Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

RV Reviews

Jul 01, 2015
Kids love it as well as we do awesome staff thanks to Miles and Terri for treating us like family
Jul 01, 2015
Great place, kids loved it, and we will come back again. Hopefully WiFi access will improve soon.
Jul 01, 2015
Always fun to visit. Has friendly staff and always clean. Wifi has not worked last three visits. Our space was considered a deluxe spot yet not wide enough to extend awning and have a campfire....somewhat disappointed.
Jul 01, 2015
Jun 30, 2015
Our favorite campground in the Smokies.We started in the late 70's, early 80's and continue to come. The new management has a good handle on how to run a campground and continues to make improvements every year. We are "young" seniors and come up in the Spring and Fall. Great place for families and seniors of all ages.
Jun 30, 2015
Sites are small, desk people at the recreation center seemed rude/annoyed when I wanted to book a rafting trip. overall good experience.
Jun 29, 2015
Love the campground, the only issue we had was the indoor pool had a slimy feeling to it.
Jun 29, 2015
Absolutely awesome camping trip! Our boys, 7 and 9, were on could nine the whole time with the activities. Will never stay anywhere else when visiting Cherokee.
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 29, 2015
we had a wonderful time , excellent staff, well maintained park, bathrooms were very clean.. great stay,, we will be back next year ..
Jun 29, 2015
Awesome campground!
Jun 29, 2015
Internet does not work period never has! Fishing ponds were being drained would have been nice to know that before buying license in KOA store we keep going back but could be great with some changes
Jun 29, 2015
Water was a little too low for tubing and the trout ponds were not stocked for fishing. The only real disappointment was the bath house nearest or site was trashed twice by somebody; no fault of the campground and was cleaned immediately upon notification.
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 29, 2015
Best KOA I ever stayed at.
Jun 29, 2015
A lady named Jo Ann. A Brunette middle age. Almost ruined my visit. First let me say this is one of our favorite Koa. We join about 15 campers there around thanksgiving for a reuion of a family who can't bear having regular this giving due to tragic death. Jo Ann yelled at me to get my dog out unless it was a service dog. She needs lessons on how not to embarrass her guest and correct them kindl
Jun 28, 2015
We had a great time. There were plenty of fun things for the kids to do at the campground. This campground is close to a lot of area attractions that are fun for the whole family. Tubing and fishing in the river were a lot of fun. This was our second consecutive year camping here and we will be back.
Jun 28, 2015
Great camp ground. A little expensive compared to others & no cell phone service makes it somewhat inconvenient.
Jun 28, 2015
Very friendly staff. Always there to help if needed. All venues were clean and in working order. Will probably visit again next year.
Jun 27, 2015
It was fantastic...Will be back next year.
Jun 27, 2015
Jun 27, 2015
I picked site close to pool big mistake very noisy. Renting banana bike was a bust.They keep air pressure low for some reason they think it will save tire ware. OK for a lite weight but for a 200 lb man its makes for a hard ride.
Jun 27, 2015
Sites too crowded Nice updated baths Wifi didn't barely worked Too pricey
Jun 27, 2015
Very friendly staff. Lots of activities on site and nearby. Cell phone service is not available but the wifi is fast for email and text.
Jun 26, 2015
No internet, poor poor cable TV, Way over priced. Will not stay their again !
Jun 26, 2015
The wifi sucks but we keep coming back. It's called camping.. better wifi gets you 5-stars.
Jun 26, 2015
Just too expensive!
Jun 26, 2015
I have been coming to koa Cherokee for 10 years or so, it has changed a little bit. The atmosphere is a bit different and the staff surely not as friendly, with exception of a few. Tammy and Mack were great! Tammy checked with us on several occasions. Mr. Mack let me use a ladder. Caroline? Light red hair at the desk was very rude to me on two separate occasions, sarcastic, and laughed at me once.
Jun 24, 2015
Very friendly staff...kids had a blast! Extremely accommodating. ..will be back!
Jun 24, 2015
Rules on line vs campground differ and a day after arival we were forced to leave due to being told that a screen tent that we use to store outside items were not allowed. I have stayed with Koa for 15 years but after this issue as well as others within the business side of Koa. I find thar koa is no longer friendly towards the camping community and will never use nor recommend Koa to campers.
Jun 24, 2015
The only thing I have problem with is going up on prices.Thats a big jump from $10.00 to $25.00 for late check out.The bathrooms and roads need to be redone.
Jun 23, 2015
Cherokee KOA will be a yearly or bi-yearly destination. The staff goes way above and beyond what is required to be good. That is why I always give them a great rating.
Jun 23, 2015
We had a fantastic time! The pool was inviting, the grounds were clean and lush. We couldn't have been happier.
Jun 23, 2015
This is one of our favorite campgrounds. We also don't mind not having cell phone service. However, the wifi needs some serious upgrading. Some of us still work or need to do school work and cannot with the wifi speed here. Only down fall.
Jun 23, 2015
We loved it! Our grandkids had so much available to do. Everyone was so helpful! Food was very good at the cafe. Only problem we had was the very limited cell & internet service. When you are running a business away from home and have elderly parent, it's important to be able to stay in touch. We have AT&T. I don't know if there is anything you can do to help that.
Jun 23, 2015
Of all of the campgrounds we have visited this campground is our absolute favorite! The staff, atmosphere, everything was just wonderful!! This is such a beautiful and fun campsite for everyone! We definitely will be back!
Jun 23, 2015
Had a Super Time!! Would DEFINITELY come back!!
Jun 23, 2015
Too many children on lo vechicles-dangerous driving.
Jun 22, 2015
Well maintained and big sites. Love this KOA. Look forward to my next visit. I wish WiFi worked better at my site.
Jun 22, 2015
Th only thing I would like is a much bigger pool area. Especially on weekends. Other than that everything was awesome. I LOVE THIS PLACE!!!!!
Jun 22, 2015
had a wonderful time, next time we will stay longer.
Jun 22, 2015
This is a awesome camping place nice staff and good fishing.
Jun 22, 2015
The site given to us was directly along the walk to the bath house. I understand that is sometimes the only site available. However, there were 4 sites next to us empty that would have been much more suitable because of bath house traffic.
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
My wife and I had great time We hated to leave
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
Kids loved it. Very clean. People were nice. Needs lifeguards. Outdoor pool is 8 feet deep and they depend on parents to watch their own children. No swim test to enter deep end. Very dangerous. Parents on deck considered "watching" their children even if they're half asleep and sunbathing. Won't concern you if you plan on being with your family while in the pool.
Jun 22, 2015
The lots were we were at were too small and very difficult for us to back our fifthwheel into. This is due to the fact that the people who stayed in the little cabins Parkes right along the campground road. The sites on the other side of the campground looked adequate for backing into.
Jun 22, 2015
Wonderful campground! Great times!
Jun 21, 2015
Some of the bath houses may need to be updated in the near future. The outdoor swimming pool seems to be a little small for the park. At times during the day it was very hecktic and crowded with too many people swimming and jumping in the pool. For the amount of sites and cabins in the park I feel that the outdoor pool is inaduquate for the amount of potential swimmers that may be at the pool
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.