Santa Cruz / Monterey Bay KOA

1186 San Andreas Road

Watsonville, CA 95076

Reserve: 800-562-7701

Info: 831-722-0551

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Aug 24, 2014
There are many fun activities for the kids! And everyone is so friendly.... It's so clean and welcoming, we will be back. :-)
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Just need to improve the internet.Is alittle bit slow and hard to laod.This is the nicest KOA my family has ever stayed at.
Aug 16, 2014
Wonderfull location, lots of fun things for children including a nice pool.
Aug 16, 2014
My family really enjoyed our stay here. Lots of activities for the children, the store, laundry, pool & soa. Very centrally located, so we were able to enjoy the aquarium, the boardwalk and several beaches. The tent site was nice. There are storage boxes on every tent site for food storage and a fire ring that doubles as a barbecue pit. We loved our stay and will absolutely be back.
Aug 14, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Used a tent site. No privacy. Sites too close together. Had large groups on both sides, in excess of 6 people. Noisy. Not supervised by campground personnel. But great stuff for kids so this makes the campground worth a visit.
Aug 08, 2014
this koa has great facilities and mostly helpful staff. The downside for us was that we seemed to be on an rv site and the ground was way to hard to get our tent pegs in!
Aug 07, 2014
Awesome KOA.... We will be back!
Aug 07, 2014
This was our first KOA experience, and my family is impressed. The staff was friendly, the sites and restrooms were clean, and the areas for the kids to play were amazing!
Aug 05, 2014
Well run place. Staff are great and kind!
Aug 02, 2014
Overly crowded, need more space between tent camping. NO PRIVACY ! GOOD PLACE for kids, lots of activities.
Aug 01, 2014
Stayed for a family reunion. Great place for kids and the adults had a good time too. Variety of accommodations for all ages and tastes. Very friendly and helpful staff. Would do it agin.
Aug 01, 2014
we had a lovely time the bathrooms are clean and the park was nice and everybody at the cashier was nice we had a lovely time the bathrooms are clean and the my phone
Jul 31, 2014
Great experience. Kids loved the activities. We love the staff very freindly and professional.
Jul 28, 2014
Tent sites so small barely enough room to park SUV. Store alarm went off at 1am. Kids hated having wristband on their arm for 5 days. Staff on carts were annoying driving through 5 times or more per hour. Night guard made us feel like we were criminals when we came from boardwalk at 11:30pm. Did enjoy the kids activities but will stay at state campground next time.
Jul 26, 2014
This was our second time at this KOA. It is clean, has a lot of activities for our child, and very comfortable. We love the place and always have a wonderful time. Thank you!
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Nice quiet campground with easy access to state beaches.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
The campgrounds were clean, the staff friendly, and there were so many things to do! Just right for my three and seven year old boys! The service was exceptional and we are already planning our trip next year!
Jul 19, 2014
We loved staying at KOA in Santa Cruz! The location was great and there were so many activities for our two young boys. The campsites were a little closer together than I would like, but other than that everything was great. Staff was very friendly and helpful, and everything was very clean.
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Our stay was ok, very disappointed with the tent camping site as we felt it wasn't truly camping. We could hear conversations and the car next door when open could have hit our tent. Had no privacy between the sites. We will not come back to tent camp. Our kids had fun with the activities but for the price that we paid to tent camp it was too much money.
Jul 13, 2014
I think that this is only a great place to camp if you have small children. The tent campsite we stayed in was way too small and I kind of felt that I was camping in a parking lot. It wasn't as close to the beach as I had hoped and in order to drive to any of the nearby beaches there was a $10 fee. I felt as though I could have rented a hotel room for the price that we paid to camp.
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
This kamp ground had to many cabins. It felt more like it's own town than a camping experience. The tent camping sites were small and clustered together in a way that made it feel like it wasn't a true campsite. This KOA would be amazing if you stayed in a cabin but is awful for tent camping
Jul 11, 2014
We chose KOA Santa Cruz because it looked so kid-friendly online. We were not disappointed! The kids loved the banana bikes, the jumping pillow, the playground. We had a wonderful time and will definitely be back.
Jul 10, 2014
we enjoyed the clean showers and bath room the friendly associates everyone was very helpful
Jul 10, 2014
One of the nicest KOA's I've seen. Best part is how quiet it was at night.
Jul 08, 2014
The facilities were very nice and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. Lots of fun stuff for the kids to do and they had a great time playing with their cousins at our family reunion. Tent sites could be a bit larger as it is hard to fit a family size car and tent in the site.
Jul 03, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Wonderful facilities, staff, and activities! So much fun!
Jun 30, 2014
We had a great time! So much for the kids to do here and great fun for the family! We booked our next year's vacation before we left!
Jun 29, 2014
We had the best time at the Santa Cruz KOA. Kids had a blast, loved the bounce pillow and mini golf. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We will be back for sure.
Jun 27, 2014
This is camping with comfort. The staff is great and always around if you need them. Bath and showers were really clean. Lots of fun for the kids. Really close to lots of activities including beach but inland enough to not be as cold and foggy.
Jun 24, 2014
Myself and 2 other dads were up after 10 at our campfire and Kevin (staff) was exceedingly rude. Bear in mind were not drunk, on drugs, making rude comments, but only sitting around chatting. When we tried to tell him that he was mistaken and that nobody had come to our site "multiple times" like he stated, He became irate and threatened to get "Duke" to "handle us". then threatened police. BAD
Jun 23, 2014
Almost a flawless experience, except for the night watch who quickly threatened to get the cops to have us removed during a discussion while we were outside enjoying the last of our campfire. Enforcing "quiet hours" did not need to be rude or unprofessional and it soured an otherwise perfect stay. Rest of the staff was very pleasant and helpful. Facilities and activities were great.
Jun 23, 2014
KOA is a great place to stay if you're with a family with kids. As someone who doesn't have kids, it was very difficult to sleep in the tents area, given the noise. But otherwise I don't have any complaints - friendly staff.
Jun 22, 2014
This was our families first stay at a KOA and it was a great experience. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, everything is clean and taken care of, and our sites were perfect. An EXCELLENT choice for traveling families.
Jun 21, 2014
The campground/crew were great! We felt the tent sites were extremely small and not private and #5 did not give us the room that we usually have with our 4 grandsons. We had a scary/upsetting issue on the first night we were there 6/16 and my husband reported to Pat in the office and he said he would get back to us, but we never heard from him. I am not sure I would TENT camp there again!
Jun 21, 2014
We had a great 3-night stay at KOA Santa Cruz. I would definitely camp here again. The only con was that the tent spaces were so extremely close to one another and you don't have much privacy. I could literally hear people's conversations in the tent next to us. Otherwise, the location was convenient, as it was only 7-10 miles away from grocery stores and Target and the mall!
Jun 21, 2014
We have been csmping with you many years now we always enjoyed our stay with you. I've seen many improves that's very nice. The problem we encountered was at night with unruly campers. Noone called security if there was someone on duty I think they should patrol the area because the disturbance went on for hours.
Jun 19, 2014
This was a fun, safe , friendly , clean and all round happy time for my son and I who stayed for twelve nights from Chicago! Now I can hardly wait to come back next year. Thank you!
Jun 18, 2014
Bad service, small site, way too expensive. First and Last time we do koa
Jun 17, 2014
This was the best 4-day vacation for my family. We stayed on the tent site and enjoyed it very much! We will definitely be back.
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.