Thunder Bay KOA

162 Spruce River Road

Shuniah, ON P7A 0N6 Canada Canada

Reserve: 800-562-4162

Info: 807-683-6221

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 30, 2015
Aug 30, 2015
Lots of stuff to do here if you have the time. Clean and up to date bathrooms. Tent sizes were a good size with fire pit and picnic table. Highly recommend
Aug 30, 2015
Everything was great until the thunder storm hit the last night. Not the fault of the campground. All power went out and our refrigerator stopped working after lightning hit us.
Aug 30, 2015
most expensive site in over 100 stays this year. Not even full hookup. Had to level with 3 inches on one side.
Aug 30, 2015
To crowded for me .
Aug 29, 2015
Absolutely fabulous operation! The staff was so friendly and helpful and everything was spotless and well cared for. Thank You so much!
Aug 29, 2015
Helpful staff. Clean. Annoying Non-stop music in the washrooms and showers (24/7). Poor approach road (potholes)
Aug 28, 2015
Court passage, il ne faisait pas beau, nous n'avons pu profiter de l'emplacement. Tres propre et bien structure, tres bon accueil.
Aug 28, 2015
We have stayed with you before. We are on our way to BC. We trust KOA. Edgar
Aug 28, 2015
Lots of amenities, superb showers, friendly staff.
Aug 27, 2015
Nice campground. Staff was helpful. There as no WiFi
Aug 26, 2015
We were so impressed with this KOA! We debating cancelling our stay here after a poor experience at another KOA. We're so happy we didn't! The staff was amazing and really did a great job of making us feel as at home as possible. While we were there, they had an ice cream social and magician for the kids. We used the pool, rec room, park and dog park... wished we could've stayed longer!
Aug 26, 2015
Most obliging hosts. Excellent care of facility,grounds and clients. Its no wonder that they win well deserving awards.
Aug 26, 2015
It had been a hard summer with me working full time and the construction at home. So when it came to my littlest turning 5 I reserved our stay and it was as great as always!! We feel like family cause Kristie and Mike make it that Way!!!!!
Aug 25, 2015
Every day my boys said "I love camping, I love the KOA" they didn't want to leave! The Kupers take Excellent care of their kampground and really create a "family community".
Aug 25, 2015
This was our third time staying here while travelling across Canada. The staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful! Campground is very nice and bathrooms are very nice and clean. Love the big showers!
Aug 25, 2015
The cabin was not worth the money they ask for. But the camp ground of great
Aug 25, 2015
We enjoyed the resort experience and the planned activities. Our children enjoyed themselves.
Aug 24, 2015
We have travelled from the West coast to the East coast and a good part of the USA. Thunder Bay can not be beat for great campsites, and the most remarkable staff ever. Kristy and Mike know what they are doing and you can tell they are enjoying doing it. Never have felt more welcome at a campsite and they definitely go out of their way to fulfill all your extra needs. An absolute treasure in T Bay
Aug 24, 2015
Road to campsite rough and narrow. Otherwise nice campsite.
Aug 24, 2015
The staff cooperated with us to get our unit into an otherwise occupied site.
Aug 24, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay and we intend to return next year.
Aug 24, 2015
First time staying at the KOA. Was a great time. Kids had tons of fun and the staff was all friendly and helpful. The only complaint was when we booked online it said nothing about the site being next to the sewer and having to smell that day and night.
Aug 24, 2015
Very welcoming camp ground.
Aug 24, 2015
Friendly staff!! Very clean!
Aug 24, 2015
Great campground. Friendly, alive, clean, good access. I wrote a very positive campground review about it in my blog.
Aug 24, 2015
We were on our way home after being to BC. We enjoy your site. It is easy to find and friendly folks. Keep up the good work. We will be back the next time we are in Thunder Bay area. Edgar
Aug 23, 2015
Our stay was wonderful! I was delightfully surprised that the cabin had electricity and heat and a light! It definitely made the stay that much better because we no longer had to worry about keeping the flashlights on and where to charge our phones if they died. We plan to stay again some other summer, maybe not next year but the year after most definitely! Everyone was very kind and helpful
Aug 23, 2015
This stay was the best one there yet. We will be back
Aug 23, 2015
Excellent. Friendly and accommodating staff. Good facilities and proximity to the city a definite plus.
Aug 23, 2015
Another great stay in Thunder Bay KOA. Facilities are excellent; staff are superb; and the Northern friendliness is catching. Thanks to Kristie.
Aug 23, 2015
Most expensive KOA we have stayed in but very nice. It was upsetting that WiFi was not available in most areas.
Aug 22, 2015
Staff were very friendly, rules for the pool were not enforced,laundry facility great.
Aug 22, 2015
Fantastic place....great staff and management
Aug 22, 2015
We only stayed overnight, however, this camp had all the amenities. I would say the appearance could use a little more care.
Aug 22, 2015
We had a great time. A little rainy for half the time but the hosts steered us in the right direction for local sights to see even if it was raining. Very friendly!
Aug 22, 2015
Very friendly and efficient check in, even though we did not have a reservation. Appreciated having the area churches listed as part of the info.
Aug 21, 2015
I was a bit disappointed in this KOA compared to the others we stayed at on our trip. The bathroom facilities were insufficient for the # of campsites and there were long waits. We also did not appreciate the loud music blaring from the sports ground.
Aug 21, 2015
FANTASTIC PEOPLE, great facility and the pet park was a life saver with so much thought put into your stay.
Aug 21, 2015
Everything is great. The only thing is the noise from the highway. You have a fantastic place and the best staff... we will be back.
Aug 20, 2015
been staying here for 15 years and a as always a perfect holiday
Aug 20, 2015
good overnight stay on way into Quetico.
Aug 20, 2015
FANTASTIC!!!! FUN!!!!! CLEAN!!! GREAT OWNERS!!!
Aug 20, 2015
Best------as always
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 19, 2015
Very very nice, the place and the people! Couldn't have had a better stay!
Aug 19, 2015
Very hot and crowded, lots of kids, no shade and swimming pools were packed. We were placed among many partying Thunder Bay families, no grass, or shade and the least friendly people we have ever experienced at a campground. The staff could not have been nicer, but the facility needs to be enlarged to accommodate crowds like they had last weekend.
Aug 19, 2015
Loved everything! Best campground we've ever seen! But: the end of season fire lantern tradition? Yikes. Forest & house fires are a real concern with those, not to mention the RVs & tents that are in immediate danger. Bad news bears.
Aug 19, 2015
Loved it! Clean, comfortable. Lots of trees. Nice pool, games room. Fun and family friendly.
Aug 19, 2015
Had a great experience. Used my KOA # and they had all my check in information. Sites setup was easy to maneuver - lots of amendities. 👍

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.