Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Rustic Cabin Reviews

May 12, 2015
my toilet backed up into my tub
May 12, 2015
We had a blast. Quiet, private, comfortable & affordable. We will do this again. My children enjoyed the train, bounce pillow, basketball all night and the Frozen characters. Cabins smelled nice and were really clean.
May 12, 2015
Our cabin was super cute! Everything was very nice!
May 12, 2015
The children had a great time; however, there were a few small concerns that I had. Maybe because it was the beginning of the season there were only 2 fishing rods available for rent, no bait on site and the store was poorly stocked. We also had to call someone to the park model because the gas was off.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do not officially open until Mothers Day Weekend that is the reason for our store to not be fully stocked. Same goes for our fishing pond and supplies. We still have tons going on and we are closed all winter and have to work through bad weather to get thing up and good. Thanks Management
May 12, 2015
Didn't like that I called in advanced and was told there was a microwave in my cabin and a grill neither was there was also told it family friendly but my husband went to the men's bathroom/shower there a naked women standing nude waitin for someone to finish up there was suppose to b a train it ran twice mining wasn't even running no workers for jumppillow to make sure older kids rnt bein rough

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our Rustic cabins have no amenities....our records show you made your reservation online and booked the Rustic yourself...We have other cabins with micro but non of our lodging has grills.We can not control a grown person standing naked in a shower house if notified we could of helped resolve.
May 11, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay their we will be back! All empolyees were very helpful and friendly. I was was really surprised at the how big the fridge was we thought we would only have a mini fridge that was really nice now next time we can better plan for snacks and meals.
May 11, 2015
Love this park. Always stay there when visiting Cedar Point. Cabins are the perfect size to rest between days.
May 11, 2015
This is our third summer staying with this KOA campground. Last year and this year I have the same complaint. The people at the front desk gave out where I was staying to my sister, yes I know my sister but how did the person know that I wanted anyone to know where I was? I don't think that's right they gave out where I was staying plus there was a truck in spot told counter lady and got no where.
May 11, 2015
We always have a very good experience at this particular campground, and if we ever have an issue they are "johnny on the spot" to fix it!
May 11, 2015
We stayed in a park model using a promotional price. New mattresses are needed but otherwise it was a good deal, if we had to pay full price for both nights the state of the mattress would have made this rating closer to poor. We have stayed here before in tents and other than bike week we have always enjoyed out stays. Bike week should be avoided at all costs especially if you have children.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hello Bate's family. My name is Alex Gooding and I am the Manager of the campground.I understand your complaint and we are currently resolving and updating our park models. Most of them have been updated but replacing all at one time gets costly. Thanks and I am working hard to make your stay better
May 11, 2015
When we arrived the AC wasn't working, and we were instantly blamed for turning it down to low, which we had not done, it turned out a breaker hadn't been flipped. No towels in the unit when there had been in the past. Like the upgraded TV.
May 11, 2015
We have been going to the KOA for bout 7 years now. We have a big family and rent 2 3bdrm cabins each time 6 times a years. We love it and wouldnt stay anywhere else. Thank you KOA for making our stays enjoyable. We also love the improvements you have done for 2015.
May 11, 2015
Love this KOA! We stay here every time we visit Sandusky!!
May 11, 2015
We had a great time! The only thing I would recommend is putting a grill spot by the park models. We will definitely be back!
May 11, 2015
May 11, 2015
very clean and staff was great will be back again for sure
May 11, 2015
woke up to human waste coming out of the toilet and half filled in bath tub.tried to rent bikes but only one had a tire with air that wasn't leaking out. The cable did not work in our cabin. Bounce pillow was not on, on Saturday. So there was really nothing for the kids to do.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We had city sewer problems that could not be controlled by us, but we did the best we could do by sending cleaning crews to clean.Our bikes were in storage all winter and unfortunately the needed to be maintained. Jump pillow is open Fri night 5 to 9 and Sat 9 to 12 and 5 to 9.
May 10, 2015
Nov 03, 2014
Very comfortable in the park model, especially for a breezy, cold Halloweekend at Cedar Point. Nice to come back to our snacks, full kitchen, bathroom all with our own thermostat.
Nov 03, 2014
It was very peaceful.
Oct 29, 2014
nice clean campground, we got one of the six person cabins, we have two concerns, beds were like sleeping on concrete, and there needs to be more to set on in the living room area than the futon which is very uncomfortable, may be okay for the young but not so for the elderly. we have stayed at this campground for many years when we go to lake erie / cedar point in Sandusky,cabins never this bad.
Oct 27, 2014
Well first off let me start by saying the park model that we stayed in was dirty. There is a burn mark on the counter the door had one screen missing , the closet door in the bedroom next to the bathroom was off and it smells really strong come to find out that they bimbed right before we got there for what idk and the futon was disgusting I have never had any issues with any koa but this one.
Oct 27, 2014
The entire experience with KOA was super. From the initial phone call to the checking out, I couldn't be more satisfied with our stay. We wil definately be back!
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
Great place but a little noisy after quiet time. The rustic cabin was nice but no heat even though website states heat and air in all cabins. Overall was a nice stay. Will return.
Oct 27, 2014
Friendly, fun staff and the cabin was great! Much better than all the motels in the area!
Oct 27, 2014
Very friendly, good breakfast. Close to many major attractions. Very clean and well kept.
Oct 27, 2014
We enjoyed our stay so much! We had planned to go to Cedar Point on Friday night, but there were so many activities going on that our girls wanted to stay at the campground. They had a blast going trick-or-treating, making tie-dye shirts and other crafts!!! Thanks for a great weekend!!! :)
Oct 26, 2014
The staff was very kind and helps my friend and I with find our cabin and suggesting borrowing a heater. The cabin were very clean and the grounds were very well kept.
Oct 22, 2014
Always a great stay! I've been coming for years and will return in the future.
Oct 21, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
My whole family of 12 ppl love this KOA campground in Sandusky, OH. We live in Indiana and are KOA Kard holder and Cedar Point VIP Card holders. So we stay at the KOA atleast 6 times a year.
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
campground very clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Would come back here any time I feel its better then the campground in cedar Pte.
Oct 20, 2014
everything was great!
Oct 20, 2014
Great as always, everyone is friendly and the campground is clean.
Oct 16, 2014
Super friendly and easy to book. Very helpful!
Oct 15, 2014
I liked staying there. I had no idea of what the wireless password was nor was there a way to find out when I needed it. Maybe you can pencil it in on the map when one comes to stay there. I noticed that there was information about a shuttle, but didn't think to make note of the number. Is there a way you can add it in your off hours "out of office" recordings?
Oct 14, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
Overall we had a nice time at this KOA. The proximity to Cedar Point was awesome! The cabin we rented didn't look anything like the pictures online but overall, it worked well. We had noisy loudmouth neighbors across the way that were yelling for their kids all night and aside from them, everyone was respectful and quiet.
Oct 13, 2014
Oct 13, 2014
Oct 13, 2014
We really had a fun, but we were really disappointed that our cabin lost heat in the middle of the night. Turns out both of our gas tanks were empty. The people in the office didn't seem to care. No apology. They just said "I can see how heat could be important". We suffered by being frozen at 54 degrees and the kids bundle in blankets. I would have expected the staff to be apologetic/sympathetic.
Oct 13, 2014
Everything was great except, there was no control over the jumping thing. Too many children went on it without signing the paper and without parental supervision.
Oct 12, 2014
Oct 07, 2014
Over 15 years our family has been to Bayshore. Last year the smell made me sick. Family comes first so again $1100. and G2 made me ill and a two year old after being told newer cabins had no toilet when reserv made. Told to look online instead of being shown new cabins.2 cans Lysol,ant killer and bought sheets.yrs were stained.Recommend new cabins only
Oct 06, 2014
Was a fun time - cabin was clean (except for coffee bag left in the machine by previous tenant, an easy oversight) and overall comfortable. A fun trip. I'll be coming back for sure.
Oct 06, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.