Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

RV Reviews

Jul 25, 2015
Love this koa. Only two things that I feel need attention, the roads between the deluxe sites need to be repaved and when they cut grass pick up the clippings they blow them all over your camper and anything sitting around having a grass catcher is not that hard. But other than those two area's everything else was great staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jul 25, 2015
Beautiful location. Exceptionally quiet even filled with children. Restrooms were clean however the showers were either cold or luke warm. Shuttle bus is useful but only goes into Cherokee and not always reliable. Lots of activities, great little store, very friendly staff. Loved the concrete flat pads, not too close to neighbor. Nice pools. Lovely stay.
Jul 25, 2015
Great experience. Grounds and facilities were immaculate, and all of your staff, without exception, were helpful, courteous, and professional.
Jul 23, 2015
Friendly helpful staff, clean camp ground.
Jul 23, 2015
Awesome
Jul 22, 2015
Enjoyed our stay
Jul 22, 2015
This was the best campground we've ever stayed at. We had our grand kids and they LOVED it! The staff was the best! Everything was perfect. Thanks for a GREAT TIME.
Jul 22, 2015
We purchased our1st camper 3 weeks ago and were trying it out for the first time. Koa was recommended by a friend who uses it quite often so we decided to try it out we were not disappointed Our experience was great and we will be using it in the near future.
Jul 22, 2015
The reason for the rating is because the park did not require that parents control their kids. It is dangerous to walk through the park with kids racing their bikes virtually at all times. Nice park but needs to control the kids.
Jul 22, 2015
Very nice kampground with plenty to do for the kids!
Jul 21, 2015
Nice and clean with a lot to do around the campground but products in the store were very expensive so bring all u may need
Jul 21, 2015
Awesome place. They really go above to make sure that you are having fun. If I had to say anything is that with no cell service the WiFI should be a lot better. Great stay, see you next year or sooner.
Jul 21, 2015
As much as it costs to stay here there should be curb side trash pick up. Please do not advertise you have wi fi when it does not even connect.
Jul 21, 2015
Only complaint is no phone service. I am more and more dependent on my cell phone, so I just wish there was service there.
Jul 21, 2015
had a good time. Bathrooms could use better cleaning.
Jul 21, 2015
We usually love this campground but our last stay wasnt the greatest. One of the guest service employees wasn't friendly, at all, upon arrival and check in. Our campsite was FULL of cigarette butts that my small children constantly wanted to pick up. Lastly, it was very loud late into the night due to rambunctious teens roaming the campground (which I know is out of your control).
Jul 21, 2015
Loved all of the amenities and activities. A great camping destination for families with children. We enjoyed the smoked pork dinner! It was lip smackin'!
Jul 20, 2015
Extremely expensive, no phone reception, WIFI was up and down everyday, fire-pit was to close to neighbors truck and our awning, our lot was small, I felt cramped.
Jul 20, 2015
We had a great time. The sites were level and clean. The bath house was also very nice. Can't wait to visit again!!
Jul 20, 2015
Would have been a 10 out of 10 and 5 stars if the WiFi had worked as advertised. These sites are not exactly cheap and there is no excuse not to have a usable Wifi system considering that cost. Everyone I met had the same complaint about the Wifi. When we asked the front desk about the problem here was no real explanation offered. This issue should have been thought out better on KOA's end.
Jul 20, 2015
OUR STAY OVERALL WAS VERY NICE. THE ONLY PROBLEM WE HAD WAS THE TRAILOR NEXT TO US, WHICH WAS OCCUPIED BY KOA EMPLOYEES, HAD OTHER KOA EMPLOYEES POUNDING ON THEIR DOOR AT MIDNITE. LACK OF SLEEP MAKES A 7 HOUR RIDE HOME SEEM LIKE A LOT LONGER.
Jul 20, 2015
Staff very friendly.
Jul 20, 2015
We were very taken about by the welcome we received upon arrival. After a 9 hour drive in a 28ft motor home, we were greeted by an older gentlemen with headset very rudely. He should not check in late arrivals...last thing you need that late is someone very rude. Rest of the staff, just lovely
Jul 20, 2015
My family had a great visit with this KOA campground. They have a lot of activities but we decided to tube for the most part. The tubes were high quality and they offer shuttle rides for long tube trips.
Jul 20, 2015
Great stay but real expensive 75.00 a night high for camping.
Jul 20, 2015
Analog cable TV, broken water stand pipe. Very crowded and no place to park the MH and go into the store on check out. Other than those few things, we were happy.
Jul 20, 2015
My kids loved it! Lots of good bike riding. The bath houses needed to be cleaned more often.
Jul 19, 2015
Site 269 should be a parking spot for a cabin the site was recently was Site 269 should be a parking space for cabins. The sewer inlet is 11" above the ground. Water continues to leak underground and site of excavation was not even leveled. what about a refund??
Jul 19, 2015
We enjoyed every minute at Cherokee. Staff is fabulous , helpful, and everything was clean and so well kept. I'd go back any time I could.
Jul 19, 2015
Well maintained. Good level concrete sites. Very convenient to the GSMNP but a little remote to everything else. Limited cell service (voice only) and wi-fi was slow and unreliable.
Jul 19, 2015
Our first KOA stay, and the first time I've been in a campground in 40 years. We were very pleased and hope to come back.
Jul 18, 2015
we enjoy the park and the staff great place to camp and set back and relax see you next Sept 2016
Jul 18, 2015
Great place if you have kids or grand kids, lots for them to do.
Jul 18, 2015
Loved it
Jul 18, 2015
Very nice campground. Kid friendly, don't go unless you really like kids everywhere. Grand kids had a blast. Bath house, pools, fishing, etc. really nice. Internet and Verizon cell did not work. In 3 days I only hooked to the internet once but, it would not do anything. No internet and phone but, the rest was great.
Jul 18, 2015
This was our second visit. My husband was disappointed that it was too hot for trout fishing but we enjoyed the pool and shopping. The first campsite given to us was too muddy for us to use and we were allowed to move to another much better site. The bathrooms/showers were really nice. Also the laundry room (and the prices for laundry were good too). They had a DJ there on Saturday night and it
Jul 18, 2015
Everyone was so helpful when our tent took on water with the terrible storms in the area!! They saved our vacation by moving us to an available cabin which allowed us to continue our vacation rather than packing up and going home!! The services they provided for arranging activities in the surrounding areas and then the shuttle service and employees we worked with were all awesome!!
Jul 17, 2015
The campground and location was very nice but Wi-Fi did not work throughout.That was a major problem as we had a hard time planning nearby activities and routes.There was one person at the front desk that was quite rude on several occasions.It would have also been helpful if there was a note on the website, or when we made reservations about not using gps routes through the mountains with an rv.
Jul 17, 2015
Absolutely loved our stay at the Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA! Already booked for another week!
Jul 17, 2015
Staff office people are rude. We want to bring our grankids kids with us but the staff told us no tent on rv site. So we are looking for other camp grounds to take our kids in a tent so they can be all together
Jul 17, 2015
Grounds are beautiful! Wifi stinks, no cellphone service, (not your fault, but counts in rating), bathrooms should be <5 in Good Sam ratings.
Jul 16, 2015
We had a great time here! It's a beautiful location and the staff are wonderful. The only reason I didn't give it a full 5 stars is because of the lack of cell phone service and the very limited internet. If you just want to unplug, this is the place to be!
Jul 16, 2015
It was great
Jul 15, 2015
clean and friendly,I would recommend to everyone.
Jul 15, 2015
The only thing I missed was no street lights at nite....soooo dark
Jul 14, 2015
Had a great time. The campground was very clean. The workers were very helpful and went above and beyond their duties to make sure you enjoyed everything. The kids really enjoyed the activities there.
Jul 14, 2015
Nice campground but a little pricey. Lots of activities for children, roads/streets need a little maintenance.
Jul 14, 2015
Jul 14, 2015
Excellent campground very clean big sites been coming here 22 years and plan on coming back 22 more years. The staff is all very friendly and will help any way they can
Jul 14, 2015
The campground is very large with sparse trees. We had a campsite toward the rear of the campground with no trees. $75 for the site seemed a little stiff.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.