Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Apr 26, 2017
Our site was OK but very narrow and not well paved in relation to many others.
Apr 26, 2017
Excellent facility, were flexible with our needs, nice people to work with!
Apr 25, 2017
Apr 25, 2017
Apr 25, 2017
Your camp campground is excellent clean and full of entertainment for the whole family! Your staff was extremely polite and helpful.. Absolutely recommend to all to have your camping adventures at KOA Cherokee Nc! Planning another stand next month!!
Apr 25, 2017
Very nice people
Apr 24, 2017
The campground is very nice, shaded and clean. I was impressed to see so many staff around working. It was nice to have a Laundry facility at each of the bath houses and so many showers at each one! The camsites are nice, grassy and flat for the most part.
Apr 24, 2017
Totally loved this KOA!! Great campsites, awesome activities, facilities were super clean, the staff, especially Monica & Katrina, were the greatest!! Will definitely stay at the Great Smokies KOA again & again!!
Apr 24, 2017
Monica & Katrina were awesome! The campground was soooo beautiful. The bathhouses/restrooms were absolutely gorgeous & very, very clean. The staff did everything in their power to make our stay as comfortable & enjoyable as humanly possible. Will definitely stay at the Great Smokies KOA again!!
Apr 24, 2017
Awesome trip with 3 grand children, already booking our next stay!
Apr 24, 2017
Apr 24, 2017
Clean, Friendly & well organized. Children everywhere, so it is absolutely a family environment! Children seemed to be having fun. Just made for a relaxing time.
Apr 23, 2017
The campground wasn't maintained. Very well. The grass was high and it was muddy which made it difficult to unhook and hook back up.
Apr 21, 2017
Beautiful scenery. Great location and very friendly staff
Apr 20, 2017
the weekend was filled with kids activities so families there is a lot to do...we were up front and it was all rather loud for just the two of us. However, its a great location along the river and many cabins and sweet sites to be had.,,,plus lots to do in the area. We learned so much about the Cherokee culture in town. Occasionally the men's bathrooms needed cleaning in the busy areas.
Apr 20, 2017
Campsite flooded that we were camping on, Site 151. The first day there was a water leak. The maintenance man came and fixed the leak but the next day it rained and the site flooded. I know this is an ongoing thing because we have had these sites before. It's been years and nothing changes. Very disappointed in this visit!
Apr 19, 2017
It's always a pleasure to stay at the Cherokee/Great Smokies, NC Kampground! We look forward to our next trip!
Apr 19, 2017
Amazing place to stay with family!!
Apr 19, 2017
The park is nice and has a lot to offer campers. Its in a wonderful spot next to the river. Most (not all) of the employees are nice and helpful. The only issue is the sight selection. I drove in pulling a 34' fifth wheel camper and a large truck that makes my setup over 55' long. They placed me on a sight that was to small. Most of the camper was on the grass and the truck had to park sidewa
Apr 19, 2017
We love the KOA!
Apr 18, 2017
There is not enough to space to complain about everything. The pool and hot tub was DISGUSTING! Probably has not been cleaned in years. Gameroom still not fixed. Jumping pillow down the whole week we were there (should have been fixed before spring break). Wifi nonexistent, every time we stay we are told they are working on it.
Apr 18, 2017
We had a great stay. The campground was very quiet in our area. The kids were entertained with all of the amenities. Upon check in the staff was helpful and kind.
Apr 18, 2017
We've stayed at Cherokee KOA numerous times. This time there we a couple of issues. We were charged an early access fee for being less than 2 hours early and had a broken sewer connection. Moving was not an option as we were with a group. We will stay again.
Apr 18, 2017
The campground was very clean,the pool and hot tub not so much, I didn't feel good about letting my children swim in it ,the only other problem I had was when we arrived the man who escorted us to the site wasn't sure where we were going to park our trucks after we unhooked from our camper's, I rented a super site or as they called it a buddy site.he actually said to my husband that he had no idea
Apr 18, 2017
we loved the bouncy pillow.
Apr 18, 2017
The wifi could be better. Only down fall to the campground
Apr 18, 2017
Campground was nice, however the Wi-Fi should not even be advertised because it does not work. Also the grass in our site needed cut when we arrived and was never cut in the week we were there so the grass was a foot high. Overall not the nicest KOA we have stayed at and the $3.50 a day resort fee was an insult when nothing was open to use, not sure what that was about for.
Apr 18, 2017
Apr 18, 2017
Apr 18, 2017
We loved this campground. So nice and so many activities for the kids. We will definitely be back soon.
Apr 18, 2017
Have stayed twice now and will go again. The fishing ponds are large and stocked weekly. The RV spaces are large...you are not right on your neighbor. Tons of things for the kids to do.
Apr 18, 2017
Everybody there was very helpful,nice,n polite especially the ladies in the office.
Apr 18, 2017
Wifi is almost non-existant; zero cell coverage; extremely poor water pressure. Water was manageable but the inability to check on an elderly family member at home will likely prevent a return to this campground. We had 3 families there, all with different cell plans, and no one could call home. Drove to Bryson City to make the call.
Apr 18, 2017
A lot for a family to do. Some things are more important then others such as the cleanliness of the facilities. They don't get touched to much
Apr 18, 2017
We had a great time. My one and only complaint was that the Wifi service was very inconsistent.
Apr 18, 2017
I found the staff to be very rude and you could tell that there was definitely distention in the ranks! I don't know if the business recently sold or if it's gotten too busy or what but I was not impressed it definitely wasn't the normal KOA experience.
Apr 17, 2017
The campground is on the large side, but overall it is a nice place in a great setting. The place that needs help is the full time staff. Many are rude. Being a corporate store - this is disappointing
Apr 17, 2017
Apr 17, 2017
{ not good} { no to BAD } not to friendly check in WY-FI is so BAD .... that you need to go to down town Cherokee to us it. KOA WY-FI need and upgrade yesterday for the price WE pay.....
Apr 17, 2017
We had a wonderful stay at the KOA in Cherokee, NC. Plenty of things to do in and around the area, such as fishing, hiking, horseback riding, and museums. Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge are only 45 minutes to an hour away too. Staff was great and professional.
Apr 17, 2017
Great Location with lots of kid-friendly 'to-do's' on the property. Clean bathrooms and camp sites. Check in service was very unfriendly and borderline rude. They seemed uninterested in welcoming us while eating ice cream behind the computer.
Apr 17, 2017
We loved we will be back again soon!!!😀
Apr 17, 2017
Apr 17, 2017
Cable was out for 4 days, no wi-fi to speak of and the sites were so close I could hear the whispered conversations on the next site. Roads not marked one way so traffic, golf carts and bicycles were a nightmare. Camp store closed at 6 and its a good 10 minute drive to the next available store. Ive stayed in better KOA's right off the interstate.
Apr 17, 2017
I love this campground and we have been coming here for 40 years. But I am sorry to say that it is going down hill. The grass had not been cut and everything just had a rundown look to it. I hope that with summer coming on they will start cleaning things up. It just needs some love and care. we will keep on coming for a while longer to see if things get better.
Apr 17, 2017
Had a very pleasant stay everyone was really nice & everyone always seemed to be in a really good mood the phacillity was was clean & fishing was excellent will definitely be back soon
Apr 16, 2017
For the most part a decent experience, but not the best. The pool is small, over crowded, and does not appear to be the cleanest. Some of the staff were very nice but there were a few who just did not seem to want to be there and that came out in their treatment of guests (Cody). The ponds are also extremely busy and crowded at times. Not bad but could be better
Apr 16, 2017
Beautiful campground! We stayed right on the river on a premium site. Well worth it.
Apr 16, 2017
This is a great campground. The staff is friendly. Donnie is very helpful. The campground offers lots to do and the surrounding area has so much to offer. We are looking forward to coming back this fall.
Apr 16, 2017
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps