Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Nov 27, 2016
Great staff, great amenities.
Nov 13, 2016
Cooking grates over fire pits would be nice.
Nov 11, 2016
Everything we required was available. Staff were helpful. Can see it would be a busy place during the summer.
Nov 09, 2016
Beautiful campground. Best KOA I've been to.
Nov 09, 2016
Great place for camping and fishing. Easy access to the river. Friendly.
Nov 04, 2016
Very Loud
Nov 01, 2016
Friendly employees, clean facilities, many activities for children and adults.
Oct 31, 2016
We stayed at one of the tent sites and really enjoyed our stay overall. The bathhouse facilities were the nicest I have ever seen at a campsite and were conviently located to the tent sites. Since we stayed the weekend before Halloween there were tons of activities going on. The one draw back is the tent sites proximity to the road; lots of road noise.
Oct 25, 2016
FABULOUS. Have been to many KOA campgrounds in years past and this one was cream of the crop. Kids activities, store, amenities, cafe...staff was awesome. Just so impressed.
Oct 25, 2016
It was a nice place with exceptionally clean and updated bathrooms! Would stay again.
Oct 25, 2016
Tent site had no power outlet which made charging cell phones, etc difficult.
Oct 24, 2016
It was awesome
Oct 21, 2016
Clean facilities, friendly staff, great weather. My spot was too close to the road (noise). Will pick a better spot in future stays.
Oct 17, 2016
Great stay in the fall! Great amenities and clean bathrooms. Highly recommend!
Oct 17, 2016
What an amazing stay, we loved it! Didn't catch or see anyone else catch a single fish and wish the tent site weren't by a busy road and barbed wire fence. Still... great time and would stay again!
Oct 16, 2016
We loved the campground!! My kids enjoyed the jumping pillow, the bouncing pad, the playground, the pool and hot tub, and the banana bikes. My children also made friends with other kids at the campground that they played with every night.
Oct 13, 2016
Loved all the activities for kids.
Oct 07, 2016
Requested site due to members of our group disabled and with service animals.was told could have it one night it was reserved for people who had booked 6 nights. Never showed up to the site we requested. Were put near obnoxious children harassing service animals with balls & no parents.disability not a concern here only $$$$
Oct 07, 2016
Where tents are, extremely noisy by passing trucks, cars and motorcycles. Too close to the road. Could not get any sleep. This is my second time there
Oct 04, 2016
Oct 01, 2016
This was a very nice facility.
Sep 30, 2016
Sep 27, 2016
Very nice campground! Snack bar is very conveniant
Sep 26, 2016
Sep 25, 2016
Sep 24, 2016
To many dogs barking.
Sep 20, 2016
Facilities were very nice. The staff was efficient and a good stay.
Sep 20, 2016
Sep 19, 2016
Lovely campground. I can see how families love it there. My husband and I enjoyed our stay, however we did feel it was too loud. We are more into quiet camping/enjoying nature. That does not take away from the campground however. Lovely.
Sep 19, 2016
This was our first trip to a KOA, I cannot brag on the staff enough. Every aspect of our trip was wonderful, even if we had to move campsites due to a bee incident. So thankful we joined and chose your KOA for our 1st. Can't wait until spring to come back. Thank you all so much!
Sep 15, 2016
Sep 15, 2016
Sep 06, 2016
Absolutely great place for kids and families! There is so much to do and the facilities are well maintained and clean. This was our second Labor Day family trip and we are planning to return for a 3rd next year!
Sep 06, 2016
We had an amazing time!!!! This place is very family friendly!!! Lots to do!!
Sep 02, 2016
Beautiful location and the hot tub saved us as we've traveled on a motorcycle across the US but there's no cell service the wifi isn't good and the neighbors partied all night. Sarah was very sweet tho
Aug 24, 2016
Great amenities, but the whole campground has a drainage problem. There were puddles everywhere. There is also no room for parking for the tent sites unless you park in the deep mud. Also, most of the games in the game room were busted, and the recreation post closed at like 5, so no putt putt.
Aug 24, 2016
Aug 23, 2016
My children and I had a great time last year as we stayed for a few days.This time was more stressful because we needed to be out by 11 even though we arrived at night. We were not allowed to stay for any of the activities because they didn't let us stay past 11 and the activities didn't start until 11. You should have campers clear out their area, but be allowed to stay after their checkout time
Aug 16, 2016
Aug 12, 2016
Construction going on at the sight right next to mine, so me and my wife had to listen to drilling and sawing on our visit. Additionally, there was a pump that would turn on and off all night. Don't tent site camp here!
Aug 06, 2016
This is a great KOA! Unfortunately our rude neighbors were loud until 3 a.m. Otherwise a good place for family fun!
Aug 02, 2016
My family had a great time at the park. We will definitely be back and recommend it to our friends and family.
Aug 01, 2016
The campground is always clean and the staff friendly. Had a great stay for the second summer in a row.
Jul 29, 2016
Jul 27, 2016
Great stay! Tons to do! Very family friendly. Will definitely be back!
Jul 23, 2016
The desk/front staff was very rude and seemed to be bothered when asked questions. The people who were groundskeeping were very nice and social. The front desk threatened to call the cops when my husband asked for an explaination on our camp site.
Jul 21, 2016
People wasn't very helpful. I bought ice and didn't know where the ice machine was. I was talked to like I was stupid. One of the bathroom stall door stuck., was real hard to open. The change machine didn't work in the game room.
Jul 21, 2016
Jul 19, 2016
This was the first tent camping trip for my 3 and 6 year old. KOA did a great job. Clean, friendly and fun! Keep up the great work! We will be back!
Jul 18, 2016
We stayed mid July. Tent sites are pure mud pits when it rains. We were on site 41, which had paved parking but some of the others near us were nasty. The bathhouse near these sights were updated, however the women's restroom/shower constantly smelled like urine.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award