Picacho / Tucson NW KOA

18428 S. Picacho Hwy

Picacho, AZ 85141

Reserve: 800-562-4186

Info: 520-466-2966

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Apr 16, 2014
Camp was clean & the staff friendly. WIFI was non-existant but this was one KOA that was upfront about it. I sent my emails & made calls before arriving a BIG thank you for that! I arrived just before their season was to end so no Chuck wagon steaks. Can't place my finger on it but traveling alone the camp felt too desolate. Would not stay here again unless they were in full season.
Mar 31, 2014
My 11 year old daughter and I (single mom) stayed in our tent at this KOA Kampground...our second year in a row. We both love it...we feel safe and secure, the grounds are well kept and beautiful, the pool area is great, the on-site restaurant has yummy food, and all the folks that work there (and stay there) are super friendly. Looking forward to staying there again next spring break!
Mar 19, 2014
This was a night stop on a road trip from Texas to California. We arrived late, no reservation, did a night check-in and were on the road the next morning. The staff handled the night check-in with no problems, the facilities were clean, and the stay was restful.
Mar 18, 2014
Feb 25, 2014
Very nice campground with an excellent cafe on site. Level tent sites, some shade. Clean bathrooms. Friendly staff.
Feb 23, 2014
Owners were great. Restaurant people fun and food great.
Feb 18, 2014
Great team working there, excellent food at Frankie's Chuckwagon and clean facilities make for an all around excellent camping experience.
Feb 05, 2014
There are trains passing during the night that do whistle as they go by.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Wish I could ask them not to do that.
Feb 01, 2014
Nice hosts and decent facility. Tent sites are closest to the freeway, so pretty noisy. Since tents have no soundproofing, would be nice if they located them further back, but guess,they try and put them close to the bath house.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

You are correct. Close to the restrooms and showers is a convenience and the interstate is close by. Sorry you didn't have the best stay.
Jan 12, 2014
It was cold but that is what one can expect camping outside in the winter. Staff was great. Nice and clean bathrooms. I would have like to commons room to be open a bit later but, hey, that is just selfishness on my part.
Dec 14, 2013
Facility and people were great, I'm in a tent and it gets a little spendy. Was going to try to spend the winter camping -- can't afford that.
Dec 02, 2013
Best showers I've ever seen at a campground! The only complaint I have about it is the location; a few miles away from the highway and those hourly freight trains always blowing their whistles would make a world of difference. But... when tired enough, one can sleep through anything.
Nov 26, 2013
The campground caretakers were extremely nice, however 30 plus dollars to set up my tent on some grass is a criminal fee. I arrived at night, prices were not posted, and I was just tent camping. I could have stayed at a motel for 30 dollars. Not a positive experience in that regard, but I will stress that the hosts were very, very nice people.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our prices are inline with the state park. We will take a reservation for no charge and the state park charges $5.00 to take an online reservation. We have food to your site, a pool, clean warm restrooms. Our goal is to make stays Great.
Nov 06, 2013
I really enjoyed my stay in Picacho. Dean and his wife were wonderful. Dean helped me set up my tent and he even delivered my dinner ! I built a nice campfire and went to sleep under the stars. Everything was neat and clean. VERY well taken care of. Thank you !!!!!
Oct 21, 2013
The best pool of all KOAs. Not the size, but the temperature! Great camping sink, super showers. We will come back!
Oct 15, 2013
The staff (owners?) were fantastic, my tent site was perfect and the bathroom was heated. But this KOA is 100 yards from a major freeway (Tucson - Phoenix.)If you are tent camping, give up any chance of sleep. The constant din of fwy traffic is unbearable. Why KOA builds so near freeways is beyond me. The niceness of the staff and the campground itself is overshadowed by the unrelenting fwy noise
Oct 13, 2013
Interstate,train,and plane noise was Terrible and very limited shade unlike the website stated.The managers were nice and restrooms were clean.
Sep 18, 2013
We had a good visit.
Sep 07, 2013
The host was extremely helpful went out of their way to make us comfortable!
Apr 09, 2013
My girls and I camped in our tent at their tent site...conveniently located close to showers/bathroom, laundry room, and (of course) the swimming pool!! Bathrooms/showers were very clean....restaurant had amazing food (steaks, and Friday was the fish fry!!). Lots of fun stuff to see and do close by (Rooster Cogburn's Ostrich Farm was awesome!)
Mar 20, 2013
Nice, friendly, clean. Love the dog park!
Mar 19, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.