Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711


92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Oct 17, 2016
Great stay in the fall! Great amenities and clean bathrooms. Highly recommend!
Oct 17, 2016
What an amazing stay, we loved it! Didn't catch or see anyone else catch a single fish and wish the tent site weren't by a busy road and barbed wire fence. Still... great time and would stay again!
Oct 16, 2016
We loved the campground!! My kids enjoyed the jumping pillow, the bouncing pad, the playground, the pool and hot tub, and the banana bikes. My children also made friends with other kids at the campground that they played with every night.
Oct 13, 2016
Loved all the activities for kids.
Oct 07, 2016
Requested site due to members of our group disabled and with service animals.was told could have it one night it was reserved for people who had booked 6 nights. Never showed up to the site we requested. Were put near obnoxious children harassing service animals with balls & no parents.disability not a concern here only $$$$
Oct 07, 2016
Where tents are, extremely noisy by passing trucks, cars and motorcycles. Too close to the road. Could not get any sleep. This is my second time there
Oct 04, 2016
Oct 01, 2016
This was a very nice facility.
Sep 30, 2016
Sep 27, 2016
Very nice campground! Snack bar is very conveniant
Sep 26, 2016
Sep 25, 2016
Sep 24, 2016
To many dogs barking.
Sep 20, 2016
Facilities were very nice. The staff was efficient and a good stay.
Sep 20, 2016
Sep 19, 2016
Lovely campground. I can see how families love it there. My husband and I enjoyed our stay, however we did feel it was too loud. We are more into quiet camping/enjoying nature. That does not take away from the campground however. Lovely.
Sep 19, 2016
This was our first trip to a KOA, I cannot brag on the staff enough. Every aspect of our trip was wonderful, even if we had to move campsites due to a bee incident. So thankful we joined and chose your KOA for our 1st. Can't wait until spring to come back. Thank you all so much!
Sep 15, 2016
Sep 15, 2016
Sep 06, 2016
Absolutely great place for kids and families! There is so much to do and the facilities are well maintained and clean. This was our second Labor Day family trip and we are planning to return for a 3rd next year!
Sep 06, 2016
We had an amazing time!!!! This place is very family friendly!!! Lots to do!!
Sep 02, 2016
Beautiful location and the hot tub saved us as we've traveled on a motorcycle across the US but there's no cell service the wifi isn't good and the neighbors partied all night. Sarah was very sweet tho
Aug 24, 2016
Great amenities, but the whole campground has a drainage problem. There were puddles everywhere. There is also no room for parking for the tent sites unless you park in the deep mud. Also, most of the games in the game room were busted, and the recreation post closed at like 5, so no putt putt.
Aug 24, 2016
Aug 23, 2016
My children and I had a great time last year as we stayed for a few days.This time was more stressful because we needed to be out by 11 even though we arrived at night. We were not allowed to stay for any of the activities because they didn't let us stay past 11 and the activities didn't start until 11. You should have campers clear out their area, but be allowed to stay after their checkout time
Aug 16, 2016
Aug 12, 2016
Construction going on at the sight right next to mine, so me and my wife had to listen to drilling and sawing on our visit. Additionally, there was a pump that would turn on and off all night. Don't tent site camp here!
Aug 06, 2016
This is a great KOA! Unfortunately our rude neighbors were loud until 3 a.m. Otherwise a good place for family fun!
Aug 02, 2016
My family had a great time at the park. We will definitely be back and recommend it to our friends and family.
Aug 01, 2016
The campground is always clean and the staff friendly. Had a great stay for the second summer in a row.
Jul 29, 2016
Jul 27, 2016
Great stay! Tons to do! Very family friendly. Will definitely be back!
Jul 23, 2016
The desk/front staff was very rude and seemed to be bothered when asked questions. The people who were groundskeeping were very nice and social. The front desk threatened to call the cops when my husband asked for an explaination on our camp site.
Jul 21, 2016
People wasn't very helpful. I bought ice and didn't know where the ice machine was. I was talked to like I was stupid. One of the bathroom stall door stuck., was real hard to open. The change machine didn't work in the game room.
Jul 21, 2016
Jul 19, 2016
This was the first tent camping trip for my 3 and 6 year old. KOA did a great job. Clean, friendly and fun! Keep up the great work! We will be back!
Jul 18, 2016
We stayed mid July. Tent sites are pure mud pits when it rains. We were on site 41, which had paved parking but some of the others near us were nasty. The bathhouse near these sights were updated, however the women's restroom/shower constantly smelled like urine.
Jul 13, 2016
This was our second visit to Cherokee KOA and we loved it just as much as the first! We will definitely be back. Very clean restrooms and friendly staff
Jul 12, 2016
We stayed on a tent site w/o water or electric so that was a bummer but we were right by the bathrooms/ showers and they were awesome! Our stay was quick and we left before the camp store even opened! Overall good. It would be good to remove all the fishing line from the over head wires when you first drive in.
Jul 11, 2016
It's was awesome! Kids and husband loved it.
Jul 11, 2016
One of the best campgrounds we've stayed at. Staff is amazing and friendly. Very clean!
Jul 11, 2016
Plenty of activities for young and old, the only drawbacks were; everything needs a good pressure washing, and on Saturday night there was a "dance party". Music blared to about 11:00 at night. When it was myself and my drinking buddies camping, we would not have minded. But on a trip with my 6 year old daughter, not the best way to try and fall asleep. Other than that, the staff was great.
Jul 11, 2016
The toilets in the men's bathrooms were both stopped up for hours at a time. There was a lot of noise and people and kids moving around with bikes and golf carts after quiet hours making it difficult to get my kids to sleep.
Jul 10, 2016
First, we were given a tent site right next to the dog walk park right where people were allowing there dogs to go bathroom. Also the women's bathrooms had no working soap dispensers the whole time we were there and no other soap options were provided. Finally, when a tornado came through the campsite, we were not given a cabin to stay in even though we asked and offered to pay the difference.
Jul 09, 2016
Restrooms were so clean! Thanks. Maybe have maps to Great Smoky Mtn Natl Park. Older lady directions were wrong. Enjoyec our stay. Again, great restrooms!!!
Jul 09, 2016
I would say if you are staying in a tent to look elsewhere due to no power and water on those sites also the fact that when it rains the tent sites are mudholes can't we put something there for tent's to be on like sand or something. Other than that its a great campground with lots of activities for the kids. If your staying in an rv you should have no problem those sites are concrete and nice.
Jul 07, 2016
Jul 05, 2016
The campground was great, our kids had a great time. I would definitely call and ask for a different campsite next time - our tent was backed up to the dog area and at the intersection of the two main roads, kept us up all night, every night.
Jul 03, 2016
It was our family's first time at any KOA and I have to say, the staff were very helpful and nice. There were plenty of activities for the kids to do on the campground. They enjoyed it, had fun and no complaints. The fishing ponds just outside of the campground are a plus. The entire campground and bathrooms are kept very tidy and clean. Definitely will return again, no doubt. Thanks!
Jul 02, 2016
We had a great time, the whole family had something to do. Staff were great.

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award