Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

RV Reviews

Jul 29, 2015
First of all, the site YOU assigned me was double booked, so I was moved to another site. I was compensated with one free night. Second, The WiFi almost worked one day out of four. Third, the free cable was so snowy, I could not watch it. Probably never will return.
Jul 29, 2015
The staff here is very unprofessional, rude, and ignorant. There were multiple problems starting from day one on our six day trip. Debbie is especially rude our son has a learning disability and she continuously degraded him for not answering her questions for his fishing license. He is very shy and get very nervous when people speak to him rudely. Nota kid friendly staff.
Jul 29, 2015
had a great time and will be back.
Jul 29, 2015
Our back in campsite was muddy when it rained, concrete pull thrus are much nicer.
Jul 28, 2015
Employes were extremely helpful and the campground was awesome.
Jul 28, 2015
We had a great time as always. Even though it is a little pricey, this is one of the cleanest campgrounds around. We would love to come more often but can't due to cost.
Jul 28, 2015
Kids Loved it both said it was their favorite trip yet! Nice large site only negatives is no phone service and WiFi was patchy due to mountains I suppose
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
The campground is awesome and the staff at amazing. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because the Wi-Fi was pretty much non-existent on our site. There is no phone service if you have AT&T so I really needed Wi-Fi but it was very unreliable.
Jul 27, 2015
If you advertise WiFi you need it can make sure it can handle full capacity, might need to look into having fiber optics installed to get better service
Jul 27, 2015
Enjoyed our stay, and would stay again. Would be nice if the rates were a little less expensive as many seniors are on a fixed income and aren't able to stay at resorts like this.
Jul 27, 2015
We have already re-booked. My only 2 complaints where the internet was not very good. We had good signal but connection was not very good. With my wife and I being business owners it was definitely a struggle. The only other issue was a employee you have was harassing one of our kids. Any thing he did this employee would be telling him not to do it but allowing other kids to do them with out saysi
Jul 27, 2015
We had a great time
Jul 27, 2015
We had the best stay at Cherokee KOA. So much fun for my son!!! The only negative is Internet did not work. There is no cell reception in the campground either so Internet would be very helpful.
Jul 27, 2015
Wish I could have stayed longer
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
we stayed from Sunday to Sunday. I would highly recommend this KOA to anyone that is nature oriented. we went White Water Rafting as a family on Wednesday and Tubing on Thursday. Pools and game room for kids and our kids loved the games put on by the workers. Corn Hole, tag, Hula Hoops, Banana Bikes, Putt Putt. Cherokee downtown was a good day trip when it rained. Employees were great and friendly
Jul 27, 2015
We arrived early and with this being the first time at this campground was not aware a $25.00 early check in fee would be added which it was.The store is very nice but would sale more if customers didn't have to stand in line with people checking in,I waited 25 min to make a small purchase.This stay was costly so will not frequent this campground often.
Jul 27, 2015
Had a great time. will be back next year
Jul 27, 2015
Loved it! This was our first time renting an RV and everyone, including KOA employees and fellow campers nearby, were so helpful! So much for the kids to do all day long, in rain or shine, that we will never go back to state campgrounds again!
Jul 27, 2015
Well for one they put us ina horriblr spot right beside the trampoline with kids on our spot we couldnt even pull in. The office staff was sooooo unorganized. This was my first stay at a KOA and I was not happy and well cancel my reservations that I made at another KOA. I might try another one later but much much later. This was not a good experience.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Great Place and the sites very comfortable. The Manager Sally and Jessica did a great Job helping us extended our stay, because before that we were treated very rude from another front desk lady.
Jul 26, 2015
3 staff members very rude, guy with glasses and pony tail, short haired women with glasses where you rent tubes and stuff, and old man at night with ear piece radio, unreal that they should have any contact with the public, we have been to this park many years, and it seems like the help is getting worse, spnd a lot of, $$ each yr ,2 yrs in a row brought friends to your cabins, time to change????
Jul 26, 2015
for kids, A+ swimming pools etc. are excellent. This alone means a lot. Very kid friendly. Wifi is almost non existent. Nice to have when searching for things to do. They might consider opening the grill during movies, ice cream or a cheeseburger would be great. Bath houses need upgrading along with more hot water. Overall experience was very good and would be great with a very few improvement
Jul 26, 2015
Kids loved it. Great people. Very relaxing for me and lots to do for the kids. Great weather and good food.
Jul 26, 2015
Our family really enjoyed KOA in Cherokee,the staff was great and helpfull , nice and clean
Jul 26, 2015
No hot water for showers Thursday morning, July 23, 2015. Had a power glich Friday afternoon, July 25, 2015, that tripped our CB. Still enjoyed our stay and will return.
Jul 26, 2015
Great people .
Jul 25, 2015
Love this koa. Only two things that I feel need attention, the roads between the deluxe sites need to be repaved and when they cut grass pick up the clippings they blow them all over your camper and anything sitting around having a grass catcher is not that hard. But other than those two area's everything else was great staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jul 25, 2015
Beautiful location. Exceptionally quiet even filled with children. Restrooms were clean however the showers were either cold or luke warm. Shuttle bus is useful but only goes into Cherokee and not always reliable. Lots of activities, great little store, very friendly staff. Loved the concrete flat pads, not too close to neighbor. Nice pools. Lovely stay.
Jul 25, 2015
Great experience. Grounds and facilities were immaculate, and all of your staff, without exception, were helpful, courteous, and professional.
Jul 23, 2015
Friendly helpful staff, clean camp ground.
Jul 23, 2015
Awesome
Jul 22, 2015
Enjoyed our stay
Jul 22, 2015
This was the best campground we've ever stayed at. We had our grand kids and they LOVED it! The staff was the best! Everything was perfect. Thanks for a GREAT TIME.
Jul 22, 2015
We purchased our1st camper 3 weeks ago and were trying it out for the first time. Koa was recommended by a friend who uses it quite often so we decided to try it out we were not disappointed Our experience was great and we will be using it in the near future.
Jul 22, 2015
The reason for the rating is because the park did not require that parents control their kids. It is dangerous to walk through the park with kids racing their bikes virtually at all times. Nice park but needs to control the kids.
Jul 22, 2015
Very nice kampground with plenty to do for the kids!
Jul 21, 2015
Nice and clean with a lot to do around the campground but products in the store were very expensive so bring all u may need
Jul 21, 2015
Awesome place. They really go above to make sure that you are having fun. If I had to say anything is that with no cell service the WiFI should be a lot better. Great stay, see you next year or sooner.
Jul 21, 2015
As much as it costs to stay here there should be curb side trash pick up. Please do not advertise you have wi fi when it does not even connect.
Jul 21, 2015
Only complaint is no phone service. I am more and more dependent on my cell phone, so I just wish there was service there.
Jul 21, 2015
had a good time. Bathrooms could use better cleaning.
Jul 21, 2015
We usually love this campground but our last stay wasnt the greatest. One of the guest service employees wasn't friendly, at all, upon arrival and check in. Our campsite was FULL of cigarette butts that my small children constantly wanted to pick up. Lastly, it was very loud late into the night due to rambunctious teens roaming the campground (which I know is out of your control).
Jul 21, 2015
Loved all of the amenities and activities. A great camping destination for families with children. We enjoyed the smoked pork dinner! It was lip smackin'!
Jul 20, 2015
Extremely expensive, no phone reception, WIFI was up and down everyday, fire-pit was to close to neighbors truck and our awning, our lot was small, I felt cramped.
Jul 20, 2015
We had a great time. The sites were level and clean. The bath house was also very nice. Can't wait to visit again!!
Jul 20, 2015
Would have been a 10 out of 10 and 5 stars if the WiFi had worked as advertised. These sites are not exactly cheap and there is no excuse not to have a usable Wifi system considering that cost. Everyone I met had the same complaint about the Wifi. When we asked the front desk about the problem here was no real explanation offered. This issue should have been thought out better on KOA's end.
Jul 20, 2015
OUR STAY OVERALL WAS VERY NICE. THE ONLY PROBLEM WE HAD WAS THE TRAILOR NEXT TO US, WHICH WAS OCCUPIED BY KOA EMPLOYEES, HAD OTHER KOA EMPLOYEES POUNDING ON THEIR DOOR AT MIDNITE. LACK OF SLEEP MAKES A 7 HOUR RIDE HOME SEEM LIKE A LOT LONGER.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.