Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11

RV Reviews

Sep 16, 2014
The bath houses were not maintained. They completely ran out of paper in two stalls and one of the showers was broken. The campground did not drain well after the rain.
Sep 16, 2014
Employee who lived there had his truck parked in our site. Bathroom not handicapped friendly. Toilets would not flush. Showers would not drain. Three out of four washing machines not working. Tree roots coming up through the paved sites and all around them. Water standing in some sites and never seemed to leave the low places in the roads making walking in them a wading experience. WiFi poor.
Sep 16, 2014
If it rains, look out! There are serious drainage problems with the campsites, driveways, and streets. And some of the picnic shelters and bath houses are in need some extra maintenance. But, we did enjoy our stay and will likely camp here again.
Sep 16, 2014
Bathrooms very poor neads much attention. A lot of wet ground rain rain go away the Aliens are here to stay !!!!!!
Sep 16, 2014
The bathrooms are too few, old, dirty, the showers are dingy, and floors dangerous -- one of the bathrooms has wooden boards supporting the roof in a walkway
Sep 15, 2014
Looking forward to coming back!
Sep 15, 2014
The sites were muddy and ants were a problem. Bathrooms were just OK. Toilets didn't flush well. Pool was nice and staff were very pleasant. Motorcycle noise was a problem, as was a dog in a nearby cabin that yipped and whined continuously.
Sep 15, 2014
A muddy mess in rainy conditions. Water collects everywhere. So much noise and smoke I had to close up my camper and use earplugs. Bathrooms need upgrading; little to no cell/internet service. Staff friendly & helpful.
Sep 15, 2014
Stay was ok, but your bath houses need a lot of upgrading, they are in need of replacement.You have a lot of standing water problem.
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 15, 2014
awesome KOA great for kids. Loved the outside hot tub.
Sep 15, 2014
We had a great Aliner Rally. A lot to do for families! Not handicapped friendly. The catered Buffet was EXCELLENT!!
Sep 15, 2014
Not very happy with this KOA. It seems old, dated and not very clean. Also, rained the weekend we were there and there was a lot of standing water- no where to drain. Many of the sites were also overgrown with tree roots and either unusable, or dangerous to the users.
Sep 15, 2014
This campground needs to really work on caring about their campers when rain causes flooding, no one bothered to come and help or offer to put down anything to help with the mud holes. My husband said the mens room was never clean always flooded. If I come back I will be sure to stay away from the front part of the park DON'T TAKE SITE #29 that is where all the water flows to.
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 15, 2014
Our site 15 was completely flooded Fri due to a clogged drain plug, was told it was an act of nature! No KOA people offered any help except to unclog the drain plug. Why was I assigned site 15 if it floods during hard rains? Am sending pictures to KOA.
Sep 15, 2014
Great campground except for internet access.
Sep 15, 2014
Really nice campground & well taken care of, we will stay here again
Sep 15, 2014
it was nice. kinda packed but to be expected. area clean and facilities nice. Staff was excellent. the BBQ we purchased was great. too bad some campers have to puke in the tree not 30 ft from your site for about 10 mins. Kinda made my stay a bit icky in a way :)
Sep 15, 2014
We always enjoy staying at the Cherokee KOA. This stay was just as enjoyable. I would like to suggest more enforcement of the speed limit. And, on Saturday, while putting my child down for a nap, a motorcycle with loud exhaust came through reving his engine. Instituting an "idle only" policy for motorcycles is another suggestion.
Sep 15, 2014
arrived in heavy rain storm. directed to our site, next to the dumpster and under water. came back to office soaking wet, given another site. went there getting soaked partially flooded site and water hook up not working and handle broken,again in heavy rain back to office and given another site which worked out well. staff needs to be aware of product it is selling and know which areas are probs
Sep 15, 2014
Need WiFi networks.
Sep 15, 2014
This was our 2nd stay at KOA Cherokee. The staff is very helpful and professional. We are in the process of thinking when we may return.
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 15, 2014
The campground is great! Though you must realize with todays demands your customers work while they play. You very badly need to distribute wireless internet throughout the campground, with todays technology the cost is minimum. Unfortunately we will have to stay at another campground on the weekends when work and play coexist. Thank you
Sep 15, 2014
Certainly has improved a lot over the last year. I understand that there is new management and it shows. Still more to do but on the right track
Sep 15, 2014
Have you thought about getting a bid from a paving company, to redo the drives to build a crown in them? So rains will drain off the roads?
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 14, 2014
Employees enjoying the excitement of driving electric golf carts at 25 mph rather than responding to customers' requests.
Sep 14, 2014
It is one of the best( maybe the best)campgrounds that we have ever stayed especially with our 4 yr old grandson along. soo very much to keep him entertained.
Sep 14, 2014
Sep 14, 2014
Have stayed here before and it always has been 1st class
Sep 13, 2014
The bathhouse number 1 had a lot of problems. No hot water, back up of drains. Garbage piled up outside of restroom.
Sep 12, 2014
Too many cabins. It didn't seem as much like a campground. Everything else was fine except the sewer was in the back of the trailer. Had to go buy more sewer hose. Many trailers have the sewer in the middle.
Sep 11, 2014
Stayed at this campground many times. This time I was very disappointed. Was told there was Wi-Fi and after the first day there, I went to the office and was told the Wi-Fi was just taken down and a new service was being put in and it should be done in a week. I said good because I was going to be at the campground for 26 days. Then they changed their tune. Phone service was non existing.
Sep 11, 2014
It is our 2nd stay at the Cherokee KOA. It is still a pretty location with clean restrooms and better than average maintenance. But, it the 7 years since our last visit we've come to depend on reliable Broadband Internet and you don't provide it. To make matters worse the cellular signal in your KOA is too weak to provide an alternative Internet access path.
Sep 11, 2014
great
Sep 10, 2014
We have spent 35 nights over the last 2 months in KOA's in the Midwest. This was by far the best campground. If I was to say anything negative it would be on the strength of the WiFi. It was especially hard since we had very little cell phone use in the park.
Sep 10, 2014
Sep 09, 2014
Sites are to close together, too many golf carts on road. For the price you pay I expected larger sites. I will research a different campground for future visits to Cherokee.l
Sep 09, 2014
Had a very good time! Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Sep 08, 2014
Sep 07, 2014
all was good except the bathrooms were over populated and always dirty. especially the showers and the toilets. the employees at the tube rental were less than helpful, you would have thought we were asking for they're first born very lazy people.
Sep 07, 2014
koa was better than what the reviews stated. clean, neat, lots to do for children, paved roads-no complaints other than the ride from town to the KOA was slow going-past the school, etc. would recommend & go again.
Sep 05, 2014
Campground was awesome. Only problem was the site was to small for my camper could not open awning and build a campfire. Very annoying not being able to make fire and do s'mores with the kids.
Sep 04, 2014
The site was to small for the price. The charge for golf carts unreal,$100.00 a day. the cell phone reception was a joke. Candy bars $1.69,really? The candy flashlight and candy bingo was also a joke. I don't think the people in charge had any idea what they were doing. They were not fun and the prizes were cheap, especially for the bingo games. To come as far as we did the trip was not worth it.
Sep 04, 2014
Sep 04, 2014
Sep 04, 2014
Enjoyed our 4 night stay,the only problem at all was I wished the ladies bath/shower area were cleaner.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.