Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 27, 2016
We have stay at KOA Cherokee before,we have all way like it there ,when our kids was.little we stay there and they all way like camping there .
Apr 27, 2016
Didn't give five stars for two reasons: 1) The bathhouse closest to our site had two showers, one of which was out of order for our entire weeks stay. The other nearest bathhouse was totally closed down. 2) The bathrooms were cleaned daily at 9 AM just at about the time everyone was moving about and needing to use the facilities.
Apr 27, 2016
Excellent facility, no problems and everything was nice and efficient.
Apr 27, 2016
Apr 27, 2016
Picnic tables were really filthy and not logically set up. Otherwise is it was a good stay.
Apr 26, 2016
Friendly staff. Very good amenities.
Apr 26, 2016
Your staff (some of them) needs to be friendly.
Apr 26, 2016
My family and I loved staying at the KOA. Everything was perfect except for the fact that we stayed 2 nights and they expected us to reuse our towels the whole weekend. When we asked for clean, fresh towels, the clerk at the front desk got an attitude. She said that they expect us to reuse our towels.
Apr 26, 2016
As usual had a great time. KOA personnel are always very friendly and helpful.
Apr 26, 2016
Great stay. Facilities were great. We enjoyed. Only issue was WIFI and Cellular connections didn't work but on the other hand good to be unconnected for a couple of days.
Apr 26, 2016
Love it here! We have been staying here for over 15 years. The inly thing i would change is keeping the pool open later on sunday.
Apr 25, 2016
Should have told me about no cell service and no wifi. Free wifi but you cant use it.
Apr 25, 2016
The koa it's self is nice and has clean facilities and they are doing a lot of upgrades to the place but with that said staff was rude and had stretched the truth about the trout ponds they are on the camp grounds and our tent site faced them but you do not have access to them from your site and they are open to the public which when asked was not mentioned
Apr 25, 2016
Enjoyed the scenery, the peace and quiet, the rapid response to a problem, and the friendliness of the staff.
Apr 25, 2016
Apr 25, 2016
Stay was great as always. My one and only complaint would be the bathrooms. I felt it could of been cleaner.
Apr 25, 2016
There was a lot to do at the campground and it was very clean. The staff was friendly.
Apr 25, 2016
Camp Ground was great, however the Delux cabin we rented had ants and spiders galore in the bathroom. Other then that the amenities were great!
Apr 25, 2016
I have been going there for over 30 years. Gets better every year.
Apr 25, 2016
The staff was very friendly, our cabin was clean and spacious, pool and hot tub was phenomenal, but no A/C in our cabin.
Apr 25, 2016
Apr 25, 2016
Bathrooms were clean and modern with nice showers. The shower curtains were not wide enough for the openings and there were very few hooks in the shower and lavatory areas. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Pretty location.
Apr 25, 2016
Wonderful stay looking toward for next time
Apr 25, 2016
This was our first stay, it was very clean, quiet friendly staff , we had everything we needed 1st the koa , we loved it and can't wait to c9me back again soon.
Apr 25, 2016
We live in Otto, we stay here very often. When last we stayed, the front desk staff told me that I shouldn't make my reservations online anymore, to call or just walk in and I will receive the same discounts and have a better choice of site or cabin. Well, I followed their advice this time and was a walk in. I was not given the $25 discount on a cabin rental. Could be a little friendlier and smile
Apr 24, 2016
Firewood cost jumped from 3/$10.00 to $7.00 each in one day. Kinda sounds like gouging doesn't it?

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The increase in price was due to a new shipment of kiln dried firewood. Our costs went up so, unfortunately, we had to increase our price.
Apr 23, 2016
A lot of upgrades are taking place so facilities will be even better. Staff always pleasant and very helpful
Apr 23, 2016
We don't have a negative thing to say. We had a fun time..Nice Kampground!!!! Beautiful area!!!
Apr 23, 2016
Very nice KOA with lots of amenities. Because it was early in season, not much doing.
Apr 22, 2016
We come twice-- a year we would come more if we could get away! We love this place and we love all of you!Thank you so much! Billy Scull
Apr 22, 2016
excellent staff and facility
Apr 22, 2016
The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We especially enjoyed talking with Bill! The only complaint is that the firewood went from $4 a bundle to $7. The staff agreed to let me continue to pay the original price.
Apr 21, 2016
We camped!!! We walked!!!! We went to sleep at night!!! We went to the pool but came back because the hot tub was to hot for anyone to get in. We couldn't stay in touch with anyone on the phone or internet because of only one bar.
Apr 20, 2016
Awesome place with lots of things to do. Beautiful area to spend time outdoors with family and friends.
Apr 20, 2016
Apr 19, 2016
My husband and I visited the Cherokee KOA for our honeymoon. When we arrived, we were surprised to find that they had set up the cabin with a goodie basket and made the bed with monogrammed pillows for us (my parents had left the surprise, but staff took time to set everything up). They even gave us one bundle of firewood and a lighter on the house! Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
Apr 19, 2016
Staff was extremely friendly and helpful!
Apr 19, 2016
Apr 19, 2016
Rude inconsiderate
Apr 19, 2016
Lots of construction going on even during weekend. Bathroom soap dispenser always empty, pool water smelled like chlorinated sewer water, campsites very close together.
Apr 19, 2016
The cabin was great..very comfortable bed! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Beautiful river! Excellent vacation spot!
Apr 19, 2016
Like the activities there. But had to check out early because of our cabin being covered in ants and spider webs. Our 1 year old little girl has bites all over her leg. We also think it's a very strict campground. Too many rules
Apr 18, 2016
I love the koa the staff is friendly if you need help they are there to assist. If they are in there golf carts and see you walking to the store they would ask you if you need a ride. The cleanliness of the campground is very exceptional. I love the Kamp ground.
Apr 18, 2016
Apr 18, 2016
The people that work there are so rude, the place is not well kept, the staff does not know alot about what is going on around them. Not well stocked.
Apr 18, 2016
We have been coming to KOA in Cherokee for over 20 years! We love the fishing and all the amenities. The staff is right on top of things! I have noticed tho that the last few trips the cabins are not as clean as they used to be. Other than that everything else was great!
Apr 18, 2016
We had a wonderful experience with our entire family while at this KOA. Kids loved the fishing and all the things to do while all inside the campground
Apr 18, 2016
Breaker was tripped our first night and we froze... when this was brought up to maintenance they came out and fixed but never apologized. Also, we were with 4 other groups and were harassed by the staff because we had too many vehicles at the site.
Apr 18, 2016
Our stay was great. Met new friends. Everyone was friendly!
Apr 18, 2016
Been there many times and will definitely continue to come back.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps