Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jun 19, 2017
Jun 19, 2017
Wonderful staff! Great ammenities, and clean restrooms!!!
Jun 17, 2017
We had a deluxe tent site very nice. The only complaints i have really is #1. The WiFi was absolutely terrible. It wouldn't work at all! #2. I think the pool should be open until 10pm atleast the indoor. Other than that it was an absolutely beautiful place and lots of friendly staff and fun.
Jun 16, 2017
Lots of fun, staff was amazing!
Jun 05, 2017
The map needs to be updated online to the new tent sites.We have stayed here for over 20 years.Any special requests and/or notes that are made need to be taken care of upon reservations not the day of check-in.This past visit we had some extremely loud and obnoxious people staying in a cabin next to us.Other than that we had a wonderful stay.
Jun 05, 2017
Always a treat staying at this KOA location. The employees are fantastic, the grounds are clean and kept up well and the scenery is simply beautiful.
May 30, 2017
Way over crowed everything is to expensive cabins to close to jumping pad. Not enough information about where you go while tubing. Had Fun and a good time but could have been a better stay. Indoor pool could be cleaner.
May 24, 2017
The Grounds are well kept. My stay just happened to be the week before they have everything open. The Grill was closed have the week, The outdoor pool and Hot tub were not open yet (I probably wouldn't have used the outdoor pool. They do have an indoor pool). My tent site was close to the main road and could hear the traffic noise. Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. Cabin next time.
May 19, 2017
I wasn't very pleased with this koa. I've been on a two month road trip and it has been the worst koa I've stayed at so far.. I'm not one to complain but the wifi didn't work for the duration of my two day stay and their only answer way yeah it does that sometimes. The was also no service so I had not a clue how to get where I wanted to go.
May 17, 2017
We stay at this KOA twice a year and as a tent camper we love the clean and new bathhouse. We can't wait for the new tent sites to open. The ONLY issue is the wifi. Please look into making it a little stronger. Very hard to get any connection during our stay. Otherwise we love it
May 15, 2017
I love everything about this campground except how cramped and loud some of the tent sites are. We were backed against a few cabins right against Big Cove Road and felt more like we were camping on a sidewalk due to all the traffic going to the fishing pond.
Apr 16, 2017
- no private tent sites; our site was right by the busy road - wish they had tent sites on river - teenage girls loved the amenities - basketball court and putt putt, bike rentals and pool- would be nice for them to put another net on other side of goal - pool and hot tub looked dirty and cloudy - friendly staff - bathrooms clean - expensive to fish - firewood expensive - game room wasn'
Apr 15, 2017
Pros: lots for kids to do, they serve food on site, nice indoor pool Cons: sites very cramped and close to one another, there was a bunch of construction going on when we were there, Wifi didn't work well
Apr 05, 2017
Worst KOA around! My reservations were changed without notification until we drove 5 hours to get there, then were told upon checking in. Amenities were broken, Game room closed, and rude employees. The GM was least helpful. Simple questions, even the GM, Joann couldn't answer. Very disorganized. Double charged my account and refused to return my overcharged money. Awful experience. Won't return
Apr 03, 2017
Staff was very helpful. Thanks a lot for a Great weekend.
Apr 03, 2017
Taking into account a very early hiccup. ..original site was flooded. Problem was solved quickly new site was awesome. We had a great time.lots for kids to do.
Mar 30, 2017
Personennel at check in were not at all receptive to my 19 yr old staying in the camp site even calling me at home to tell me if there are any problems they would be asked to leave and I would be responsible which is already understood according to my confirmation and agreement to camp rules all ages were listed on form The bathrooms never had paper and they came into the camp site hours prior
Mar 27, 2017
Mar 27, 2017
Wasn't pleased, I was lied to about the trout tournament, I had asked repeatedly what time it start, 8am is what they keep telling me, when in fact was 6:30am causing all of us to be late. Probably would stay else where next time.
Mar 27, 2017
I have been to this KOA many times before, but this time had some extra difficulty. I have brought friends from out of state and family here in the past but we may be searching elsewhere. Cody the front end staff was not polite at all and even hid his face when my wife was waiting for assistance. On top of this we had to wait for an escort while 5 staff members with golf carts stood around.
Mar 20, 2017
Mar 13, 2017
Staff was SUPER friendly and aMaZiNg! We were in a tent and were able to receive a full refund for our second night because of low temperatures. Upkeep of the grounds including the bathroom and amenities was fabulous. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
Mar 11, 2017
There needs to be consistency in enforcing of campground rules. Those of us that follow the rules get frustrated when others are ignoring them and nothing is said.
Mar 10, 2017
This was my first experience with KOA amd I plan on coming back.
Mar 08, 2017
Everyone was very helpful and kind. The staff made it feel better than home. My family and I loved it there and will most definitely be back!
Feb 20, 2017
My husband and I absolutely love the Cherokee KOA. We are always treated very nicely and look forward to our annual Valentine's camping weekend!
Nov 27, 2016
Great staff, great amenities.
Nov 13, 2016
Cooking grates over fire pits would be nice.
Nov 11, 2016
Everything we required was available. Staff were helpful. Can see it would be a busy place during the summer.
Nov 09, 2016
Beautiful campground. Best KOA I've been to.
Nov 09, 2016
Great place for camping and fishing. Easy access to the river. Friendly.
Nov 04, 2016
Very Loud
Nov 01, 2016
Friendly employees, clean facilities, many activities for children and adults.
Oct 31, 2016
We stayed at one of the tent sites and really enjoyed our stay overall. The bathhouse facilities were the nicest I have ever seen at a campsite and were conviently located to the tent sites. Since we stayed the weekend before Halloween there were tons of activities going on. The one draw back is the tent sites proximity to the road; lots of road noise.
Oct 25, 2016
FABULOUS. Have been to many KOA campgrounds in years past and this one was cream of the crop. Kids activities, store, amenities, cafe...staff was awesome. Just so impressed.
Oct 25, 2016
It was a nice place with exceptionally clean and updated bathrooms! Would stay again.
Oct 25, 2016
Tent site had no power outlet which made charging cell phones, etc difficult.
Oct 24, 2016
It was awesome
Oct 21, 2016
Clean facilities, friendly staff, great weather. My spot was too close to the road (noise). Will pick a better spot in future stays.
Oct 17, 2016
Great stay in the fall! Great amenities and clean bathrooms. Highly recommend!
Oct 17, 2016
What an amazing stay, we loved it! Didn't catch or see anyone else catch a single fish and wish the tent site weren't by a busy road and barbed wire fence. Still... great time and would stay again!
Oct 16, 2016
We loved the campground!! My kids enjoyed the jumping pillow, the bouncing pad, the playground, the pool and hot tub, and the banana bikes. My children also made friends with other kids at the campground that they played with every night.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award