Thunder Bay KOA

162 Spruce River Road

Shuniah, ON P7A 0N6 Canada Canada

Reserve: 800-562-4162

Info: 807-683-6221

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14

RV Reviews

Sep 20, 2014
Mike and Kristie make every summer a summer to remember.
Sep 20, 2014
This camp was in two levels. We were camped on the lower level which was large and flat. If we were to stay again, I would want to stay on the upper level where there were trees and a lot of scenery; very cozy. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming.
Sep 19, 2014
We were very impressed by the owners and staff at this campground. They were so very friendly and helpful. The campground was easy to find and extremely clean and well laid out. Definately will stay here again.
Sep 19, 2014
This has GOT to be my most favorite campground in the entire world. What makes it so special is that the people here CARE. They solve travelers' problems with kindness.
Sep 18, 2014
We stayed there from July 1 to September 7 and enjoyed every minute of our stay. All the staff are friendly and eager to help in any way. There is so much to do but we really enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere and family fun available We are definately going back next summer.
Sep 17, 2014
Arrived late and left early.
Sep 16, 2014
2014 may not have been the greatest camping weather according to weather stations, but our very friendly KOA Staff & fun-packed Activities sure made up for that. You couldn't help but smile as laughter & puddle-splashing was warmer & louder than any chilly teeth-chattering or raindrops Thank you for another KOA Family adventure - our memories will keep us toasty-marshmallow-warm 'til 2015!
Sep 16, 2014
stay was great. will stay site 147 anytime thankyou
Sep 16, 2014
Super campground, friendly, helpful owners and all the facilities that we needed.
Sep 15, 2014
We love staying at this KOA. It a family atmosphere and Mike and Kristy are amazing. I would totally recommend this KOA to everyone I see
Sep 15, 2014
Had a nice quiet relaxing weekend
Sep 15, 2014
My dogs loved the large play area!
Sep 15, 2014
Very well layed out everthing clean as you would expect it to be and staff were excellent. Stayed on our way west and made it a point to stay on the way back
Sep 14, 2014
Our stay at the KOA in Thunder Bay was again exceptional great. Kristie, Mike and their staff were always helpful in any way they could. Their smiles in the mornings to great you were priceless and so much appreciated. Also their helpfulness and compassion for every camper, especially us, was just outstanding. Can't wait until next year and thank you for everything you did
Sep 14, 2014
Sep 14, 2014
the hosts were willing to help in any way they could
Sep 13, 2014
Sep 13, 2014
We stayed in a fifth wheel; sites were clean and spacious; washrooms and laundry were very clean. They have internet but signal was extremely poor. We camped in a fifth wheel with slides.
Sep 13, 2014
Nous sommes restés seulement une nuit en passant. Nous n'avons pas utilisé les services sur le terrain. Toutefois le tout nous a semblé propre et bien entretenu.
Sep 12, 2014
An amazing stay as always! Customer service is over and above!!
Sep 11, 2014
Always a great place to stay. Staff and owners are always friendly and helpful
Sep 11, 2014
We had expectations that we could access TV (even just local for weather)and wifi - being a KOA. Both were not possible. Disappointing when we were keen to see what the inclement weather was doing and check emails from home (Australia).
Sep 10, 2014
My favourite KOA
Sep 10, 2014
We received a warm welcome as the owners recognized and greeted us. This was our second visit this season. The facilities are clean & well maintained. As long as we can travel we'll take advantage of any opportunities we have to visit our friends at this KOA
Sep 08, 2014
The campground is fine but there is NO wifi in the big rig section. You have to go to the office which is disappointing.
Sep 08, 2014
Office staff very helpful. Bathrooms & laundry immaculate. Park well laid out. Good location...nice bike ride to town. Only criticism, very bumpy drive in and out.
Sep 08, 2014
the new washrooms are very nice!!!but miss the popcorn!!
Sep 07, 2014
A great place for kidfs and adults as well. Very friendly and eager to assist in any way. Wonderful variety of activities. Our site was great as we could watch our granddaughter in the playground while at our RV . This is great for older folk who don't have the same energy as the young ones do. Great work Mike and Kristie
Sep 07, 2014
Sep 07, 2014
Sep 07, 2014
We have stayed at the Thunder Bay KOA several times and love it. The hosts and staff are friendly and very helpful. The grounds are well maintained and very accessible for our long rig. We stayed here in Sept. 2013 in a 35 ft fifth wheel. Wes & Sue
Sep 06, 2014
Help wasn't so friendly. Laundry room too hard to get too with loads of clothes. BUMPS BUMPS BUMPS!!!!! ugh
Sep 06, 2014
Our only complaint was the Wi-Fi! We could get it at our campsite...but you had to stand on your head with one foot off the ground...etc. or go down to the office. Fix the Wi-Fi so it's available to ALL the campsites! Nowdays when I look for "full hookups" I want Wi-Fi, too!! Hard to vacation/make reservation/keep tabs on things at home without it!
Sep 05, 2014
It was very busy but everything worked out well. The staff was very friendly and efficient. The washrooms/showers were spacious, updated, and kept clean. We enjoyed our stay and can recommend it.
Sep 05, 2014
Sep 04, 2014
Had a good stay. Courteous Staff. Very nice new showers & washrooms.
Sep 04, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
This is the best lots activities for everyone always happy to served us with a smile can't ask for more
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
It was great to see the kids all dressed up for Halloween on Labour day. You did a great job with the "Goblin Yard" and the kids all looked like they were having a great time.
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Our family really enjoy KOA. We've stayed here now for 5 consecutive summers. The staff is great, very friendly and make everyone feel welcome. Activities are always very well organized. With renovations this year, very disappointed with the pool area and the fact that monthly prices continue to increase. I will likely return next year for the kids but probably only for a month due to prices.
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Super friendly staff, well organized events, clean campgrounds, beautiful new bathrooms....we will be back next year!!
Sep 02, 2014
Very friendly helpful staff!! Really enjoyed the weekend activities!!! Also loved the on site activities!! Would definitely stay again!!! Thanks!!!
Sep 02, 2014
excellent, thoroughly enjoyed the hollowe'en weekend,wish the Sault Ste. Marie, KOA went all out like your park does, congrat,s will recommend to anyone travelling threw your area
Sep 02, 2014
KOA is great! Lots for the kids to do. Already looking forward to our next camping trip. :)
Sep 02, 2014
The camp ground and staff were fantastic, unfortunately many campers did not follow the etiquette of not crossing through your site. This was very disruptive and disrespectful. It was the first time we had experienced this issue on such a large scale. Many of the offenders seemed to be long term or frequent campers at this KOA.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.