Royal Gorge / Canon City KOA

Open April 15 - October 17

Reserve: 800-562-5689

Info: 719-275-6116

Email

559 County Road 3A

Canon City, CO 81215

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 20, 2017
I love this KOA. Their staff is amazing and the owners are putting a lot of TLC into the place.
Jun 20, 2017
We had a good time. Cabin was new and clean. The people that worked there were friendly. No issues.
Jun 20, 2017
Staff was great. The new section of the campground was very nice. Having a shuttle to town was awesome,(great idea), wish all KOA's had shuttles, it was one of the reasons we stayed here. The man who drove the shuttle was awesome too, very nice and helpful. Our suggestion would be to put a KOA sign on the main highway. We will definitely stay here again.
Jun 20, 2017
Lots of work being accomplished to bring this KOA up to date. Very large property and many new plans, This will be a Class A RV Resort when work is completed. Currently the Staff are Friendly and Work to the Best of Their Abilities to Make Guests Feel Special. I will definitely go to this KOA again. Jeri
Jun 20, 2017
The staff was great, But my site had electrical problems. I was with out electricity on the first day for about 2 hours, on my day of checkout my family and I lost electricity around midnight and still had no electricity when we checked out. This was not our greatest experience camping at a KOA this time.
Jun 19, 2017
Awesome
Jun 18, 2017
Great pool for kids, clean park
Jun 18, 2017
The staff were just great, the sites tidy and easily accessible to hookups. I requested a site with a tree and staff was very amenable to me moving after one night.
Jun 17, 2017
First time campers and we had a great time. Lots of stuff for the kids to do. Only recommendation...have a grassy area to walk pets. Everyone was so friendly and helpful! Thank you!
Jun 17, 2017
Very friendly staff- extremely helpful!! We would stay again!
Jun 17, 2017
Great stay! Clean and quiet! Accessible and friendly staff! Will stay again !
Jun 16, 2017
Awesome people that work there. The facilities are the best. All sites are lined with huge rocks, do not like the rocks, we broke our sewer drain on the rocks getting into our site. Other guests said same thing not liking the rocks.
Jun 16, 2017
Secluded test sites, flat space for tents, outdoor kitchen space, small western town, clean bathrooms, showers with a bench, friendly staff. We didn't have time to use the activities but it's great that they're there. My kids didn't want to leave. If we come that way again, we'll be back.
Jun 14, 2017
This KOA has made a lot of improvements recently and we can see they are still working to make it even better.
Jun 13, 2017
We were warmly greeted, check-in was easy. Park is clean and sites well-maintained. Only negative was the condition of the mini-golf. It is in dire need of some attention and TLC.
Jun 13, 2017
The big slide; isn't slick. You have to work really hard to "slide" down. The mini golf course is not maintained as twigs, leaves and rocks were all over the course, making it difficult to play. The pool that was supposed to be open was closed 2 of the 3 days we were there. The playground had swings & a couple of things to play on, though a bit run down. Staff is friendly but very slow.
Jun 13, 2017
Staff is awesome, Kinda run down, hot, windy and fun. Love the daily activities, showers smelled, bad paint, need to clean, organize the rides and surrounding areas. I would also like to see gift shop packed and cleaned.
Jun 12, 2017
Camping cabin was filthy when we checked in, not even broom clean, bathrooms not very clean or kept up, staff in office not always there or knowledgeable, nothing in office to offer but bad coffee with only a fork to use as a stirrer....it became comical. Go down the road to Cotopaxi....MUCH better!!!
Jun 09, 2017
Very friendly staff, she was very helpful, clean showers and toilet facilities, great location
Jun 07, 2017
Jun 07, 2017
Staff was friendly, courteous, and helpful.restrooms and showers very clean. Entire property was well maintained.
Jun 06, 2017
Campground was nice, the facilities were clean, and staff was friendly and helpful. We were a little frustrated by the fact that we purposefully booked a site that was supposed to hold larger rigs with double spaces with patios. Well slot #2 is only double on one side, so we had a neighbor (bus) 1 foot outside our slide window for both nights! A little too close for comfort. Otherwise, a nice stay
Jun 06, 2017
Tree limbs in travel lanes. Spaces not marked.
Jun 05, 2017
Our young son had a broken leg and everyone was extremely kind and accommodating to ensure he had fun. Even providing a garbage bag to cover his cast from the drizzle to go on the hay ride. Thank you for the fun stay!
Jun 05, 2017
Came here for the heated pool but the heater was broken and we instead swam in glacial water. However, the campground was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Jun 05, 2017
Great camp site. Kids loved the playground, pool, and go carts. The tent sites were a little tight and our neighbors had to be reminded daily about the quiet hours but I can't blame the KOA for rude people.
Jun 04, 2017
The people were great, the surroundings were great, the beds were HORRIBLE....!!! I would stay again ONLY if the beds were A LOT better... Tom C
Jun 03, 2017
Water wasn't working near tent sights. Not much in store.
Jun 02, 2017
Great pizza, didn't get the Camp site we reserved, got another one with a tree that blocked our satellite dish, so that wasn't fun, all the staff was very nice,
Jun 02, 2017
Pool was dirty and freezing, granddaughter could not use it,the slide did not stay open as late as advertised.
Jun 01, 2017
What a great campground. So much to do, great location, amazing staff. .. Camped last year and brought 2 more families this year. This might be a yearly trip for me.
Jun 01, 2017
We stayed in a wonderful cabin with a direct view of the Royal Gorge in the distances. Great place with kids.
Jun 01, 2017
Loved the scenery and horses. Great staff! Very clean & quiet.
Jun 01, 2017
The staff was great. The park is undergoing renovations, so would return knowing that the next time we arrive, the park will be even nicer than it was currently.,
May 31, 2017
Great staff!!!
May 31, 2017
We love the activities put on during memorial day weekend. The talent show was an excellent addition. We appreciate the many activities for the kids and the amazing, old-school, playground. Great family atmosphere! Kyle??, the guy running the go carts, has an amazing attitude and fun spirit!
May 31, 2017
Staff was great! Campsites were a little too close together for my liking. Lots of family friendly activities!
May 31, 2017
Wonderful people lovely camp ground loved talent show only thing you need is Mic and lights
May 31, 2017
Love the improvements made to this KOA .. We had not been here in the last 2 years since the prior owners were just not into it and it needed a lot of improvements. We saw it had new owners so thought we would check it out and we are impressed . The only thing we could recommend is having a known place to put hot ashes from the prior nights campfire ..
May 31, 2017
Staff was great. Lots of activities for family. Nice upgrades excited to see what comes next. We will definitely be back!
May 31, 2017
This is tbe second time we stayed here.The staff is very friendly and helpful. They have also done a great job in upgrading the campground. Highly recommend staying at this KOA.
May 30, 2017
We loved all of the kids activities and extra care the staff took to make it a really enjoyable weekend!
May 30, 2017
kid friendly place with a lot of staff organized activities and kid amenities... grills on tables can be tossed.. they are past their useful life and just take up room... most people have their own cook stoves these days anyway.. great KOA, friendly staff that is engaged and helpful at every turn!! we will go back... i'd like to see a kid's bike track and a larger bike loop one day!
May 30, 2017
AWESOME!!! We go every year and it gets better each time we go. Thanks Again for a great time.
May 30, 2017
awesome staff
May 30, 2017
Wonderful place to stay. Great campsites and the whole entire staff was so nice. Love the enthusiasm shared by all the workers makes you feel happy just to see workers like that. Good job new owners!!
May 30, 2017
We enjoyed our stay with friends
May 30, 2017
The campground was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful. The WiFi signal was weak at times and not able to carry all of the people on line/
May 30, 2017
Slide and go-karts were kids highlights. Clean restrooms and newly built site with rock walls and new plants were a nice touch. Sewer and electric were brand new.
May 30, 2017
I have to say we used to go 2 to 3 times a year to this location and stopped because of the ownership and problems that we had. and stayed at another camp ground but then herd was under new ownership and wanted to see , was very impresses at the changes and the new owners of what has been done and what I think will continue to be done We will be back once again !! Very impressed !! will be back
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals