Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Camp for $10 on May 9!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

RV Reviews

Apr 23, 2015
It was a very clean, quite campground. The workers were very helpful with info. about places to eat or shop. We didn't have children with us, but there would have been plenty for them to do if they were with us. The river beside us was nice and relaxing to listen to. We have camp here twice and we will be coming back.
Apr 20, 2015
excellent the campground is extremely well run and cared for. all the staff were so helpful and friendly
Apr 20, 2015
A suggestion, as much as I like and appreciate trees and a natural setting, the trees that hung over our coach made a huge mess of it and our awning. Even with an 800 mile trip home in the rain there is still tree droppings everywere. I will have a full day in cleaning it up. Otherwise excellent facility.
Apr 20, 2015
Excellent time with CMU Mini get together. Staff was VERY helpfull, Will be back but request sunny weather next time instead of rain. ;-)
Apr 20, 2015
Love this place! Only con is that the wifi is not good at all Perhaps an update would help.
Apr 20, 2015
need after dark security. ice chest bandits hit us twice in the week for adult beverages.
Apr 19, 2015
Indoor pool in October was great!
Apr 16, 2015
We enjoyed the friendly staff and clean grounds. We will visit this campground again!
Apr 16, 2015
It was Great everything I expeced
Apr 16, 2015
Beautiful area OFFICE needs training of area and phone calls
Apr 15, 2015
Had a great spring break with our kiddos! Thanks for providing such a clean and fun campground! We will be back!
Apr 14, 2015
GOOD........
Apr 13, 2015
This was the 3rd time we have stayed with you. The campground is always nice and clean. I love the activities that are available for kids to do. We will be back.
Apr 13, 2015
The workers were all very nice and helpful, lots for the kids to do. Clean bathhouses.
Apr 13, 2015
I would rate five stars however the indoor pool was taken over by bigger kids without supervision. Making t for little kids they weren't able to play. The kids were throwing a ball back and forth very hard trying to hit one another. I'd like to see a staff person occasionally coming in to check on behavior. This is now a second time this has happened we have camped there at least 3 times.
Apr 13, 2015
Great place to stay - Definitely our choice for the Cherokee area Only one major complaint & that is with the wifi connections - Lots of work needed there !!!
Apr 13, 2015
The campground was awesome! There were fun things for the entire family to enjoy. It was also very clean and kept!
Apr 13, 2015
Great staff,beautiful view,roads and bath houses could use some attention. I will be back later this year.
Apr 13, 2015
If you have an issue, they will resolve it quickly and professionally! Very friendly staff! Coming back next month!
Apr 13, 2015
Like this koa already have Rsv for more stays this year including month of October,however I feel the streets need repaving more attention to water system and grounds upkeep
Apr 13, 2015
THE CAMP GROUND WAS CLEAN AND THE STAFF WAS GREAT. THE THING THAT WE DIDN'T LIKE IS THAT THEY CLOSED THE POOL DOWN AT 8PM INSTEAD OF 10PM LIKE MOST PLACES.
Apr 13, 2015
Our 3 yr old had a great time at the playground and jumping pillow. We enjoyed fishing but came up empty handed. Everything was enjoyable but compared to other campgrounds, I didn't find the staff overly personable or friendly. They weren't rude, but didn't wave, smile, etc when you passed them or encountered them except at sign in/check in.
Apr 13, 2015
I was overall pleased with the price and amenities provided by the staff. The only issue was the wifi. It took forever to connect to my devices and then it was very slow to load apps.
Apr 12, 2015
our cable didn't work at our site. construction on new cabins was annoying in the early morning hours.
Apr 12, 2015
Very nice, clean campground. Beautiful campground with creek and ponds. Nice indoor pool and things for kids to do. Staff was very friendly and helpful!
Apr 12, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay and regret we could not stay longer. even for a KOA it was clean and neat. We hope to return again this summer so we can enjoy all the amenities that were not open yet.Everyone was very courteous and pleasant toward us. . looking forward to returning soon.
Apr 11, 2015
Apr 11, 2015
Apr 10, 2015
Great as always.
Apr 09, 2015
Nice camp site. Management was excellent. Went out of there way to make us happy.
Apr 08, 2015
Great campground ,clean restrooms,return trip planned
Apr 08, 2015
We like going to the Cherokee KOA because of the relaxed feeling of the place, all there is to do and the friendly people like Ms. Mary!!! A++++
Apr 07, 2015
Apr 07, 2015
This was our 2nd time here. We really the campground,the staff,things to do on site. The bathhouse & laundry facility were Clean and nice. Cable had improved with the amount of channels. Only draw back is there is no cell service.not their fault, but the Wi-Fi was TERRIBLE. We Were not able to connect but a handful of times, and get booted. Family couldn't contact us.
Apr 07, 2015
Campground was nice just needed some attention to bath houses&restrooms. The biggest complaint we have is the lack of general information from staff. We asked several staff members simple questions like the pool hours or info about fishing licenses and no one could give us a straight answer. I would think the pool hours would be very simple to relay and actually would be posted but they weren't.
Apr 07, 2015
ENJOYED OUR STAY. REAL NICE CAMPGROUND.
Apr 06, 2015
I would give them 5 stars if they would re pave the roads in the campground and two trees that need trimed. So RVs can make the turn.
Apr 06, 2015
Apr 06, 2015
Very nice CG. Staff friendly and helpful, grounds clean and tidy, amenities for the kids with bounce pillow, indoor and outdoor pool, put-put (free), banana bike rentals (5$ an hour), fish pond and the river right beside CG. As parents of 4 teens all these amenities are great for parents to be able to relax. Pet friendly with small dog run.Camped in a 43ft fifth wheel in a site backed into river.
Apr 06, 2015
Apr 05, 2015
Very nice site for C class RV. Staff very friendly and helpful. Our first stay at a KOA. We will make sure we consider KOA for future trips.
Apr 05, 2015
Always enjoyed the fishing tournament until this year. Saw no tagged fish at all nor were they stocked the day of the tournament. Don't know if we will participate again. Very disappointing
Apr 04, 2015
This was our first stay at a KOA. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Beautiful campground located in a beautiful area. We spend most of our time in Gatlinburg, but chose Cherokee KOA due to its indoor pool, which our two kids loved. Bathrooms were clean and updated. We can definitely see ourselves going back, as well as recommending this campground to friends and family.
Apr 03, 2015
While we were shopping in town we had a limb fall from a tree and pierce a hole in the top of our camper. We were forced to shorten our stay for fear rain would leak into the hole further damaging our camper. No one in charge at the KOA took time to check on us to see if we needed any help. We talked with several people who worked at the campground and they already knew what had happened.
Apr 02, 2015
we have a seasonal sight. we love it there. can't wait to be there again. Brian Fosteer
Apr 02, 2015
Great location, we will be back . The campsites along the river are The best campsite ever!! Could stand to have longer hours at camp store and more people to serve you
Apr 02, 2015
Beautiful campground. We were there pre-season and the camp store hours were really short (closed at 6) so that was a pain. Nice and knowledgable staff.
Apr 01, 2015
stay all the time love the place and the people are great
Apr 01, 2015
Great campground and amenities. Family of 4 had a great time. Will be back. They are very strict about 10pm quiet time and stay away from HWY 19 it is all down hill wish I had known that based on the directions given from the website. All it says is not recommend, know I understand brakes went out on my RV and it almost got bad take the alternate route. Staff was great and bathrooms were clean
Apr 01, 2015
Everything outside the office was great.Customer service was pitiful! reserving the site CSR was told GPS being used-during travel called cmpgrd british CSR said not a local couldnt help us find cmpgrd-when bill paid asked for membrshp-told no cause didnt do @ sign in. we didnt know then. counter CSRs ruined trip-not at all helpful-changed our opinion of KOA's! WAS OUR 1st & LAST VISIT @ KOA!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.