Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

May 03, 2016
Hot water most times was not working and shower heads need replacing
May 03, 2016
May 02, 2016
Theres a reason we only stay at KOA! Our underground sewer line backed up and created a terrible mess. That maintenance staff responded within minutes worked for more than an hour to fix it, clean up my site and check back to make sure we we happy. I love this KOA! Thank you for a great 55th Birthday!
May 02, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay. I really enjoyed camping on site 360 until the dumpster was placed on it. Is there any chance the dumpster might be moved to another location?
May 01, 2016
The campground is amazing, everyone was so friendly and helpful, we can't wait to come back
Apr 30, 2016
The area was nice and the campground was clean, however the amount of kids running rampant on cycles were kind of annoying. But I am old and not use to having kids camping. Quite time was suppose to be from 10pm till 7am, but one set of campers were partying way after quite time and music blasting. I don't think the staff ever said anything to them.
Apr 28, 2016
staff were friendly, courteous and knowledgeable. Many good suggestions on sights to see and things to do!
Apr 28, 2016
I want to thank you for doing the road repairs. Your wifi was the best this weekend. Most do the time I can never get it but this weekend I had service all 3 days. We will be back in 2 weeks.
Apr 28, 2016
We checked late on Thursday night and were pleased with the large pull through sites. Mid morning on Friday camp personnel came you site to see if we were satisfied and asked if there was anything else we needed. All my questions were answered with a pleasant attitude. I would not hesitate to recommend this KOA to anyone based on my personal experience.
Apr 27, 2016
We have stay at KOA Cherokee before,we have all way like it there ,when our kids was.little we stay there and they all way like camping there .
Apr 27, 2016
Didn't give five stars for two reasons: 1) The bathhouse closest to our site had two showers, one of which was out of order for our entire weeks stay. The other nearest bathhouse was totally closed down. 2) The bathrooms were cleaned daily at 9 AM just at about the time everyone was moving about and needing to use the facilities.
Apr 27, 2016
Excellent facility, no problems and everything was nice and efficient.
Apr 27, 2016
Apr 27, 2016
Picnic tables were really filthy and not logically set up. Otherwise is it was a good stay.
Apr 26, 2016
Your staff (some of them) needs to be friendly.
Apr 25, 2016
Should have told me about no cell service and no wifi. Free wifi but you cant use it.
Apr 25, 2016
There was a lot to do at the campground and it was very clean. The staff was friendly.
Apr 25, 2016
Apr 25, 2016
Bathrooms were clean and modern with nice showers. The shower curtains were not wide enough for the openings and there were very few hooks in the shower and lavatory areas. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Pretty location.
Apr 24, 2016
Firewood cost jumped from 3/$10.00 to $7.00 each in one day. Kinda sounds like gouging doesn't it?

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The increase in price was due to a new shipment of kiln dried firewood. Our costs went up so, unfortunately, we had to increase our price.
Apr 23, 2016
A lot of upgrades are taking place so facilities will be even better. Staff always pleasant and very helpful
Apr 23, 2016
Very nice KOA with lots of amenities. Because it was early in season, not much doing.
Apr 22, 2016
excellent staff and facility
Apr 22, 2016
The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We especially enjoyed talking with Bill! The only complaint is that the firewood went from $4 a bundle to $7. The staff agreed to let me continue to pay the original price.
Apr 21, 2016
We camped!!! We walked!!!! We went to sleep at night!!! We went to the pool but came back because the hot tub was to hot for anyone to get in. We couldn't stay in touch with anyone on the phone or internet because of only one bar.
Apr 20, 2016
Awesome place with lots of things to do. Beautiful area to spend time outdoors with family and friends.
Apr 19, 2016
Apr 19, 2016
Rude inconsiderate
Apr 19, 2016
Lots of construction going on even during weekend. Bathroom soap dispenser always empty, pool water smelled like chlorinated sewer water, campsites very close together.
Apr 18, 2016
Apr 18, 2016
The people that work there are so rude, the place is not well kept, the staff does not know alot about what is going on around them. Not well stocked.
Apr 18, 2016
We had a wonderful experience with our entire family while at this KOA. Kids loved the fishing and all the things to do while all inside the campground
Apr 18, 2016
Our stay was great. Met new friends. Everyone was friendly!
Apr 18, 2016
We had a great stay! Absolutely wonderful experience. The only change would be for the check in- perhaps a little smoother next time. We had to pay for our entire weekend up front( which we understood) and then our friends site as well before we could go in. A little frustrating!
Apr 18, 2016
Very Nice Campground. Friendly Staff, Comfortable Sites, Well Organized.
Apr 18, 2016
Our stay was very enjoyable. Staff was friendly and helpful. We are already planning another long weekend trip.
Apr 17, 2016
The only problem was the KOA's WIFI.
Apr 13, 2016
Park has great potential with some work. Lot of stuff broken such as in laundry room hot tub jets game room closed for vandalism should have cameras .Roads in bad shape need repair.office personnel was kind of rude during check in seemed overwhelmed because they were busy but was ok other days.I left a day early.
Apr 13, 2016
The staff was extremely friedly and helpful. We had trouble with our cable connection,and the staff were right there to solve the problem
Apr 12, 2016
This KOA is as good as it's staff. We find those that work at CKOA to be so friendly and helpful. It really makes you feel at ease knowing that they have your stay as the number one priority. Thanks to all.
Apr 12, 2016
The only problem was not having wii fi
Apr 11, 2016
Staff was very friendly, and the campground was very clean. Bathrooms and showers were the cleanest I've ever seen at a campground.
Apr 11, 2016
Apr 11, 2016
Again, In door hot tub was out of order (No Jets and very heavy chemicals. Wify was less than adequate to even check emails . Indoor heated pool was at 71* when checked three days out of the seven day stay. I pay a premium price to stay here due to the amenities that are becoming less available each visit. The staff in general seem to have no care whatsoever towards resolution or rate adjustment
Apr 11, 2016
Bathroom/bath house filthy other than that it was great, kids had a blast
Apr 11, 2016
Had a great stay. A lot of work has been done and it looks great. Will stay again. The pool is awesome.
Apr 10, 2016
We were only here for one night as we passed through but it was very nice. The sites are gravel, not paved and site 81 needed a little leveling. It's easy to get to off of I-81 but it's far enough off the highway to be nice and quiet. There was nice spacing between RV's. Nice people and a nice place.
Apr 10, 2016
Great place! Pretty site by the river! Attendants helpful in setting up. Pool was nice but spa wasn't working. Wifi did not always work. No cell phone service. Staff was nice and amenities were great!
Apr 09, 2016
Would be 5 stars but indoor swimming pool was dirty & indoor hot tub was hot but jets were broken & it was also dirty. Bathroom was ok but toilet bowls could have been cleaner. Wifi ok but weak. Good cable.
Apr 09, 2016
Had everything you want at a camp grounds.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps