Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Aug 17, 2015
A perfect place and so close to Mingo Falls. Better than any hotel.
Aug 12, 2015
We had a great time! Excellent bathroom facilities and lots of activities for kids. Wifi was horrible though if you need to be plugged!
Aug 10, 2015
I would recommend everything at this campground except the tent sites. The sites right across from a busy, noisy road.
Aug 10, 2015
Very clean. Great bunch of folks running the campground. Had a lot of activities for my 10 year old.
Aug 07, 2015
We loved our stay. The kids loved the pools and other perks, including movie night. We had a couple of very nice gentlemen camping in the next tent site. The only downside was the volume of night traffic on Big Cove Road and the constant chorus of bullfrogs (which kids found charming, but adults not so much).
Aug 06, 2015
I have stayed here before and have enjoyed our previous visits. However, this time we were placed next to the dog park and we didn't even have a dog. The smell was horrendous. We didn't even stay at the site except to sleep. With this exception, this is an excellent place to camp. There are lots of activities for everyone. The staff is friendly and the camp is clean.
Aug 03, 2015
The staff is so friendly and accommodating. Probably one of our best and most fun camping trips to date!
Aug 03, 2015
We always love coming here each year and staying at KOA as they offer lots of activities for the kids to enjoy and have fun doing.
Aug 03, 2015
Great as always, this is our third year tent camping the first of August. The upgrade on the bathhouse is very nice and clean. Felt more comfortable entering a remodeled bathhouse rather an old run-down bathhouse. See you next year in 2016.
Aug 03, 2015
The campground was clean and the staff did good job. However, the tent site backed up to a busy road and they are very close together. Therefore, the people beside us who chose to stay up until 3 am talking was the biggest issue we had. Not the campgrounds fault.
Aug 01, 2015
Jul 29, 2015
Jul 29, 2015
we had a great time as usual, you shouldn't advertise wifi because it doesn't work
Jul 28, 2015
Jul 28, 2015
This is a fantastic place for families with children. It's like a safe neighborhood for them to ride bikes, swim, and play without the parents being afraid for their safety.
Jul 27, 2015
Only thing I might say, is that the sites are very close and small. However, the amenities made up for that in a big way, and we will definitely be bringing our kids back next time!
Jul 27, 2015
My family loves this place !!best koa around 😊
Jul 26, 2015
Great, friendly staff. Clean conditions.
Jul 25, 2015
Nice campground. Very clean. Nice activities. Campground could improve tent areas by adding tent pads, it's a cheep investment that would add a lot of convenience
Jul 24, 2015
This is a great place to stay if you have kids.My child had a great time riding his bike, playing in the pool, and on the air bouncer.There were a lot of kids there for him to play with.We are tent campers,the sight was loud at night from traffic,and bit small. It would be nice if tenters had a water supply so we would not have to walk through RV sites for water. Bathhouse good.
Jul 24, 2015
The koa has an excellent pool and great camp sites!
Jul 24, 2015
Pools was nice but that's it! People that was working was all very rude and hateful. We will not be coming back. My husband is a disabiled veteran with only one leg and after asking to be something near the bathroom we was put very far away in a horrible tent site. We was very disappointed in the whole park because of the employees.
Jul 20, 2015
Had a blast camping here for the first time. Just wish we would have known that the ponds were not stocked like we thought they were going to be but iver all a great time thank you for the experience
Jul 20, 2015
It was great!
Jul 20, 2015
Wish the wifi was a little faster
Jul 19, 2015
Wow.....when I arrived I felt like I was dropped into the middle of a bee hive, or maybe the next Woodstock, or possibly the middle of Disney world.... Not that all that is a bad thing but it was obvious, based on where my tent sight was, that it would NOT be a peaceful night. The help was super friendly, the crowds are just not for me.
Jul 14, 2015
One of the best campgrounds that I have ever stayed at. Great staff with a wide variety of amenities. It is well maintained and very clean! 5 stars for sure.
Jul 13, 2015
The workers there were 100% outstanding. Extremely helpful and friendly!! Just wished you prices were a tad lower!
Jul 11, 2015
Too big. Too many people. Other than that, it was great.
Jul 08, 2015
Worst KOA experience ever. The campsite consisted of nothing but mud. The parking area was completely underwater. Meanwhile, there were many unoccupied campsites throughout the campground. I politely told the staff at checkout and they just shrugged it off and told me to have a "better rest of the day". I've been camping at this KOA for many years, but this was the last time.
Jul 07, 2015
This campground was recommended from a friend. This campground exceeded our expectations. The facilities were amazing. There is plenty of things to do for the kids and for the adults as well. We will definitely be going back to this campground in the future.
Jun 30, 2015
I had few complaints except that our site was mostly red clay. The grass was missing in a large section of the middle of the site. We were tent camping and it was rainy so this was a real problem. I did not see any other sites that were this bad (missing grass). There were available sites so I feel that this site should not have been used. Bad first impression.
Jun 28, 2015
I had a wonderful time. I appreciated the activit├ęs and amenities. However, I was in a tent and I dearly lacked a sink to do my washing up : hot water to clean my dishes. The laudry sink wasn't working. Also, I was disappointed with the lack of recycling bins for cardboard and glass.We need to do everything we can to protect places like the Smoky Mountains from pollution.Thank you.
Jun 23, 2015
We really appreciated the extremely clean bathrooms and excellent pools. Some of the tent camping areas were pretty weak and we needed to move because of it.
Jun 22, 2015
I stayed on a very busy weekend so it felt very crowded. I love the amenities and activities but wished the WiFi was better. I wished the tent sites had a bit more privacy. But overall we enjoyed it. Great value for my money
Jun 22, 2015
The campground was great and staff nice. The noice after quiet hours was really loud. There were people up until 2 or 3 very loud with bad language.
Jun 17, 2015
Great park with friendly staff. Tent sites very nice, except placed on outside of park close to road
Jun 15, 2015
The stay was pleasant and the staff was friendly. Much better than the stay in 2013.
Jun 09, 2015
Thomas, tamie and terrible we're all delightful members of the koa team! The staff kept the restrooms extra clean which is always super important to usee parents with children. Staff always had a positive attitude any time we had questions. One suggestion would be to have more individuals working the food service bar next to pool, there were several times we had to wait 30 min or more!
Jun 08, 2015
I camp here every yr & really enjoy it. Seems to rain on my stay every yr haha. I do wish you would spray the poison ivy in tent sites. All 7 of us are broke out with it.
Jun 07, 2015
We had ur kids meet us from out of state and we all arrived at different times. My husband and I stayed in a deluxe cabin with my daughters family. On booking we were told that they would honor my daughter's military I'd for the discount, but they did not arrive until 3 am. We were assured her discount would be applied upon arrival. We were denied this discount the next day. I had to pay in full.&
Jun 05, 2015
Lisa and Carol were so friendly as well as the rest of the staff we came in contact with. We wish we would have stayed longer. It was fantastic!
Jun 01, 2015
nice place; the only trouble i had was with the internet service: couldn't even send text msgs on my phone. i enjoyed the hot tub and warm indoor pool. employees were friendly and helpful. the bagged ice freezer registered at 0 degrees, which was a pleasant surprise.
Jun 01, 2015
Our stay at the KOA was great!! Tons of great activities to do & beautiful and clean camp grounds. The staff is extremely helpful and nice. Overall we had a great experience and we will definitely be back!!
Jun 01, 2015
Great amenities. Entry for parking is confusing. Wish the quiet hours were enforced.
May 31, 2015
Our tent stay was great. Staff is eager to please. I will be going back.
May 31, 2015
We had so many activities! I never had to leave the camp ground n oh gosh the food was perfect! I cooked at camp but we ate at grill and it was soo good!
May 29, 2015
The stay was great. Very family oriented . Will be back again.The only thing were the toilets don't flush all the way. You have to flush them at least twice for the paper to go down.
May 26, 2015
It was great. Friendly staff and well kept campground. Would definatetly stay here again.
May 18, 2015
Absolutely great!!! Exceeded our expectations. We are even thinking of becoming rewards club members.
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.