Sugarloaf Key / Key West KOA

251 State Road 939

Sugarloaf Key, FL 33042-0469

Reserve: 800-562-7731

Info: 305-745-3549

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Tent Reviews

Nov 17, 2014
Really enjoyed our short stay at the Sugarloaf Key KOA campground. The new bathrooms are great!! We definitely will return.
Nov 05, 2014
Oct 28, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
Kudos to the staff for maintaining substandard bathrooms Feb 2013 to current have been under repair There appears to be a lack of concern for customers Wed-Fri access to the bathrooms was okay Sat campers lined up on the bench waiting to take showers 3rd visit during FF and the amt of campers was lower Consider a crew to complete this remodel It would benefit everyone May stay somewhere next yr
Oct 27, 2014
The bathrooms are remodeling and I had to wait in line to take a shower and it was very busy. I think that if they are remodeling they need to have a better plan and also they charge you the same even flooded camp sites same price. I went just for Fantasy fest but if I had plans to stay there the whole day it was not good.
Oct 27, 2014
We had a nice time. The campgrounds were good. We plan to return.
Oct 27, 2014
Bathrooms were being redone so there was only two showers and three bathrooms for how many people there were staying there for fantasy Fest
Oct 27, 2014
great second visit
Oct 22, 2014
My fiance and I absolutely love it there. Phyllis and her husband were beyond nice, giving us extra wood and lighter fluid they had left over and the customer service is top of the line. I will definitely be going back next year. The hospitality and cleanliness is one of the best of all KOAs I have been to. I really love this place!!
Oct 22, 2014
Amazing. A bit buggy but seriously best priced campground tent spot in the keys. Only 20 min from Key West also. Went this past weekend for Fantasy Fest and the campground was almost empty. Not to mention the stars were brilliant here. Great staff, helpful and friendly.
Oct 13, 2014
Oct 13, 2014
Appeared to be some renovations going on with the shower and bathroom facilities. Things should really improve once this is completed. Camp sites were clean and well maintained.
Oct 08, 2014
Oct 06, 2014
Sep 23, 2014
The service at the check in was great, but the price was a bit high for what we got. and the didn't fumigate at all.....
Sep 15, 2014
The campsite was extremely small and it did not feel like camping. Security was intrusive and annoying. I will not recommend this campsite to anyone, ever.
Sep 07, 2014
When park full, not enough bathroom/showers. They were a horrible mess on the weekend, sickening condition.
Sep 03, 2014
100% worth it! Great staff, Great location, and great campground. Very well-maintained! I will most certainly be headed back soon.
Sep 02, 2014
Everything was good except the bathrooms were dirty
Sep 01, 2014
Sep 01, 2014
The tents were too close to each other. We were limited to a small area. No quiet policy after 11:00pm. Too much noise by tent neighbors until 1:00am (they arrived after 10:00pm).
Aug 20, 2014
The facilities were wonderful and very clean! The KOA employees were kind and helpful. I do wish that the delux tent pads were slightly more organized. We had neighbors parking and walking through our campsite.
Aug 18, 2014
The camp site was nice, near Key West and people at the KOA were very nice.
Aug 17, 2014
It is too expenive
Aug 12, 2014
Very nice and clean. The restrooms and showers were clean. The pool and beach were great and the sites are not close to each other. Cant wait to go back.
Aug 08, 2014
Clean & well kept. Everything was on site - the store,pool, showers&bathrooms, laundry,beach,marina,even a pub! Nothing's missing here and the staff made us feel like we were old friends come for a visit. Key West was a 15 minute drive with all it's shops and plenty to do and see. No bored kids,they wanted to stay longer! We'll be back soon!!
Aug 06, 2014
Long story short, I got locked in the family shower, called the office, got no answer, left messages. Finally got my self out, told a worker and the person at the desk, got an apology and that was it. I was in the room for about 40 minutes and was ready to pass out. I know things happen but I believe I was dismissed with very little concern.
Jul 21, 2014
Had a great stay and staff was friendly and helpful. Grounds were kept nice. Wish the beach/swimming area was a little nicer but not sure how much can be done about that. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking to camp.
Jul 04, 2014
The staff was very friendly and went above and beyond our expectations to make it a memorable stay even if it was just one night. Thank You!
Jul 01, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Probably our fault that we chose to come in June...but our whole campsite had 2" of water the second night, lights shone in our tent all night from the laundry area, our neighbors kept their radio on all night, there was no beach area with sand at all and we got bitten alive by various bugs. The pool was nice and washrooms and campground clean.
Jun 09, 2014
Jun 04, 2014
Great except for the mosquitoes! You should hand everyone a bottle of repellent at check in because it is too far to find a store that sells it.
Jun 03, 2014
Everything is great, but the bathrooms need to be completed ASAP. The portables were disgusting and from the feedback I read on Trip Advisor, they have been that way for a while.
May 30, 2014
Although the restrooms are in the process of a renovation, the temporary facilities could be kept cleaner. All of the showers and restrooms were very dirty. Keeping in mind it was a very busy Memorial day weekend for the koa. As far as the rest of the campgrounds were clean and well maintained.
May 28, 2014
Si la pase muy bien una tranquilida se los recomiendo haci que estare de regreso el julio miren si me gusto gracias
May 28, 2014
Had a wonderfull time thank you all so much the staff was phenominal and cared for us like family
May 20, 2014
Wonderful staff very clean and entertaining they had a band there that was outstanding
May 19, 2014
There is no electrical outlet near the tent so you need an extension cord, but it's not allowed. The sign noting that, the N and o was peeling off, so all you could see was "extension cords", so I thought that was the place to plug the extension cords. When the security guard came around he told to take it off, but he was extremely rude about it, I tried explaining but he was arrogant!
May 17, 2014
GREAT pool!!!! NICE continental breakfast. Tent area is awful. Crammed in any which way. Setting up tents until 12AM. NOISE and laughing until 1:45AM, with NO RESPONSE from KOA people. Bathrooms are INSUFFICIENT.. Friendly and helpful staff. VERY well manicured park. RV and Snowbird oriented. Nice place, if you don't tent it!!!!
May 16, 2014
Good location. Nice people. GREAT pool! Tent area SUCKS! Tents setting up until 12AM. NOISY until 1;45AM. No KOA person stopped noise!!Bathrooms small and crowded. Hate to see busy season. Nice breakfast. Clean park.
May 15, 2014
RESTROOM WERE FILTHY,NO TOILET PAPER, NO HOT WATER, POOR INFORMATION AVAILABLE, POOL WAS HEATED ABOVE OUTSIDE TEMPITURE OF 82 DEGREES AND DIRTY AT ALL TIMES, JACCUZI NOT WORKING. NEED I SAY MORE. CAMPGROUND OVER FULL AND LOUD LOUD LOUD ALL NIGHT
May 14, 2014
eaten alive by noseeums. bathrooms were trailers. showers were awful. staff not helpful/friendly at all. advertised hot tub..there was none.
May 13, 2014
Idéalement placé, avec un coût peu élevé et une piscine ouverte H24. Que demander de plus ?
May 10, 2014
Nice quiet campground. Weather was good, staff friendly, no hassle, no stress. Good location to day trip to key West.
May 10, 2014
May 06, 2014
The location can't be beat and they do a great job accommodating people with boats. They have a nice boat ramp. The bathrooms and showers were under construction during my stay. They have a temporary shower trailer and restroom trailer that does the job even though the hot water was almost non existent. Still, I am sure I will return because I love the FL Keys!
May 05, 2014
May 01, 2014
Nice people, nice sites. Too hot and overcrowded at retreat to camp. Last day when everyone was gone was great.
Apr 28, 2014
I have been staying there for years and I've never had anything to complain about. I do wonder why the swimming pool is so hot. I was thinking of bringing about 100 bags of ice next time hahaha. Thank you so much for your hospitality we will see you next year. We always come early and stay throughout Sunday.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.