Nestled in the heart of the Lowcountry, Point South KOA is settled between Historic Savannah, Charleston, Beaufort and Hilton Head. We feature nightly wine tastings (for a minimal fee), largest pool at Point South, a fishing lake, Kamp K9, coffee house, pizza shop and a great playground for the kids. Family friendly we strive to make your camping experience a GREAT and memorable stay. Don't have an RV?!? We have Beautiful new lodging in our Deluxe Cabins rendered in a "Frank Lloyd Wright" feel. All with linens, kitchenettes, bathrooms and plasma televisions. We also have the primitive cabins for the "Lincoln Log" feel. The restrooms are close by and we even offer linen packages (small fee required) for your convenience. Happy Camping and Ya'll come down and see us, ya hear.
The Parris Island Museum is located in the War Memorial Building, which stands as a monument to the Marines of the past as well as a source of inspiration for Marines of the future. The Museum is devoted to the portrayal of the history and development of Parris Island and the Port Royal area, the Marine Corps, and recruit training. The Museum also contains a study collection and research facilities to aid scholars in studying regional military and Marine Corps history.
The refuge is located on US Highway 17 South, Exit 5 off I-95, Hardeeville. It is located on the site of former rice plantations where relics of the past remain. The 26,500 acre refuge teems with migratory birds and native wildlife. A nature drive winds along the dikes. Free admission and open daily.
Penn Center is located on South Carolina Secondary Road 45. Founded in 1862 as a school for freed slaves, Penn School established a commitment to black education, welfare and heritage. Today the school continues its commitment to education and is used by the Peace Corps as an agricultural training facility.
Is located on South Carolina Highway 21 and US Highway 17 and only seven miles from the Point South KOA. Was built between 1745 and 1775, Sheldon Church is said to be the first conscious attempt in America to imitate a Greek temple. The church was burned by British troops in May of 1779, rebuilt in 1826 and was again burned on January 14, 1865. The church was never rebuilt and most of the ruins still stand today.