Sugarloaf Key / Key West KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7731

Info: 305-745-3549


251 State Road 939

Sugarloaf Key, FL 33042-0469

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Oct 18, 2016
We had a Great time at Sugar Loaf site! Thank you for a wonderful stay.This was our second stay here in 2 years! This time we got to stay in the Red zone. Much better than before.The Staff there was GREAT!! Thanks so much Pam & ALL the Gang!Its a long drive for us but well worth it! Thanks again! :)
Oct 16, 2016
The campground for tenters wasn't the best. The area wasn't mowed so the grass was a little high and the no see ums were horrible. I was getting chewed all night long in the tent and then walking through the grass wasn't fun. Also, the showers were cold. We only stayed one night because we were on the way to Key West so we didn't get to use any of the amenities.
Oct 16, 2016
Oct 12, 2016
Other than the gnats. It's a awesome campground. Clean bathhouse is always a plus.
Oct 12, 2016
Very friendly staff and great atmosphere. I'd like to give extra kudos to "Tony the night guy" who went out of his way to help us start a campfire.
Oct 11, 2016
Too many fire ants, too many gnats, poor beach area, decent pool/bar, nice sites, good location, clean, nice people, safe, good facilities
Oct 02, 2016
Great folks there - neighbors and staff alike. We enjoyed the beach, admiring the iguanas and other critters that passed by. I recommend tenters visit in the cooler times of the year to tenters - or to be better prepared than we were: we weren't set up for the noseeums that ignored the screens that we used to keep the mosquitos out. This site is well worth the prep time!
Sep 27, 2016
It was a great experience staying at the sugarloaf koa. We came down at the right time, as we were basically the only tent campers till the following weekend. The staff was always helpful and friendly. There is so much to do here and close to Key West to south and close to parks to the north. We brought bikes and kayaks and used both very near campsite. Great experience!! ✌🏻️
Sep 26, 2016
Sep 19, 2016
It is a care free camp out. Camp ground is a great facility.
Sep 13, 2016
Clean campground with a great staff. The only reason I went with 4 stars is, the bathroom A/C was not working the 1st day of my stay.
Sep 07, 2016
Very friendly and accommodating.
Sep 07, 2016
Super fun and enjoyable, caught a 5ft nurse shark while kayaking right off the campsite! Staff was friendly, and the location was perfect. Going back in a few months!
Sep 06, 2016
Excellent place to stay, nice people, nice environment.
Aug 15, 2016
This is my second time staying here and I absolutely love it! Friendly staff and very clean environment!! The bathrooms and shower rooms are so clean at all times. I always brag to family and friends the experience and recommend it. We will be back again soon :)
Aug 09, 2016
My experience was good, the pool was clean everyone was friendly. Only thing that didn't make this a ten was that's spring on the water trampoline hflung off and hit my son but other wise the bathrooms and showers were clean and the water was hot.
Aug 08, 2016
My family and I stayed there for two days. We were very pleased overall very clean. We wanted to fish and the bait place closed at 5 so that was the only downside. also wish there was more to do for kids. But overall it was a good experience.
Aug 08, 2016
I wish the tent camping sites were more secluded. We had a group next to us that would start blaring their Spanish music at 7am every morning. I like campsites with a lot more privacy. This was really my last resort because everything else was booked. I liked that the bathrooms were clean and air conditioned. I definitely won't be coming back though. Just not my cup of tea.
Aug 08, 2016
Great campground. Very quaint and convenient. Wish the Pub opened earlier, haha
Aug 08, 2016
Great campsite with a lot of extras. We will be visiting again. Also it had a very friendly staff
Aug 07, 2016
Why allow setting up tents between midnight and 2 am? What about quiet hours?
Jul 25, 2016
Had an amazing time very nice clean and camp workers are very nice and helpful
Jul 25, 2016
Ok where to start no cleaning at all everything so dirty laundry area bathrooms pool area , people party until 3am horrible but we try to enjoy anyway . The rock climbing upside down all the time no way that the jids can play and more
Jul 15, 2016
The campground itself is very nice, great amenities. The hot weather and mosquitoes were the only downside.
Jul 07, 2016
Staff was very gracious to our Boy scouts! Thank you Pat and Pam and all the other staff members that made this an unforgettable experience! BSA Troop 56 Lawyersville, NY
Jul 07, 2016
Jul 07, 2016
A little noisy and very hot, but a very nice facility. Probably better in fall or winter than July!!
Jul 06, 2016
Jul 05, 2016
We had an awesome time at KOA. Friendly staff... the only thing we can recomend is to do some updates to the beach... anything else is great
Jul 04, 2016
Camping hors de prix pour prestations quelconques .... Seuls les moustiques sont gratuits !! En période de pluie, la zone réservée aux campeurs est un vrai marécage, indignes de ce qu'on peut attendre d'un simple camping! Aux tarifs pratiqués, c'est scandaleux !!!! Pas d'électricité, beaucoup de bruit provenant de la route .... j'y reviendrai pas!
Jul 01, 2016
My best friend and I camped in a tent here for 3 nights. It was great! Everything was so clean and everyone was really nice! Of course the Florida bugs were biting but, we used bug spray and we were OK. We kayaked and swam and had a great time! We are definitely trying to talk our husbands into coming with us next time.
Jun 27, 2016
While I understand it's summer and South Florida the camp ground was extremely buggy. I was wondering if KOA provides any mosquito fogging? With the outbreak of Zika, I think it's a good investment.
Jun 20, 2016
My camping experience was great and definitely would do it again. The bathrooms were air-conditioned and coming which I loved. The day even had an option for a family bathroom for me and my daughters which was great. The bar and the pool was great very clean and it was it was all around A great experience. This was my first camping trip and I plan on returning. Take lots of bug spray and a fan.
Jun 17, 2016
It was almost as if everything you needed was right there at the Quelway campground and you hardly needed to go into Key West except to see the historical district, the peers, the restaurants in the shops.
Jun 16, 2016
We were only there for about 12 hours. The pool was great, the restrooms were perfect and clean. It was a bit buggy and hot but certainly nothing that KOA could do about that :) Great location and likely if we are back in that area we would return for more time. Thanks!
Jun 13, 2016
Amazing I'm coming back in October
Jun 11, 2016
Everyone made us feel at home while we was there. The shower and restroom facilities where always very clean along with the whole campground.
Jun 08, 2016
great pool and spa, showers could be cleaner though
Jun 07, 2016
We liked everything! Very nice air conditioned bath house. Reasonable laundry room. The staff was very helpful and wanted to make our stay perfect. Big Bounce raft and climbing wall for the kids at the beach! Wildlife everywhere! Nice swimming pool area. Loved the marina right there to launch the boat but you should mark the water across the bay for 5*. Grounded boat trying to get to the ch
Jun 04, 2016
Great location and campground. Will definitely recommend and visit again!
Jun 02, 2016
Next time we come to the Keys, we will be calling for a reservation. Loved the airstream we stayed in. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jun 01, 2016
This was our first time staying here and we had a blast. The staff were really nice and helpful. The campground was clean and well managed. We are coming back soon.
May 31, 2016
I loved the experience! Thank you for your great hospitality and staff!
May 31, 2016
Granted it was a busy Holiday weekend, I expected a lot of people there. The staff was amazing and they kept up the facilities during the day, of course less at night. Now as for the other campers, I cannot state the same. Overnight the women's bathrooms were turned into a garbage. They played loud rap music at disrespectful levels, but I guess they at least turned it down at night.
May 31, 2016
Basically a parking lot with a few trees. Positives: A lot of staff, onsite boat launch and marina, centrally located pool and hot tub open 24 hrs. Downside or upside --depending on your taste-- there is a high density of Latin Americans playing loud music in Spanish within this campground since its close to Miami, quiet hours begin at 11 PM and the staff does enforce it.
May 31, 2016
We booked at the last minute and were not very happy we were camping in a tent and there are no actual sites to tent they give you a generalized area to find a spot and we had to pick one which was extremely close to other tents and very loud music until at 11pm bathrooms modern with a/c but at 630 am went to use them and completely filthy and unusable theres no reason for this! we wont go back
May 29, 2016
Friendly and helpful ,10/10 for them. We thoroughly enjoy or stay mostly because the easily accessible and various activity options and the staff!!! A few changes would make KOA top notch: 1)Water pressure 2)stores staying open past 5 3)beach was awesome but sad at the same time 4) BUGS!! Covered in bug spray we still got eaten alive!!! Our only major complaint we had. Everything else.. EP
May 26, 2016
The staff was very friendly, the bathrooms and the pool were great. The beach area is quite small. The mosquitoes were terrible. We used everything we could, citronella candles, tiki torches with mosquito repellent, mosquito coils, covered ourselves with off but nothing worked.
May 25, 2016
Had a great time very family orientated and friendly place!
May 24, 2016
Muy buen campground en los cayos..los baños muy limpios y con aire acondicionado....muy buen servicio al cliente,en la oficina....

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals