Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jun 22, 2017
Jun 22, 2017
One night. great bathhouse friendly staff. Lots of activity if you have kids. Great pancakes!
Jun 21, 2017
We had a premium creek side RV site with no view of the creek. There was a large embankment blocking our view. That is just so much crape.
Jun 21, 2017
Golf cart realy bad battery's was not charged . Spent more time charging .It should had been charged over night rented it at 8:00am to 8;00pmcart#8 .
Jun 21, 2017
Jun 21, 2017
We loved having 2 pools as options and the tie dye activity for a keepsake! We always enjoy staying here! The mountains are beautiful all year long!
Jun 20, 2017
Spent 7 days as we have for 5 years. this time no cable until last day. no internet at all. then as we have every year we tried to reserve the same spots for next and was told no that maybe we could go on line in July and reserve what was available. We rent 2 river sights and a cabin every year. Not happy
Jun 20, 2017
Friendly and very helpful staff. Best KOA that we have stayed at.
Jun 20, 2017
Our stay was a very enjoyable and relaxing experience.
Jun 20, 2017
My all time favorite place to stay! Thx
Jun 20, 2017
The bath house renovations are superb. Now that there is a seat along with more room and a clothes hook may seem minor but is a big deal when you are trying to keep items dry and clean while you shower. Also, try to staff the front checkout a bit more. Twice I had to wait 5-8 minutes while they sold fishing licenses with just one cashier. Plenty of yellow shirts walking around but no 2nd cashier
Jun 19, 2017
Very clean and friendly
Jun 19, 2017
Very nice weekend the campgrounds were great. All the workers were nice and did a great job keeping the place in tip top shape. Thank you.
Jun 19, 2017
Excellent-- Very friendly staff. The one downside is no cell service and minimal at best WI-FI
Jun 19, 2017
Our family of six enjoyed every day! Shuttle service is great! This was our first time here and planning on coming back!
Jun 19, 2017
We enjoyed our stay, there were plenty of fun activities available to keep 4 preschoolers entertained. The staff were friendly, and kept the bathrooms cleaned and stocked. The only real issues we found were that Wi-Fi was down so there was no internet connection, and the indoor pool needed to be cleaned. Other than that, we are likely to book again!
Jun 19, 2017
We have been coming to KOA for many years and have always had a wonderful stay. Please let us know when you have a permanent camper site for rent.
Jun 19, 2017
Cable went out a couple of times and power went out once but was very helpful in getting it going.
Jun 19, 2017
No wifi or cell service. Staff told us the wifi works just keep trying, other campers agreed it never works. Manager told us wifi is complementary when I complained, website has it as an amenity. Don't appreciate being deceived.
Jun 18, 2017
Joann in the recreation outpost was wonderful. Answered all my questions and joked around with us. Shane took great care of all issues that needed attention and was great to talk with.
Jun 18, 2017
Location was great. Tried to put a 40 foot camper in a 35 ft space. Fortunately two awesome workers noticed and moved us to a much nicer site. Overall, the stay was very quiet and nice. Please put on your website a warning to avoid US19 on the way in. Very treachorous for campers. Take US74 instead. Nice area to stay. We stayed for a week.
Jun 17, 2017
No tv as advertised. Cellular did not work consistently. No convenient trash dump. Friendly but not really competent.
Jun 17, 2017
Great campground. Lots of activities for kids. The bathrooms were clean and that was a priority for us.
Jun 17, 2017
We were with two grandchildren. It is awesome for kids. Despite the rain we had a great time. Thank you.
Jun 16, 2017
Very nice koa many activities at the camp to keep u busy
Jun 15, 2017
Very very nice people and the campground is so serene! Met a camp host from Oklahoma and he drive me up to the main office to shop! They are the hosts with the most!! Would go back and stay for a week if I could
Jun 15, 2017
Special thanks to Donnie, and Bo. Great job to all
Jun 15, 2017
Very nice campground. Friendly staff and lots of help.
Jun 14, 2017
When we arrived and began setting up our camper, a seam in the canvas ripped. We sewed the seam but also needed a glue to set it. We had nothing, but the Maintenance Supervisor, Donnie, brought us a brand new tube, asking for nothing in return. That night a wind surge blew our awning over the camper and the canopy down. Within a few minutes, Donnie was there checking on us. Very nice and unex
Jun 14, 2017
Great staff made us feel like we at home and were so very helpful!!! Don't miss this great campground
Jun 14, 2017
Awesome campground! Tons of amenities, great place for families with kids. Very clean and updated bathrooms. Friendly staff. Will be back!
Jun 14, 2017
Best KOA or any campground! We love it!
Jun 14, 2017
For the price, wifi should be top notch. Fact is it sucks. Desk staff were extremely pleasant, friendly and helpful. Thank you, I enjoyed my stay.
Jun 14, 2017
Good campground with nice facilities. Most expensive KOA I've been to. The zero cell, bad cable, and low bandwidth WiFi = minus one star. The narrow and curvy road are 'almost' another minus star but that's not the KOA campgrounds fault. They are working on the sidewalks currently which makes them even more narrow. Minimum of 5 miles for local store and 13 miles to Sylva Walmart on curvy slow roa
Jun 14, 2017
A great place
Jun 14, 2017
Good campground - Nice facilities. Expensive to stay. Zero cell, so-so wifi, and bad cable. 5 miles from town and 15 miles to nearest Walmart. ALL on narrow curvy roads. I would go back for fishing though.
Jun 13, 2017
Great Staff and people there. plenty for the kids to do. the only thing they need to upgrade is the wifi. I couldn't even get email 3/4 of the time.
Jun 13, 2017
Beautiful campground. Clean, well maintained, large level concrete sites, wide streets, lots of top notch amenities, large , clean and AC laundry and bathrooms. Already booked ,y next stay. River for tubing etc. is spectacular!
Jun 13, 2017
Staff not friendly Wi-fi and cable do not work half the time of stay If you are advertising and charging for these things they should be working. Grill was closed for yearly maintenance in JUNE . We have visited this campground numerous times but will not be back .
Jun 12, 2017
Cannot wait to come again and bring our grandsons! Loved it!
Jun 12, 2017
Stay was good. Markings for the sights was some what confusing. Needs to be better marked as to how wide they are
Jun 12, 2017
Best Campground we've ever stayed at. This is our 2nd year staying here and we love it. You will not find a better park with so many amenities and plentiful clean bath houses. This is 1 vacation I look forward to every year. The numerous staff members are also very helpful with anything you may need.
Jun 12, 2017
We had a good weekend at the KOA in Cherokee. This is the second time we have been there and we enjoy it. The only thing was I didn't feel like the bath houses were as clean as the last time we were there but other wise it was a good weekend and nice facility.
Jun 12, 2017
Great camp ground, very clean. Kim, cooper, Megan and Bo were awesome and made the vacation memorable. Thanks
Jun 12, 2017
Peaceful and quiet wonderful staff and friendly very clean place
Jun 12, 2017
The staff was extremely nice! The restrooms were really clean. There was lots for the children to do. If we had a complaint, it would be about people who stayed beside us...not the campground.
Jun 12, 2017
Clean park and vary helpfull stsff
Jun 11, 2017
The people that worked there were wonderful. Very helpful. The inside pool and hot tub was awful, it needs a total redo. Outdoor pool was wonderful and clean. We loved our site but needs work.
Jun 11, 2017
it was very nice and clean
Jun 11, 2017
It was great! Staff very attentive especially Donny.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award