Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Jun 30, 2015
I had few complaints except that our site was mostly red clay. The grass was missing in a large section of the middle of the site. We were tent camping and it was rainy so this was a real problem. I did not see any other sites that were this bad (missing grass). There were available sites so I feel that this site should not have been used. Bad first impression.
Jun 28, 2015
I had a wonderful time. I appreciated the activit├ęs and amenities. However, I was in a tent and I dearly lacked a sink to do my washing up : hot water to clean my dishes. The laudry sink wasn't working. Also, I was disappointed with the lack of recycling bins for cardboard and glass.We need to do everything we can to protect places like the Smoky Mountains from pollution.Thank you.
Jun 23, 2015
We really appreciated the extremely clean bathrooms and excellent pools. Some of the tent camping areas were pretty weak and we needed to move because of it.
Jun 22, 2015
I stayed on a very busy weekend so it felt very crowded. I love the amenities and activities but wished the WiFi was better. I wished the tent sites had a bit more privacy. But overall we enjoyed it. Great value for my money
Jun 22, 2015
The campground was great and staff nice. The noice after quiet hours was really loud. There were people up until 2 or 3 very loud with bad language.
Jun 17, 2015
Great park with friendly staff. Tent sites very nice, except placed on outside of park close to road
Jun 15, 2015
The stay was pleasant and the staff was friendly. Much better than the stay in 2013.
Jun 09, 2015
Thomas, tamie and terrible we're all delightful members of the koa team! The staff kept the restrooms extra clean which is always super important to usee parents with children. Staff always had a positive attitude any time we had questions. One suggestion would be to have more individuals working the food service bar next to pool, there were several times we had to wait 30 min or more!
Jun 08, 2015
I camp here every yr & really enjoy it. Seems to rain on my stay every yr haha. I do wish you would spray the poison ivy in tent sites. All 7 of us are broke out with it.
Jun 07, 2015
We had ur kids meet us from out of state and we all arrived at different times. My husband and I stayed in a deluxe cabin with my daughters family. On booking we were told that they would honor my daughter's military I'd for the discount, but they did not arrive until 3 am. We were assured her discount would be applied upon arrival. We were denied this discount the next day. I had to pay in full.&
Jun 05, 2015
Lisa and Carol were so friendly as well as the rest of the staff we came in contact with. We wish we would have stayed longer. It was fantastic!
Jun 01, 2015
nice place; the only trouble i had was with the internet service: couldn't even send text msgs on my phone. i enjoyed the hot tub and warm indoor pool. employees were friendly and helpful. the bagged ice freezer registered at 0 degrees, which was a pleasant surprise.
Jun 01, 2015
Our stay at the KOA was great!! Tons of great activities to do & beautiful and clean camp grounds. The staff is extremely helpful and nice. Overall we had a great experience and we will definitely be back!!
Jun 01, 2015
Great amenities. Entry for parking is confusing. Wish the quiet hours were enforced.
May 31, 2015
Our tent stay was great. Staff is eager to please. I will be going back.
May 31, 2015
We had so many activities! I never had to leave the camp ground n oh gosh the food was perfect! I cooked at camp but we ate at grill and it was soo good!
May 29, 2015
The stay was great. Very family oriented . Will be back again.The only thing were the toilets don't flush all the way. You have to flush them at least twice for the paper to go down.
May 26, 2015
It was great. Friendly staff and well kept campground. Would definatetly stay here again.
May 18, 2015
Absolutely great!!! Exceeded our expectations. We are even thinking of becoming rewards club members.
May 08, 2015
This is our second trip and it was as good as the first. Excellent campground!Great kid activities!
May 04, 2015
We had a lovely weekend.
Apr 29, 2015
Great place with good food. I had an excelent tent site and the camp store was even open late.
Apr 20, 2015
Had a wonderful stay -in spite of the weather. The ground staff could have been more friendly.
Apr 16, 2015
Had a blast
Apr 14, 2015
I enjoyed my stay
Apr 13, 2015
I visted KOA probably 10 years ago when I was a little girl with my family. I now have my own family & brought them. I did enjoy it however it seems to crowded. There is hardly any camping sites & the one we had was surrounded by people. I did not like that at all. The staff that I seen outside of the office did not speak to me they just looked at me. I did not like that either.
Mar 31, 2015
For this time of year, I was disappointed with the number of people and the noise (TV's playing past 10 pm). I have had other visits that were 5 stars but this trip was only a 2 star.
Mar 24, 2015
I will never come back
Mar 17, 2015
Nice staff great facilities!
Dec 23, 2014
Very friendly staff, nice tenting areas
Oct 27, 2014
It was a very nice KOA. Just maybe picked the wrong day to stay. It was Halloween weekend and very loud. Other than that. Loved the location. Will probably return another time and stay longer. We only stayed 1 night on our way to Florida.
Oct 27, 2014
This was the first time that we have complained. Even 2 years ago the pool wasnt heating, due to a malfunction and the water was cold. We wer e still fine with that. But this time we had 2 neighbors that joined each other and had 1 big party. It was around 12 midnight and I asked them to keep it down. We were tent camping and so were 1 other family next to us and we heard everything.
Oct 27, 2014
The tent sites were close to the restrooms which were very clean and heated. The indoor pool was very clean and the hot tub was actually very hot. The events for kids was great during Halloween weekend but we realized too late that the haunted island event was not really for little kids. Altogether nice stay for the price.
Oct 27, 2014
Great staff. SO MUCH FUN for the kids. They will definitely want to return. First Halloween weekend campout we've ever done with plenty of activities.
Oct 14, 2014
This was one of the nicest campgrounds I have stayed at. The only thing that would have been better is if the hot tub would have worked
Oct 13, 2014
I've stayed at a lot of KOAs and this was by far the worst ever! Rude and unhelpful front desk staff, site was flooded and muddy and after 10 minutes there was no hot water in the shower.
Oct 06, 2014
Me & my family have been coming to this KOA for many years. It is now under new management and some of the employees were so rude and unhelpful words just can't describe. So many rules have changed its more hassle than it's worth. Will never come back and most certainly will not recommend to any of my family or friends.
Sep 29, 2014
Very friendly staff. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay
Sep 27, 2014
My son and I enjoyed our stay, especially going tubing. The campgound was fun and 'resort'like camping.I had told my son I would rent him a bike and ride with him for the 30minute rental after we packed up our tent site. I did not like that we could not use the bikes or pool after we had checked out of our tent site.
Sep 24, 2014
Great facility with wonderful personnel. Only drawback was a stopped up drain in the men's shower building. Thanks Colby for opening the rec room for us.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.