St. Ignace / Mackinac Island KOA

Open May 1 - October 31

Reserve: 906-643-9303

Info: 800-562-0534

Email

W1118 US-2 Highway

St Ignace, MI 49781

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations, Kabins

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 3.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Aug 17, 2017
The stay was overall fine. However, the site was not really conducive to tent camping. Lots of rocks and no flat areas. It's obvious that KOAs cater to RVs.
Aug 16, 2017
About what you expect for a KOA, but a terrible layout. Why have the pool right next to the highway? And for our stay, even though the campground was half empty, we ended up being sandwiched together in the tiniest site available next to a family of 10 who were up at the crack of dawn every morning. St. Ignace and the island itself are great, but I wish I had explored other places before booking.
Aug 15, 2017
This campground is nice, it is in need of a little TLC, but it appeared as if the work was in progress. The staff were very helpful and friendly, I would not hesitate to stay here again if we are camping in the area. The sites designated for tent camping are far too small though, perhaps removing a couple and expanding the size of the remaining sites would be a good idea.
Aug 15, 2017
Excellent campground. Kind staff
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 12, 2017
Loud campground. Sites were not at all private. Facilities were dirty.
Aug 11, 2017
Our tent campsite was shady and in good shape. After dark the pop machine near the bathroom/showers attracted a hoard of some kind of moth that were on the ground making a mess. That was the only negative to report except the rain, that you can't do anything about.
Aug 11, 2017
We enjoyed it a lot! It was so close to town and the sites were nice. The store was well stocked and the kids loved the playgrounds. We will definitely be coming back!
Aug 07, 2017
We were tent camping. There were no tent sites with enough level space to put a tent on. All the spots were sloped. Not much grass.The bathrooms were fair. The showers did not all have doors on them, some curtains that did not even cover the opening. One did not even have a bench to put your belongings on. Soap dispensers broken. We have stayed at many KOAs,not up to same standard.
Aug 07, 2017
Campground was nice and the people that work there were very nice and helpful. Bathrooms I thought were pretty clean for campground. The only thing I would stay is I wish there was a little more grass and less dirt areas only because when it rained it got extremely muddy.
Aug 07, 2017
Aug 07, 2017
I've stayed at a few KOA site and it was ok. Campsite is great. People are friendly. Bathroom could have been cleaner. The tent site was right next to the bathrooms and slammed when people walked in and out which was prettt disruptive late and night and especially early in the morning.
Aug 06, 2017
Our tent site was basically on the side of a hill...very difficult to find a flat enough surface to place our tent...we had to create our own space into the woods. The bathrooms were also extremely dirty.
Aug 05, 2017
I've stayed here 3 or 4 years in a row site #29 or 30 awesome tent sites this year due to all the rain we've had this part of the campground was flooded and couldn't be used had to take a different site that was not a great tent site so a 10 rating in the past has to be a 7 this year but that's a weather problem the folks and services are still a 10 and next year I will camp here again hopefully i
Aug 02, 2017
Campsites were kind of right on top of each other and greatly varied in quality. We had an okay size one but our neighbors was tiny. We could hear them whispering in their tent while in ours, that's how on top of each other the sites were. Bathrooms were decent. Always had warm water for showers, but a toilet was always clogged if seemed.
Aug 01, 2017
Horrible to put it into one word. We got moved from our campsite on the second day because it was double booked. So dirty, the showers are full of dead bugs and cobwebs. They do not inforce the rules of quiet hours so the people next to us were partying until 2:45 am. We won't return.
Jul 31, 2017
THe bathrooms are so dirty!
Jul 27, 2017
Lots of rain recently, so the site I booked was flooded out. KOA graciously relocated me to a different site and upgraded at no additional. Staff was very friendly and most helpful. I had a very pleasant stay while in St. Ignace.
Jul 27, 2017
Our stay was ok. It wasn't the worst campground I've stayed at, but not the best either. We only stayed one night. I was gratedful for the hot shower, but the shower itself was quite dirty and in disrepair. I was thankful I remembered to pack my shower shoes. The plumbing must not work great, the toilet nearly overflowed. The campsite was decent, it had rained so I expected a little mud.
Jul 25, 2017
I reserved a no electricity tent site. But had to stay at an electrical site because of flooding. So even though it wasn't my fault, I was charged extra to stay at that site. Also the bathrooms & showers near the campground were not tended to very well. They were pretty gross. Had to use the ones by check in office which were cleaner.
Jul 24, 2017
Our site was wet and muddy when we were the only one's there for two nights. No other patrons were there for the two nights we were in the tent section. Better care for longer staying campers would be more appreciated.
Jul 23, 2017
Good site, but it was dirty... Trash everywhere. Bad clean up and bathrooms were awful. Very dirty or not working.
Jul 19, 2017
The bathrooms needed to be updated and were not cleaned on 1 day of our stay. The dumpster was always full and there was no one working at night or an emergency number. The pool was nice and the washer and dryers worked well.
Jul 19, 2017
The first night there was a group that were loud and the content of their conversation should not have been heard by children. The quiet time of 11 pm - 7 am was not followed. But the campground was ok and would probably stay here again.
Jul 17, 2017
Very satisfied and comfortable
Jul 17, 2017
Jul 10, 2017
The location of camp site was perfect but the site itself was not something I would ever go back to. The main bathroom was disgusting. During our entire stay the men's and womens toilets were constantly clogged. They tried to plunge them but it was never enough. Dirty toilet water was left on the floor for days at a time. But, the bathrooms at the front were always clean. New management
Jul 10, 2017
The bathrooms were extremely dirty. The dumpsters were overflowing with garbage that left a terrible smell when you walked by or were using the bathroom. Our campsite was also messy, a lot of small piece of garbage scattered throughout. Thankfully we were just there to sleep.
Jul 07, 2017
bathrooms and showers need more attention from cleaning staff during peak times. staff was very friendly and helpful
Jul 07, 2017
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jul 07, 2017
the hole place was flooded so they stuck us in a 1/2 acer field with 10 other campers.
Jul 07, 2017
Check-in, the store, pool, and mini golf all were in acceptable conditions, but the bathrooms were incredibly unsanitary. One stall had overflowed into others on the ground and stayed that way for the entire stay.
Jul 06, 2017
We had reserved a tent site with power and water. When I got there the gal told me I didn't have a reservation,she did eventually find my reservation, the tent areas were under water due to rain,so all tents went to the over flow lot. Had no power, water, no wifi. We were close to the bathrooms, though they were not cleaned for the time we spent there.
Jul 05, 2017
The tent area of the campsite was under water and muddy. They never notified us of this so we drove 5 hrs and there was no other option so we had to stay. They told us all the sites were full but there was a lot of open sites on the camper side. We go there 5 times a year and because of this we will more than likely not go back
Jul 05, 2017
Bathrooms were horrible!
Jul 01, 2017
I had so much fun. Not to fond of our neighbors, but overall the campground was awesome and so relaxing with the pool and mini golf
Jun 28, 2017
Awesome campground and spacious sites! The pool area could use an update but we still loved it!
Jun 24, 2017
It was a great location to make travels from. Sites could use some TLC. We stayed on a electric tent site needed to be cleaned. The fire rings were non existent. While we were there the back bathroom was not cleaned until Thursday when the big rush was coming in. Not to mention the hot water was out as well. They are under new ownership so I hope they puts some funds into it.
Jun 18, 2017
The staff was great. The facilities are very outdated, the dryers were broken, the sites were small, un-mowed and very muddy. The giant trucks on the highway didn't make for a very peaceful stay, but I know that's not under your control. The campshop was good and the cabins cute!
Jun 17, 2017
Great location. Nice cabins. Friendly staff.
Jun 06, 2017
We ended up having to stay in a RV site (we have tent) due to flooding but all sites seemed spacious. Nice and quiet for being on main drag.
May 16, 2017
...
Sep 07, 2016
I have staued here for the last 35 years and will always come back. Great people. Clean facilities. Great pool. Great place. I love it and recommend this to any family.
Sep 07, 2016
Sep 07, 2016
Will not be back. Wood for burning was wet. Small sites, bathrooms kept breaking down
Sep 07, 2016
No firepit . no picknic table. Got poison ivy rash. No room to set tent up. Tent was on small trees. Next camp site tent and ours back to back.
Sep 06, 2016
Came in frim alabama, we totally enjoyed the stire and the laundry will come back next year
Sep 06, 2016
It was an awesome experience for my first time camping by myself. Midge (sp?) in the office/store was a very helpful staff member with a great personality!
Sep 06, 2016
Wifi did not work through out the facility were told that this was due to amount of users. Not enough toilet facilities to accommodate the number of people staying at the KOA. Pool and other amenities were nice. The staff was friendly.
Sep 06, 2016
We made and paid for a reservation in advance. Once we arrived we were directed to 3 different sites that were already occupied. When discussing our concerns and frustrations to staff in a calm and respectful way we were told not to "lecture them". They wanted us to set up camp in the front lawn. This offered no privacy and was next to US 2. I will never stay at a KOA again.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals