Benbow KOA

7000 Benbow Dr

Garberville, CA 95542

Reserve: 800-562-7518

Info: 707-923-2777

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 21, 2014
This KOA was waaaayyy over priced for the condition of the park and what was offered there. Paying $68 per night we were expecting on the level of San Diego KOA - boy were we disappointed that it was no way near this. Would not come back because of being overpriced.
Aug 20, 2014
It was sad that we were offered a really poor site in order to extend our stay. Realize that we need to make res early...this trip was just an extention of our Blue Lakes outing.
Aug 19, 2014
Great but men's showers need repair. Shower curtin came off wall.
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
An older, slightly run down park charging above average KOA rates simply because they have gold available.
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
The only problem we had was with ants in the cabin 15 min after we arrived our food was covered in ants in the bags we had left on the counter. We asked for ant traps and remote control for the bedroom TV and a roll away bed. They gave us a remote with no batteries and we had to wait 4 hours for the bed to be delivered and the batteries for the remote. The roll away bed had springs inside it.
Aug 15, 2014
Many upgrades for families with children, clean bathrooms and helpful staff. A little overuse of water with water park use. Could use better management with this. T
Aug 15, 2014
The golfing was fun. The new fenced basketball court is nice. If you are on the court by yourself, you don't have to chase after the basketball. The pull-through RV spots make it easy. The only drawback was that the jacuzzi was not working. This was one of the reasons we chose this spot. I heard that the part to be repaired came in, but I did not see anyone working on it. Overall - very good stay.
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
Desk clerk used my VK Rewards without my authorization and refused to correct the problem. Sewer connections are inadequate. Need to update to screw-in type rather than a hose clamp. Most RV parks are updating. Electrical wiring hanging down next to water faucet (hazard). Lots of highway noise. Street lights in front of RV spaces are much too bright at night. Over priced for what is offered.
Aug 13, 2014
The staff is very nice and the sites are spacious and clean. All sewage lines to connect to are left open if not connected to an rv- and we believe this is why we were overrun the entire trip with yellow jackets and more flies than we've ever seen. Bathrooms also dirty even right after seeing a staff member clean. While nice, staff had zero knowledge of avenue of giants and couldn't recomm
Aug 13, 2014
great campsite
Aug 13, 2014
Great facility with lots of opportunity for family fun. Still a lot of construction in parts of the campsite. The lighting fixture outside our site had lost its shade (broken) and was a not appealing.
Aug 13, 2014
The sewer dumps have 10 inch extensions that restrict flow and put a belly in your hose. You must drain by hand.Very lame
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Very Clean!!!! staff very wiling to help
Aug 12, 2014
A realy fun family park.
Aug 12, 2014
Folks at the front desk were friendly. Facility was near my ultimate destination. Showers were decent. Previous campers left bits of trash...I picked the litter up, it would have been nice if there were more trash cans.
Aug 12, 2014
The trees in the campground make the stay. Campground was also very clean. Thank you.
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Had a great time. Wish the coffee/media room was open. would have enjoyed it.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Great campground. All the amenities!
Aug 10, 2014
Poor sewer connection!!!
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
Clean park. Only a few 50 amp spots. Park needs an update.
Aug 10, 2014
We already have recommended. Nice clean, friendly and WOW what a pool and splash pad for the kids and adults to have fun on. will see you again.
Aug 10, 2014
Sewer system overflowed on me. Our site was priced very high when compared to other facilities we have stayed at with similar amenities.
Aug 10, 2014
We have been coming to his camp for 40 yrs. and will continue to plan this as one of our camping spots. Always welcoming, clean, quiet and peaceful! Keep up the great work and welcoming attitude to us. The Bruington's
Aug 09, 2014
Excellent staff, very accommodating. Benbow has improved since KOA took it over.
Aug 09, 2014
Perhaps I should have asked when we made the reservation if these were 50 amp sites, however maybe the office could have mentioned it. I left my comments card with some employees heading to the office but in case it got lost we will repeat our concerns. Although I made the reservations for all 3 rigs, I assumed they would charge us individually apon our arrival. Not so. Tree were over grown at
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Great facility overall. Disappointed in cleanliness under the bed and in the sheets of the pull out sofa.
Aug 08, 2014
The whole campsite is tired. Washrooms, showers all need upgrading. Camp sights need upgrading. Open sewers need fixing. Laundry left some clothes with marks. Equipment needs renewing.
Aug 07, 2014
We had a very good time at your KOA. Everyone thr was so nice, helpful and professional. Two thumbs up. If we are ever down that way I would definitely stay with y'all again. Thank you for a great experience.
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
Loved the cabin and its proximity to Reggae on the River 2014. I would have given it 1more star but I was told it slept 4 but the futon was not large enough for 2 adults by any stretch of the imagination. 1 of my guests had to sleep on the floor. Please don't advertise this as a cabin for 4!!!
Aug 05, 2014
Great location and the amenities were very convenient. Water restrictions were on so the grass was dry and brown but, really enjoyed our stay and can't wait to return.
Aug 05, 2014
Too quiet and kid-oriented for my taste. Place was a mortuary. I'm an adult and don't want to be told to go to sleep at 10pm on a Saturday night because other people's kids. That is why baby-sitters and grandparents were invented. And stay home if you want to sleep the whole time.I probably wouldn't go back to any KOA again unless we had young children with us.
Aug 05, 2014
Our stay was good. Clean, nice showers. Staff were friendly and helpful. Only complaint was no real flat spot to set up tent on the outside site. I also got cuts on the branches sticking up out the ground-maybe they could cut them closer to the ground so people don't get cut on them like I did. I talked to other people who experienced this too. Other than that our stay was good.
Aug 05, 2014
The campground has gone downhill since being taken over by KOA. They have turned most of the more desirable campsites into "cabins" and those that remain are somewhat poorly maintained. We will continue to stay there because the management and employees are first rate and we have reason to stay in the locale. They have added a new play area for kids that is nice, as is the pool area.
Aug 05, 2014
Campground was very crowded. We were in a 5th wheel and our campsite was so small, felt like we were stacked on top of each other without room to breath.
Aug 04, 2014
Our big rig fit (45') but it was tight. Everyone was very nice.
Aug 04, 2014
It was very noisy during the night with a staff member driving a mule past our site constantly. We were excited to come to Benbow, but very disappointed with the office staff, too.They were all standing around talking instead of checking us in, Perfect locationm, but catered to the golfers. Sad
Aug 03, 2014
This KOA I would love to give 4 or 5 but.. The staff was very friendly and it appeared that since it became a KOA just recently that they have been working to bring it up to their standards. We just happened to be there during the Reggae concert and it was pretty packed in. Due to our Ca drought unfortunately the river almost doesn't exist. We would stay again..golf was a fun and inexpensive
Aug 03, 2014
I would give twenty stars if I could! Great people and great surroundings!! Can't wait to go back!!!
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
Two years ago we stayed and said never again. The new management has done a great job getting Bendow back and making it even better. If they keep improving it it will be a fie star resort for RVers and others. Nie package with neat little nine hole golf course.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.