Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11

RV Reviews

Apr 21, 2014
The amenities were great. Jumping pillows, indoor pool, and bikes. Wonderful store, well stocked. Staff were so nice and accommodating to small children. We had an issue with a tree limb and it was handled immediately. Streams everywhere for the fishermen!!!Close to town and the Smoky Mtn park. No wifi or Cable for TV though. On cold nights with kids that was rough!
Apr 21, 2014
Kids had a blast! They loved the jump pillow, indoor pool, and over sized chess board. Wish it was warmer so that they could have used the outdoor pool. KOA is situated between the mountains. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean restrooms.
Apr 21, 2014
Need to do something about the camp site flooding.
Apr 21, 2014
We have stayed at this KOA numerous times, always had an excellent time, never had one complaint, this time was far different, first night our basketball and bag of toys were taken and second night my daughters brand new bike was stolen. You would have thought security would have at least been apologetic, but that wasn't the case at all. Lastly the women's bath house in the back area was not clean
Apr 21, 2014
Friendly staff, kids loved the activities.
Apr 21, 2014
This KOA is family friendly and possesses all of the amenities listed and is well maintained. Our family enjoyed our stay and will be returning again soon.
Apr 21, 2014
we had a great stay...it was not the best of weather..but the staff, campground, activities, and ammenities were wonderful
Apr 20, 2014
Nice family campground
Apr 19, 2014
If you enjoy camping and trout fishing this is the place for you! It's a great place to relax in the mountains next to the river, read a good book, ride a bike or walk your dog to the trout ponds and see if they're biting! Anytime we can get away from the daily rat race is a good day for our family! If you must have wifi and cable tv to be happy you may be disappointed.
Apr 19, 2014
Apr 17, 2014
We really enjoy camping at the Cherokee KOA and we have been coming for years. The reception on the TV for Cable is blurry. A little updating would be great.
Apr 17, 2014
Great location! Committed staff!
Apr 13, 2014
Antiquated cable, wifi, water and electrical. Many things have been let go and run down
Apr 13, 2014
The park was a little hard to get to.
Apr 12, 2014
No tv. Roads need repairing. Appearance has deterioated since our last stay.
Apr 10, 2014
Really enjoy our stay.
Apr 08, 2014
Apr 08, 2014
Had a great time. Only complaint is the cable was not great, the picture was snowy, and the wifi was not good.
Apr 07, 2014
We have stayed here several times. The staff is friendly and there is plenty to do for kids and adults in both the campground and Cherokee. The amenities are good and the facilities are generally clean. On the not so great side the campground is starting to show its age. Cable TV and Wi-Fi are unusable if that is something you need. A few permanent trailers are junky and an eye sore.
Apr 07, 2014
#1 - Bath houses were absolutely disgusting. Jacuzzi was overcrowded & had toddlers & teens jumping in & out. After being moved to a more appealing site (fyi - the ones "by the pond" are along a chain link fence topped with barbed wire) our opinions improved. We will consider going back in the summer when outdoor pool is open but only if the bath house issue is resolve.
Apr 05, 2014
Apr 04, 2014
Apr 03, 2014
Always have a great time at Cherokee KOA. It was our 4th trip. We are bringing our whole family the first of June for a long weekend of fun.
Apr 03, 2014
Many amenities to choose from to stay right on site. Bathhouse was clean. Indoor pool needs some updating on structural building around it. Very nicedeck/ sitting area by outdoor pool.
Apr 02, 2014
I was disapointed that they didnt have activitys planned for the kids or a raffle for opening trout season.
Apr 02, 2014
Great stay and new management. Recommend to sow rye so the sites aren't so muddy when it rain
Apr 02, 2014
I asked for a campsite that had a open southern view I was put in a site I could not place my rig in then to the next site a mud hole with trees and no cable I had to move to another site this is the second time this campground has let me down I will be very reluctant to stay there again
Apr 01, 2014
Opening trout season week-end usually great fun. New management did not know how to operate tournament. Very disappointing for grand-kids.
Apr 01, 2014
if you want to be cut off from the world then this is the place for you. no phones, no direct tv. the scene was beautiful, however.
Apr 01, 2014
Had a great time, everything went real good and smooth except for the rainy weather.
Apr 01, 2014
Mar 31, 2014
Mar 31, 2014
We had a great time as always, the staff was outstanding.
Mar 31, 2014
KOA has a good reputation for a good reason. The campground was clean;the camp sites in good condition. The weather was not great but we enjoyed our time away. The fishing was very popular. This campground has signs of age. The Wi-Fi connection was not useable. The Cable TV connection was poor quality (lots of snow on the screen). The sheetrock had gaping holes in the Indoor Swimming area.
Mar 31, 2014
I think you should keep a closer eye on the indoor pool to make sure parents are with there children! It becomes very rowdy when parents are not with there kids and they tear things up!! It becomes dangerous for the smaller kids!!
Mar 31, 2014
Great campground facilities. Staff could be friendlier. Bathrooms were not kept clean.
Mar 30, 2014
Lynn in front office made our stay awesome. This koa is beautiful, staff were beyond friendly an helpful!!! Fishing the river and ponds were plentiful for trout! Bathrooms were clean, showers were hot. Although we didn't use the pool it was clean and warm due to the super cold weather. The trails were beautiful to walk and the river was relaxing. I would stay here many more times!
Mar 28, 2014
The hot tub was in repair. My husband was so looking forward to using it. The pool had bugs in the bottom and needed cleaning bad. We would have liked to used the game room but it was closed. You should let people know what is and is not open during this time. It would be helpful to your campers. Having said that.We were greeted very nicely by the help. Our check in easy and they were friendly
Mar 26, 2014
Great spot!! Great campground!! Hope to go back soon!
Mar 25, 2014
Great location. Pleasant staff. Horrible wifi.
Mar 25, 2014
There were leafs everywhere bathrooms were freezing to shower in the people at the front desk were rude to my daughter when I has her go ask a question for me as I have ma and had her ask for me. There koa resturant were closed the bounce thing got blown up once while we were there I no we will not stay there again when we go back to cherokee again
Mar 24, 2014
We had a wonderful time it was clean and the help was very nice and made us feel very welcome and at home thanks so much for your hard work
Mar 23, 2014
The campground is very well kept. The staff were all very helpful. We really enjoyed our stay at this KOA!!!
Mar 23, 2014
Nice campground in a nice setting - mountains, streams, etc. Indoor (and outdoor) pool, playgrounds, giant chess board, putt-putt, jumping pad - lots of things to do. Nice bathhouses - although difficult to find 'happy medium' on showers. Two negatives: sites are small/crowded and too expensive.
Mar 21, 2014
Had a great stay here but it took us 35 minutes to find it. Maybe some better signage at Cherokee would help and also more signage up the road as we turned back twice not realizing we needed to go further before reaching the campground
Mar 20, 2014
We had a great time went to the casino. The staff was very helpful. we had a problem with the cable and they came and fixed it quickly. The pad that I parked my camper on was a little soft and not to level but was in a good location.
Mar 19, 2014
We had our trip planned for 2 months prior to arrival and were planning on staying beside some of our friends. Their cabin had some maintenance problems so they were moved to the other end of the camp ground. The office staff did not even offer to accomadate us by moving us closer or telling us on the front end prior to check in before I set up my camper. The bath faclities were dirty. K220/K221.
Mar 17, 2014
Really enjoyed our time at this KOA. Lots of activities for the kids, clean bathrooms/showers, great tree lined and river/creekside lots. Definitely will be back in the summer!
Mar 17, 2014
good place to stay for people with kids visiting smokie mt nat park. very quite,nice long pull through sites.bathrooms clean,park staff friendly. a bit pricy but not much you can do about that.
Mar 14, 2014
Worst KOA ever! Many items non-functional or in disrepair. Pool was dirty and spa was dirty and non-functional. Awful.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.