Newton KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-4670

Info: 641-792-2428

Email

1601 East 36th Street South

Newton, IA 50208

Get Directions

All, Deluxe Cabins

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Sep 05, 2017
Had a great time. Plenty of things to do to keep kids busy.
Sep 05, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Jul 31, 2017
Cons: a lot of interstate noise. Pros: staff, cleanliness, close to food and fuel!
Jul 29, 2017
Tent sites are just a big grassy field so we had dog poop to avoid while setting up - no tent pads or division between. Bathrooms: very old and dirty with lots of bugs and webs - but like that they had a/c.
Jul 17, 2017
There are a lot of positive features about the campground. However, my experience sleeping outweighs those positives. The highway was horribly loud and annoying. And the people in the campsite next to us were loud and rude starting well after quiet hours and keeping me up for hours playing music and swearing. I would never return.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are very sorry about the noise from your neighbors. If we had known we would have spoke to them to respect the quiet hours. We hope you stay with us again.
Jul 10, 2017
My stay was very good overall. the facilities were very clean. If your tent camping I would recommend ear plugs for the camp is right off I80 and the road noise is very loud.other than that nice place to stay.
Jul 09, 2017
Quite policy non existant .Counter staff rude
Jul 06, 2017
My husband, myself, and our two boys have stayed in SEVERAL KOAs in the past three years. This KOA is BY FAR our favorite! Bob and June are so incredibly sweet and very hospitable. We will be returning for a long time to come and will be referring this site to friends, for sure! Big, BIG kudos to Bob and June!
Jun 28, 2017
Great stay!! I didn't need more than a safe and clean patch of grass and I got it. It was nice to relax by the pond before going to bed.
Jun 20, 2017
I was travelling with the Hot Rod Power Tour and this camp ground was a great place to rest ! The ladies that checked me in were the nicest people! Thanks for great place to stay !
Jun 19, 2017
Jun 12, 2017
Friendly & helpful staff. Our tent area was well marked out and ample sized. Loved the pond & trails through the woods. My only complaint is the mirror in the women's rr was not the greatest for a short person to use. A full length mirror would be a nice addition.
Jun 08, 2017
Clean and friendly. Traffic noise is high but KOA staff can't control that.
Jun 02, 2017
Very clean bathrooms and nice staff. It was very nice considering its behind a truck depot. Walmart is super close aswell.
Jun 01, 2017
May 30, 2017
Loved itd
May 28, 2017
May 15, 2017
overnight an gone great place great help great space
May 07, 2017
Nov 21, 2016
Had traveled from Spearfish SD & made it to Newton KOA after bs. hours. Slept in car over night before leaving early the following morning. It was great to have access to bathroom facilities later pm and early in am. Stayed here a year ago about a week earlier after finishing work contract at Yellowstone. Glad to stay @ this KOA!
Sep 06, 2016
wonderful helpful people. will return again
Aug 31, 2016
Great staff and facility
Aug 24, 2016
It was nice and clean, however the grass at the tent sites had not been cut in some time (over 6" tall), soaking everything with dew in the morning.
Aug 22, 2016
Nice place. A lot of highway noise, but great views of the night sky. Clean washrooms with super roomy showers.
Aug 14, 2016
When tenting you need two things-water and a picnic table. Worst table ever. Dirty paint peeling really poor
Aug 08, 2016
The grass really needed to be cut. Overall, it was definitely not a place set up for tenting. People were friendly and the lots were spacious, if poorly defined. It simply seemed like tents were an afterthought.
Jul 20, 2016
Jul 19, 2016
Very clean,tons of fun, lots to do very kind ppl, great memories!!! Favorite place to stay!
Jul 10, 2016
Incredibly nice people. Gorgeous area of Iowa and lots of features at this Koa. Bathrooms need work compared to others I have stayed at.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for staying with us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The bathrooms were remodeled last summer, I wonder if you have us confused with another park for bathrooms? Hope to see you again!
Jul 07, 2016
Very pleasant manager, nice pool and clean restrooms. Beautiful grounds. I'd stop again!
Jul 05, 2016
It was very easy to locate and get too. The accommodations were very nice and clean.
Jul 05, 2016
very friendly host
Jul 05, 2016
Friendly customer service. Place is clean,bathrooms and showers are nice! Most of all WiFi connection is fast
Jun 27, 2016
Very accommodating with late arrivals
Jun 23, 2016
Jun 17, 2016
Boys liked pool. Folks were friendly. They are putting in brand new playground equipment including a jumping pillow. We enjoyed our stay!
Jun 09, 2016
Pretty setting. Lots of lush grass. Nice pool area. Friendly staff. Lots of trees and shade. A bit noisy from traffic for tenters at least. Very slow wi-fi in my experience. Kept getting disconnected. Restrooms need updating in my opinion.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are happy you enjoyed the beauty of our park and the pool! The traffic noise is part of the give and take with being right off of I80 for convenience. We had lightning strike our internet and there was an issue for a day or 2. Restrooms were updated last year.
Sep 28, 2015
We had kids church treasure hunt/hot dog roast. Owners were very accommodating. Kids and adults both had a blast
Sep 28, 2015
The staff was very friendly, the campsite was clean and well suited for our tents. Bathrooms and showers were nice, and the only reason I gave 4 instead of 5 stars was the Interstate noise. On the positive side the KOA was easy to find!
Sep 24, 2015
The hosts were very accommodating.
Sep 16, 2015
Sep 14, 2015
Nice sites, Friendly staff. We enjoyed our stay.
Sep 11, 2015
Camp office was open until a reasonable hour allowing me to arrive while it was open and I had a great experience getting set up in my tent.
Sep 07, 2015
Staff were helpful and accommodating. Grounds were well kept and quiet. Bathrooms clean.
Aug 17, 2015
Everything was great until...they were rude about our dog..if they are a nuisance then you shouldn't allow them at the campground..or maybe the website should be more clear on rules!!!
Aug 17, 2015
What nice people, and a nice little camp ground. Great if your heading for the Iowa fair, or the raceway.
Aug 08, 2015
We really enjoyed this campground. Thx!
Aug 03, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
Staff was friendly and accmodating. Store had items such as ice readily available. Place looked clean and the showers were great. We stayed in the tent area but no fire pit was provided and the noise from the highway was extreme.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy