Sugarloaf Key / Key West KOA

251 State Road 939

Sugarloaf Key, FL 33042-0469

Reserve: 800-562-7731

Info: 305-745-3549

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Camp for $10 on May 9!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Tent Reviews

Apr 21, 2015
We had a great time, staff was incredible and location was awesome. Would like to see store hours open a little later though.
Apr 16, 2015
Go anytime but in the middle of April....Season over, no cafe (closed)so no food. Camp store open only until 5:00pm and very low on stuff. Staff very friendly, but not running at full capacity of a KOA in April. Costly to have less amenities!
Apr 15, 2015
Apr 14, 2015
Apr 13, 2015
Love everything about the camp ground! And the new tent sites with power and water. The bathrooms were clean.
Apr 13, 2015
This is one of the best campgrounds that me and our familyhave stayed , we actually were talking about it in the car on our way back home 👍👍
Apr 12, 2015
Always a great stay!
Apr 11, 2015
Our family of 4camped in a tent and the accommodations were fantastic! The bathrooms were beautiful, which kept my wife and daughter from misery. The bar was great and the marina was cute with a helpful staff.
Apr 11, 2015
Great campground! Incredible staff! Can't wait to go back.
Apr 11, 2015
I wish we had been told we were booking off season. We expected activities for the grandchildren and a cafe. We would have brought more food with us from the mainland had we known the cafe closed for the season before we arrived. Some of the workers were not friendly. The restrooms were very nice. The beach area was not as nice as described on the home page.
Apr 11, 2015
Fantastic time staff was great and the facilities where very clean
Apr 10, 2015
The week of Easter. Enjoyed everything about the campground. Restrooms, laundry,cafe, pub, pool all clean. Staff great. Had raised platform for the tent. Little pricy($70) but worth it for an enjoyable and once in a lifetime visit to the Keys!
Apr 08, 2015
I had items stolen from my campsite in the back40 tent area; kayak paddle, campstove,shoes,etc. Mgmt didnt believe me and accepts no responsibility for what happens back there. Mgmt says it never happens, then told me someone else 'claimed' their tent was stolen back there. KOA leases the tent area, and caters to the RV crowd at the campground.
Apr 08, 2015
The location is perfect! Unfortunately it gets VERY noisy at night, especially if you are tent camping.
Apr 06, 2015
Apr 06, 2015
Bathrooms and showers very clean. Staff helpful and pool clean. Just lots of mosquitoes
Apr 06, 2015
Nice campground, extremely clean and friendly
Apr 06, 2015
Great Location. Fantastic Staff
Apr 03, 2015
Our Boy Scout Troop had a wonderful time. You guys were awesome. Can't wait to come back. Thanks for everything.
Apr 03, 2015
Beautiful place
Apr 03, 2015
Great place!
Apr 03, 2015
Great location,responsive friendly staff but in rained furiously one night and many tent sites in the red zone, including mine, were flooded out. My son and I had to sleep in our compact car that night! Not a very comfortable nights sleep. I seriously hope that area is graded to prevent any further flooding and standing water issues.
Apr 03, 2015
Stay away from "the back 40". Its dirty, nasty, super far from everything, and all for only $2.00 less! When we brought our issues to the front desk, the woman lied to us saying that the prices are set by KOA, and then she said "thats the price for staying on Key West. um Key West is 20 miles away. Then she started making excuses about the amount of trash everywhere. I will NEVER go back!
Apr 02, 2015
Great stay ! Appreciate the hard working staff. Onsite Beach,Pool,Breakfast/coffee shop was great.Biker friendly also ! Look forward to coming back.
Apr 01, 2015
We tent camped in the Back 40. It was relaxing & peaceful. The bathhouses were awesome. Beach, Pool, Marina, Pub & Cafe were great. Friendly folks. We will be back.
Mar 31, 2015
Great experience!
Mar 31, 2015
Nice camping spot for tents. Friendly and helpful staff. All amenities great. We were able to use the local city bus to Key West - very useful.
Mar 31, 2015
Quick trip to keys,stayed tent camping.all ammenities were well equipped and staff was more than helpful.
Mar 30, 2015
Staff was AMAZING! There was a slight sewage problem that cleaned up in a heartbeat! I didn't even know until after the fact and was onsite the whole time. The reason I did not give a 5⭐️is last time my tent campsite had more green grass. This time it was a bit muddy which sucked after the Rain. Seasonal hazard? Most likely.
Mar 30, 2015
Excellent staff and amenities. Perfect place to stay.
Mar 30, 2015
Mar 29, 2015
We stayed in the yellow back 40 tent area, it was wonderful! Very quiet and peaceful. Loved the pool and beach areas. Had the best time! We will definitely be back again!!
Mar 29, 2015
On arrival the general reception was unpleasant. Our debit card was declined and we were told it had to be a credit card, however the debit card was still charged twice even after cash was paid. On asking for a reversal we were advised to dispute it with our bank. Unacceptable. In general the campsite isn't bad but needs shade erected over pool and playground. Your staff need an attitude overhaul.
Mar 29, 2015
We tented for 2 nights at $60 per night. Poor sights for the price, a lot of garbage strewn about. Bathrooms & showers were clean and updated. Pool & hot tub were nice. I just think more care is needed on cleaning up the grounds. "Leave no trace"
Mar 28, 2015
It's a bit pricey for tent camping with no electricity or water. I would only stay here again or suggest it to a friend if the state parks are booked up.
Mar 28, 2015
We had a great time, we will be back. Everyone very nice and helpful. Campgrounds extremely clean.
Mar 28, 2015
We camped in a tent in the back 40 by choice. It was nice to feel like there was privacy and actually camping. It would have been nicer if all the sites had electric and water but not seriously a major concern. The one thing that really bothered me was the amount of trash lingering around back there. I know wildlife is a problem but even the trails were full of rusted metal.
Mar 27, 2015
We read the reviews about this campground and we enjoyed our stay even more than we expected. We even added an additional night/day to our vacation because we were having so much fun. Also, great live music at night. We look forward to going back
Mar 27, 2015
Pricing was very reasonable (including ice, food, and beverages). I expected to get gouged, but was most pleasantly surprised. Bathrooms were beautiful, and very very clean!!! Staff was as nice as can be. One staff member even gave me a golf cart ride to the on-site store so I didn't have to walk. We'll definitely be back with friends.
Mar 27, 2015
Nothing bad to say about this campsite, the sites are a little close together but that's what you get in the keys...better than most of the others! I thought the marina and little beach area were very cool....and loved taking my daughter to the pool she had so much fun! These bathroom and shower facilities are the best and cleanest I have ever seen at a campsite!!
Mar 26, 2015
The location is superb- only 30 mins from Key West. The staff was very helpful when it came to helping me find a place to store my boat.
Mar 25, 2015
The staff are very professional. The only issue is kids stay at the playground well after they are told to leave by campground staff. Perhaps adding a light switch to that light in the campground area would help if you could turn off the light signifying it's close. Kids playing loudly around 11pm.
Mar 25, 2015
One of the worst places I've stayed. The campground was fine. It was the price and the people I had problems with. Rude campers. Quiet time was not enforced. A huge motor home parked by my campsite and spewed diesel fumes from 7:30 am until 8 while loading their Bentley. Saturday night 2 large families moved in shining car lights to set up tents large fire and were up late into the nightMare Again
Mar 25, 2015
Wonderful staff and location. Clean bathrooms and private showers. Staff were willing to jump start our vehicle when the car battery died. Highly recommend!
Mar 25, 2015
Very crowded, used to primitive camping. It is a busy time of year so it was nice to find a spot at all but I prefer being more secluded than their campground
Mar 24, 2015
Tent camping was very crowded, with no privacy. Would like a limit on how many campsites per area vs. free for all! Bar was usually closed, along with kitchen. Facilities are very clean and great location.
Mar 24, 2015
Had a great time! Great facilities
Mar 24, 2015
We had a wonderful time. Fantastic way to spend my 50th birthday. Captain Burt was just awesome. I want to hug his neck. Thank him for us again please. Best birthday ever!!
Mar 23, 2015
I had the worst camping experience ever from the staff to the site and having my both my coolers stolen while we slept!!!!!
Mar 23, 2015
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.