Winnipeg West KOA

588 Highway #1 West (Trans Canada Highway )

St. Francois Xavier, MB R4L 1A1 Canada Canada

Reserve: 800-562-0378

Info: 204-864-2201

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Jun 27, 2015
It is extremely weird that it is based out of a gas station. It just seemed like a field behind the highway. On the same trip I stayed at two other KOA campsites, and this is by far the worst.
Jun 20, 2015
The staff was very friendly and accomonidating.
Jun 20, 2015
The management team was FANTASTIC and very helpful during our stay. They worked hard to get things up and running early for guests. The location was great as well; far enough out of the city but close enough that it didn't take long to get there!
Jun 15, 2015
This KOA was adversely affected by a major flood and needs to reflect that on the website. Washrooms/bathrooms are also needing an update. Location may be all I liked about it.
Jun 15, 2015
2014 flood wiped out the river frontage camping area, so tent camping was in another area right behind the caretaker's residence. 3 showers and 3 bathrooms for 75+ camp sites - expansion needed. Small pool and splash-pad was not working. Advertising says there is fishing on the river, but couldn't get to river to fish without slogging through 100 feet of mud and river is wild and fast.
Jun 15, 2015
Showers, bathrooms, and washer area very run down (but clean). Overall visual experience, unhappy...seemed unorganized and not well maintained from a site perspective. The pool area did look very nice, however it was not yet open. Did not reflect the same care and attention to experience that I have had at all other KOAs I have stayed in.
Jun 15, 2015
Camp flooded and was still very wet and tons of mosquitoes.
Jun 15, 2015
We were disappointed that the pool was not open.
Jun 15, 2015
We stayed in the unserviced tent area - it isn't muddy & there is lots of grass, but it's next to the highway and loud. No parking spots clearly marked so it can be confusing to figure out where to set up; other than that the sites were nice! The park is fun for little ones. Bring shower shoes and try to go early as it gets muddy in the showers quickly, and hot water runs out. Bring bug spray!
Jun 14, 2015
Being blunt, this KOA has the worst facilities of any KOA I have ever stayed at. That experience was improved by the quality of the staff, all very pleasant and helpful which lowered the frustration of our stay. The website pics don't accurately reflect the location, the pool was not working in spite of it being June, and the proximity to the highway means constant car noise. We won't be back.
Jun 12, 2015
A little too close to the highway and campsites are on top of each other. Our kids loved the playground and the bathrooms were set up nicely with laundry and showers.
Jun 10, 2015
Tenting area was great! Close to the highway so has its good and its bad but the people were great!
Jun 10, 2015
Jun 10, 2015
So friendly and warm. Clean and excellent kitchen and shop. Great supplies. Not scenic, but I understand they have been flooded and are just bouncing back.
May 26, 2015
Owners were pleasant and helpful but the campground was a disaster. Previously years flooding took it's toll.
Apr 28, 2015
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 06, 2014
Jul 06, 2014
Jul 03, 2014
Was raining and tent sites were mud. Can you even call a spot on a field a 'site'? People showed up at ~11pm and were loud outside until ~4am. Empty beer in our firepit in the morning. I guess nobody does security. KOA Winnipeg? Never Again.
Jun 02, 2014
Due to recent flooding the ground was wet and muddy. Highway traffic is loud at night.
Sep 26, 2013
Absolutely beautiful site - a real 'must see'!
Sep 12, 2013
Sep 10, 2013
I had a reservation to tent camp at this location. I was disappointed to learn that the washrooms are shared with the gas station! They smelled terrible... like industrial cleaners and urine. I ended up getting a motel somewhere else and did not stay at the campground. Had it been mentioned that the washrooms were shared with the gas station, I never would have made the reservation.
Sep 01, 2013
Bathrooms far away...only 2. showers men and ladies both together. had to pay for a cup of coffee.
Aug 19, 2013
The worst KOA I have ever stayed at. Not enough toilet facilities, ownners never warned us that the tenting area we were in was prone to flooding. Suprised it qualifies as a KOA.
Aug 10, 2013
Campsite was immaculate and people were friendly.
Aug 09, 2013
Tent sites flooded, open sewer line made it smelly, very noisy-too close to highway
Aug 09, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
everything is good, free wifi pool and a lake that you can go fishing. just one thing, please try to remove some weeds on the shore of the lake for more space for fishing.
Jul 21, 2013
Jul 19, 2013
The garbage was picked up at 3am causing loud truck noises for about 20 minutes. Very disturbing and ruined our sleep. However, a very nice spot for tents.
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 04, 2013
Jul 03, 2013
Staff were very friendly and accommadating.
Jul 02, 2013
Jul 02, 2013
Stay was great, absolute fun.
Jun 30, 2013
One bathroom? Very confusing tenting layout and we were kept up all night bysome alarm. Also the dogs were set up all in one spot so we spent the entire time keeping them quiet
Jun 20, 2013
Jun 17, 2013
Overall, great stay and good rate with the Father's Day weekend special. But the lot boundaries were confusing and campers on either side had spread out quite a bit. Our vehicle ended up being blocked in by an RV at a graval site that was perpendicular to our tent area. A bit frustrating.
Jun 17, 2013
I had a good time. Nice and close to the city, but far enough away for a good camping experience.
Jun 15, 2013
My husband and I had a wonderful experience camping at the Winnipeg West KOA. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I have never seen cleaner showers and washrooms in any campgrounds in any of the many countries where we have traveled.
Jun 11, 2013
I wasn't happy with the original site given to me. It was a piece of driving gravel (like a driveway) stuck at the end with no grass area. But when I saw a nicer green section, I was welcome to move there when I asked. I had originally wanted a site with electrical outlet. I guess the gravel spot was the only available one. I willingly gave up electricity to have a nice grassy area.
May 29, 2013
the customer service was very personable. I felt safe. The washrooms and showers were very clean. I was very impressed and will camp at KOAs in the future
Sep 19, 2012
Staff is friendly & helpful. Campground is clean & quiet. Sites could be more clearly defined. Addition of some Kabins would be nice!
Aug 25, 2012
Very nice site. Clean bathrooms with hot water. Got 1 Canadian cent of fuel at Esso.
Aug 24, 2012
We've already suggested koas to traveling friends. This campground was very nice, but tenting sites need to be better defined. Staff was polite and helpful.
Aug 20, 2012
Next time I will go with better friends
Aug 13, 2012
I happen to showed up while it was raining for more than 12 hours, my motorcycle got stock in the mud, they help me get it out by pullin on it with a rope, thanks to KOA employes. Manager did mentioned that the place got flooded the year before and that there still working on there grass to come back, i can really get very muddy when it rains at this KOA.
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.