Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Feb 23, 2017
Staff was friendly but the 1&2 cabins the toilets didn't flush the 3 was not as nice & the 4th cabin the toilet did flush but smelled heavily like marijuana the staff did give us some air fresher but we spent almost 2 hours going cabin to cabin. If the toilet don't flush DONT rent them. We had to rush dinner then walked into our concert late. Stressful weekend 🙁
Feb 22, 2017
The nicest people around Donnie and his wife Monica are the best hosts we have ever had. They are always there to help and will never lead you down the wrong road from parking your rig to getting out in the area. The sites are large and we love during the winter because it is so calm and relaxing.i recommend this property and any other property that Donnie and Monica might be working in.
Feb 22, 2017
Feb 21, 2017
Feb 21, 2017
Always a blast! See you same weekend next year!
Feb 21, 2017
Always a blast, Had a great time PLEASE PUT SWINGS ON THE PLAYGROUND !!!! That's a huge please from my 5 year old daughter !!! Donnie Anthony David, everyone was so nice. Keep up the good work one of my favorite KOA camp grounds to go to!! Anytime of year it's a blast
Feb 21, 2017
Cabin was clean and some problems were discovered, but remedies were in place immediately. The staff was friendly and accommodating.
Feb 21, 2017
We enjoyed our stay. Staff was wonderful, grounds were well maintained, and other campers were friendly. We will be back.
Feb 20, 2017
My husband and I absolutely love the Cherokee KOA. We are always treated very nicely and look forward to our annual Valentine's camping weekend!
Feb 20, 2017
Feb 20, 2017
Very nice enjoyed it. Good work
Feb 20, 2017
Just as great and relaxing a time as I remember from years ago. Love the cabins.
Feb 20, 2017
Feb 17, 2017
We go to this campground every year during the winter for the fishing and snow. I know that the snow is out of your control, but for that last two years the fishing has been awful. We use to come home with at least a dozen trout. We found out this last two time we went it was not stocked. Very disappointing to spend the money for two cabins for four days and come away with two trout.
Feb 13, 2017
Always nice place to stay! No soap in bathroom sink soap dispenser ! Other than that ! I'll be back
Feb 13, 2017
Brought a church group up to stay and fish... we had a great time... thank you
Feb 13, 2017
Great stay just a little pricey for this time of year.
Feb 12, 2017
We stayed in a Deluxe Cabin on the River. The cabin was perfect. The reason for our visit was to check out the campsites. We are returning next month with our Travel Trailer. We were able to decide which campsite we preferred. We are looking forward to returning soon.
Feb 06, 2017
Clean cabin. Everything worked. Loved that personnel checked on us that evening to make sure we had everything we needed.
Jan 30, 2017
It was "off" season, so it was very quiet and peaceful. Beauitful views all around. This is one of my favorite places and we will definitely be back! Great staff very helpful and friendly! A++++
Jan 29, 2017
Great place, clean, great amenities, great staff!
Jan 28, 2017
staff great
Jan 26, 2017
The best staffed KOA I have experienced. Outstanding.
Jan 24, 2017
Great place to stay. A few miles from all the shops in Cherokee so you get nature without being so far away from everything.
Jan 23, 2017
It's always great when we come there.it's always relaxing.
Jan 19, 2017
This park is great, fun activities. Koa will drive you down the road to let you float back on the river. Paved roads. Didn't use the park showers not sure how they are. People were friendly and had plenty of room.
Jan 19, 2017
Enjoyed the facilities, however really expected staff to check on us since they were not busy. Luckily nothing was needed. Love that koa
Jan 19, 2017
Made resevations for a loft. Didnt get a loft. Advised the lady behind the counter. She was rude. She denied it. I said to watch the video. Her demeanor changed. She then offered fire wood which declined( i brought a truck load). she offered ice. i went to get the ice and was accused of stealing!!! feel free to call me for entire story. 478 972 7322. My grp (5 families) rented 5 cabins for 9 yrs!!
Jan 18, 2017
Jan 18, 2017
It was good
Jan 18, 2017
The grounds were neat. The staff was always ready to help if needed. The facilities were clean. The store had what you needed so we never had to leave. Looking forward to taking my grandson on our next trip there.
Jan 18, 2017
We had an extremely wonderful experience. Facility was Very clean (especially the bathroom and showers)and lots for the kids to do. The staff was very helpful and nice
Jan 17, 2017
I love our KOA, but we had a friend come up the same time as we did and her cabin was not clean...the toilet didn't flush and there were dead bugs everywhere. She brought this to the attention of the front desk and the response was "is this your first time with us?" She said yes, and the clerk just said "oh well". Very embarrassed with the customer service this trip. Still love our KOA though.
Jan 17, 2017
Great Staff, Great Location. We had a wonderful time. We will be going here again. Hope to see you.
Jan 17, 2017
The people that check you in should be more personable. The best part of our stay was your employee, Laurie, she was knowledgeable about the area. She was the nicest person there. Cabin 380 was clean. Fridge door broke and light over bed out. I saw those same complaints on reviews back from October. So slow to fix issues.
Jan 16, 2017
We love staying here but were not told there would be no activities or would not be able to rent a golf card or bike in advance. Wish they would have posted this somewhere prior to arrival. was very disappointed in that.
Jan 16, 2017
We arrived late like I had told them before we left and when we got there the office was completely dark and we didn't know what to do. Finally we found a number to call and found the cabin. The cabin looked nothing like the pictures and ended up not being private at all considering there were other people very close on both sides of us. The cabin smelled like stinky feet and the wifi did not work
Jan 10, 2017
We have camped at this campground before and enjoyed their great amenities during the summer. They have lots of fun things for the kids to do! This time we stayed in a cabin and were very pleased. We were right on the water & had a nice porch; the cabin had everything you could need during your stay. It was clean and comfortable. The staff was excellent and super friendly. Great location as well.
Jan 09, 2017
Heat in deluxe cabin didn't work well only heat to 64 degree and cut off with thermostat set to 72. Room cleaning was not good. Dust around winow sill was very thick. Some staff not very bright and cheerful.
Jan 08, 2017
Enjoyed the stay, cabin wasn't very clean, there was hair all over the floor, mice poop in the floor as well as mice in the cabin at night
Jan 05, 2017
The overall stay was good. However while preparing for bed at the cabin we noticed the matress on the sleeper sofa was littered with crumbs and there was dust bunnies and sand on the floor underneath. (Not a major problem.) The next morning When we found some little critters (bedbugs) and mmediately checked all of the beds. The manager was notified when we departed.
Jan 05, 2017
The cabin was very roomy. My family really enjoyed their stay.
Jan 05, 2017
Top spot to stay!!
Jan 04, 2017
Beautiful location staff helpful and pleasant
Jan 03, 2017
Site 213 should not be a campsite. It's about 6 feet from the massive "jump pad" for kids. It's considered a premium creekside side but it is not creekside by any means. It's looks nothing like the map shows it to be. We did get moved the second day of our trip to a different site which was a lot better and was creekside. Really pricey for such a terrible site.
Jan 03, 2017
We loved staying in the cabin #507, it was so nice and perfect for my husband and I. Not a lot to do because of winter time but we did our own thing by going other places. Thank you for being so nice and fixing things to allow us to stay in our cabin for an extra night.
Jan 03, 2017
I really like the ease of setting up on sites.
Jan 03, 2017
The office staff was not very friendly. The wifi and cable were working st times and often not. Other KOA's have activities/events around holidays. None here. But the grounds very clean & restrooms clean.
Jan 02, 2017
Our family enjoyed our stay!! Thank you! We are planning to come back!!
Jan 02, 2017
My only complaint would be that the Wifi was spotty.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps