Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Aug 17, 2017
Enjoyed every minute we were there, Our first of hopefully many tentin adventures, with my nieces and sister in law.The grounds were clean the rest rooms and showers very clean.My nieces really enjoyed all the activities.Our tent site was all and more we could have ask for. The office staff is the bomb, We will be back Tammy,Karen,Aubrey,Ashley
Aug 15, 2017
I am disappointed in the last of security at night! There was a group of people there for one night that were loud and using violent language from 2am-4am. I was scared and I couldn't do anything about it or call anyone because there is no cell service on the campground. Security should be patrolling at night and they were not. Also the wifi barely worked. Other than that it was a nice place
Aug 09, 2017
Awful. False advertising no game room no kiddie pool. Rules were not enforced by staff. Especially with quiet time. People were so loud and drunk kept us up. Watched security just drive on by after we complained. Then I was accused of being drunk with my 3 yr old son because I complained to management and I don't even drink. Poorly run. Very upset about the money wasted pool was always closed
Aug 09, 2017
The sites were very nice but the pool water was brown and the splash pad area was roped off with caution tape. The night we arrived they had a dance party that was obnoxious and blaring even all the way back against the river. We got in line for food at 8 not realizing that the cafe closed at 8 and the associate leaned out gave a man his food then closed the window before we could walk up.
Aug 08, 2017
Very nice campground except for the noise at night. Neighbors on one side were hooping and hollering after midnight and on the other side were talking at their table til around 3am. Would have been nice if someone rounded to enforce a quiet time. Other than that the campground and camping sites were very nice.
Aug 07, 2017
Aug 05, 2017
All staff were friendly and informative. My son had an amazing time for his first camping adventure and didn't want to ever leave. Bathrooms much cleaner than I expected.
Aug 04, 2017
I had a great time here! Everything was wonderful.
Jul 31, 2017
I am rating this highly because of the amenities. The pool, creek and various other items are perfect for our family. However our initial tent camp site was horrible. We were given site T37 originally which was extremely small. I asked to switch but was at first told no but could upgrade for $20. Luckily another worker had some empathy was we were moved. I do not recommend for tent camping.
Jul 27, 2017
The outdoor and indoor pool (although the outdoor pool was closed one day we were there), and the jump pillow were great. However, I would not recommend this site to tent campers. None of the tent sites had raised/gravel tent pads. There was a huge puddle in front of our site and with no pad, the ground/tent area was muddy the whole time we were there.
Jul 25, 2017
We were assigned tent spot 37 which was the smallest muddiest campsite I've ever seen. There was not an area to pitch a tent that fit more than 3, and the rest of it was under an inch of water, so I was forced to upgrade to an electrical site and pay the difference. The lady manager was rather snotty about it on the radio "make sure they know they need to pay the difference."
Jul 23, 2017
Jul 21, 2017
Another great family vacation in the books! Thank you KOA for being our favorite family getaway in the Smokies! Already looking forward to a trip in the fall!
Jul 17, 2017
It rained off and on our entire stay so I know it was difficult to avoid puddles. But we had a a huge puddle, the size of a pond right in front of our camp site. We had to walk trough our neighbors site to get ours in order to avoid it and I had to drive the car through it to park it and then pull up and take park of our site in order to avoid parking in it. Dirt, gravel, or something to avoid the
Jul 16, 2017
Friendly staff. Great place to camp. New tent pads are too small for larger tents. Too much mud in tent sites, needs some dirt and gravel. I would still recommend to a friend.
Jul 15, 2017
Love this place! Clean campsites, friendly staff, beautiful property, and awesome river to tube down! Kids were begging to stay longer.
Jul 10, 2017
We LOVED camping at this KOA! Everyone was so wonderful and helpful!
Jul 08, 2017
I loved it, friendly staff, clean bathrooms
Jul 06, 2017
The campground has very poor drainage system. Campsites were flooded each time it rained. They allow fishing in the "pond", but don't maintain the area. It reeked of dead animals (maybe fish guts in the garbage can), & the sites near the pond smelled so foul we left a day early. It was disgusting. The indoor pool was so cloudy you couldn't see your own hand in front of you under water.
Jul 06, 2017
It was our first time taking our child camping. We really enjoyed the amenities and it was an experience we want forget. Thanks for a great time.
Jul 05, 2017
this is our 4th or 5th time staying at this KOA and each time, we have a blast! A wonderful place for relaxation and family time! Our kids ages 2-11 enjoy biking, swimming, hot tub, tubing, exploring, fishing, trampoline, extra activities, etc. We look forward to returning!
Jul 01, 2017
After 14 days cross country of the USA, staying at numerous KOAs...this was one of the best. Clean, large tent sites. Clean restrooms. Facility wasn't over run with lights to keep us up.
Jun 19, 2017
Jun 19, 2017
Wonderful staff! Great ammenities, and clean restrooms!!!
Jun 17, 2017
We had a deluxe tent site very nice. The only complaints i have really is #1. The WiFi was absolutely terrible. It wouldn't work at all! #2. I think the pool should be open until 10pm atleast the indoor. Other than that it was an absolutely beautiful place and lots of friendly staff and fun.
Jun 16, 2017
Lots of fun, staff was amazing!
Jun 05, 2017
The map needs to be updated online to the new tent sites.We have stayed here for over 20 years.Any special requests and/or notes that are made need to be taken care of upon reservations not the day of check-in.This past visit we had some extremely loud and obnoxious people staying in a cabin next to us.Other than that we had a wonderful stay.
Jun 05, 2017
Always a treat staying at this KOA location. The employees are fantastic, the grounds are clean and kept up well and the scenery is simply beautiful.
May 30, 2017
Way over crowed everything is to expensive cabins to close to jumping pad. Not enough information about where you go while tubing. Had Fun and a good time but could have been a better stay. Indoor pool could be cleaner.
May 24, 2017
The Grounds are well kept. My stay just happened to be the week before they have everything open. The Grill was closed have the week, The outdoor pool and Hot tub were not open yet (I probably wouldn't have used the outdoor pool. They do have an indoor pool). My tent site was close to the main road and could hear the traffic noise. Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. Cabin next time.
May 19, 2017
I wasn't very pleased with this koa. I've been on a two month road trip and it has been the worst koa I've stayed at so far.. I'm not one to complain but the wifi didn't work for the duration of my two day stay and their only answer way yeah it does that sometimes. The was also no service so I had not a clue how to get where I wanted to go.
May 17, 2017
We stay at this KOA twice a year and as a tent camper we love the clean and new bathhouse. We can't wait for the new tent sites to open. The ONLY issue is the wifi. Please look into making it a little stronger. Very hard to get any connection during our stay. Otherwise we love it
May 15, 2017
I love everything about this campground except how cramped and loud some of the tent sites are. We were backed against a few cabins right against Big Cove Road and felt more like we were camping on a sidewalk due to all the traffic going to the fishing pond.
Apr 16, 2017
- no private tent sites; our site was right by the busy road - wish they had tent sites on river - teenage girls loved the amenities - basketball court and putt putt, bike rentals and pool- would be nice for them to put another net on other side of goal - pool and hot tub looked dirty and cloudy - friendly staff - bathrooms clean - expensive to fish - firewood expensive - game room wasn'
Apr 15, 2017
Pros: lots for kids to do, they serve food on site, nice indoor pool Cons: sites very cramped and close to one another, there was a bunch of construction going on when we were there, Wifi didn't work well
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award