Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11

RV Reviews

Oct 20, 2014
Spacious level lots by stocked trout stream. Ned to label all showers in ladies comfort station at back of park as plumbing is backwards from standard plumbing. Also need to fix locks on toilets and shower doors back comfort station. Finally, need to provide updated TV stations as that printed in brochure is totally wrong. Thank you.
Oct 20, 2014
Bathhouse needs work,scenery was great!
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Great Service Great Rates Great Staff This is a true KOA Campground
Oct 20, 2014
Staff was courteous and check in was easy. Campground was full. Grounds clean, seemed well kept. Showers need work. Need a bench or something to put things on in shower. Water pressure/shower head wasn't good in shower.
Oct 20, 2014
We had an awesome stay! Meet a lot of wonderful familys! Staff was extremely nice and always helpful! We loved all the kid activities they had for Halloween! We wil definitely be back!
Oct 20, 2014
Campground is breathtaking, amenities are plentiful, staff was hit or miss. Some quite wonderful, some rude. Regardless, would definitely go back.
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
We had a great time-our stay was just too short. There were many Halloween events for the children-so much to offer. We didn't leave the campground.
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
We had a wonderul time and must say how clean the campground was and how it was maintained. Your staff was very friendly and nice. It was great to be able to get into our campsite after hours along with the help of your guard. Will be back for sure and stay longer !
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 19, 2014
The new campground WIFI hotspot is a great new addition. However, there's some deferred maintenance. The roads are in much need of repair, three of four clothes washer were inoperative, and the hot tub jets in the indoor hot tub were inoperative.
Oct 19, 2014
It was wonderful. Very thankful for the indoor pool because it rained for days. It was a very fun weekend despite the rain.
Oct 18, 2014
We had a lovely site (pull through). The people running this KOA are helpful and very friendly. My only disappointment is the lack of Wifi availability most days that we were there. I drove to the clubhouse/office several times to manage some business but it was not ideal. I sure wish the the Cherokee Nation would put up another cell tower for AT&T subscribers...no cell service at all!
Oct 18, 2014
Wonderful campground - just a bit pricey for off-season! Especially liked your Doggie Island!
Oct 17, 2014
Just one problem! A storm came the day we were suppose to leave. A tree fell on our camper at site 130 so why did we have to pay $70.00 for one night because of the weather? I would think there should be a discount when we couldn't leave after staying a whole month!
Oct 17, 2014
We had a wonderful stay. Wish all KOA's were as nice as Cherokee KOA.
Oct 15, 2014
Oct 15, 2014
This KOA has so many things for everyone to do! You don't even have to leave to eat - they have their own little eatery and store :-)
Oct 15, 2014
Oct 15, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
We had a wonderful time! The fishing tournament was fun and so glad you contained it to just the ponds. A women's category should be added and the raffle tickets and drawing for items from your store and donations from the community were missed! Jill, her husband, and Carolyn were very nice and helpful! We were told the entire campground was booked-not true. We'll be back soon & have a great day!
Oct 14, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
Nice KOA. Despite the rain it was still fun and we will return when in that area again. Only drawback was no cell service [AT&T] and their WIFI was terrible. Forgot my coax for the TV too. But it was kinda nice detoxing from the electronics for 4 days.
Oct 14, 2014
This was mine and my husband's second visit to Cherokee KOA. This time we brought some family and friends with us. We camped on one of the super sites. We all had a great time! Already planning another visit.
Oct 14, 2014
Sin palabras muy bueno el campamento.
Oct 14, 2014
Very muddy around the sites needs more concrete
Oct 13, 2014
I love the site I was on, But I choose this site because most of the sites in this park when it rains are the pits. Too many puddles. Game Room is mostly locked and has dated Games or not in working order. Amenities tells you there is WIFI. It's the pits!!! And Halloween Activities should be the whole month like the Yogi Parks do then just one weekend.
Oct 13, 2014
Been to this KOA several times. The rain was not my best friend, my daughter had an asthma attack and my friend locked his keys in his camper but we will definitely be back!
Oct 13, 2014
Oct 13, 2014
We had great stay with you all and will be back year with some friends of ours and made some new friends this year too and enjoy the fishing rodeo.
Oct 13, 2014
This was our third stay. The staff was very accommodating. Only complaint was the campers beside us brought their large flat screen TV and BLASTED it all day and into the night. Finally at 11:00 pm we asked them to turn it down, which they did. Only to blast in first thing in the morning. Nothing like going back to nature.
Oct 13, 2014
We have been coming here for over 5 years and find it very family friendly!
Oct 13, 2014
Staff was friendly and helpful. We had a car problem and staff went above and beyond to help us. Campsites were clean and cozy. We look forward to a trip back during the summer months!
Oct 13, 2014
We really enjoyed the campground. Very quite and in good condition. The showers were kinda small with little or no seating , outside of that, it was great. This was our first camping trip to Cherokee and if possible we will be back at the KOA.
Oct 13, 2014
If your not staying in one of the riverside sites things are pretty run down.
Oct 12, 2014
Oct 12, 2014
The ONLY negative!!!- Some very large dogs on vacation allowed to crap wherever they chose to. Pet owners should be fined if caught not picking up after them.
Oct 12, 2014
As usual a great stay. Over the years as we have gotten larger campers we like that you have plenty of spaces big enough, but turns are too tight making getting in the sites difficult. This past stay we had to back out of our supposed pull through. Trees, shrubs, etc. should be trimmed, cut back or removed to allow for appropriate access to sites for 40+ foot campers.
Oct 12, 2014
Very friendly staff, clean restrooms, large pull thrus for big rigs. We stayed there before and will definitely return.
Oct 12, 2014
This campground is very well run. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Great place to stay while visiting the mountains and Cherokee!
Oct 11, 2014
Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice campground well maintained - Would need a better cell service. We enjoyed our stay and will return.
Oct 10, 2014
Staff was very friendly. Good laundry facilities. Lots of amenities--play ground, dog park, and fishing just offsite. River one side, pods on other. The big disadvantage for us was no cellular service. (AT&T). WIFI worked great.
Oct 09, 2014
Very clean, large pull thru
Oct 08, 2014
Biggest KOA I have been to. Very nice, excellent wifi service, lot's of extras to do.
Oct 08, 2014
Oct 08, 2014
Friendly staff , great location and we'll maintained. One thing that could be improved is the cell and wifi reception. Guest need to keep in contact .
Oct 08, 2014
Oct 07, 2014
Beautiful campground, friendly staff, fabulous mountainside view. We will definitely return.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.