Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 23, 2017
The front desk staff was awesome. The pond fishing was sad - no fish!!
May 23, 2017
May 23, 2017
This is my third visit and I love it! The only downside is the wifi...it sucks
May 23, 2017
ACABLE NEEDS UPDATED IF POSSIBLE.
May 23, 2017
Had a great stay. Staff is WONDERFUL. Toilets in ladies room need to be fixed (have to hold handle down long time to flush OR flush twice). Campsite good but would be so much better if some sites are combined to give the feel that people aren't so on top of each other. And, just something to think about: separate campsites into "campers with kids", "campers with dogs", "adult campers". THANK U!
May 23, 2017
When i called i asked for a cabin at front at lake. When i got to campground our cabin was all the way at the back. Cabin was dirty hair on bed had not been swept refrigerate had not been cleaned. Chairs had food on them. I took pictures and showed lady at register and she was very nice. I would stay here again. We enjoyed our stay but for the money it should be clean.
May 23, 2017
Loved the grounds. For an upgraded cabin, it would have been nice if it had an air conditioner. Never stayed in a cabin that did not have air or heat.
May 23, 2017
Game room and outdoor pool not open. I didn't see that on the website. Some staff very helpful and friendly...some not. Bathrooms and showers VERY NICE.
May 23, 2017
Very clean,friendly, and a great place for families. Many activities and fun to be had while staying there.
May 22, 2017
Cabin was nice. Enjoyable stay
May 22, 2017
Parking at the riverside Cabins #506 had a gulley where cars are parked. Had to wade through water to get into car.
May 22, 2017
May 22, 2017
Wonderful staff, great amenities, cabin was clean and well stocked for a weekend trip.
May 22, 2017
Campground was great, just the Wifi was terrible.
May 22, 2017
The staff is very friendly. Lots to do there.
May 22, 2017
Nice time. Wifi and cable are horrible, intermittent and hit or miss. Site was good. Sewer hook up leaked. Store was in transition. Front desk personnel were ok. Pool ok. Best feature of this KOA is location. We will come back.
May 22, 2017
We had a wonderful time at KOA. We rented a cabin and it was very nice and clean right beside the creek. Kids loved fishing, swimming, riding bikes, making scores and playing in the creek. Everyone was very friendly and nice. We will definitely be back soon.
May 22, 2017
Very nice and friendly
May 22, 2017
One of my family's favorite places. Have been coming here for years.
May 22, 2017
The campground was clean and looked very nice, although we only stayed two nights. I cannot give a better rating because we came from another KOA that was set up a little nicer and the staff was friendlier. The main reason for the "not so high" rating was for no trash pickup, the limited knowledge of the staff {which seemed to be young, and for the extremely crappy WIFI signal.
May 22, 2017
There were no events scheduled for the weekend but still required to pay a resort fee, checked in to my cabin and went all the way to the end of the campground to get it in just to realize they didn't give a key that was necessary to get in it and had to return again to the desk, ordered 2 cups of water at the restaurant and was charged over $4 which is even more than the price of a water bottle.
May 22, 2017
Clean bathrooms, friendly service, great experience all around.
May 22, 2017
Extended my stay from 2 nights to 3. I paid for my 3rd night & was in the cabin & there was violent banging on the door. I opened it & KOA employee was standing there and YELLED at me "CHECK OUT WAS AT 11!" I explained that I paid for an additional night. He never looked at me. Just walked away. Mistakes are OK, but I left immediately because no apology. It scared me. Formal complaint to follow.
May 22, 2017
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
May 21, 2017
spotless nice staff great activities spotty wifi
May 21, 2017
Beautiful and extremely clean KOA campground!
May 21, 2017
You have a beautiful campground with very clean and maintained facilities. Your staff is helpful and courteous also. HOWEVER, you should not advertise that you have Wi-Fi because you don't. For whatever reason you either cannot connect or if you do connect, are quickly booted off. The staff had no answer for the problem. I took one star off your rating for this issue.
May 21, 2017
My family and I had a great time at KOA. I did have a small issue with a comment a staff member made but overall great experience.
May 20, 2017
Gorgeous area. The pipes in our cabin screamed when you ran hot water for a shower. Cistomer service of a few needs improvement. The dog kennel setup is not very good. It's an air conditioned cabin with no employees around. Anyone else in the KOA can go to the office, get the key and go into the kennel. The doggy kennels are just latched, so anybody could open them and walk off with your dog.
May 19, 2017
Very impressed with the staff and the park overall. I rate campgrounds usually by the condition of the bathroom and this was probably the second best bathroom I've seen in a campground over the years.
May 19, 2017
I wasn't very pleased with this koa. I've been on a two month road trip and it has been the worst koa I've stayed at so far.. I'm not one to complain but the wifi didn't work for the duration of my two day stay and their only answer way yeah it does that sometimes. The was also no service so I had not a clue how to get where I wanted to go.
May 17, 2017
Without a doubt one of the nicest KOA campgrounds we've ever stayed in. Plenty to do, beautiful setting, and very convenient for traveling to and from Great Smoky Mtn. Ntl. Park. Would definitely recommend staying here.
May 17, 2017
Cabin was nice. Had a fire alarm in cabin beeping and they took care of it immediately. Had plenty of things to do in the campground for family to do and staff very friendly.
May 17, 2017
This is one of the best campgrounds you are going to find. Campers who complain about this campground need to go somewhere else. The staff is very friendly and will go out of their way to make sure you have a great stay. This is our third time there and we will be back again. I won't go anywhere else.
May 17, 2017
We stay at this KOA twice a year and as a tent camper we love the clean and new bathhouse. We can't wait for the new tent sites to open. The ONLY issue is the wifi. Please look into making it a little stronger. Very hard to get any connection during our stay. Otherwise we love it
May 17, 2017
Cody was amazing and helped us with whatever we needed throughout our stay. Everyone was very nice.
May 16, 2017
May 16, 2017
It has greatly improved since my last visit four years ago! We had stopped visiting the KOA in Cherokee because of the uncleanliness and smell of the cabins. All that has changed under new management! Good job, team!! We'll be back!!
May 16, 2017
I didn't give a full five stars this time because our picnic tables seat was not attached on one side. Site 191. Please fix before someone gets hurt. And the men's bathroom by the laundryroom was not clean Sunday morning. We have stayed there many times over the years and this is the first time I have ever had to write something negative. Still look forward to going back again.
May 16, 2017
Really enjoy these koa cabins in Cherokee. Love to fish for trout right at the Los, while there is plenty of things for my wife and kids to do. They really enjoy the indoor hot tub and pool. And my kid like all the bouncy things as well as plenty of room to ride their bikes.
May 16, 2017
We loved the facilities. Very well kept and the area is beautiful. The employees though are not well trained. We bought coffee every morning and it was always a different price. We were given wrong directions 3x. They told us they don't know the area when we asked about things to go do. They closed the pool and jumping pad early every night and were very rude to the children when closing it.
May 16, 2017
STAFF WAS SUPER FRIENDLY, CABIN WAS EXTRA CLEAN, BATHROOMS AND SHOWER HOUSES WAS IN EXCELLENT SHAPE CLEAN AND FULLY STOCKED. OVERALL VERY PLEASANT STAY FOR US...
May 16, 2017
Enjoyed my stay as always,but the ladies bathroom was out of handwash soap all weekend and the bathrooms needed to be cleaned,usually they are cleaned early in the morning but it was later in the day before anyone came in, and they didn't clean very well.Definitely will be back, love staying there!
May 16, 2017
We love the KOA in Cherokee,NC and we come back as often as we can afford to..We always enjoy our visit..See you again soon!!!
May 16, 2017
Our stay was great friendly staff clean park this is why we always stay here
May 16, 2017
We totally enjoyed our stay at KOA in Cherokee. Amenities were above average and the staff was excellent and went out of their way to make us feel welcome.
May 15, 2017
First year I have been disappointed in 25 years we have been coming. Charged me extra 25 dollars for checking in early even though cabin was ready I have never done that. I have grandkids I always take there were no activities for them to do last 2 years there has been things like tie die shirts a savenger hunt crafts. None of that this year my grandkids were diappointed and so was I. We hope i
May 15, 2017
We love coming to Cherokee KOA. We have another trip planned in October. this was our first time in a deluxe cabin. I have just a couple of suggestions and I realize it's hard with it being a campground. It would be nice if you have a few more cooking bowls, utensils, etc. Our grill and the cabin next to us had issues heating up. loved the full size frig & queen beds in 2 bedroom. great trip
May 15, 2017
This is our 4th year coming and we always enjoy it very much, so many diff things for the family to do
May 15, 2017
It was great! Very nice restrooms, and very nice hospitality from staff. Shawn checked on us the day we were leaving. That made us feel part of the loan camp family. Thanks for your continuing efforts to make camping the best experience one can have.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award