Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11

RV Reviews

Oct 17, 2014
Just one problem! A storm came the day we were suppose to leave. A tree fell on our camper at site 130 so why did we have to pay $70.00 for one night because of the weather? I would think there should be a discount when we couldn't leave after staying a whole month!
Oct 17, 2014
We had a wonderful stay. Wish all KOA's were as nice as Cherokee KOA.
Oct 15, 2014
Oct 15, 2014
This KOA has so many things for everyone to do! You don't even have to leave to eat - they have their own little eatery and store :-)
Oct 15, 2014
Oct 15, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
We had a wonderful time! The fishing tournament was fun and so glad you contained it to just the ponds. A women's category should be added and the raffle tickets and drawing for items from your store and donations from the community were missed! Jill, her husband, and Carolyn were very nice and helpful! We were told the entire campground was booked-not true. We'll be back soon & have a great day!
Oct 14, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
Nice KOA. Despite the rain it was still fun and we will return when in that area again. Only drawback was no cell service [AT&T] and their WIFI was terrible. Forgot my coax for the TV too. But it was kinda nice detoxing from the electronics for 4 days.
Oct 14, 2014
This was mine and my husband's second visit to Cherokee KOA. This time we brought some family and friends with us. We camped on one of the super sites. We all had a great time! Already planning another visit.
Oct 14, 2014
Sin palabras muy bueno el campamento.
Oct 14, 2014
Very muddy around the sites needs more concrete
Oct 13, 2014
I love the site I was on, But I choose this site because most of the sites in this park when it rains are the pits. Too many puddles. Game Room is mostly locked and has dated Games or not in working order. Amenities tells you there is WIFI. It's the pits!!! And Halloween Activities should be the whole month like the Yogi Parks do then just one weekend.
Oct 13, 2014
Been to this KOA several times. The rain was not my best friend, my daughter had an asthma attack and my friend locked his keys in his camper but we will definitely be back!
Oct 13, 2014
Oct 13, 2014
We had great stay with you all and will be back year with some friends of ours and made some new friends this year too and enjoy the fishing rodeo.
Oct 13, 2014
This was our third stay. The staff was very accommodating. Only complaint was the campers beside us brought their large flat screen TV and BLASTED it all day and into the night. Finally at 11:00 pm we asked them to turn it down, which they did. Only to blast in first thing in the morning. Nothing like going back to nature.
Oct 13, 2014
We have been coming here for over 5 years and find it very family friendly!
Oct 13, 2014
Staff was friendly and helpful. We had a car problem and staff went above and beyond to help us. Campsites were clean and cozy. We look forward to a trip back during the summer months!
Oct 13, 2014
We really enjoyed the campground. Very quite and in good condition. The showers were kinda small with little or no seating , outside of that, it was great. This was our first camping trip to Cherokee and if possible we will be back at the KOA.
Oct 13, 2014
If your not staying in one of the riverside sites things are pretty run down.
Oct 12, 2014
Oct 12, 2014
The ONLY negative!!!- Some very large dogs on vacation allowed to crap wherever they chose to. Pet owners should be fined if caught not picking up after them.
Oct 12, 2014
As usual a great stay. Over the years as we have gotten larger campers we like that you have plenty of spaces big enough, but turns are too tight making getting in the sites difficult. This past stay we had to back out of our supposed pull through. Trees, shrubs, etc. should be trimmed, cut back or removed to allow for appropriate access to sites for 40+ foot campers.
Oct 12, 2014
Very friendly staff, clean restrooms, large pull thrus for big rigs. We stayed there before and will definitely return.
Oct 12, 2014
This campground is very well run. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Great place to stay while visiting the mountains and Cherokee!
Oct 11, 2014
Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice campground well maintained - Would need a better cell service. We enjoyed our stay and will return.
Oct 10, 2014
Staff was very friendly. Good laundry facilities. Lots of amenities--play ground, dog park, and fishing just offsite. River one side, pods on other. The big disadvantage for us was no cellular service. (AT&T). WIFI worked great.
Oct 09, 2014
Very clean, large pull thru
Oct 08, 2014
Biggest KOA I have been to. Very nice, excellent wifi service, lot's of extras to do.
Oct 08, 2014
Oct 08, 2014
Friendly staff , great location and we'll maintained. One thing that could be improved is the cell and wifi reception. Guest need to keep in contact .
Oct 08, 2014
Oct 07, 2014
Beautiful campground, friendly staff, fabulous mountainside view. We will definitely return.
Oct 07, 2014
Oct 06, 2014
One of the prettiest KOA park we have ever visited. Sites were large and level. Well stocked store and very helpful staff. Only negative was the restroom facilities. They were clean but very old and in need of a update. All in all we loved this park and hope to visit again.
Oct 06, 2014
Oct 05, 2014
we love it here nice and relaxing by the river we will return next year
Oct 04, 2014
Oct 04, 2014
Oct 03, 2014
We were totally disappointed. Our campsite was a muddy mess making it quite annoying for setup and break down. The pool was not as nice as the picture and over chlorinated. The bathrooms were not clean and on top of it all we were charged an additional resort fee that was not disclosed on the website. Subsequently, we left early.
Oct 03, 2014
It was great. The staff very, very friendly. Hope to see you again real soon
Oct 03, 2014
Oct 02, 2014
Well maintained, friendly staff, lots of activities, especially for kids. Well stocked camp store.
Oct 02, 2014
This is a great base for exploring the area. Good facilities an a great staff. A little better cell service would be a big plus.
Oct 01, 2014
Was good, would have been better if we had been placed on the space next door, as exiting our site was difficult due to a tree and our trailer length (41')
Oct 01, 2014
We had a great stay and as always we will return, all the people on your staff are very courteous and helpful
Oct 01, 2014
First time camping in 20 years . Really enjoyed our time there . We are planning to stay there again when work and time will workout .
Oct 01, 2014
No internet service, or cell phone service. No emergency contact numbers after 11:00/pm. Grounds in poor condition, filthy dog area-never cleaned, some service roads need immediate repair. A $3.50 a day resort fee was charged with only a store open daily. KOA needs to pull this franchise or clean it up. Found another campground for next trip.
Sep 30, 2014
Except for the restrooms, we were very satisfied. The restroom closest to #143 was not clean, one shower was out of order the whole time we were there, plenty of time to have repaired (4 days) floor had standing water and muddy. Otherwise friendly and nice sites.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.