Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Aug 26, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
My only complaint was on both days my husband and I both got cold showers!
Aug 20, 2014
People were friendly, very helpful, very clean, would like to see trash cans at campsites. Would come back again.
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Our stay was pleasant. The only issues we had with the camp is the rain doesn't run off in any direction and had all the site around bathhouse #1 terribly flooded and muddy. Otherwise the men side of bathhouse #1 was in bad shape most of the time...could probably stand to be cleaned in the evening as well as morning. All and all my family and I love KOA camps and will definitely continue to stay
Aug 18, 2014
We had a wonderful time. The campground was great and full of activities for the kids. Can't wait to return. One suggestion - clean bathrooms in mid-day, not in the morning when visitors need them.
Aug 18, 2014
even with all the rain and having to move to higher ground we enjoyed our stay the area is beautiful with lots to enjoy in the campground and in the local communities. great for all ages. lots of help from the office team and enjoyed working with them and they went out of their way to make our stay pleasurable. I have never stayed in a KOA before but it wont be my last
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
My kids loved all the activities and events that the campground had during the weekend. Overall we had a great experience and will be returning. My only complaints would be the dirt in the mens bathroom and the overall noise made by the two pit bulls that were located 2 campsites removed from ours. These dogs were large and aggressive, I'm glad they were chained at all times.
Aug 04, 2014
Was amazing kids and I had a great time
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
We liked the campground but there should be more spots for people with tents. We were first assigned a camping area next to the dog toilet which was rather smelly. When we complained, we were assigned a better tent site though. Otherwise good breakfast offers, nice pool, helpful and friendly employees.
Jul 30, 2014
We had a great time! Everyone there is so nice! We will visit again!
Jul 30, 2014
It was ok but there were a few issues. Indoor pool was closed for decontamination. Outdoor pool was filthy. Staff inside was not very friendly.
Jul 29, 2014
We stayed in a tent and really appreciated the upgrade to cabin free of charge when a severe storm came. Thank you
Jul 29, 2014
I think this is one of the best KOA's I've been to on the East coast! I do however have a few suggestions...the pools needed cleaned for tubers were coming into them a muddy dirty mess and not hitting the showers before hand so the pools were murkey because of this. Showers should be enforced and maybe some clarifier in the water? The only thing missing was karaoke! Gotta have karaoke!...:)
Jul 25, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
Stay was great the only problem was some of the bathroom faucets were loose and water sprinkle you all over also.Showers could be better?
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
We had a very nice stay. It would be nice if we were allowed to check out of our tent site, but stay on site for a couple of extra hours. My kids wanted to do a couple of activities, but we were told we had to leave by 11:00
Jul 17, 2014
Had a great time here. Only wish they had tent pads on tent sites.
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
Second year in a row!!! Thank you!!
Jul 14, 2014
games romm half the games didn't work bath house had standing water in it and needs lots of repair.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
We loved the amenities - great pool, playgrounds, etc. but not the tent site or bathroom. Our tent side flooded easily with many puddle-holes. The guys side of the bathroom had a clogged drain and kept water/mud on the floor the entire week. This would be a great place to park a camper.
Jul 10, 2014
Some of customer service clerks were very rude. Nothing exciting to do during our stay. My family and I are not likely to stay again. Bathrooms were very nasty. We paid a lot of money to stay and thats what we got in return. Not happy at all.
Jul 03, 2014
We had an amazing trip to KOA Cherokee! Everyone was so kind, helpful, and accommodating! Will definitely come here many more times for years to come! :)
Jul 03, 2014
Overall pretty good experience but the parking space for t38 is nothing but railroad ballast and black slime mud, not fun. And why a tent space with no hookups is so expensive is beyond me.
Jul 02, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
The campground was very family friendly and kept the kids very entertained. Our tent site was primitive with no water and no place to wash our dishes, so that was difficult. In hindsight, we wouldn't use the shuttle again - one driver was very nice but one was exceptionally grumpy. It would have been better to just drive ourselves since parking wasn't an issue at the venues we attended.
Jun 24, 2014
Enjoyed the stay! Plan to visit again :)
Jun 21, 2014
We enjoyed our vacation at koa cherokee. Everyone was friendly. Our only 2 disappointments were the game room and that the ponds were not stocked in the 4.5 days we were there.
Jun 14, 2014
We had a great time, despite the rainy conditions. Kids enjoyed the bounce pad and the pools!
Jun 09, 2014
May 29, 2014
May 26, 2014
Ponds were not stocked as specified. Fishing rules were incomplete resulting in a $100.00 fine. We were not told only 1 line per person was allowed. Where we are from you can use as many lines as you want if you have a license. Your campground personnel should be trained to impart this information to all individuals purchasing a license or, at the least, provide a pamphlet of rules.
May 13, 2014
Even though it rained almost the entire time we still had a good time thanks to the activities available to us!
May 12, 2014
Apr 18, 2014
Apr 16, 2014
Mar 18, 2014
Staff was super friendly and well informed about local attractions. Facilities were very clean.
Nov 20, 2013
Nov 14, 2013
Came to get away from the city and the staff were great at gettin gme in a site away from others and provided info when I asked!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.