Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 18, 2017
Aug 18, 2017
When making my reservation I was told that I could no longer pick my site. Only a specific area. I have been doing this for the last 13 years and all of a sudden I cant pick a favorite site. New management decision. I will be vacationing at other campgrounds now. Cherokee is one of my favorite places to visit and we go at least twice a year and always stay at the KOA, no longer.
Aug 18, 2017
Standard site was muddy and unlevel. No water at the pump out site. Trash scattered through creek area.
Aug 18, 2017
Great visit!! Easy setup on level site, great shuttle service! We were able to arrange excursions right at the campground, and they provided transportation. The only drawbacks: it's so close to the national park but they don't provide service to the park! And the wifi was terrible! Some would say you're on vacation and don't need it but I still have to do work even when I'm away but couldn't.
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 17, 2017
The website states Wi-fi available. That is SO not the case. It should be listed as Limited access to Wi-fi. Otherwise all the staff very friendly.
Aug 17, 2017
Terrible site location. Checkin lady put me very far from pool and granddaughter wanted to swim. Sewer connection broken I paid extra for it. $60 refund is in order for KOA
Aug 16, 2017
It was Great as always one point Internet coverage seems to be worse than in the past only a few spots allowed access while roaming around the campground I hope this can be improved in the future... bathhouses very clean grounds very clean staff nice and helpful. : )
Aug 16, 2017
Campground overall is very nice. Our campsite was a big mud hole! When it rained, it was like a creek running through. When I asked about the possibility of getting a little gravel to put down in the mud at our door, I was told that they didn't have any. I finally went and bought 3 bags of pea gravel and put down. For what they charge, this should never happen!
Aug 15, 2017
The campground is very nice, management are not so great. You cannot reserve a particular site under new management. After setting up our camper for the weekend, we were told we needed to move, we were in the wrong site, the current was reserved by someone, we did not have to. When my wife spoke to the management about possibly seasonal rental, the manager acted like it was a bother.
Aug 15, 2017
No internet and no mobile telephone service is the reason for this low rating....
Aug 15, 2017
Love Cherokee KOA been camping there for about 30 years, we bring a very big crowd on the second week of August,always have a blast. Our biggest complaint is the phone reception,,not good at all,,the wifi was not good either. Like the remodeling you are doing at the store/office. Great place to camp, it is getting a little pricey though, but it is a good campground. We will be back! Thanks!
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
The general manager was very friendly and accommodating to assist in fixing a mud issue at our site. The KOA staff was visible and willing to assist. The children lead activities were a great addition to our days. Quiet and Relaxing campground.
Aug 15, 2017
My family loves it there the koa is very nice and the staff are top notch we will definitely be going back there again
Aug 15, 2017
Great visit- kids enjoyed the amenities. If I may suggest more adult supervision- Friday night about 15 teens were outside the laundry- Saturday some sat in watching tv. The indoor pool was a nice treat as it rained. Another supervision necessary- more large signs saying hot tub IS a HOT tub as several small children ran to jump in. craft girls needed some help - it was fun for my granddaughter
Aug 15, 2017
Great place clean sites and friendly staff would definitely stay again!!
Aug 15, 2017
Too many cabins - campers have no river access. Rate is way too high for what you get. Our cable didnt work and never got resolved. We had reverse polarity that caused grandkids to get shocked and loss of power. Maintenance did come to our site but problem continued. We are currently camped elsewhere with no issues, so the problem is on their aide. We should have gotten a refund. Avoid it.
Aug 15, 2017
Great campground very central in the park. Lot of spaces for fishing
Aug 14, 2017
Pool had so much chemicals in it that it burnt my husbands eyes. The slide was broke, the kiddie pool was broke. The outside hot tub was used as the kiddie pool instead of a hot tub. The indoor hot tub was so hot that it hurt to sit in it. The remodel on the outside of the lobby still hasn't been completed. Reserving specific site will no longer be available in 2018. Multiple food item out!
Aug 14, 2017
Fantastic. Loved the peace and quiet.
Aug 14, 2017
Location is BEAUTIFUL...absolutely gorgeous scenery. Staff was friendly and helpful. WiFi is GARBAGE. Please, please fix this. We had to drive to the campsite where the wifi antenna was located in order to communicate with the outside world. No good for people who work remotely or who have elderly parents back home. Pool water was green. Not sure why. The kids enjoyed swimming in it.
Aug 14, 2017
Absolutely fabulous!!!!
Aug 14, 2017
Loved the stay all except the internet which is being fixed. Staff was super.
Aug 14, 2017
As we've come to expect from this CG having stayed several times before, the staff and facilities were top-notch. Hands down the nicest RV camping in the area. Big-rig friendly, indoor pool, hot-tub, outdoor pool, snack bar... the works. My only complaint would be poor Wi-Fi and cell reception but hey, it's the mountains. Planning to come back soon.
Aug 14, 2017
We had a blast!
Aug 14, 2017
Could not afford the activity for the kid's. We are raising 6. Wish had more things free for them to o do. They loved kim. Dj jam was awesome
Aug 14, 2017
Lack of drainage caused water and mud to be all over parking areas and walkways. Sections had camp spots lower than grass causing this issue vs other newer sites that were raised above grass. Wifi- why advertise you have it when it almost never connects, when it does it won't stay connected and it's slower than dial up from 1994. Dump station under water- wade thru sewage water to get to dump.
Aug 14, 2017
Wifi is non existent. Was told we would be in a certain area (not a certain site) when we made the reservation and upon arrival we were placed in a different area. We have stayed here a lot in the past 10 years. Your policy changes on site request and the bad wifi we will not be back.
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Didn't get the chance to check everything out. But what I did experience was really nice. The campground is very nice from what I seen will be back
Aug 13, 2017
Need to improve the wi-fi situation and work on the paving on the roads. Lots of stuff for kids to do. Staff are very nice and helpful.
Aug 13, 2017
Arrived and they had put us in a site that was too small. Had to be moved to a larger site and pay more which I found to be totally unfair since I had told them a larger size than I actually was when I made the reservation. The pools were dirty and the slide was never open. Very crowded on the weekends. They do not enforce their rules so there was dog poop every where and it was very hectic there.
Aug 13, 2017
Stay was good, KOA staff were very friendly and helpful. They could pressure wash the RV pad occasionally as there was a good bit of mud on ours from previous use and a lot of rain.
Aug 13, 2017
Great camp. Kids made many friends. Easy place to relax and enjoy the scenery and let the kids be kids. Would be five stars, but the staff said we had to put our put chicken on a leash - no kidding, we have a pet chicken (she is dear to us) and the manager said if we didn't put her on leash we'd have to leave. The first KOA we stayed at this trip had chickens and a rooster. Not all KOA same.
Aug 12, 2017
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Aug 12, 2017
Have been coming there for years but this stay wasn't that great the pools looked dirtier then normal and there was about 8 dead frogs in filter they were there for day so I know pool wasn't checked. The kid pool was closed and the restroom weren't that clean the camp ground to me felt like it was a little run down .The store has also become smaller and ran down. Very disappointed
Aug 12, 2017
Staff worked with us to get a couple of other days. Our site was across from the bath/laundry so was continuos foot traffic. Very clean and beautiful.
Aug 12, 2017
Because there was very little cell service at this location, we really needed the wifi to work in order to keep in touch with people. Unfortunately, the wifi was terrible at our location. While we would connect to the signal, little data was able to be transmitted.
Aug 11, 2017
Recent improvements are nice. We like this koa and will continue to stay there. The WiFi could be vastly improved. I realize that Internet access while camping isn't a priority, however, I do need to check a few things while away. We get the premium river sites and we could not connect until the wee hours of the morning if at all. Definitely needs improving.
Aug 10, 2017
It wasn't terrible, but not great either. There was a lot of cool stuff for the kids however looked very ran down and no updates to equipment maybe ever? Playground, mini golf and pool areas were very dated and not well kept. We paid for the big cement site and we were 1 of maybe 4 of those type sites that had tiny site with a sliver of grass. So small we could not setup a easy-up tent. No Wifi
Aug 10, 2017
Our sewer was stopped up and spilled out on the ground. No arcade for our teens. It is a pretty place but since it was raining couldn't tube, then we found that tgere wasnt much there for teens.
Aug 09, 2017
the stay and staff were great , play ground equipment and pool slide needs cleaning , this will not keep us from coming back again
Aug 09, 2017
Too many restrictions. Employee told one out male members that he wasn't allowed to ride a female's bicycle, no kiddie poole
Aug 09, 2017
We love it there n great place for our kids to play n have fun n staff had been very friendly n helpful.
Aug 09, 2017
Very nice, friendly management. Very dissapointed however with them saying there's wi-fi. When we arrived on Sat management told us and everyone else the wi-fi was "spotty". I never did find that spot or anyone that had! Was in second site to office. There's NO WI-FI!
Aug 09, 2017
We had a great time!!!
Aug 09, 2017
This KOA was amazing! The RV sites are very spacious and well kept so you don't feel like you are right on top of your neighbors like some other campgrounds. There is always something going on or something to do so you don't even have to leave the campground if you don't want to. Our granddaughters loved the DJ Dance party on Saturday night. The staff was wonderful to deal with and eager to help.
Aug 09, 2017
Unable to reserve specific sites for family group, broken pools/slide, broken vending machines, arcade out of order, broken sewer pipes, dog bit my daughter, dogs running loose thru park, guests reprimanded for riding bikes of differing gender, poor check in customer service, bike/golf cart parking area near pool not accessible by bidirectional traffic, and light required on stroller after dark
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award