internet.Is alittle bit slow and hard to laod.This is the nicest KOA my family has ever stayed at.
Aug 16, 2014
Wonderfull location, lots of fun things for children including a nice pool.
Aug 16, 2014
My family really enjoyed our stay here. Lots of activities for the children, the store, laundry, pool & soa. Very centrally located, so we were able to enjoy the aquarium, the boardwalk and several beaches. The tent site was nice. There are storage boxes on every tent site for food storage and a fire ring that doubles as a barbecue pit. We loved our stay and will absolutely be back.
Aug 14, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Used a tent site. No privacy. Sites too close together. Had large groups on both sides, in excess of 6 people. Noisy. Not supervised by campground personnel. But great stuff for kids so this makes the campground worth a visit.
Aug 08, 2014
this koa has great facilities and mostly helpful staff. The downside for us was that we seemed to be on an rv site and the ground was way to hard to get our tent pegs in!
Aug 07, 2014
Awesome KOA.... We will be back!
Aug 07, 2014
This was our first KOA experience, and my family is impressed. The staff was friendly, the sites and restrooms were clean, and the areas for the kids to play were amazing!
Aug 05, 2014
Well run place. Staff are great and kind!
Aug 02, 2014
Overly crowded, need more space between tent camping. NO PRIVACY ! GOOD PLACE for kids, lots of activities.
Aug 01, 2014
Stayed for a family reunion. Great place for kids and the adults had a good time too. Variety of accommodations for all ages and tastes. Very friendly and helpful staff. Would do it agin.
Aug 01, 2014
we had a lovely time the bathrooms are clean and the park was nice and everybody at the cashier was nice we had a lovely time the bathrooms are clean and the my phone
Jul 31, 2014
Great experience. Kids loved the activities. We love the staff very freindly and professional.
Jul 28, 2014
Tent sites so small barely enough room to park SUV. Store alarm went off at 1am. Kids hated having wristband on their arm for 5 days. Staff on carts were annoying driving through 5 times or more per hour. Night guard made us feel like we were criminals when we came from boardwalk at 11:30pm. Did enjoy the kids activities but will stay at state campground next time.
Jul 26, 2014
This was our second time at this KOA. It is clean, has a lot of activities for our child, and very comfortable. We love the place and always have a wonderful time. Thank you!
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Nice quiet campground with easy access to state beaches.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
The campgrounds were clean, the staff friendly, and there were so many things to do! Just right for my three and seven year old boys! The service was exceptional and we are already planning our trip next year!
Jul 19, 2014
We loved staying at KOA in Santa Cruz! The location was great and there were so many activities for our two young boys. The campsites were a little closer together than I would like, but other than that everything was great. Staff was very friendly and helpful, and everything was very clean.
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Our stay was ok, very disappointed with the tent camping site as we felt it wasn't truly camping. We could hear conversations and the car next door when open could have hit our tent. Had no privacy between the sites. We will not come back to tent camp. Our kids had fun with the activities but for the price that we paid to tent camp it was too much money.
Jul 13, 2014
I think that this is only a great place to camp if you have small children. The tent campsite we stayed in was way too small and I kind of felt that I was camping in a parking lot. It wasn't as close to the beach as I had hoped and in order to drive to any of the nearby beaches there was a $10 fee. I felt as though I could have rented a hotel room for the price that we paid to camp.
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
This kamp ground had to many cabins. It felt more like it's own town than a camping experience. The tent camping sites were small and clustered together in a way that made it feel like it wasn't a true campsite. This KOA would be amazing if you stayed in a cabin but is awful for tent camping
Jul 11, 2014
We chose KOA Santa Cruz because it looked so kid-friendly online. We were not disappointed! The kids loved the banana bikes, the jumping pillow, the playground. We had a wonderful time and will definitely be back.
Jul 10, 2014
we enjoyed the clean showers and bath room the friendly associates everyone was very helpful
Jul 10, 2014
One of the nicest KOA's I've seen. Best part is how quiet it was at night.
Jul 08, 2014
The facilities were very nice and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. Lots of fun stuff for the kids to do and they had a great time playing with their cousins at our family reunion. Tent sites could be a bit larger as it is hard to fit a family size car and tent in the site.
Jul 03, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Wonderful facilities, staff, and activities! So much fun!
Jun 30, 2014
We had a great time! So much for the kids to do here and great fun for the family! We booked our next year's vacation before we left!
Jun 29, 2014
We had the best time at the Santa Cruz KOA. Kids had a blast, loved the bounce pillow and mini golf. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We will be back for sure.
Jun 27, 2014
This is camping with comfort. The staff is great and always around if you need them. Bath and showers were really clean. Lots of fun for the kids. Really close to lots of activities including beach but inland enough to not be as cold and foggy.
Jun 24, 2014
Myself and 2 other dads were up after 10 at our campfire and Kevin (staff) was exceedingly rude. Bear in mind were not drunk, on drugs, making rude comments, but only sitting around chatting. When we tried to tell him that he was mistaken and that nobody had come to our site "multiple times" like he stated, He became irate and threatened to get "Duke" to "handle us". then threatened police. BAD
Jun 23, 2014
Almost a flawless experience, except for the night watch who quickly threatened to get the cops to have us removed during a discussion while we were outside enjoying the last of our campfire. Enforcing "quiet hours" did not need to be rude or unprofessional and it soured an otherwise perfect stay. Rest of the staff was very pleasant and helpful. Facilities and activities were great.
Jun 23, 2014
KOA is a great place to stay if you're with a family with kids. As someone who doesn't have kids, it was very difficult to sleep in the tents area, given the noise. But otherwise I don't have any complaints - friendly staff.
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.