Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jan 18, 2017
The grounds were neat. The staff was always ready to help if needed. The facilities were clean. The store had what you needed so we never had to leave. Looking forward to taking my grandson on our next trip there.
Jan 18, 2017
We had an extremely wonderful experience. Facility was Very clean (especially the bathroom and showers)and lots for the kids to do. The staff was very helpful and nice
Jan 17, 2017
I love our KOA, but we had a friend come up the same time as we did and her cabin was not clean...the toilet didn't flush and there were dead bugs everywhere. She brought this to the attention of the front desk and the response was "is this your first time with us?" She said yes, and the clerk just said "oh well". Very embarrassed with the customer service this trip. Still love our KOA though.
Jan 04, 2017
Beautiful location staff helpful and pleasant
Jan 03, 2017
Site 213 should not be a campsite. It's about 6 feet from the massive "jump pad" for kids. It's considered a premium creekside side but it is not creekside by any means. It's looks nothing like the map shows it to be. We did get moved the second day of our trip to a different site which was a lot better and was creekside. Really pricey for such a terrible site.
Jan 03, 2017
I really like the ease of setting up on sites.
Jan 03, 2017
The office staff was not very friendly. The wifi and cable were working st times and often not. Other KOA's have activities/events around holidays. None here. But the grounds very clean & restrooms clean.
Jan 02, 2017
My only complaint would be that the Wifi was spotty.
Dec 30, 2016
Wonderful, friendly staff
Dec 22, 2016
KOA Campground in Cherokee, NC is the best campsite in the area and it's close to everything. Spacious RV sites (ours was right on the river) and cute cabins if you don't have an RV. Bathrooms / shower house was large and super clean. Trout fishing in the stocked ponds and river, lots to do for kids, too.
Dec 21, 2016
Very clean, very organized and polite. Will definitely stay again.
Dec 16, 2016
Everyone was so ice. Our water hose froze the first night but maintenance came to our rescue immed. and loaned us one that wouldn't freeze up while we were there. My husband loved the fishing. And we were right by the river, it couldn't have been nicer.
Dec 05, 2016
Friendly staff, great river view. Good ammenties.
Nov 30, 2016
Very nice sites. Kind and helpful staff. Thank you for the onsite air compressor for tires, etc.. Had a bit of a hard time with directions as "Campground Road" is not recognized by GPS. Real address is on website but needed human employee to help find it.
Nov 29, 2016
Nov 29, 2016
Staff was friendly. Store needs later hours. Small bathhouse. Only 2 shower stalls. Usually someone waiting to shower. But, bathhouse was nice and warm for the chilly weather experienced.
Nov 29, 2016
Everything was awesome at this campground. We definitely want to return.
Nov 28, 2016
Very disappointed about the burn ban and no up front communication to us that it was in effect prior to visiting. I understand the fire concern in the state, but we had called less then a week ahead and they stated all was okay. When it changed, it should have triggered an email to the folks booked so wd could plan for it. Propane fire pits were allowed and they had an open flame.
Nov 28, 2016
Well maintained facility. Huge Thanksgiving meal
Nov 28, 2016
Nov 28, 2016
Nov 28, 2016
We had a GREAT time at Cherokee KOA. The staff was always friendly and accommodating. The amenities were above par. This campground is where we will stay from now on when we are in Cherokee.
Nov 28, 2016
Bathroom needed cleaning
Nov 28, 2016
We really liked the campground. The amenities, location, facilities,and staff were great. Our site - 005 - should be converted into a sidewalk. 24 hours a day we had people cutting across our site, often within two feet of our camper door. The bathrooms, although beautiful and new, were not cleaned once during our four night stay.
Nov 28, 2016
Nov 28, 2016
Spent Thanksgiving there and really enjoyed the stay. Very nice park, staff and bath houses. Thanks!
Nov 28, 2016
Nice campground overall. Not much going on since we stayed at the end of November but we didn't mind that. We will be back next year.
Nov 28, 2016
Friendly staff and keep pool clean. But need fix wifi better.
Nov 28, 2016
This is a well equipped and well staffed facility with lots of amenities, and even more kids. If you are looking for a place for children, this is it. If you're looking for a quiet vacation, look elsewhere.
Nov 27, 2016
We only stayed 1 night this trip, but they were so friendly and welcoming. It was Thanksgiving and they had a huge dinner for everyone. We stay here every year when traveling through.
Nov 25, 2016
Staff was very friendly and helpful. The park is well maintained. Will definitely be back!
Nov 24, 2016
the 1 who checked me in was rude & curt. Should not work counter.
Nov 24, 2016
Great place to enjoy the outdoors. Friendly staff.
Nov 22, 2016
Nov 22, 2016
We had a great time staying here. The fishing was great for son. We loved being able to get into the hot tub and pool on a cold day. Lucy and Joss were very helpful and nice. We will be back
Nov 22, 2016
Good facilities, well maintained, beautiful nature all around, good staff. We went off season when the camp was largely empty. Not cheap but you get what you pay for. I thought the additional resort fee was a bit chintzy.
Nov 22, 2016
We took our "new to us" used camper that we just bought out for a weekend camping trip. We had a water heater plug issue and the guys there were the best to help us out to resolve the issue. Great campground, great staff.
Nov 21, 2016
I've stayed in this campground many times. The sites are excellent, but way overpriced--$58 plus fees and taxes for a concrete back in pad (along the river) in November is a bit much. The bath house I used was not cleaned from Sunday when I arrived until Friday. It apparently was checked on a daily basis, but no cleaning. 2 of the 3 toilet compartments had no lock, showers good, heated OK.
Nov 21, 2016
Everything went great. Campground was quiet and clean.
Nov 20, 2016
This is mine & my families favorite campground. The staff is super nice & always helpful. The grounds are maintained very well. There are 2 things I don't like. All camper sites don't have the new table & chairs & glider & the speed bumps need to be painted so they r more visible. I tell anybody & everybody to go to this koa.
Nov 19, 2016
Nov 18, 2016
Great location for exploring Smoky Mtn NP and surrounding area. Much more subdued than the west side of the park. Nice sites. Clean restrooms. Ample spacing. I'd give it 5 stars if they had a cap on our sewer line and if the latches on the stall doors were operational.
Nov 17, 2016
From Allstay review:"Crowded stacked sites...It's like a clown show with all the golf carts running around tons of employees yellow shirts zinging around in golf carts ..." This is a true fact. The meeting room has a noisy fan needs repair. Too many employees busy talking among themselves. One of them gave a response, "In the trash can." When I asked where to put trashes. Kids on bikes every where
Nov 16, 2016
Nice campgrounds
Nov 16, 2016
One of the most beautiful koa campgrounds we have stayed at. The workers are so accommodating and friendly. Look forward to returning
Nov 16, 2016
It was ok. Was woken up very early on Sunday by Garbage Truck and people around us running there Diesel Trucks for no apparent reason other then to warn there engines for 30 to 45 min. Woke us all up at 7 am.
Nov 15, 2016
Great facility with very professional hosts and employees.
Nov 15, 2016
There are no cleaner and nicer restrooms and shower houses in the known universe.
Nov 14, 2016
Wifi is terrible. 1st space we got was way small, they did move us. So we set up twice. will look for other campgrounds when we visit Cherokee.
Nov 14, 2016
Awesome!!!! As always!! We go several times a year. We love it!!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award