Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 27, 2016
A bit more expensive than most KOA campgrounds for a tenter that wants electricity. The place is well cared for and clean.
Aug 26, 2016
One of t.he top parks I have stayed at.
Aug 26, 2016
Cherokee KOA is the nicest KOA that I've stayed in. I've been in several, in 18 states, in the past three months. Excellent layout. Plenty of room. We stayed on a premium lot with stone patio, patio furniture, and paved parking.
Aug 24, 2016
CABLE BARELY WORKED FOR PART OF THE STAY. THE WI-FI CONNECTION EVEN AT THE HOT-SPOTS WAS TERRIBLE. PRICES SHOULD BE LOWER DUE TO THESE TWO THINGS THEY ADVERTISE AND CHARGE FOR. THE CAMPGROUND AND WORKERS WERE NICE. THERE WERE LOTS OF ACTIVITIES THAT YOU COULD ACCESS THROUGH THE KOA, THAT JUST ISN'T WHAT WE WENT THERE FOR.
Aug 24, 2016
Great place to camp one of the best
Aug 24, 2016
Great. The grandkids loved it.
Aug 24, 2016
Drove 3 hours for a 3 day stay only to find out that the fishing tournament had been cancel. Could have had better communications.
Aug 23, 2016
Great place to stay, people was very nice and helpful.
Aug 23, 2016
We love the campground the workers are great.
Aug 23, 2016
This was the best vacation we've had as a family! Great facilities and plenty to keep the kids entertained!!
Aug 23, 2016
Things were fine except, only one night with cable , the water was low pressure and frost free water valve would not close all the way off, other than that things were fine,
Aug 22, 2016
Had a great time at the Cherokee koa, we had a beautiful concrete riverside camp site. We did river tubing which was provided by the campgrounds for a small fee. The indoor and outdoor pool and hot tub were very nice. Now the downside, if you are bringing a dog, the k9 playground is very small and is just a fenced area, and the arcade is very dated and several of the games did not work properly.
Aug 22, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
Everyone was very nice and we had a nice site.
Aug 22, 2016
We had a nice stay. I have suggested before about having the names for each street located at the end of each street. Also, the need of street lights a night. I have to walk my dog after dark and have to have a flashlight to just to see where I am going, so I will not trip or fall on the unlevel areas in the streets. The park was nice and clean, and your employees were really nice.
Aug 22, 2016
We have stayed with y'all several times before and have always been very pleased.but it seemed like the grill wasn't as good as before. But overall the campground was very clean and the staff very pleasant
Aug 22, 2016
WE HAD A RELAXING TIME, THE RAIN KEPT US FROM ENJOYING ALL OF THE AMENTIES OF THE CAMPGROUND
Aug 22, 2016
we luv the place
Aug 21, 2016
Very nice KOA
Aug 21, 2016
Beautiful campground, clean facilities. Super friendly staff. Only 2 things that did not like, we were squeezed into a tiny hookup between a cabin and a large RV when there were other riveside hookups that were much quieter and empty. The second thing is the fact that there are long term campers there made it look like a trailor park and not a campground in some areas.
Aug 20, 2016
Very nice campground, well kept and all staff members were courteous and very helpful. However, KOA as a corporation should seriously consider making their properties smoke free. My wife and I could not sit outside halfway through our stay because the neighboring campsite was occupied by several smokers. The whole concept of enjoying the outdoors ruined by the constant cloud of cigarette smoke.
Aug 19, 2016
Aug 19, 2016
like the improvements at Cherokee. front pull through camper sights need to redone and leveled. awesome stay
Aug 18, 2016
Aug 18, 2016
Aug 18, 2016
Great, loved it.
Aug 18, 2016
Always a great time.
Aug 18, 2016
Everyone that worked there was super nice!
Aug 17, 2016
bathrooms have needed to be worked on for 10 years
Aug 17, 2016
The surrounding area was beautiful with everything in Cherokee nearby KOA to include the other great city, Bryson City to tour.
Aug 17, 2016
Everything was great!
Aug 17, 2016
Had a great time.Clean,friendly people,loved the recreation.Enjoyed the rest,and the trees.Felt very peaceful.
Aug 17, 2016
We had a great stay and can't wait to do it again
Aug 16, 2016
Fantastic!!! But they should have told us they were not stocking the ponds before that took my money for a 3 day fishing license!!!
Aug 16, 2016
Great family FUN!
Aug 16, 2016
We came to fish and tube they could have let us know they was not stocking did since July and we wouldn't have wasted $300 because this is why we came for our kids to fish
Aug 15, 2016
We had a nice spot next to the river/stream. Very nice indoor & outdoor pool. Nice pizzas at the grill.
Aug 15, 2016
It was a wonderful, clean, safe, family oriented campground with lots of amenities. We loved our stay and are looking forward to making it an annual trip. Thanks KOA!!!!
Aug 15, 2016
We had fun and there are lots of activities. Thank you for being helpful.
Aug 15, 2016
My son wanted to camp for his 6th birthday. None of us had camped for nearly 20 years so we felt like this would be a great way to ease into it. All of us had a great time and Jamie had a very special birthday.
Aug 15, 2016
Great place for families and especially for children.
Aug 15, 2016
- Price toooo HIGH - Lady at Desk very rude to previous customer , made me wait 15 minutes, then another lady stepped up. Placed me a flooded site, when there were at least 6 other nice sites around me open all weekend. Had major water leak on my water input, ATtendant finally placed a KOA hose to next open site after flooding my spot. DID not get what I paid for. Note: extra tie dye shirts nic
Aug 15, 2016
Only drawback was some of the activities weren't well planned. Marshmallow roast was from 7-9pm, but when we arrived at 7:25pm our child was told that they ran out of marshmallows and it was first come, first serve. Also, arrived for the popsicle social on time, and waited and waited...no popsicles at all. Children were disappointed again. The amenities are awesome though.
Aug 15, 2016
Great sites, staff is very friendly.
Aug 15, 2016
Aug 15, 2016
Campground activities and pools were very nice and clean. My kids had a blast. RV septic was clogged and it to an hour and a half to dump gray water but maintenance staff was available at my request to help with this issue.
Aug 14, 2016
Very disappointed in the maintenance of the grounds. Some guy Mike dug up the lawns mowing in circles. However restrooms were much improved. We have been enjoying your Cherokee for years!
Aug 14, 2016
We stayed with 2 small kids and fellt very welcome. The team was friendly and helpfull. Donnie gave us good ideas about things to do with the kids. The taxi-service to the Outdoor Drama was perfect too! We had a spot for our RV at the river which was beautifull and had shade. The perfect family KOA!! Thanks to the team.
Aug 14, 2016
Wonderful stay in the South Great Smokey Mountains National Park. The only minor problem was the internet connection. It was not always available from site 5 which was directly across from the main office.
Aug 13, 2016
This is one of our favorite campgrounds. Nice bath houses and great amenities for the kids with the pool, tubing, bouncy pad, etc.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award