Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11

RV Reviews

Oct 29, 2014
One of the check in staff was very rude to us and several other campers. A large tree limb fell through our awning. Other than that we had a great time.
Oct 29, 2014
Oct 29, 2014
Great stay,however water pressure needs to improve
Oct 29, 2014
Enjoyed every minute. The Halloween weekends were organized so well and we enjoyed watching. The weather was not as we hoped but it's no ones fault. We'll be back.
Oct 29, 2014
Great campground, well kept. Avoid site #22--it is backwards with fire ring and picnic table on wrong side. Staff is friendly and helpful. Will definitely go back.
Oct 29, 2014
Oct 29, 2014
Oct 28, 2014
Terrific stay for Halloween adventure, we love it and will return again next year!
Oct 28, 2014
Oct 28, 2014
Had a lot of fun during Halloween weekend..... will be back soon.
Oct 28, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
It was a great trip. We had a wonderful time. The only issue is the satellite messed up and ESPN went out and Saturday night and we were unable to watch the game we wanted. Of course it was back on the next morning working fine. Other than that it was a great trip.
Oct 27, 2014
Unusable WiFi, issues with the cable TV, sewer connection was full. One of the KOA staff, (older man) was very rude and hateful.
Oct 27, 2014
Absolutely loved it here :)
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
We had a blast and all of the KOA employees were very friendly. We will definitely be back.
Oct 27, 2014
We had a great weekend and loved all of the activities. We have already booked again for next year! Only negative, cable signal was not strong. Also, might want to try to stop traffic during trick or treating. Just for safety.
Oct 27, 2014
Love this campground, stay there every year. Wifi needs improvement, and have the trick or treaters start later...
Oct 27, 2014
Halloween weekend at KOA is a lot of fun. However, not enough employees riding around campground at night. Very loud music was being played at some campsites and this made sleeping very difficult, especially for small children. Other than that, great weekend!!
Oct 27, 2014
had a really good time
Oct 27, 2014
This was our 2nd year for the Halloween weekend. As always it was a great experience. The only issues I had was poor WiFi and booking for the next stay. The booking issue was understood as I could book after 1100am the day of checkout. Tried to book and the lady wanted me to ride by the site and to see if anyone was there. So, I didn't book for next year because checkout is at 1100am
Oct 27, 2014
Great time
Oct 27, 2014
Awesome weekend! KOA planned great activities for Halloween!
Oct 27, 2014
Th staff is not friendly. The website claims wifi but that is non existent. overall disappointing.
Oct 27, 2014
We arrived early and since reserved campsite was empty, we were allowed to set up early.Very nice,safe,quiet campground. The only issue/complaint during our 6 night stay was that the firewood this KOA sold was terrible. It was wet/damp pine, not seasoned or dried at all, and would just smolder. Hope they remedy this and change firewood suppliers.Other than that,Great time,location,and Great staff
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 26, 2014
The wifi connection is very spotty and was told with the upgrade that I shouldn't have a problem. I'd be willing to pay for wifi to have a great connection. Ate breakfast at the restaurant and it was terrible. I don't know if management changed but this year the food was awful.
Oct 25, 2014
Thanks for cleaning the windows on the indoor pool all the way up to the roof line. What a great view now! The roads are still in great need of repair.
Oct 25, 2014
Oct 25, 2014
Low rating is for two reasons: 1.Making us wait 1.5 hours until the noon check in time because "one of our spots was filled." By the amount of leaves piled on each of our sights, we are quite sure that neither spot had anyone on it. 2.The response we got for a restaurant recommend was "they're all good", which didn't help us at all. The registration clerk was not very helpful.
Oct 25, 2014
Very clean, friendly and convenient to many restaurants and things to do. Enjoyed our stay!
Oct 25, 2014
Very nice place but a little expensive.
Oct 24, 2014
This was our second stay at the Cherokee KOA. It is one of the best campgrounds we have stayed in. Everyone is friendly and helpful. The campground is clean, the sites are level and roomy. This KOA costs a little more than other campgrounds but is well worth it. We live 2 hours from the campground and will certainly be back!!
Oct 23, 2014
Oct 23, 2014
Oct 23, 2014
The campground was very clean, the staff was helpful with all the kid activities. We have always had a great experience at this KOA. Thank you, see you soon.
Oct 23, 2014
Oct 22, 2014
Oct 22, 2014
Your staff was courteous and helpful. We appreciated that. Our site was also nice. We were very disappointed that the hot tub was not working and thought the indoor pool water should have been more clear and cleaner. These indoor facilities were one of the reasons we chose this campground. Shower stalls were not clean.
Oct 22, 2014
the bath house needs a lot of work. but I will stay again nice site/they offer a lot at this place
Oct 22, 2014
Oct 21, 2014
I am already booked for next year but if all the campsites were as crowded as the one we just stayed at I would never ber back again. We will be in a larger site.
Oct 21, 2014
Campground was crowded and noisy with Kids walking threw my site till monday morning when weekenders cleared out. Came in at night couldn't find site, but an escort did show me, no visible numbers. Wifi was sketchy at best and 2 mornings tree service was cutting and sawing fallen trees at 9am right behind me and woke me up. Will not stay there ever again! Would not recommend
Oct 21, 2014
Stayed here with our son, daughter-in-law and grandchildren. Indoor pool was a big hit. Patio site was excellent. Wireless internet went in and out.
Oct 21, 2014
Nice and clean. Everyone very friendly.
Oct 21, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Spacious level lots by stocked trout stream. Ned to label all showers in ladies comfort station at back of park as plumbing is backwards from standard plumbing. Also need to fix locks on toilets and shower doors back comfort station. Finally, need to provide updated TV stations as that printed in brochure is totally wrong. Thank you.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.