Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Oct 27, 2014
It was a very nice KOA. Just maybe picked the wrong day to stay. It was Halloween weekend and very loud. Other than that. Loved the location. Will probably return another time and stay longer. We only stayed 1 night on our way to Florida.
Oct 27, 2014
This was the first time that we have complained. Even 2 years ago the pool wasnt heating, due to a malfunction and the water was cold. We wer e still fine with that. But this time we had 2 neighbors that joined each other and had 1 big party. It was around 12 midnight and I asked them to keep it down. We were tent camping and so were 1 other family next to us and we heard everything.
Oct 27, 2014
The tent sites were close to the restrooms which were very clean and heated. The indoor pool was very clean and the hot tub was actually very hot. The events for kids was great during Halloween weekend but we realized too late that the haunted island event was not really for little kids. Altogether nice stay for the price.
Oct 27, 2014
Great staff. SO MUCH FUN for the kids. They will definitely want to return. First Halloween weekend campout we've ever done with plenty of activities.
Oct 14, 2014
This was one of the nicest campgrounds I have stayed at. The only thing that would have been better is if the hot tub would have worked
Oct 13, 2014
I've stayed at a lot of KOAs and this was by far the worst ever! Rude and unhelpful front desk staff, site was flooded and muddy and after 10 minutes there was no hot water in the shower.
Oct 06, 2014
Me & my family have been coming to this KOA for many years. It is now under new management and some of the employees were so rude and unhelpful words just can't describe. So many rules have changed its more hassle than it's worth. Will never come back and most certainly will not recommend to any of my family or friends.
Sep 29, 2014
Very friendly staff. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay
Sep 27, 2014
My son and I enjoyed our stay, especially going tubing. The campgound was fun and 'resort'like camping.I had told my son I would rent him a bike and ride with him for the 30minute rental after we packed up our tent site. I did not like that we could not use the bikes or pool after we had checked out of our tent site.
Sep 24, 2014
Great facility with wonderful personnel. Only drawback was a stopped up drain in the men's shower building. Thanks Colby for opening the rec room for us.
Sep 22, 2014
had a great time staff were very friendly !
Sep 22, 2014
Sep 22, 2014
The campground, service, weather was awesome. Thank you for caring.
Sep 08, 2014
This is a great area for RV's and pull behind campers but not so great for tents. There were only a handful of tent sites and they were all muddy with little privacy and were all beside a pond next to a noisy highway. I do think it is great for the other sources of camping since there are two pools, hot tubs, a bouncy and playground for the kids & good food services. Thus 3 stars.
Sep 03, 2014
Men's bathroom was always dirty and flooded with water most of the time. People with tents didn't have anywhere to get water. Overall my grandkids enjoyed it.
Sep 02, 2014
Aug 30, 2014
I asked to have the men's side bath house sprayed for yellow jackets two separate time and this was never done. There was multiple lights that needed to be changed in the bath house area. The sinks were missing the screen that screws on where the water comes out. Half of the hot tub worked and the other half didn't work. Other than that, I enjoyed myself and the staff was very friendly.
Aug 26, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
My only complaint was on both days my husband and I both got cold showers!
Aug 20, 2014
People were friendly, very helpful, very clean, would like to see trash cans at campsites. Would come back again.
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Our stay was pleasant. The only issues we had with the camp is the rain doesn't run off in any direction and had all the site around bathhouse #1 terribly flooded and muddy. Otherwise the men side of bathhouse #1 was in bad shape most of the time...could probably stand to be cleaned in the evening as well as morning. All and all my family and I love KOA camps and will definitely continue to stay
Aug 18, 2014
We had a wonderful time. The campground was great and full of activities for the kids. Can't wait to return. One suggestion - clean bathrooms in mid-day, not in the morning when visitors need them.
Aug 18, 2014
even with all the rain and having to move to higher ground we enjoyed our stay the area is beautiful with lots to enjoy in the campground and in the local communities. great for all ages. lots of help from the office team and enjoyed working with them and they went out of their way to make our stay pleasurable. I have never stayed in a KOA before but it wont be my last
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
My kids loved all the activities and events that the campground had during the weekend. Overall we had a great experience and will be returning. My only complaints would be the dirt in the mens bathroom and the overall noise made by the two pit bulls that were located 2 campsites removed from ours. These dogs were large and aggressive, I'm glad they were chained at all times.
Aug 04, 2014
Was amazing kids and I had a great time
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
We liked the campground but there should be more spots for people with tents. We were first assigned a camping area next to the dog toilet which was rather smelly. When we complained, we were assigned a better tent site though. Otherwise good breakfast offers, nice pool, helpful and friendly employees.
Jul 30, 2014
We had a great time! Everyone there is so nice! We will visit again!
Jul 30, 2014
It was ok but there were a few issues. Indoor pool was closed for decontamination. Outdoor pool was filthy. Staff inside was not very friendly.
Jul 29, 2014
We stayed in a tent and really appreciated the upgrade to cabin free of charge when a severe storm came. Thank you
Jul 29, 2014
I think this is one of the best KOA's I've been to on the East coast! I do however have a few suggestions...the pools needed cleaned for tubers were coming into them a muddy dirty mess and not hitting the showers before hand so the pools were murkey because of this. Showers should be enforced and maybe some clarifier in the water? The only thing missing was karaoke! Gotta have karaoke!...:)
Jul 25, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
Stay was great the only problem was some of the bathroom faucets were loose and water sprinkle you all over also.Showers could be better?
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
We had a very nice stay. It would be nice if we were allowed to check out of our tent site, but stay on site for a couple of extra hours. My kids wanted to do a couple of activities, but we were told we had to leave by 11:00
Jul 17, 2014
Had a great time here. Only wish they had tent pads on tent sites.
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
Second year in a row!!! Thank you!!
Jul 14, 2014
games romm half the games didn't work bath house had standing water in it and needs lots of repair.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
We loved the amenities - great pool, playgrounds, etc. but not the tent site or bathroom. Our tent side flooded easily with many puddle-holes. The guys side of the bathroom had a clogged drain and kept water/mud on the floor the entire week. This would be a great place to park a camper.
Jul 10, 2014
Some of customer service clerks were very rude. Nothing exciting to do during our stay. My family and I are not likely to stay again. Bathrooms were very nasty. We paid a lot of money to stay and thats what we got in return. Not happy at all.
Jul 03, 2014
We had an amazing trip to KOA Cherokee! Everyone was so kind, helpful, and accommodating! Will definitely come here many more times for years to come! :)
Jul 03, 2014
Overall pretty good experience but the parking space for t38 is nothing but railroad ballast and black slime mud, not fun. And why a tent space with no hookups is so expensive is beyond me.
Jul 02, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
The campground was very family friendly and kept the kids very entertained. Our tent site was primitive with no water and no place to wash our dishes, so that was difficult. In hindsight, we wouldn't use the shuttle again - one driver was very nice but one was exceptionally grumpy. It would have been better to just drive ourselves since parking wasn't an issue at the venues we attended.
Jun 24, 2014
Enjoyed the stay! Plan to visit again :)
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.