Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 12, 2016
Stay was good, but we called to cancel within 30 min of making reservation due to no 50amp sites available and was told that we would have to forfeit the full $83.00. I doubt we camp KOA again.
Jul 11, 2016
No WiFi at all.Site way to close.
Jul 11, 2016
Great stay. Not pleased with not being placed near our friends, especially sincewe booked last december
Jul 11, 2016
Perfect stay. However we ran out of propane at our sight to grill dinner, I told the front desk and it didn't get replaced until the next day ...... We are PB and J for dinner rather than our brats we had planned.
Jul 11, 2016
Super fun campground but the tent sites are super tiny.
Jul 11, 2016
The place has lots of amenities for children and the staff is helpful and friendly. Comfort Station #4 needs to be brought up to the standards of CS #2. The bathrooms need fans installed NOW. The stench floats out to the hallway where people await use of the showers. The showers need more hooks and small shelves for placing shampoo bottles and other grooming aids. The showers were not very clean
Jul 11, 2016
Our family Stayed here at the KOA Rushmore on the July 4th week.super busy time, hats off to all the staff. Campers on the other hand drove way to fast with all the little one ridding and walking around the roads. great clean restrooms until a camper decided to deface the new interior, mean people are just ugly. Great location lots to do within the surrounding area. We will recommend this KOA
Jul 11, 2016
We were not too happy. It was in a great location has some great amenities like the kids park and bathrooms were nice. But the lack of internet/phone reception, no wifi, overcrowded, and over charging for extra amenities, lack of paved the sites and road and too many evening campfires made the entire park very smokey and unpleasant.
Jul 11, 2016
so much to do
Jul 11, 2016
So many things to do that we could have easily forgotten why we came in the first place. Close to everything
Jul 11, 2016
What a neat place! Next time I'm staying longer and getting Full Hok Ups!
Jul 11, 2016
Great campground. lots of stuff for kids and adults. Close to Mt Rushmore and other Keystone town. Would definitely stay again
Jul 11, 2016
What an amazing place to stay!! From the cleanliness of the entire camp ground to the professionalism and friendly faces of all staff personnel, we were extremely impressed with our stay! Thank you for working hard to make your guests feel welcomed and 100% special! Your hard work and dedication to this campground is appreciated beyond words.
Jul 11, 2016
We had a great experience at this KOA. Nice friendly staff, clean park. However, the Wifi and internet reception was not so good but if you are on vacation you shouldn't need that anyway!!!
Jul 11, 2016
Family Vacation, We arrived late on a Friday and left the following Saturday. We have a 6 and 3 year old and this stay was great. Campsites were convenient and easy in and out. They have 2 pools nice playground and activities everyday. Located within 30 minutes of almost everything you want to see. and on all main roads. Stables are right on the grounds, store a bit spendy.
Jul 11, 2016
Very nice campground. Great location and a lot of activities for kids. Staff very friendly. Only issue is I work when I travel and was told there was wifi but no cell service and wifi signal was mostly non existent. Not a big deal for a few days. Just went into town.
Jul 11, 2016
Nice campground with lots of activities and great location. Only downside is there were tons of young children running around with no supervision.
Jul 11, 2016
Wonderful stay my family and I really enjoyed it
Jul 11, 2016
They are so rude here I will never stay here again
Jul 11, 2016
Was so much fun! Sad to leave! Will be back soon!! Great family place!
Jul 11, 2016
Jul 11, 2016
Not enough or close enough restrooms. Too hilly for older folks, must drive to use facilities. Not kept very clean for a KOA
Jul 11, 2016
Great place--except for the PRIC!. Families would do very good here....!
Jul 11, 2016
Great campground to enjoy the black hills and attractions.Lots of activities to do for the family!
Jul 11, 2016
Great place! Just booked for next year in June. Bringing grandchildren, kids fun zone absolutely wonderful! Manager and staff have cheery helpful attitudes!
Jul 11, 2016
Awesome campground and a perfect location for a black hills site seeing trip! The amenities, location, and customer service were outstanding.
Jul 11, 2016
It was awsome as usual, we have stayed there more than once and we're always refreshed after our stay.
Jul 11, 2016
Great customer service! Manager accessible. Well maintained. Variety of activities. Can't wait to come back!
Jul 11, 2016
This is a fantastic campground/resort! My family and I had a great time. our only regret is that we could not have stayed longer!
Jul 11, 2016
Any concern was addressed, except cellphone service, excellent customer service.
Jul 11, 2016
Bathrooms needed serious attention several times. Also site was less than near level and took some work to get usable. With price that we pay for this site, should have been in better condition.
Jul 11, 2016
The wifi was almost impossible to connect from our phones and iPads. We enjoyed the activities provided with our nine year old daughter.
Jul 11, 2016
Very accommodating!
Jul 10, 2016
This is a great and clean campground with lots to do.
Jul 10, 2016
Only issue with this KOA is its advertised having WIFI but the signal is non existent even near the main buildings. This may not be an issue for some but it is if you need to be able to communicate or needing the ability to be reached. Outside of this the place is great!
Jul 10, 2016
Great place to stay with or without the kids
Jul 10, 2016
6 nights of one of the greatest campgrounds we've been to ever! My family didn't want to leave...ever!!
Jul 10, 2016
A lot of nice conveniences with the little town. Far too crowded with neighbors too close. No internet or wifi access even at the main resort and town.
Jul 10, 2016
Jul 10, 2016
Great if you have kids, but sites extremely close. Very busy, fill services KOA except phone and WiFi were poor. Really turned off by overflowing dumpsters and lack of recycling containers. Noise level by staff between 6:30-8am not good. Power washers, cowgirls yipping at horses moving them to stable and fast moving golf carts.
Jul 10, 2016
I have reviewed this KOA in the past, and overall, we enjoy it and would return. But I'm going to downgrade it for now and change my position on something--the WIFI in this place is horrible. I don't normally downgrade a place for poor WIFI, but I'm going to for this KOA. If you want to be a "Resort" KOA and expect people to stay for extended periods, we need WIFI to plan, check weather, etc..
Jul 10, 2016
There are so many different activities and amenities for every age group! Wonderful staff, clean facilities, and large tent sites! The only downside was some of the bathrooms could use a major update, while others were wonderful.
Jul 10, 2016
Great place for families! Will be back again!!
Jul 10, 2016
Awesome place! Will be back.
Jul 10, 2016
This resort would be a great destination even if it were not within a few miles of Mt. Rushmore. Their WiFi and cell phone coverage was below par. Their reservation system was not very efficient. Although their system said they had no full hook ups available there were two full hookups empty across from us.
Jul 10, 2016
The friendliest staff for sure! Our family had an excellent experience because of how well kept the grounds were, how many 'things' there were to do and with how accommodating the KOA staff was. We'll be back for sure!
Jul 10, 2016
I was disappointed to say the least in the front desk's ability to put our 3 party group together. We all paid for a rv spot in january so we could be together but no one asked us when reserving a spot to put a $10 dollar deposit down and pick a numbered sight. Ruined our vacation!!! we tried to switch and get closer, but computer illiterate workers couldn't complete or didn't care. Never KOA
Jul 09, 2016
Great location and beautiful surroundings! The rental car service was a huge plus for us. Only things we wish we'd known ahead of time: book activities early (i.e. ATVs and trail rides). Also, wifi and phone service is non-existent; doesn't even work well at hotspots. Only thing we'd change! The restaurant and Grapes & Grinds were both welcome options to have onsite!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals