Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11

RV Reviews

Dec 08, 2014
Dec 08, 2014
Everything was very good. Wish we had more grass area for dogs. Staff was very friendly.
Dec 04, 2014
Dec 02, 2014
loved the pool and hot tub - the kids coukdn't get enough of it and the bouncy pillow....lovely dinner for thanksgiving - thanks for your generosity - we'll be back
Dec 02, 2014
Dec 01, 2014
We really enjoyed spending our "Campsgiving" at the Cherokee KOA. We met family and friends from LA, FL, WA, DC, KY, and AL. Some stayed in your fabulous deluxe cabins, while others traveled and camped in their RV's. We enjoyed the beautiful river flowing past the cabins and were impressed with the clean bathrooms. The Thanksgiving communal dinner was very much appreciated!
Dec 01, 2014
We love going to Cherokee each year for Thanksgiving. Our only issue is with Wi_Fi, it definitely needs to improve with all the usage going on.
Dec 01, 2014
Internet service was poor. Bathhouses were not clean.
Dec 01, 2014
Overall good experience. The pillow bounce and bikes were awesome. Pool needed cleaning but was nice. Jacuzzi jets did not work. Bathrooms and showers need modernizing. Staff was very friendly and helpful!!
Nov 30, 2014
Enjoyed a week at this campground. Friendly staff and beautiful views.
Nov 30, 2014
Nov 29, 2014
The Halloween weekend is our favorite camping trip of the whole year, we have camped here for Halloween for the last 15 years and love it each time, they make Halloween great for us. The facilities are clean and well kept.
Nov 29, 2014
Had a great time. The staff provided deep fried turkeys and stuffing for a potluck dinner on Thanksgiving Day that was fabulous! We had a super time at the pool and hot tub while it was freezing outside.
Nov 24, 2014
Nov 24, 2014
Everything was great except the indoor pool and hot tub were not clean. The hot tub needs to be hotter also.
Nov 21, 2014
Nov 16, 2014
Very friendly helpful people campground had a very nice location. the plumbing in the bathrooms needs work very hard to operate bath house need to be replaced, I have noticed this at all of the KOA I have stayed at. You can only put so much makeup on a pig these cheesey remodel jobs I see in more and more KOA's. Night lights on bathrooms were out for 2 nights.KOA'S from montana to Louisiana have.
Nov 14, 2014
Parts of this park are very nice - the scenery; the proximity to GSMNP; the hard-working staff; the large laundry facility in Bathhouse 4. Parts of this park need work - internet was spotty at best; on-demand hot water system in BH 4 (which nobody told us about until we complained 3 times) resulted in terrible shower experiences in November. We can tell this is work in progress, so thank you.
Nov 13, 2014
Loved the Halloween festivities!
Nov 13, 2014
Best KOA we've ever been to! Will return again! !
Nov 13, 2014
WAS GREAT AND EXCELENT CUSTOMER SERVICE
Nov 12, 2014
working trip was first time at KOA in Cherokee. Very pleased already planning next trip.
Nov 11, 2014
Nov 10, 2014
Love the KOA Campgrounds, but just way too expensive! I was a "member" but not re-newing and will consider many other reasonably price campgrounds in the future! Sorry!
Nov 10, 2014
We stayed at this campground in early November in an RV. It was very clean. The staff in the office and grounds crew were courteous and made our stay very pleasant. One even helped us troubleshoot our rig's coax issue. If you don't want to be near the kiddie magnet jumping mat, make sure you specify that. It didn't bother us but the sound resembled thunder which frightened our dog. Overall great!
Nov 09, 2014
Bathroom seemed dirty. Light were on a sensor and will turn off while showering. Arcade was closed after 7:00pm my kid couldn't enjoy. Staff smoke cigarettes in bathrooms and they stink...
Nov 09, 2014
We can only get away from our business for a couple of days at a time. We really enjoyed just building a fire in the pit and watching the river go by. So relaxing. Staff was very helpful.
Nov 09, 2014
Nov 06, 2014
The only negative about the campground location is that there is NO AT&T cell phone signal at this location. We were not able to make phone calls or text with our cell phones.
Nov 05, 2014
Nice in November. Pool, hot tub, everything still open. Not sure how summer would be. Probably extremely crowded.
Nov 03, 2014
Nov 03, 2014
Had a fantastic stay.The campground was very clean and the workers very friendly. I will be back. Thank you
Nov 03, 2014
First time camping in the snow. everybody was nice and the resort was very clean. will be back.
Nov 03, 2014
Nov 03, 2014
Despite the snow, we had a great time. We were camping with another family with a total of 5 teenage boys with all of us. They enjoyed fishing in the ponds and grilling the trout they all caught through the weekend. The younger ones enjoyed the indoor pool. What a great way to end our camping season, thank you!
Nov 03, 2014
Nov 03, 2014
Love this campground, but have never had hot shower there come couple times a year for the fishing
Nov 02, 2014
Washing machine have been broke for six months. No offer of refund for lost money. Firewood stolen from camp site, No offer of replacement. Lady replied I don't know who did so I can't catch them. Snack shack closed the day we got there. It seem that the worker were feed there at lunch, not sure about that, but if so would it hurt so much to cook for a paying customer. Last time you don't care!!!!
Nov 01, 2014
we love the campground the river is great can't wait till get to go back
Nov 01, 2014
Great RV park with level concrete pads. Stayed here in late Oct., it is a beautiful time of year. We also loved the fishing. We also liked the staff customer service and security. Rate is a little on the high side in price... that is why the 4 start rating.
Oct 31, 2014
Oct 31, 2014
This KOA is great! We've camped here for approx. 20 years. It's clean, well managed and have plenty of staff. Has lots to do for the kids. The Halloween event is great for kids of all ages.
Oct 31, 2014
very good time friendly folks
Oct 31, 2014
Some of the staff was not real nice. One of the workers told me to rate this campground poorly. Store, Shuttle, Bike rental hours should be posted better. Hot tub did not work. My kids had a good time with the halloween events.
Oct 30, 2014
Oct 29, 2014
One of the check in staff was very rude to us and several other campers. A large tree limb fell through our awning. Other than that we had a great time.
Oct 29, 2014
Oct 29, 2014
Great stay,however water pressure needs to improve
Oct 29, 2014
Enjoyed every minute. The Halloween weekends were organized so well and we enjoyed watching. The weather was not as we hoped but it's no ones fault. We'll be back.
Oct 29, 2014
Great campground, well kept. Avoid site #22--it is backwards with fire ring and picnic table on wrong side. Staff is friendly and helpful. Will definitely go back.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.