Sugarloaf Key / Key West KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7731

Info: 305-745-3549

Email

251 State Road 939

Sugarloaf Key, FL 33042-0469

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jan 13, 2017
Not only was everyone extremely friendly, they had excellent activites and amenities. We stayed on a Wednesday and got to see a live show in their Tiki bar. We tented and the bathroom area was large, modern, and immaculate. I can hardly wait to return!
Jan 11, 2017
The service was helpful and friendly as it always has been. There were lots of bugs!!
Jan 10, 2017
I had a great peaceful rest in my tent towards the back area under a canapé of treets. The office persons were helpful and friendly. The bathrooms were clean.
Jan 07, 2017
Wonderful facilities. Lots of space for tenting. Clean bathrooms !! Will visit again
Jan 07, 2017
Bathrooms/Showers were nice and clean. Staff was very friendly. Iguanas and bugs were a nuisance. Beach area was nasty and smelled.
Jan 06, 2017
My family and I had a awesome stay. Lots of stuff to do for us as a family and for us as a couple. Tons of great memories.
Jan 06, 2017
Not great for tent campers. There's a grassy spot and you're told to find space for your tent. The fire rings are burnt through on the bottom and there aren't enough of them for each party to have one. The laundry room didn't have anyplace to plug in my phone so the only place I could charge it was in the bathroom. On the plus side, the bathrooms were very clean!
Jan 06, 2017
Great location, clean facilities, friendly and helpful staff. You really can't go wrong!!!!!
Jan 05, 2017
Always stay at KOAs. The primitive and 'back' (in the case of Sugarloaf - Back 40) sites are always the best. Just the right amount of being away from it all while still having easy access to amenities. Perfect!
Jan 05, 2017
Overcrowded, Not enough restrooms for the amount of people,tent campsites not marked,Overall very dirty place!Charged 2 dollars for cold coffee! No noise restrictions at night!
Jan 05, 2017
The staff was excellent and super friendly! The bathrooms and shower rooms were really clean. I am definitely staying here next time I come to the keys!
Jan 04, 2017
Overpriced, rundown and tired. May have been great 30yrs ago! Rv's are squeezed in like it's a truck stop, tent sites are cluttered and have no privacy. Wasn't expecting much but was still very disappointed. Pool area was clean... Only redeeming feature
Jan 04, 2017
Terrible!  Only 1 bathroom  WAY too dense. 3 feet between tents and RVs packed like sardines  Internet only works right at the office and nowhere to sit at office  No microwave  No electric or water in tent areas  Boat wash creates huge puddles  No minigolf  No change at laundry  Bar on site  Broken picnic table seat  Staff rude  No parking near bathroom  Unsecured elect
Jan 04, 2017
Jan 04, 2017
Great campground close to Key West. The amenities and tent camping spaces are much better than other campgrounds in the keys.
Jan 04, 2017
Lots of insects here. Take bug repellent.
Jan 03, 2017
Jan 03, 2017
When we called the reservation number they stated that the office closed at 5 pm, in reality it closes at 8.
Jan 03, 2017
Pros: laundry facilities and bathrooms were clean, nice ammenities, and staff were friendly. Cons: campsites were to small and on top of each other and the overflow area was so infested with no-see-ums and mosquitos we literally spent $50 each day on foggers,sprays and candles for it to be tolerable. It seems like the site should do more to help control the bugs. The overflow area was "open campin
Jan 03, 2017
Very nice campground. Bathrooms and showers were clean. Staff were friendly.
Jan 02, 2017
Everything is perfect at this KOA!
Jan 02, 2017
Little worried that the camp would be too crowded but we had plenty of space, friendly service and the bath facilities were very nice and clean.
Jan 02, 2017
I'm sure it was just the time of year, but the tent camping area was completely overbooked which made for some noisy nights and mornings. Also, there were no marked sites so we had people set up tents with a couple feet of ours...literally two feet away.
Jan 02, 2017
The cameo ground is beautiful and the staff is excellent. They seem to do a good job at mosquito control but they cannot do anything about the noseeums and they can be brutal. I will be back next year but will have a noseeums proof tent.
Jan 02, 2017
It was great.
Jan 01, 2017
Jan 01, 2017
Open sites for tenting was different for me, but it was fine. People were great and facility was clean and large enough to accommodate the # of people.
Dec 31, 2016
There isn't any security at the gate. Anybody can just come and go. Which also means that anybody can come in and set up at any time. We had campers next to us come in and set up at approximately 1:30am the first night we were there. Finally after about 90 minutes of their flashlights shining in our tent and the noise of them blowing up their air mattresses we were able to get back to sleep.
Dec 31, 2016
Did not like that the tent campsites were not numbered and assigned. Also, in all our years of camping in the U.S., we have never had such a big problem with bugs (in this case, I think they were sand fleas). We are covered in bites like never before, and we used tons of heavy bug spray.
Dec 31, 2016
While the location and the amenities are superb the bug infestation is an issue. I do not mind the mosquitoes but the tiny invisible bugs that left ovef 300 bite marks all over our bodies is a serious health issue. And the worst thing is that we were not even warned about it and after our stay a simple google serch revealed an ongoing problem.
Dec 30, 2016
good facilities....very crowded...some confusion on tent site reservations caused some campers (not us) a few problems
Dec 30, 2016
The park was clean and the area is beautiful. Unfortunately the tent sites are literally side by side, the people that were beside us had to put their tent almost touching ours. Nothing like having a complete stranger feet away from you. Dogs were barking out of control the entire time we were there, all day and all night. The park attendants seemed oblivious to them. Unacceptable for KOA.
Dec 29, 2016
Great week wonderful helpful people very clean
Dec 28, 2016
The amenities were great! We loved the pub and restaurant. The location was beautiful. My only issue was that our blue tent camping area was filled up so much that neighboring tents were extremely close to ours.
Dec 28, 2016
Gem in the keys.
Dec 28, 2016
Campground was nice but showers and bath facilities were not very clean
Dec 27, 2016
This campground is a FIND! We have often wanted to spend a weekend in Key West (we live in Ft.Laud).The cost has always been too prohibitive. We have a tent & camping gear-so decided to give this place a try. WOW! We were so lucky on Xmas day to find that them serving dinner with all the trimmings-very reasonable price. It was absolutely delicious(& we are very picky "foodies!").Staff nice +++!!
Dec 25, 2016
The campsite is great, had adequate water and electricity hookups. A few downsides are that a few members were bitten by mosquitoes even after applying insect repellent. Campsites are not pre-allocated. We had to move one of our campsites due to this. No grill available, we need to get our own.
Dec 21, 2016
The people are fantastic and the amenities are top notch - the only problem was the no-seeums, they caused me to leave two days early. I was covered by bug bites :-(
Dec 16, 2016
Staff was unfriendly Entire place was under construction Tent sites cramed and not well marked No views Does not meeting the expectations for a place to stay in the Keys 1 plus was the great restaurant across the road within walking distance
Dec 13, 2016
Will be better when store and cafe finished......not happy at not hearing the tv....not even closed caption.......tent site was very nice...pool nice....beach awful....
Dec 13, 2016
Would have liked a little more room between the tent campers, it was a pretty tight proximity. I gave up on hot water for a shower after 10 minutes of running the water & had to settle for a very chilly shower. Otherwise it was fine.
Dec 12, 2016
clean and comfortable . great amenities .
Dec 11, 2016
the construction was a little intrusive but overall it was a great visit
Dec 11, 2016
Booked here for two nights, but at 8pm the second night one of the KOA crew came to our campsite and demanded that we needed a tent to stay here. Not the camping hammock that we had. So we had to drive 2.5 hours back to mainland to find suitable lodging. Disappointing and unwelcoming.
Dec 09, 2016
Dec 05, 2016
Friendly helpful staff. Excellent spot for kayaking & paddling!
Dec 05, 2016
Thank goodness I like Spanish music cause it went on till 11 p.m.
Nov 30, 2016
It's hard to give a decent rating to go to a campground in which it is so noisy with partiers, it is impossible to get any sleep. Otherwise, we found the campground to be quite Pleasant with a wonderful Marina Bait Tackle Shop and great prices on things like ice.
Nov 29, 2016
I liked it very much. The restrooms were kept very clean! Staff was very friendly!.. the only one thing I'd strongly recommend to KOA is to Recycle! A lot of garbage is generated daily by campers. KOA could help spread the Recycling culture.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy