Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 23, 2016
If our grandkids and children had come, it would have been great. It ended up just being just my wife 62 and myself 66 and we were put at site 326 and I just had a knee replacement and my wife needs hers done. It was a long walk to everything. I mentioned that the kids had not come when we registered and the lady just said the kids would have loved it. I was charged for 4 adults and2 kids
Jul 23, 2016
Clean and full of entertainment options. Bath houses were the cleanest of any campground I've ever stayed in.
Jul 23, 2016
Great park! Lots to do if have children! Tube the river right at the park. No alcohol at the river. Campsite only! No phone service if you have AT&T. WIFI is not very good! You can send text messages and that's about it! They did accommodate me another night at my expense due to repairs to be made to my Motorhome! Close to great sights !
Jul 21, 2016
Very nice stay, improved Wi-Fi, better phone service, poor cable
Jul 21, 2016
Please work on roads in campground & phone and wifi service. Great to have better TV service thanks
Jul 20, 2016
Jul 20, 2016
I have been going to this KOA for about 20 years.We have camped at KOA all across the country.They are allways nice,but this one is our favorite
Jul 20, 2016
Jul 20, 2016
Delightful weather in July. Cannot wait to return
Jul 19, 2016
Jul 19, 2016
Just a great place to stay
Jul 19, 2016
Cable TV very poor. No wi-fi. Staff great and facilities nice.
Jul 19, 2016
Enjoyed out short family vacation at Cherokee KOA. Very family oriented and the kids never get bored. We lived tubing down the river and the kids enjoyed the Dj/Dance party. Nice clean bath houses. Only thing that seems to be missing is some type of hanger or shelf for clothing in the showers. Everything gets wet.
Jul 19, 2016
WIFI almost non existent and cable wasn't working. Corporate made camping cost at 30% higher that competing RV Campgrounds.
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Jill(KOA) mixed up our reservation #605530.000 called me said the site we had reserved was not available but she offered us a deluxe site w/ no extra chg. we DID NOT have a deluxe site as Jill had told me. KOA manager offered an apology & said Jill was mistaken about the site. The site we ended up w/ was very disappointing. Plus the bathhouse closest to the ponds had no water pressure for shower
Jul 18, 2016
We really enjoyed our time at this KOA. It is a beautiful place with lots for our family to do. Our only disappointment was that some of the music played Saturday night was not family friendly. Even though we didn't attend the dance party, we could hear the music at our campsite.
Jul 18, 2016
Nice campground, we go every year and the kids always have a blast
Jul 18, 2016
We were going to Cherokee for a one night stay to see the Unto These Hills Drama! We were tent camping with our three sons and left our two 4 legged babie at home. We wished we could've stayed longer to enjoy all the amenities! Our 8 & 9 year old loved the pool and the jump pad. Our oldest son (19) loved the Dj and the entertainment! We will definitely return with the whole family!
Jul 17, 2016
Jul 17, 2016
The campground is great but phone service lousy to non existent
Jul 17, 2016
Stayed here for about a week, alot to do. Pool is great. Will definitely stay again but will spend a bit more money for a double or bigger site.. the less expensive sites are really packed in like sardines but still enough room to move about.
Jul 17, 2016
This was our first time to camp at a KOA campground. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The campground, restrooms, store, pools and areas were all very clean.
Jul 17, 2016
Jul 17, 2016
Great place for the grandkids. Lots of activities for them. Downside is lack of phone service and very limited internet access
Jul 16, 2016
We love this campground. A bit more expensive than other KOA'S but it has a lot for kids to do. I only wish the phone and internet were better. If you need these services, this is not the place for you.
Jul 16, 2016
Great place too camp and enjoy the smokey's at your doorstep.
Jul 16, 2016
When we arrived we had to clean our site 51 limbs and trash everywhere. They allowed to many cars to park at cabins where it was hard for RVs to back in sites. They should have parking spots behind cabins. Old Ladies were not friendly at all. We have been camping there for 4 years. I don't think we will return. They need more supervision at the outdoor pool.
Jul 16, 2016
Very nice.
Jul 16, 2016
A great family get away. Plan to stay again next year.
Jul 16, 2016
Great things to do there.
Jul 16, 2016
Our family always enjoys our atay at the KOA in Cherokee. In the summer it is tubing down the river where it is so convenient to get a ride up the mountain! It's the shopping in town and the quiet of the Campground that we enjoy! Our next stay will be Halloween! We tried that last year and truly had a blast!
Jul 16, 2016
Jul 16, 2016
No cell service and too many barking dogs. Otherwise great campground with lots of amenities. Good location for park
Jul 15, 2016
Excellent facility. The only drawback is that people who are tubing thenriver walk right through the premium sites to exit the river. KOA should post signs informing the people tubing the river not to exit through campsites or cabin areas. There are designated entry and exit points but they are not well marked nor enforced. People who pay for a premium site do not want strangers walking through.
Jul 15, 2016
Area is Great. Park is nice but very crowded. Personnel need a lot of training. Every question we asked was answered by: well, I don't know even older staff. Maintenance crew was very nice and helpful.
Jul 14, 2016
Nice campground but overpriced
Jul 13, 2016
We have camped here before and was very satisfied. This time was a total different atmosphere. Workers were rude. Management were not friendly. I bet it's under new owners or management. We will not be returning in the future which is a shame because we liked the location. Maybe we will stay up the river at Yogi Bear.
Jul 13, 2016
Although I made our reservation for the July 4th holiday months in advance, our spot was directly across from the office - very noisy, people kept blocking us in to stop and pick up firewood or just run into the office. The power went out the first night, and our site and several others were the only ones without power for about 6 hours. This KOA also ran out of ice. Chaotic stay!
Jul 13, 2016
we like koa because of things for all ages to do. employees are helpful. the food service was slower due to hard to communicate with certain employees. campsite 329 is a terrible site due to large tree roots with nothing but dirt and of course mud. we stayed before along ponds and had a wonderful and relaxing time. grandson age 9 loved it.
Jul 13, 2016
Beautiful setting. Sites need an upgrade or lower rates per night. Staff was friendly. Love the pools. Why the resort fee?
Jul 12, 2016
Jul 12, 2016
Great, relaxing stay.
Jul 12, 2016
awesome!
Jul 12, 2016
Goof
Jul 11, 2016
We love this KOA. We stay several times a year, and always enjoy our time here. One thing that I felt has gone down hill over the past year is the arts and crafts offered for the kids- you are charging so much for these crafts now. I was blown away that you charged for the friendship bracelets. It was $3 per child for 3 pieces of string I can understand breaking even- but that is too much!
Jul 11, 2016
A great place to stay
Jul 11, 2016
We have stayed at this KOA for a few years now and have always enjoyed our stay. This past weekend was one of our worst camping experiences ever!! The site we were in was so jammed close to the ones next to us it was uncomfortable. We had confrontations with campers on both sides. One at 3 am for a loud tv and the other because they parked on our site right on top of the fire ring! very unpleasan
Jul 11, 2016
Wonderful, we had an RV space and 4 deluxe cabins. Kids had a fabulous time. I would like to see a "dock" or ramp coming up from the tube run. Also, staff should pick up cigarette butts left in campsite.
Jul 11, 2016
Great campground ... staff was rude.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award