Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

RV Reviews

Jun 26, 2015
No internet, poor poor cable TV, Way over priced. Will not stay their again !
Jun 26, 2015
The wifi sucks but we keep coming back. It's called camping.. better wifi gets you 5-stars.
Jun 26, 2015
Just too expensive!
Jun 26, 2015
I have been coming to koa Cherokee for 10 years or so, it has changed a little bit. The atmosphere is a bit different and the staff surely not as friendly, with exception of a few. Tammy and Mack were great! Tammy checked with us on several occasions. Mr. Mack let me use a ladder. Caroline? Light red hair at the desk was very rude to me on two separate occasions, sarcastic, and laughed at me once.
Jun 24, 2015
Very friendly staff...kids had a blast! Extremely accommodating. ..will be back!
Jun 24, 2015
Rules on line vs campground differ and a day after arival we were forced to leave due to being told that a screen tent that we use to store outside items were not allowed. I have stayed with Koa for 15 years but after this issue as well as others within the business side of Koa. I find thar koa is no longer friendly towards the camping community and will never use nor recommend Koa to campers.
Jun 24, 2015
The only thing I have problem with is going up on prices.Thats a big jump from $10.00 to $25.00 for late check out.The bathrooms and roads need to be redone.
Jun 23, 2015
Cherokee KOA will be a yearly or bi-yearly destination. The staff goes way above and beyond what is required to be good. That is why I always give them a great rating.
Jun 23, 2015
We had a fantastic time! The pool was inviting, the grounds were clean and lush. We couldn't have been happier.
Jun 23, 2015
This is one of our favorite campgrounds. We also don't mind not having cell phone service. However, the wifi needs some serious upgrading. Some of us still work or need to do school work and cannot with the wifi speed here. Only down fall.
Jun 23, 2015
We loved it! Our grandkids had so much available to do. Everyone was so helpful! Food was very good at the cafe. Only problem we had was the very limited cell & internet service. When you are running a business away from home and have elderly parent, it's important to be able to stay in touch. We have AT&T. I don't know if there is anything you can do to help that.
Jun 23, 2015
Of all of the campgrounds we have visited this campground is our absolute favorite! The staff, atmosphere, everything was just wonderful!! This is such a beautiful and fun campsite for everyone! We definitely will be back!
Jun 23, 2015
Had a Super Time!! Would DEFINITELY come back!!
Jun 23, 2015
Too many children on lo vechicles-dangerous driving.
Jun 22, 2015
Well maintained and big sites. Love this KOA. Look forward to my next visit. I wish WiFi worked better at my site.
Jun 22, 2015
Th only thing I would like is a much bigger pool area. Especially on weekends. Other than that everything was awesome. I LOVE THIS PLACE!!!!!
Jun 22, 2015
had a wonderful time, next time we will stay longer.
Jun 22, 2015
This is a awesome camping place nice staff and good fishing.
Jun 22, 2015
The site given to us was directly along the walk to the bath house. I understand that is sometimes the only site available. However, there were 4 sites next to us empty that would have been much more suitable because of bath house traffic.
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
My wife and I had great time We hated to leave
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
Kids loved it. Very clean. People were nice. Needs lifeguards. Outdoor pool is 8 feet deep and they depend on parents to watch their own children. No swim test to enter deep end. Very dangerous. Parents on deck considered "watching" their children even if they're half asleep and sunbathing. Won't concern you if you plan on being with your family while in the pool.
Jun 22, 2015
The lots were we were at were too small and very difficult for us to back our fifthwheel into. This is due to the fact that the people who stayed in the little cabins Parkes right along the campground road. The sites on the other side of the campground looked adequate for backing into.
Jun 22, 2015
Wonderful campground! Great times!
Jun 21, 2015
Some of the bath houses may need to be updated in the near future. The outdoor swimming pool seems to be a little small for the park. At times during the day it was very hecktic and crowded with too many people swimming and jumping in the pool. For the amount of sites and cabins in the park I feel that the outdoor pool is inaduquate for the amount of potential swimmers that may be at the pool
Jun 21, 2015
Love it
Jun 20, 2015
Did not like the bathroom and shower layout. The grandkids really liked the bouncing pillow, pool & checkers games and the one night of outside movies
Jun 20, 2015
It would be very helpful if you had a sign at SherrIL cove Rd to NOT turn there or put that in the Koa book
Jun 20, 2015
This KOA does not stand with others. The Nature area is unkept and trees in the campground needs trimming. Overall a lot of TLC is needed.
Jun 20, 2015
Great facility. Wanted a spot closer to the activities and saw 2 people with late checkout closer, thought they would accommodate the request better since reservations were 3 months in advance. Very friendly staff and good activities.
Jun 20, 2015
This was our third time camping at this KOA. Everyone is friendly and helpful. The wifi isn't great but that isn't why you go camping in the first place. The bathhouse was clean as was the campground. We will be back!
Jun 20, 2015
Lots of good fishing and activities for the kids. The people were very good to us and the activities directors were absolutely wonderful with my children
Jun 19, 2015
We tent camped at site 9, which was centrally located to the pool/store/bathrooms. These bathrooms had just been remodeled and exceeded our expectations. They were very clean and really attractive. Everyone was friendly and helpful.
Jun 18, 2015
Seem like the rules applied to some and not others. Rules state no kids under 16 allowed without parenta at the pool but I noticed groups of kids unsupervised that wereally clearly not 16. Other than that great a great place
Jun 18, 2015
I had a good time, I wish there were areas where camping would be for couples, and families in another area. Children would ride their bikes on our camping area, which i didn't complain but would have liked a little more privacy. But all in all was friendly and clean.
Jun 18, 2015
No better Campground in America for younger children. The settling and activities program is awesome.
Jun 17, 2015
This is a good campground to stay at if you have children. However, if you do not have young kids, this may not be the place for you.
Jun 17, 2015
This is our favorite campground. We love it's location and it's always clean and the staff is great.
Jun 17, 2015
Our stay at Koa was a wonderful experience ! We had a site and my parents had a site... When we arrived to our sites we didn't care much for the location of them so we asked the office for a change and they did it was no hesitation or hard time! The pools were very clean and the children enjoyed it a lot ! The sites were very clean and the grass was cut !! We will see you again soon ! The Munro
Jun 17, 2015
Had a great time and the campground was very nice.
Jun 16, 2015
Everyone very nice and helpful
Jun 16, 2015
Great stay. Perfect base camp for Cherokee and GSMNP. Enjoyed our stay.
Jun 16, 2015
Jun 16, 2015
Bad site. Put next to(facing pull-thru) at #277. "Group" on site never had less than 10 people and never shut up well after "quite" time. No shade as requested.
Jun 16, 2015
We enjoyed our 4-day stay. Good, friendly, helpful people! You will be glad you stayed here!
Jun 15, 2015
Loved your campground. Everyone friendly and helpful. By far better than others around the area! Great for kids.
Jun 15, 2015
Very nice campground and great stay. 1st time at this campground or any KOA. Many activities for kids. Would have been a 5 but somehow it seemed we ended up with the one bad campsite in the campground. Couldn't even fully extend our awning due to a power box and had a LP gas tank right next to us. Any other site, and it would be 5 stars.
Jun 15, 2015
Very nice the river is wonderful. However, they need a plumber to fix there bathroom fixtures.
Jun 15, 2015
The campground itself wasn't bad. Lots of large dogs, German Sheperds Doberman and a pit bull. Unusual for a campground. The wi-fi is weak. Not bad early but as people get up it goes bad. And there were multiple sites with the sewer blocked up and extremely slow at best. Staff was friendly and helpful.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.