Royal Gorge / Canon City KOA

Open April 14 - October 23

Reserve: 800-562-5689

Info: 719-275-6116

Email

559 County Road 3A

Canon City, CO 81215

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 18, 2017
Aug 18, 2017
They charged by the person, the sites and fire pit were filled with trash. The fire pit was too small to use. The shower had to be held in on position by hand while you shower, "to save water"but they were too cheap to install water saving shower heads. Picnic table- broken and nasty. It was way too expensive. This was the worst koa we have stayed at, should be dropped as a koa franchise.
Aug 18, 2017
Aug 18, 2017
Aug 17, 2017
Has great potential but the staff does not appear to take pride in their workplace with the exception of the older gentleman with the knee problem (sorry didn't get his name). He was very pleasant and accommodating. Campsite did not appear to be regularly cleaned and had trash strewn about when we arrived. We never saw any other staff cleaning up the campground in the 3 days we were there.
Aug 16, 2017
Aug 16, 2017
Good location!
Aug 16, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at the royal gorge campground. The people were very friendly and helpful. Our trailer is 43 feet long and the landscaping around the large pull through sites is very difficult to get around. We had to move some rocks to get in the site and had to have our neighbor move his pick up to get out. Also the showers were not cleaned everyday and they needed new shower curtains.
Aug 16, 2017
We had the larger campsite and really enjoyed the extra room.
Aug 16, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Great place to stay. Everyone who works there is very friendly. Older gentleman went out of his way to make sure everything was ok and tell us about things to do in the area and activities at the campground. Lots to do. Great location. Will defiantly go back again.
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Very friendly staff and campground is a perfect location far enough from road that you can't hear it but not out of the way from town
Aug 14, 2017
The sites were nice, but the hey ride and s'mores were a bust. There were only three chocolate bars for the s'mores, so our five kids didn't get any and the slide cost $7 a kid and it hadn't been maintained, so they had to push themselves downð­
Aug 14, 2017
This campground has a lot of potential. You can see that they are working to improve it. The staff was incredible (One of the best of any KOA we have stayed at). Men's showers were hard to use.
Aug 14, 2017
very over priced. The most expensive koa I've ever stayed in. site I cound't even walk to the back of my RVwith the sliders out there was no room. picnic table was in the back and the fire pit was so close to the other site I would have set there 5th wheel on fire. The last person dug up the gravel and I had a pit in front of my door. They really need to pay attention to there sites.
Aug 14, 2017
Very friendly staff and it is clear they are trying. An incredibly difficult campground to navigate with a camper. Daily, you could see campers struggling to pull in and out of the sites requiring multiple ground guides. The 4 story slide is not worth the money and is in desperate need of repair. This amenity should be included in the price of the campground.
Aug 14, 2017
Nice kampground, lots for kids to do. Real close to Royal Gorge. Staff seemed real nice too. Stayed in a cabin and it was nice. Decks are a bit small but inside nice and clean.
Aug 14, 2017
We have stayed here more than once and have enjoyed it each time. Very friendly people and a beautiful view of the Royal Gorge bridge.
Aug 13, 2017
Stayed in a deluxe cabin and although it did have a shower and bathroom we could only get a warm shower 1 out of 6 days. The cabin was nice and slept 4 easily. Only thing it's missing was a stove.
Aug 12, 2017
It had beautiful cabins. The go carts were old and died several times. The pool was green and children were unable to swim. Employees were friendly and close to a lot of attractions.
Aug 12, 2017
Aug 12, 2017
It was great for the price
Aug 11, 2017
The employees were very friendly. However, it advertised there was a cafe open, the cafe was never open. It had a BEAUTIFUL view and the KOA was very clean, with the exception of the actual trash bins. They were all overflowing with garbage and the benches that parents could sit at to watch the slides need to be replaced YESTERDAY! They are unsafe to sit on. This was a fun KOA though!
Aug 11, 2017
Would be much nicer if mini golf and other site activities were better maintained. Tent sites were nice, had a great view of the countryside.
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 11, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay and we plan on coming back in the future with more family. Great staff extremely helpful and great pricing.
Aug 10, 2017
We enjoyed our stay and enjoyed the surroundings. Customer service was top notch!
Aug 10, 2017
Aug 10, 2017
Great place
Aug 10, 2017
Staff very friendly. BUT the place is run down. We had a 30 amp which would not even run the AC, didn't need it too much since we are in the mountains and it was cool most days. We stayed 4 night on a none prime site they were nicer. Run down dirty slide, DEAD sacks that are cheap to replace I check pricing. icy pool could use solar blanket. Putt-Putt way poor condition. I expect more from KOA's
Aug 10, 2017
They were very friendly. Pool was clean and they had a campground for kids. Nice Service.
Aug 10, 2017
Aug 10, 2017
Not big rig friendly. Big rocks everywhere, turns too tight. Employee overwhelmed due to lack of help and inexperience. Sent us wrong way in, damaged front end on rock.
Aug 10, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
Very nice & wide spot. At first, someone was in my spot, but it was quickly handled and I was moved into another spot. we camped their 3 days and felt comfortable.
Aug 09, 2017
We love coming to this KOA. Our favorite is the big blue slide! We always have a good time and everyone is so helpful and nice. Thank you KOA!!
Aug 09, 2017
Except for the very noisy neighbors till1:15am and losing sleep ... We enjoyed our stay
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
We have stayed here twice now and we miss it when we leave. Beautiful views and friendly and very helpful staff. A shout out to Nichol who helped us on our first stay. It was pouring down rain and she walked us to our site and went and got us propane, soaking wet.
Aug 09, 2017
Clean, well-maintained campground. Only minutes from Royal Gorge Bridge.
Aug 09, 2017
Originally planned to stay for three days but decided to extend it to five days. Wish there would have been grassy areas. We originally thought the amusement park area next to the campground was abandoned because of the weeds and tall grass. Maybe a string trimmer and mower would improve the looks of it. All in all, I would stay there again.
Aug 09, 2017
Great location for experiencing the gorge and jumping to other CO natural beauty.
Aug 09, 2017
Royal Gorge wasn't as clean for a koa. . No t v. My antena wouldn't even work.
Aug 09, 2017
Kids had a great time with the giant slide at the campsite and the site is located near all of the main attractions and only a few minutes from the town of Canon City. The activities offered were all family friendly and it was great seeing so many people of all ages out enjoying themselves!
Aug 09, 2017
I have a 5 & 3 year old and I can certainly say it is a great place to stay if you have kids. They enjoyed the pool, miniature golf, and most of all the slide! The grounds were clean and staff was one of the friendliest I have had over this Summer, 2017.
Aug 09, 2017
Enjoyed the stay very much. the number of activities available were really good. Putt Putt could use some updating
Aug 08, 2017
We stayed in one of the cabins, it was clean and well maintained. Staff were friendly and they do a good job maintaining the bathrooms and grounds.
Aug 08, 2017
great little koa to stay...shuttle bus available to take into town
Aug 08, 2017
Great for a one night stay,charged an extra $10 for early check in ?
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals