Newport / I-40 / Smoky Mountains KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9016

Info: 423-623-9004

Email

240 KOA Lane

Newport, TN 37821

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 11:00 am, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Sep 18, 2017
We had an enjoyable stay, staff was very friendly and helpful.
Sep 18, 2017
It was a very good stay. The people were great, the store had lots of neat stuff. The big negative was the narrow bridge entering. Not a big problem when driving a car because you can back up but when towing if 2 people meet you would have to disconnect to back up and let someone get by. Only negative a great place otherwise
Sep 18, 2017
Easy drive-thru long enough for the truck and trailer. Very friendly and helpful staff made our short stay very enjoyable.
Sep 17, 2017
Sep 17, 2017
Just a over nite stay. It was a perfect stop off point.
Sep 17, 2017
Nice campground, very friendly and helpful staff. some of the sites are definitely not level but overall a pleasant atmosphere. Would camp here again.
Sep 15, 2017
Sep 14, 2017
Sep 11, 2017
Sep 10, 2017
No circuit breaker on 30 amp line. Nice picnic table for my site. Seemed a little short on urinals and showers.
Sep 05, 2017
Made reservations in advance, tried to put us in a tiny site, and told they were full. Although there were several sites open all weekend. We moved to a larger site to accommodate our canopy. (A motorcycle camped in first spot!) Cable did not work. Had to hookup electric from another box. Bathrooms were clean, but very steamy.
Sep 02, 2017
We enjoyed our stay, nice staff, clean campground, safe facility. The only draw back was the sound from the near by highway. If in the area again we will consider staying. Thank you
Sep 02, 2017
we just over-nighted, many abandoned or little used trailers, charge to use pool, grounds okay, managers okay,
Aug 30, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
We have stayed at this KOA once a year for the last 10 years. We've always enjoyed our stay but this year it appeared they were working on cleaning up the park of excess brush, low branches and junk trailers. Though we didn't use the pool it was in use and clean. There were pot holes on the road In but they were being worked on. We will see y'all next year!
Aug 28, 2017
Very friendly & helpful staff.
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 27, 2017
Super nice and clean KOA campground. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were super clean and the grounds were well landscaped. Sites were not huge, but they were big enough and we really didn't hear any highway noise, thanks to the crickets and other nocturnal insects. The drive to the Smoky Mountains Sugarland Visitor center took longer than I thought it would.
Aug 27, 2017
Great location. Close to the interstate. Very friendly
Aug 26, 2017
Beautiful facility, staff very friendly and bathrooms very clean. The only problem we had was the one lane road into the campground. We had to unhook our tow car and back up because we met another camper leaving while we were arriving.
Aug 26, 2017
The campground is fairly primitive with a number of unlevel sites. The staff are friendly, the campground is clean, and the bathrooms and showers are in good order.
Aug 25, 2017
Very nice KOA personnel. They made you feel welcome. The campground needs a little work and needs cleaned up a bit. Permanent residents are all over the park and needs to be in one location on the side of the campground. Overall the campground is in a good location. The sites are all gravel and somewhat level. It's close to dining and.shopping.
Aug 24, 2017
Entry road is too small for class A use. Park is find for small units or tenting.
Aug 23, 2017
Traffic noise, The sanitary area (esp. showers) not so clean. The rest o.k.
Aug 22, 2017
KOA ok. Tight access roads, utilities worked fine, wifi excluded, that didn't work. Had to use a cable converter box to hook up cable. Strange and didn't work on my system but was only staying one night. Staff was courteous and tried to be helpful. Lots of night highway noise. Stayed in a motorhome.
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 18, 2017
good for an overnight stay. clean restrooms and laundry. Site was too short for us to pull through and leave our car hooked up. nice campfire. grocery store close by.
Aug 18, 2017
Campground past its prime. Tight turns in the park. Site infrastructure needs attention, posts supporting water faucets and cable connection are rotten. Had to get a shovel to uncover my sewer connection. Horrible entry/egress road. There is a lengthy one lane road; if two rigs meet each other, a tricky backing challenge to resolve the issue. There are lots of old/abandoned campers throughout park
Aug 17, 2017
Stayed for 2 nights on a trip to the west from the east. located near I 40 easy on and off. I have a 36 " motorhome. Roads inside the park were very narrow requiring some coach back and forth maneuvering on tight turns to get to our parking spot. Staff were all very friendly. Their are many trees limiting satellite service. they do have excellent cable at no charge just ask for a converter box.
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 16, 2017
Nice little campground nestled back in a wooded area. Pull through site had a clear sky for satellite reception. Easy in and out. We came in and left during rain and unfortunately there were several low tree branches on the access road and the campground.
Aug 15, 2017
Really nice and pleasant team! Thanks a lot
Aug 15, 2017
very friendly and they worked hard to get the digital cable TV working for us
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
We were only there for an overnight stay while traveling but found a clean campground with a pull-thru spot as promised when we reserved it. Pleased!
Aug 14, 2017
We just stayed overnight, but it seemed to be a very well kept KOA. The pad was good size but was gravel. Lots of trees - beware there are some low lying branches. They have a small, but interesting shop. The people we interacted with were friendly.
Aug 10, 2017
Staff very nice, roads tight for big rigs and electric service weak, only able run one a/c in middle of day.
Aug 09, 2017
Only stayed one night, but would not make it a base camp. Rough entry. Check-in fine. Lady at desk nice. Gravel roads need work. Tree limbs need cutting. Was placed in the back area where a lot of older RV's have been neglected. Good WIFI. If you watch any TV at all , you will need a "box"; need to up grade their cable. Not up to standards of other KOA's we have stayed at.
Aug 08, 2017
clean pool, small quiet little campground
Aug 07, 2017
Aug 06, 2017
The staff was friendly and helpful. Sites are terribly uneven. Not a flat site in the place. Nice pool and laundry facilities. When it came time to flush out black tank the pipe in the ground was backed up. So we paid for sewer we could not use.
Aug 06, 2017
Had a break down in our RV. They held our site for a late arrival and when we didn't make it, they applied it to the next night when we arrived,
Aug 05, 2017
Sites spaced way too close together. Layout os sites not as organized as other KOAs.
Aug 04, 2017
This KOA was way too cramped. Sites are VERY close together (compared to other KOAs) and the roar of the Interstate kept us up at night. Playground for kids was ok and pool seemed nice and clean although quite small.
Aug 03, 2017
FHU, Cable & wifi worked good. Pool & play areas looked well kept. PT site 23 plenty long for our 42 ft MH towing. Welcoming hosts & easy checkin. Road in narrow glad we didn't pass another unit. The grassy area w/table by our site very uneven, with some deeper ruts/holes.
Aug 03, 2017
Friendly people, we had a great night here.
Aug 02, 2017
Aug 02, 2017
We have not been here in years, the last time we were here was a few years ago & it still looks the same,we will be back here for sure.
Jul 31, 2017
Trees drag on camper top..need 16ft minimum clearance from ground Wifi very poor, Antenna at my sight hanging down. Pavilion rafters showing mold. Dangerous. Shower was flooding in floor, stopped Drain, I guess. To many dead trees in park that can fall on campers or persons. Dog in camper beside us, barked at everything.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy