Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11

RV Reviews

Aug 30, 2014
Aug 30, 2014
NO WIFI and should not advertise that it has it. Premier sites are a ripoff. The cleanest KOA that we have stayed at. Lovely grounds.
Aug 27, 2014
Aug 26, 2014
Aug 26, 2014
stay was great as usual but every year there seems to be a different reason that the wifi isnt working, i think in this day and age that should be considered very important
Aug 25, 2014
Nice campsites,plenty to do, very nice and friendly staff, so peaceful and beautiful, nice facilities.
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Excellent place for family. Lots of activities. WiFi was not good but they are supposedly putting in new. Site #7 was extremely wet and muddy where you hook up but I don't think other sites were that way. Maybe previous camper had a leaky hose.
Aug 25, 2014
Great stay thank u
Aug 25, 2014
Deluxe river front back in spot was awesome (#219), very few campers since school just started back. Scenery was beautiful as always. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Much better than our stay back in April. (Although I didn't give the bath houses a 2nd chance)
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Koa help very friendly;) especially Lin, carol, & Ann .my only problem was lack of wifi;( other wise very relaxing ...
Aug 25, 2014
We had a wonderful time. Very family and pet friendly campground.
Aug 24, 2014
Second time there this year! We love this campground. Beautiful scenery, wonderful staff. This time the weather even cooperated. :-)
Aug 24, 2014
We had a wondwerfull time with our granddaughter.
Aug 23, 2014
Loved all the activities for the children. Wish they had a deep sink or kitchen camping for dish washing. Lots of amenities!
Aug 23, 2014
Aug 23, 2014
MY GRANDKIDS HAD A GREAT TIME
Aug 23, 2014
Very friendly staff and great campgrounds, had a wonderful vacation.
Aug 22, 2014
Aug 22, 2014
Love this place
Aug 20, 2014
We have stayed at this KOA many times. This trip we had a family tragedy. The staff was very kind in allowing me to use the phone to make many phone calls long distance to Myrtle Beach. This KOA is limited by the Cherokee Tribal rules to the amount of cell service and Wi-Fi service they can offer. Just know this before you go.
Aug 20, 2014
Rained some but still enjoyed time spent here. Sites are great and creek was cold but fun.
Aug 19, 2014
We love the Cherokee koa. It's a beautiful area with lots to do at the koa and in town. The pools are nice and they now have golf carts.the game room needs to be updated and games fixed bit that would be my only suggestion.the bath rooms look almost new and were always clean.the dog pen is great, but the poop bags ran out. But there are lots of dogs and ours loved it there.
Aug 19, 2014
We loved staying at the Cherokee/Great Smokies, NC, the only thing was the Wi-Fi did not work very well. I heard they were updating the system. Hopefully that gets fixed.
Aug 19, 2014
Well, everyone was ready and willing to help any way they could. They would readily go out of their way to assist. The location is perfect, close enough to the action but far out enough to feel like the edge of wilderness. Perfect for kits of all ages. I didn't see anywhere I thought kids won't be safe. Lots for them to do.
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Loved it! You guys have so many smenities. We can't wait to come back again!
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
beautiful campground, nice big sites, level, very impressed. indoor pool was perfect temp, kids loved waterslide and bounce pillow
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
Our stay was great. I wish you had more sites on river for big rigs. The 10 pm quiet needs to be enforced. I had to get up at 11:30 pm to remind the folks behind me they were an hour and a half past the limit...lol..Everything was good.
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
Loved it! The scenery is beautiful! My only recommendations would be to be to have randomly placed (porch) swings through out the campground and would love, to have a place to hang my hammock at the campsite. This was one of our best vacations:))
Aug 16, 2014
enjoyed our stay but need to do work on showers
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 14, 2014
I had more fun fishing than at the campground.we have 5 children and every time I turned around an KOA employee was speeding by on golf carts exceeding well over the 5mph limit. I actually complained because they almost hit my 3 yr old and it didn't help all they did was go by and stare. Also the washers there are run down and disgusting. We were disappointed and won't go back .
Aug 14, 2014
This is our second stay there and while the location is beautiful the bathooms were terrible and have not been updated since our last stay 3 years ago. Also the deluxe site we paid for was disappointing. We left early the next day.
Aug 13, 2014
Although we had rain every day, we still really enjoyed our stay at Cherokee KOA. My grandkids & the adults loved everything. I tubed down the river for the first time & even though it was scary at times, I really enjoyed it. We will definitely go back.
Aug 13, 2014
We had break problems with our motor home and every one helped us work out our problem.
Aug 13, 2014
Grounds were not taken care of: higher grass than my last 6 yrs, trailer sites were covered with leave, durt, standing water on many of the sites, etc. Just not as good as past. People in checkin were not as friendly/helpful, waited for three days to buy milk/milk, never saw any in 4days, nobody could answer simple questions(new to there jobs). I will stop here, I think have gotten to feelings
Aug 13, 2014
Very nice campground. friendly helpful people.
Aug 12, 2014
We were with a group and the KOA staff was very accommodating. Since we were there 2 years ago, a noticeable improvement in cleanliness and staff.
Aug 12, 2014
We had a great time. The facility is excellent and the team is phenomenal. All of them made us feel very welcome and were very attentive. Special thanks to Woodrow. Lots of things to do and see very close, many of which are free such as Mingo Fall, Mingus Mill, Great Smokey MOuntains National Park and many more. If you want to disconnect and spend time with family and friends,this is the pl
Aug 11, 2014
My family enjoyed our stay as we always do. The things that bother us if the fact we pay for premium sites on the river and have to deal with people constantly walking through your site. The other thing is with the high nightly rates the activities for the kids should included.
Aug 11, 2014
Almost 6 stars! They get them whenn WiFi is all around the campground
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.