Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jul 23, 2016
The desk/front staff was very rude and seemed to be bothered when asked questions. The people who were groundskeeping were very nice and social. The front desk threatened to call the cops when my husband asked for an explaination on our camp site.
Jul 21, 2016
People wasn't very helpful. I bought ice and didn't know where the ice machine was. I was talked to like I was stupid. One of the bathroom stall door stuck., was real hard to open. The change machine didn't work in the game room.
Jul 21, 2016
Jul 19, 2016
This was the first tent camping trip for my 3 and 6 year old. KOA did a great job. Clean, friendly and fun! Keep up the great work! We will be back!
Jul 18, 2016
We stayed mid July. Tent sites are pure mud pits when it rains. We were on site 41, which had paved parking but some of the others near us were nasty. The bathhouse near these sights were updated, however the women's restroom/shower constantly smelled like urine.
Jul 13, 2016
This was our second visit to Cherokee KOA and we loved it just as much as the first! We will definitely be back. Very clean restrooms and friendly staff
Jul 12, 2016
We stayed on a tent site w/o water or electric so that was a bummer but we were right by the bathrooms/ showers and they were awesome! Our stay was quick and we left before the camp store even opened! Overall good. It would be good to remove all the fishing line from the over head wires when you first drive in.
Jul 11, 2016
It's was awesome! Kids and husband loved it.
Jul 11, 2016
One of the best campgrounds we've stayed at. Staff is amazing and friendly. Very clean!
Jul 11, 2016
Plenty of activities for young and old, the only drawbacks were; everything needs a good pressure washing, and on Saturday night there was a "dance party". Music blared to about 11:00 at night. When it was myself and my drinking buddies camping, we would not have minded. But on a trip with my 6 year old daughter, not the best way to try and fall asleep. Other than that, the staff was great.
Jul 11, 2016
The toilets in the men's bathrooms were both stopped up for hours at a time. There was a lot of noise and people and kids moving around with bikes and golf carts after quiet hours making it difficult to get my kids to sleep.
Jul 10, 2016
First, we were given a tent site right next to the dog walk park right where people were allowing there dogs to go bathroom. Also the women's bathrooms had no working soap dispensers the whole time we were there and no other soap options were provided. Finally, when a tornado came through the campsite, we were not given a cabin to stay in even though we asked and offered to pay the difference.
Jul 09, 2016
Restrooms were so clean! Thanks. Maybe have maps to Great Smoky Mtn Natl Park. Older lady directions were wrong. Enjoyec our stay. Again, great restrooms!!!
Jul 09, 2016
I would say if you are staying in a tent to look elsewhere due to no power and water on those sites also the fact that when it rains the tent sites are mudholes can't we put something there for tent's to be on like sand or something. Other than that its a great campground with lots of activities for the kids. If your staying in an rv you should have no problem those sites are concrete and nice.
Jul 07, 2016
Jul 05, 2016
The campground was great, our kids had a great time. I would definitely call and ask for a different campsite next time - our tent was backed up to the dog area and at the intersection of the two main roads, kept us up all night, every night.
Jul 03, 2016
It was our family's first time at any KOA and I have to say, the staff were very helpful and nice. There were plenty of activities for the kids to do on the campground. They enjoyed it, had fun and no complaints. The fishing ponds just outside of the campground are a plus. The entire campground and bathrooms are kept very tidy and clean. Definitely will return again, no doubt. Thanks!
Jul 02, 2016
We had a great time, the whole family had something to do. Staff were great.
Jul 01, 2016
The workers were rude, quiet time was not between 10:30 and 7:00, there were many people drinking alcohol, and the people next to me were smoking pot. It was very disappointing to see the girls enter the bathrooms to "clean" but the toilets were not cleaned the entire time I was there. I know this because there was a pink ring around the middle toilet. I will not be back to KOA.
Jul 01, 2016
Jun 24, 2016
We can't round was very nice but our site was extremely small. It seems like it was not even meant to be a campsite, but was just a small spot with enough room for a tent and the fir but was just a small spot with enough room for a tent and the fire ring. With a small four person tent we did not have hardly any room at all to walk around the campsite for put out a chair. The rest of the tent sit
Jun 21, 2016
The campground was very clean, excellent staff supervision, well maintained, friendly service, family friendly activities. I only wish we could have stayed longer. It was so peaceful and I felt safe staying there alone with the kids. The kennels were perfect for our pet too. WILL stay here again and looking forward to our next trip. PERFECT vacation!
Jun 20, 2016
.
Jun 19, 2016
Great Camping site with a lot of extras. The indoor and outdoor pool with slide make it great as well the animation programs is super
Jun 16, 2016
Jun 16, 2016
Jun 15, 2016
The dog kennel need more attention Also need more room .
Jun 15, 2016
This camper comment has been removed by KOA because it contained inappropriate content.
Jun 14, 2016
Very friendly staff....excellent park overall
Jun 13, 2016
The only issue we had was the noise from the main road which runs parallel to the tent site where we stayed. This is a GREAT place for families and children!
Jun 11, 2016
It was a great vacation thanks to my family's stay at KOA.
Jun 09, 2016
The scenery is tremendous. There are plenty of fun things to do in the campgrounds whether you're a kid or adult. Will be back for sure!
Jun 09, 2016
It was great. The staff was super friendly.
Jun 08, 2016
We stayed 5 nights and it rained almost every night. Our tent site had no grass so it was very muddy. It was also next to the sump pump and our parking area was also muddy. The bath areas were very clean and nice. We used the laundry facility and it was also nice. A lot of activities for kids and families. The staff were very nice and always helpful.
Jun 06, 2016
Fun, pleasant and comfortable.
Jun 04, 2016
May 29, 2016
Great Location. Very clean restrooms. Very friendly staff. Will visit again!
May 16, 2016
Affordable in an expensive area, great promotions, nicest bathrooms I've ever seen in a campground, beautiful and convenient location. We're definitely coming back.
May 09, 2016
Nice clean bathrooms.
Apr 29, 2016
Only negative but was a big inconvenience was the night time traffic. We were tent camping and the traffic and night was very disrupting but everything other then that was great.
Apr 25, 2016
The koa it's self is nice and has clean facilities and they are doing a lot of upgrades to the place but with that said staff was rude and had stretched the truth about the trout ponds they are on the camp grounds and our tent site faced them but you do not have access to them from your site and they are open to the public which when asked was not mentioned
Apr 20, 2016
Apr 18, 2016
Been there many times and will definitely continue to come back.
Apr 12, 2016
We had such a great time in this campground. Lots of things for the kids to do, and very clean. We are already planning another long weekend trip at the end of July. This time we will be bringing our whole family with us.
Apr 04, 2016
Had a wonderful time, will definitely be returning before the summer ends. Kids loved it.
Apr 03, 2016
I woke in my tent- I came out of my tent to find that I was being looked at by 10 fishermen fishing in the trout pond .. No privacy at all
Apr 01, 2016
Love coming to this KOA.. Awesome employees
Mar 30, 2016
Had A wonderful time at KOA!! We stayed at the tent sites only but service and staff were very nice. The kids had so much fun, definitely coming back soon!!
Mar 29, 2016
Overall our stay was great we enjoyed the campground. Our tent campsite wasn't that great. We were right next to the road and the trout pond which was very loud. Also our site wasn't grassy it was covered with clay. People were using our campsite as a walk through. We asked to move but were told we couldn't. This Is not a tent friendly KOA caters more to families with campers.
Feb 22, 2016
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Will definitely be going back!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award