Lake Placid / Whiteface Mtn. KOA

77 Fox Farm Road

Wilmington, NY 12997

Reserve: 800-562-0368

Info: 518-946-7878

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Camp for $10 on May 9!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Cabin Reviews

Apr 13, 2015
Apr 07, 2015
We were one of only a tiny number of campers staying at the site over the Easter weekend, but were very well looked after. The camping cabin was warm, cozy and clean. This was our second stay at this KOA and we have recommended it a number of times already. We will definitely return, particularly now we know that it is open throughout the winter - just a stone's throw from Whiteface skiing.
Apr 06, 2015
We have stayed at this KOA many times, but not during winter. Even though there were not many campers, the store was open when we needed it. We were even pleasantly surprised to see that breakfast was offered, on Easter too! The cabin was clean and cozy, we couldnt believe the amenities included. It was our first trip with our new dog, they were welcoming and didnt impose any extra fees for him.
Mar 30, 2015
We enjoyed Ski and camp fires and BBQ. We hope to come back again.
Mar 16, 2015
Mar 16, 2015
We absolutely loved our cabin. Typically when camping I go in a tent but dead of winter you can't do that. Cabin was beautiful, website didn't do it justice. Very friendly staff! Definitely coming back!
Mar 11, 2015
Mar 10, 2015
Mar 09, 2015
Wonderful cabin!!! As always campground is clean, friendly staff, nice amenities...we love lake placid Koa!! Thank you for the 20% discount
Mar 09, 2015
It was so nice to camp in the winter. We had an awesome time. The kids played and snow shoed. The cabin was extremely nice and comfy.
Mar 09, 2015
Everything was great from making the reservation to checking out. The staff were very warm and welcoming. Everyone waved hello on our way into the park. The check in/out procedure was fast and easy. Pamela double checked to make sure our fire pit was cleaned out. The accomodations were very quaint and comfortable. All the amenities you could ask for during a winter get away.
Feb 22, 2015
amazing..... to have such a lodging close to Whiteface mountain in the dead of winter . We all felt very safe and confortable thank you
Feb 21, 2015
Chip and Julie are great hosts! The camp is nestled just outside of famous Lake Placid at Whiteface mountain. Great place to get out in nature. We bring our Alaskan Malamute and he is always welcome. They have a great snack bar, super breakfast on weekends and clean bathrooms. Pool, lodge, camp store and staff are all first class!!!!!!
Feb 20, 2015
Loved the cabin, the dog playground, and the breakfast.
Feb 19, 2015
Cabins were awesome, maintenance staff are top notch
Feb 17, 2015
Awesome service! Very happy with the cleanliness of the cabin, shower facilities and overall service and price.
Feb 17, 2015
Our favorite KOA. Chip & Julie go out of their way to make sure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. We stayed in a cabin this time, not our travel trailer, and it was AWESOME. Lake Placid KOA is the BEST!!!
Feb 10, 2015
Excellent staff! Very well maintained!
Feb 09, 2015
J'y suis allé en février et que dire de plus que WOW! Nous avons eu acceuil chaleureux, Chip et sa femme sont ultra accueillant et accomodant. La cabine était parfaite, propre, équipé, comfortable et assez grande pour 4 personnes. Seule déception avec l'eau chaude. De plus nous étions à 5 minutes de Whiteface Mountain. En somme, notre expérience a été des plus agréable :)))
Feb 02, 2015
Having the cabin to stay in during our winter stay was great. After a day of hiking a high peak we came back to a warm cabin. The cabin was cozy and having a kitchen to cook in was clutch. My only complaint would be that the shower didn't work due to the negative temperatures and pipes freezing. We managed just fine without the shower though and were grateful to be warm!
Nov 20, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
I rented for two nights a heated cabin which was a very good lodging while on our hike we walked into a blizzard on the summit of Algonquin mnt,
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 22, 2014
Appreciated our stay very much, as weather is cold would appreciate if water in shower could be a little warmer. Thank you !
Oct 21, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
My family and I stayed in one of the cabins and loved it! The rooms were generous, the shower was excellent, the kitchen was fully fitted, and the deck and grill were great auxiliary spaces for our group. The location was central and accessible for all the hiking we did.
Oct 20, 2014
Wonderful stay, incredible location - on-campground scenery was awesome. Staff helpful in explaining local area, hiking opportunities. Lots to do in the area. Highly recommended! Stayed in kabin, very spacious and secluded sites.
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Great facility and loved the little dog park!
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 15, 2014
My family and friends have been coming here for 12 years in a row, each Columbus Day weekend. We love the planned kid activities, like trick or treating and crafts. Of course the pot luck turkey dinner is a huge bonus as well! The new ownership has done a fine job keeping with all the traditions we are used to. Highly reccomend to anyone!
Oct 15, 2014
Les chiens ne devraient pas être acceptés. Nous avons vu un chien agressif: dangereux pour les autres et des chiens qui jappent sans arrêt. Vraiment pas plaisant.
Oct 14, 2014
GREAT CAMPGROUND AND SO CONVIENTLY LOCATED TO wHITEFACE WHERE WE WERE GOING TO A VENUE!
Oct 14, 2014
Square fire pits could be replaced. Couldn't enjoy a nice fire cause it was too small. Otherwise, everything was nice.
Oct 14, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
Had a great time. Stayed in a camping cabin. People where friendly, service was excellent, and prices reasonable. We will visit other KOAs because of this experience.
Oct 10, 2014
Oct 09, 2014
Oct 07, 2014
Oct 06, 2014
Belle acceuil, Endroit super propre!
Oct 06, 2014
However, it was a shame to have to listen to a leaf blower for an hour on a beautiful Fall weekend. The whole idea was to leave those noises behind in the city.
Oct 06, 2014
We stayed in one of the basic cabins, comfortable, clean and quiet. I was pleasantly surprised at the comfortable mattress! The swing on the porch and having electricity made the stay more relaxing. The staff are wonderful. We will be back in the spring.
Oct 06, 2014
Oct 01, 2014
stayed in basic cabin first night U18. Bed not very comfortable but was suitable. Check in person could have been more helpful with early check in (cabin was cleaned and ready) but still had to wait. Other campers had left their food and cooking stuff in the kitchen unattended for hours making it hard for others to use
Sep 30, 2014
We had a free upgrade as our cabin had some unexpected repairs. It was great to have the kitchen and bedroom. Everything was immaculate and the staff were very helpful and friendly too.
Sep 29, 2014
We rented the deluxe cabins and I expected typical old camping cabins. These were AMAZING!! deck, grill, linens, soap, shower, electric fireplace, tv, kitchenette. Beautiful and VERY clean. Staff was very nice and accommodating! We only stayed one day, but I would love to come back for an extended stay!!
Sep 29, 2014
This is our third stay at whiteface KOA. My husband & I have been extremely happy with the excellent service, cleanliness, and overall experience. We are already booking a large cabin in the month of February for the local winter festival. We appreciate the allowance of pets. Our alaskan malamute is very well known by the KOA staff. Everyone is very friendly and very accommodating. Thank you!
Sep 29, 2014
Really enjoyed our stay, actually wished we were staying longer. We fly fish and this campground is a great location for access to the Ausable River. We also appreciated the late night registration since we arrived after the registration desk was closed. Will definitely stay here again!
Sep 29, 2014
The one room cabin was clean but not vary spacious. There's very little privacy at this campground. We picked this site out of convenience to our destination (Whiteface and Esther) but this KOA doesn't have anything we needed that we wouldn't find at a lesser priced camp ground. Recent price increases have us thinking other sites may serve us better. Been coming here for years...time to move on?
Sep 29, 2014
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.