Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Camp for $10 on May 9!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

RV Reviews

Apr 16, 2015
We enjoyed the friendly staff and clean grounds. We will visit this campground again!
Apr 16, 2015
It was Great everything I expeced
Apr 16, 2015
Beautiful area OFFICE needs training of area and phone calls
Apr 15, 2015
Had a great spring break with our kiddos! Thanks for providing such a clean and fun campground! We will be back!
Apr 14, 2015
GOOD........
Apr 13, 2015
This was the 3rd time we have stayed with you. The campground is always nice and clean. I love the activities that are available for kids to do. We will be back.
Apr 13, 2015
The workers were all very nice and helpful, lots for the kids to do. Clean bathhouses.
Apr 13, 2015
I would rate five stars however the indoor pool was taken over by bigger kids without supervision. Making t for little kids they weren't able to play. The kids were throwing a ball back and forth very hard trying to hit one another. I'd like to see a staff person occasionally coming in to check on behavior. This is now a second time this has happened we have camped there at least 3 times.
Apr 13, 2015
Great place to stay - Definitely our choice for the Cherokee area Only one major complaint & that is with the wifi connections - Lots of work needed there !!!
Apr 13, 2015
The campground was awesome! There were fun things for the entire family to enjoy. It was also very clean and kept!
Apr 13, 2015
Great staff,beautiful view,roads and bath houses could use some attention. I will be back later this year.
Apr 13, 2015
If you have an issue, they will resolve it quickly and professionally! Very friendly staff! Coming back next month!
Apr 13, 2015
Like this koa already have Rsv for more stays this year including month of October,however I feel the streets need repaving more attention to water system and grounds upkeep
Apr 13, 2015
THE CAMP GROUND WAS CLEAN AND THE STAFF WAS GREAT. THE THING THAT WE DIDN'T LIKE IS THAT THEY CLOSED THE POOL DOWN AT 8PM INSTEAD OF 10PM LIKE MOST PLACES.
Apr 13, 2015
Our 3 yr old had a great time at the playground and jumping pillow. We enjoyed fishing but came up empty handed. Everything was enjoyable but compared to other campgrounds, I didn't find the staff overly personable or friendly. They weren't rude, but didn't wave, smile, etc when you passed them or encountered them except at sign in/check in.
Apr 13, 2015
I was overall pleased with the price and amenities provided by the staff. The only issue was the wifi. It took forever to connect to my devices and then it was very slow to load apps.
Apr 12, 2015
our cable didn't work at our site. construction on new cabins was annoying in the early morning hours.
Apr 12, 2015
Very nice, clean campground. Beautiful campground with creek and ponds. Nice indoor pool and things for kids to do. Staff was very friendly and helpful!
Apr 12, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay and regret we could not stay longer. even for a KOA it was clean and neat. We hope to return again this summer so we can enjoy all the amenities that were not open yet.Everyone was very courteous and pleasant toward us. . looking forward to returning soon.
Apr 11, 2015
Apr 11, 2015
Apr 10, 2015
Great as always.
Apr 09, 2015
Nice camp site. Management was excellent. Went out of there way to make us happy.
Apr 08, 2015
Great campground ,clean restrooms,return trip planned
Apr 08, 2015
We like going to the Cherokee KOA because of the relaxed feeling of the place, all there is to do and the friendly people like Ms. Mary!!! A++++
Apr 07, 2015
Apr 07, 2015
This was our 2nd time here. We really the campground,the staff,things to do on site. The bathhouse & laundry facility were Clean and nice. Cable had improved with the amount of channels. Only draw back is there is no cell service.not their fault, but the Wi-Fi was TERRIBLE. We Were not able to connect but a handful of times, and get booted. Family couldn't contact us.
Apr 07, 2015
Campground was nice just needed some attention to bath houses&restrooms. The biggest complaint we have is the lack of general information from staff. We asked several staff members simple questions like the pool hours or info about fishing licenses and no one could give us a straight answer. I would think the pool hours would be very simple to relay and actually would be posted but they weren't.
Apr 07, 2015
ENJOYED OUR STAY. REAL NICE CAMPGROUND.
Apr 06, 2015
I would give them 5 stars if they would re pave the roads in the campground and two trees that need trimed. So RVs can make the turn.
Apr 06, 2015
Apr 06, 2015
Very nice CG. Staff friendly and helpful, grounds clean and tidy, amenities for the kids with bounce pillow, indoor and outdoor pool, put-put (free), banana bike rentals (5$ an hour), fish pond and the river right beside CG. As parents of 4 teens all these amenities are great for parents to be able to relax. Pet friendly with small dog run.Camped in a 43ft fifth wheel in a site backed into river.
Apr 06, 2015
Apr 05, 2015
Very nice site for C class RV. Staff very friendly and helpful. Our first stay at a KOA. We will make sure we consider KOA for future trips.
Apr 05, 2015
Always enjoyed the fishing tournament until this year. Saw no tagged fish at all nor were they stocked the day of the tournament. Don't know if we will participate again. Very disappointing
Apr 04, 2015
This was our first stay at a KOA. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Beautiful campground located in a beautiful area. We spend most of our time in Gatlinburg, but chose Cherokee KOA due to its indoor pool, which our two kids loved. Bathrooms were clean and updated. We can definitely see ourselves going back, as well as recommending this campground to friends and family.
Apr 03, 2015
While we were shopping in town we had a limb fall from a tree and pierce a hole in the top of our camper. We were forced to shorten our stay for fear rain would leak into the hole further damaging our camper. No one in charge at the KOA took time to check on us to see if we needed any help. We talked with several people who worked at the campground and they already knew what had happened.
Apr 02, 2015
we have a seasonal sight. we love it there. can't wait to be there again. Brian Fosteer
Apr 02, 2015
Great location, we will be back . The campsites along the river are The best campsite ever!! Could stand to have longer hours at camp store and more people to serve you
Apr 02, 2015
Beautiful campground. We were there pre-season and the camp store hours were really short (closed at 6) so that was a pain. Nice and knowledgable staff.
Apr 01, 2015
stay all the time love the place and the people are great
Apr 01, 2015
Great campground and amenities. Family of 4 had a great time. Will be back. They are very strict about 10pm quiet time and stay away from HWY 19 it is all down hill wish I had known that based on the directions given from the website. All it says is not recommend, know I understand brakes went out on my RV and it almost got bad take the alternate route. Staff was great and bathrooms were clean
Apr 01, 2015
Everything outside the office was great.Customer service was pitiful! reserving the site CSR was told GPS being used-during travel called cmpgrd british CSR said not a local couldnt help us find cmpgrd-when bill paid asked for membrshp-told no cause didnt do @ sign in. we didnt know then. counter CSRs ruined trip-not at all helpful-changed our opinion of KOA's! WAS OUR 1st & LAST VISIT @ KOA!
Mar 30, 2015
We love this place. The beauty that surrounds this Campground along with the awesome sounds of that river makes this campground one of favorite destinations. bathrooms and Laundry rooms are very clean. Store well stocked. Pool areas clean. Needs improvement in the game room. Some of the paved roads need repair from all the pot holes. A second Jump Pillow would be nice in the back area
Mar 30, 2015
Only thing that was a problem was about 11 pm to 1pm . Camper pull in beside us and keep sutting doors almost call about this . Maybe need to put something in checkin in the middle of night campers paper work thanks
Mar 29, 2015
Camp here a lot friendly and helpful staff.very clean campground Thank you.
Mar 26, 2015
Only downside was the indoor pool and hot tub closed early.
Mar 25, 2015
What a great place to stay. Facilities are without equal and the employees do their best (and it is wonderful) to make our stay perfect.
Mar 23, 2015
We had a great time on our first getaway weekend of the season. Kids loved the jumping pillow, indoor pool, playground and of course riding their bikes. Staff was incredibly helpful. The only negative was the condition of the grounds. I hope that when camping is more in-season that the appearance of the putt putt course, chess set and inner campsites will be well maintained.
Mar 23, 2015
Reservation was bad; did not want or need electric or water, but was given a full RV site. Arrived after 5:30 PM (office closed at 5) and left before 11:00 AM (when office opens) so no contact with the staff to fix problem with reservation. Office staff called to sort it out later and fix MOST of the issues.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.