Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Tent Reviews

Apr 18, 2014
Apr 16, 2014
Mar 18, 2014
Staff was super friendly and well informed about local attractions. Facilities were very clean.
Nov 20, 2013
Nov 14, 2013
Came to get away from the city and the staff were great at gettin gme in a site away from others and provided info when I asked!
Oct 22, 2013
The campground was very clean. The staff was very helpful. The wood we purchased was wet and very difficult to get it burning. We wished the campground was more in the woods, but we still had a great time!
Oct 21, 2013
Great location! Check in was quick and easy.The staff was very friendly.We were given a choice of tent sites and when we decided to switch it was no problem. Nice bathhouses. My 10 yr. old son LOVED the bike rental, mini golf and bouncing pad. We LOVED swimming in the warm indoor pool and hot tub while my husband enjoyed a football game on TV. Outdoor movie by a firepit! Fantastic family weekend!
Oct 17, 2013
Oct 15, 2013
The staff at check in were incredibly helpful and made it easy for us to change tent sites. Our initial site was too small and we were able to move. There was a large group staying across from us in cabins. They were very loud until after midnight each night. It would be helpful to have someone patrol the park occasionally during quiet hours to enforce this rule.
Oct 07, 2013
My kids had a blast!! There was a lot to do and we loved relaxing here. The bathrooms were very clean.
Oct 07, 2013
Oct 07, 2013
Had a wonderful weekend to camp. But. We reserved our spot on Friday. Checked in and went to set up tent. Someone had our spot so we took the one next to it. Wish we had went somewhere else. They kept us up all night drinking and being loud. Security had to come 3 times. They should have been made to leave. Got to stay free. The staff was great. But won't be back no time soon. Beautiful campgrou
Oct 06, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
This Koa is situated deep in the mountains with streams on both sides. It is a step back in time while having all the modern conveniences campers demand. The staff is friendly and very helpful.
Sep 16, 2013
We are tent campers. This location is definitely not catered to those who tent camp. There were only about 10 of the 300 spots that are dedicated to tents only. They all had big mud pits in the front of them, and they're located right next to the main road (so lots of traffic noise). Other than that, we had a great time and there are so many things to do for kids.
Aug 19, 2013
The campground was clean and staff was friendly. We enjoyed listening to the band Saturday night.
Aug 15, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Im very disappointed in this KOA. The camp was small, crowded and not well maintained. This was supposed to be a working vacation for my wife and I. We planned to use the Wi-Fi to telecommute from the pool area so our kids could play but, it was down all week and we were forced to work from local coffee shops while our kids sat dejectedly for hours each day. Overall the vacation was a total bust!
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
Overall, we had a pleasant stay. Staff was friendly and courteous. We were in site #147, which was small for our 35' travel trailer. The major problem with the site, however, came with the rain. After a brief but heavy downpour, our site became flooded. Not puddles here and there, but FLOODED!! About 6 inches deep. This problem definitely needs to be rectified. We were left with a muddy mess!
Aug 11, 2013
Was perfect except for the fact that our site was on dog island, people either would not use bags to pick up after their dogs or it would be out of bags or the "poop" can would be over loaded, we had a constant wave of dog poop. In my husbands, son's, and my opinion, this site, "dog island", should not be shared with a campsite.
Aug 07, 2013
Great camping...one issue, though, were the bathrooms...one shower out of two did not work. The one that did needed instructions...my 12 year old could not figure it out. Also, one sink (the left one) really did not work which left only two working. The toilets seemed to always be stopped up with you know what in the toilet bowl. Not a nice view when you opened the door. That's it.
Aug 05, 2013
We started out with a bad experience but the manager was so nice and handled the situation perfectly. We will definately stay again!
Aug 05, 2013
very close sites, a bit too commercial for us but lots for kids to do. Had extremely noisy neighbors until 3 am first night, but after speaking to mgmt, they moved us to a very nice cabin on the river. Now that we know about those cabins, we will come back, as they were like a rustic hotel. Definately recommend the 2 room cabin! Management took great care of us!
Aug 05, 2013
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Aug 04, 2013
We stayed for 6 days in this place for the first time, we really love this place, it is very quiet family, very safe for children and with many different activities for the whole family, tubin in the river is fun and relaxing, camping sites are located very well, the only thing I could recommend is to be fix some of the pool area
Aug 02, 2013
Very disappointed in the upkeep of the park. In the bath house only one shower worked, and one of the two toilets did not work. The WiFi never worked and the hot tub would not get hot. If I new of all the problems we would have stayed at another camp ground instead of paying a premium for "resort" camping. Going back to cherokee in the fall but would never stay here again.
Aug 01, 2013
Overall good experience. BEWARE of tubing though unless you are fully prepared!!! That was AWFUL for our family!!!
Jul 31, 2013
Everything you need and never have to leave the campground.
Jul 31, 2013
No power or water at tent sites.
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
The site I stayed on was very muddy when wet causing me to have mud in my tent. The tent site directly behind me was fully grassed. I also lost a good bit of every day having to travel into town to use wi-fi because the wi-fi at the campsite was down. Having wi-fi was very important because I had to work on business. Other than that I was satisfied but these items were 2 big negatives.
Jul 30, 2013
We had a great time at the Cherokee NC Kao, but the tubing at the campground was scary. My 7 year old nealy drowned, The river was higher and faster than normal. No life jacket was provided and no life guards were present. Our camp site was very nice and oonvienant. Overall we really enjoyed our stay.
Jul 29, 2013
Overall a fun place to go and stay. I think the pool area both indoor and and out door need some tender loving care( a bit run down)
Jul 29, 2013
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jul 22, 2013
We liked the facility. Great location. The bouncer was a favorite for the kids. The staff very nice. The tent sites were noisy with traffic and very muddy.
Jul 22, 2013
Our family loves staying at the KAO in Cherokee, NC. We love their great customer service and their friendly staff. The KOA is very family oriented, with lots of options for kids and teens. We refuse to camp anywhere else.
Jul 21, 2013
Toilets in bathhouse wouldn't flush and mold in men's showers and roof. Wi fi was in and out all week. Wish we new about the pool slide before we got there, my kids really love the slide, very disappointed:(
Jul 21, 2013
This is an excellent facility with great amenities and activities. The pool was great. It was nice to be able to fish and tube from the campground. My only concern is the WiFi. It was often out of service, cut out many times, and was weak when working. I chose this place knowing that it offered WiFi and counted on being able to complete some necessary work online. Otherwise a great trip!
Jul 19, 2013
Our stay was outstanding. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous, they went out of their way to accommodate any concerns/ques we had. The best part was the interaction of the sonshine group. They were all caring to us and more importantly our kids! Especially the activities director, will. He made our vacation extra special. The only disappointment was that the outside hottub was down. Thxs
Jul 16, 2013
everyone was very polite and helpful.
Jul 08, 2013
It rained the whole time we stayed. The orginal tent spots that were pick out had to be changed due to flooding. Were given hay to for the mud, but not enough. So it ended up being muddy and stinky, like wet hay. The pool and hottub were dirty and over corwded. The breakfast at the club made us sick. I had heard great things about this location but was very disappointed. We will not be returning.
Jul 06, 2013
It was a nice place but should have been informed that the outdoor pool was under construction and the campground was flooded the whole time we were there from rain and pumps not working.kids enjoyed the activities. nice and polite staff. would stay again if everything was open and weather was nice.
Jul 06, 2013
Although it was poring most of the stay, the view from our site was beautiful.
Jul 05, 2013
We had lots of rain but were upgraded to a cabin at a reduced rate after the first night. The bathrooms in the camping section had issues there was a toilet out and a plugged drain in the men's and only one working shower in the women's the staff was friendly and helpful and refunded the last two days of our stay as we left early due to the constant rain.
Jul 04, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.