Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

RV Reviews

Aug 29, 2015
Amazing KOA! Friendly staff, lots of amenities, great area, clean campground and AWESOME sites!
Aug 28, 2015
JoAnn Perez was awesome to us. If everyone was like her, we would gave given 5 stars! Some other ladies at the check in desk were less than friendly and helpful and kind. They were rather quite rude.
Aug 27, 2015
Wonderful campground. May visit again,
Aug 27, 2015
The Cherokee camp is beautiful, quiet, clean and friendly. We were parked in a nice spot shaded by large trees, so that we didn't even have to extend our awning. I loved the airy and sunny indoor pool.
Aug 26, 2015
Aug 25, 2015
For the price ($66.14 per night),some serious upgrades and improvements are necessary. Bath house #2 for ladies is a disgrace. Chunks of tiles gone and many tiles broken. Roads need to be repaved due to numerous potholes and uneven pavement. Wi-Fi greatly improved from last year. Let's hope the rest of the campground gets some much needed improvements before too much longer.
Aug 25, 2015
We had a great time as usual. Joann was extremely helpful with the reservation and the activities.
Aug 24, 2015
We were put on a site that was covered with roots. I have had two hip replacements and was afraid to walk in front of the camper. We moved to another site and found that the sewage drain was broken, moved lines to another one, had difficulty draining - it was stopped up, was assisted by one of your attendants to drain sewage - he agreed there was a problem with the drain.
Aug 24, 2015
This was our second week this year and we absolutely LOVE IT. We come every year and will continue. The only thing that we did not enjoy was having to leave. We would LOVE to work for this place.
Aug 24, 2015
Aug 23, 2015
It would have been nice, with you knowing why we picked the sites we picked, that dredging was going on. Quite a disappointment. We LOVE the staff, especially Dean and Halil. We had a great time despite the black tube. Also a shame the staff harassed us and didn't believe we had two sites. Actually sent someone to follow up the next day...who profusely apologized. Not worth what we paid but.
Aug 23, 2015
Our 1st time camping with all the kids & we had a fabulous time! Can't wait for our next visit. See you all real soon!
Aug 23, 2015
The staff was awesome. I had a problem with my tailgate on my truck he had tools that I could fix it in about 5 minutes. Thank you so much.
Aug 23, 2015
Campground and facilities were very nice. Highly disappointed with wifi was never able to use it.beautiful area
Aug 23, 2015
Friendly, helpful staff. Clean and plentiful showers and restrooms. Loved the amenities such as the pools, the tubing, and especially the dog run and kennel as GSMNP is not particularly dog friendly.
Aug 22, 2015
Clean,friendly,well run. Will be back.
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 20, 2015
Great for kids, friendly staff, clean facilites, and nice location. Would love to go back very soon!
Aug 19, 2015
Your campground was great. Nestled so very close to Smoky Mountain National Park. Very friendly workers in all aspects of their jobs. The campground was clean. It was great that you offered free shuttle service to Cherokee and for when we went horseback riding in the Park. We would certainly recommend your campground to our family & friends. And if we ever visit the area again, we will stay there.
Aug 19, 2015
I feel the video of this camp ground is very misleading.We watched the video,ooked at the camp ground map before our visit to select our sites,We chose the river rv premium back-in sites 218,219 and 220. What a huge disappointment when we get there and our premium river site in no more then a little trickling steam.Spoke with Jo Ann,from the office and was told sorry for your luck.
Aug 19, 2015
We were only here for a day but very nice spacious and staff was very friendly and helpful.
Aug 18, 2015
The front desk folk,especilly Jill, keeps us coming back again and again. Don,Maintenance, was very helpful.
Aug 18, 2015
Bathhouse needs updated ,price is high for the area there are campgrounds in the same area for a fraction of the price.
Aug 18, 2015
It was very very nice and very clean place and the bath house was very clean
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
The place itself it is beautiful, spacious and clean.In the downside some of the staff need some work on their customer service skills and professionalism. Overall had a great time but was a bit disappointed that we wanted to stay for an additional day and had booked to go back in November but decided to cancel due to the attitude and rudeness of some staff members.
Aug 18, 2015
Nice place very very expensive but fishing ponds were close,I asked & nobody told me that.! The other pond had a sign say ponds were to warm for fish. After the 4 of us paid $80.00 for fishing licenses. Pool closes way to early for adults. Cable was bad. Some rude employees! We had a nice stay but spent $400 camping for 3 nights!!
Aug 17, 2015
Been cmng here 20+yrs. Raised my sons here every sir, their entire childhd. They are grown w/own children Now. Always came in late may but couldn't this year and waited until this specific week for a spot towards the back and on the river. Arrived and was told my spot was the first spot, on the creek, and by the bouncy area. NOT suitable for a 54 yr old there to relax. Also not happy with constant
Aug 17, 2015
Great family campground!
Aug 17, 2015
we had a wonderful time and all the children loved it. we were there with our grand daughter and faimlies to send her off to collage with some great memories .hope to visit lots more times
Aug 17, 2015
Park was clean, staff friendly somewhat pricey. Overall enjoyed our stay.
Aug 17, 2015
Great campground! Game room needs some help.
Aug 17, 2015
The nicest KOA I have ever been in.
Aug 17, 2015
Staff is rude.
Aug 17, 2015
Excellent facility with extremely friendly staff. We suited for the family. We enjoyed ourselves very much and will come back.
Aug 17, 2015
Nice clean campground! Don't feel trash trucks have to come every day! That definitely drives up cost. The pillow pad needs to be supervised by parents.
Aug 16, 2015
The staff really work hard keeping the camp grounds and facilities clean and nice. The staff are friendly, and very helpful. Really nice camp.
Aug 16, 2015
Aug 16, 2015
This is one of the best KOA that we have been at. A lot to do and everyone was real friendly. We went every where and the KOA was a great place to come back to after a day of sightseeing.
Aug 16, 2015
Front desk poorly organized and understaffed. Wifi lousy.With todays technology not much excuse for this.
Aug 16, 2015
Best KOA we've seen, for folks with kids. We called from a nearby casino to reserve a spot. Would have stayed at the casino till time for bed, but was told the camp would provide a shuttle "At any time" to the casino and pick me up at 10:00pm. Went to camp at 4:00. Told no ride till 6:00, and last ride home 8:30 (twenty minute ride each way)Good place to sleep. Should have stayed at the casino.
Aug 15, 2015
We had a wonderful week at this KOA. The staff was very friendly and attentive. Planning a family reunion here next year. Beautiful campground!
Aug 15, 2015
We just got married and came up to stay in our camper for a week on the way up my husband called the campground to make sure we where going the right way lady on the phone was very rude and hung up on him in the middle of asking a question so I kindly called back and ask for the manager and explained that the lady we talked too was rude and they apologized but never had a employee be so hateful
Aug 14, 2015
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the KOA Cherokee. Everyone wad super nice and the facility was top notch! Our campsite was excellent, we will see you again soon!
Aug 14, 2015
After reading so many of the negative reviews, I almost made reservations somewhere else. But, I am glad I did not. We had a wonderful experience...the staff was extremely helpful and friendly and the entire grounds were well taken care of. Almost no road noise, tons of amenities and a great experience all around. The only downer was that it is a full 1-1/2 hour drive to Asheville. We will go back
Aug 13, 2015
Great place for family fun and nice people. Will be back.
Aug 12, 2015
Clean park. Beautiful view. Poor WiFi. Poor WiFi. Poor WiFi. Location is poor as you are an hour to an hour and a half away from anything worth doing. Some staff were great while others were rude. They did refund when we left early so that is a plus. But we will never return to this park but would probably stay on the other side of mountain in pigeon forge. Very disappointed complete waste of vac
Aug 12, 2015
Very large campsite with a lot of things to do in a good location. Was very busy on the day we arrived and little notice was being taken of the capsite rules.
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
Wonderful camp ground bathrooms clean and beautiful. Site very nice.would stay there anytime
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.