Newport / I-40 / Smoky Mountains KOA

240 KOA Lane

Newport, TN 37821

Reserve: 800-562-9016

Info: 423-623-9004

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14

Campground Reviews

Aug 30, 2015
Nice place. We stayed in a cabin & it was fine -- even had a half bath! Pet friendly & very clean.
Aug 30, 2015
Overnight. Road in was extremely narrow. Site was not level and very difficult to get the RV leveled.
Aug 28, 2015
Aug 28, 2015
To many things wrong to list. We will avoid this campground in the future.
Aug 27, 2015
Good Service, nice pool, lots of shade. Some traffic noise from local highway, but not bad.
Aug 27, 2015
friendly staff, and easy setup, but needs a coat of paint to shine.
Aug 25, 2015
Aug 24, 2015
Was here with my son for Bristol race so all we did was sleep and shower. The cabin was perfect for our need and the restroom and shower was very clean. Mgt. made us feel welcome. Thank you.
Aug 24, 2015
Really enjoyed our stay at the cabin and will be back soon! Love the entire area!town and surrounding areas!lots to do.
Aug 21, 2015
Staff very friendly and helpful. The cable TV required a special box which had to be outside my RV and I had to point their remote out the window at it to change channels. Also overhanging trees on entrance road need trimming. It was raining when I arrived and bridge over creek at entrance was almost underwater. OK for one night stopover.
Aug 21, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
Too close to a very busy,noisy road, so if you want peace and quiet do not stay here.
Aug 10, 2015
We were there for only a night and stayed in a cabin, but this was one of the better nights stay we have had, enough room and bathrooms were very clean as if I was in my own home.
Aug 10, 2015
Pool was green
Aug 09, 2015
Everything was good. I would make 2 suggestions: 1. A little more lighting would help to see your way to the bath house at night and 2. Oil the hinges on the cabin doors.
Aug 09, 2015
Internet too slow
Aug 06, 2015
Access to KOA difficult, all loose gravel, sites not level, pool green and people still swimming. Noisy well after quiet hours.
Aug 05, 2015
Stayed in one of the cabins and it was wonderful. Clean and comfortable. WiFi an added bonus. Staff very helpful in providing extra parking for truck and towed vehicle.
Aug 05, 2015
Lots of trees, gravel roads, grassy areas.
Aug 05, 2015
Most of the staff are friendly. Lots of shade trees.
Aug 05, 2015
Aug 04, 2015
Easy on but narrow bridge at campground, great for overnight not much else for $$.
Aug 02, 2015
The grounds were ok. Did not appreciate the ATVs running around after midnight,nor did we appreciate them parking in front of our motorhome. Would not recommend!
Aug 02, 2015
VERY dirty pool. Couldn't connect to wifi. Cable TV was out of order. Worst camping trip in 30 years.
Aug 01, 2015
We have 2 air conditioners Requested 50 amp given 30 amp. Not adequate to run appliances. Cable Tv required plug in on TV not possible on our RV
Jul 30, 2015
Need some updating on the electrical outlets. Kept losing power to our camper
Jul 30, 2015
Bathrooms were gross, smelled like a mixture of cat urine and mildew. Pool was a lovely algae green color. "No parking on grass" signs everywhere, but they had no other parking areas available. Camp hosts didn't bother turn our A/C unit on prior to our late night arrival. We packed up and left in a record 15 minutes yesterday morning, that's how unimpressed we were.
Jul 29, 2015
Swimming pool was GREEN with algae or something! A great disappointment! Overhead trees on access road need trimming as they hit our antennae and top of motor home going in & out.
Jul 28, 2015
Wasn't easy to get to with a 40 ft camper and big truck,and the pool was green not really very nice place
Jul 27, 2015
Very convenient to everything we came to Newport to do.
Jul 27, 2015
This KOA along with the area have clearly seen better days.Our pitch was facing a RV grave yard, which seem to be used as spare parts. The site was on a hill, tents at the bottom, a 6:30 rainstorm turned into a river. The pool was small and built in the 1930"s and looked very old. On the way inyou are faced with a large RV for sale, this along the RV grave yard gives this place a rundown feel abou
Jul 26, 2015
Good location for Cosby portion of national park.
Jul 26, 2015
Beautiful park. Moonshine still is a first for me. Road in from the interstate was narrow and a little forboding. Confidence built, the return trip was much easier.
Jul 25, 2015
Overall the environment is good nut a bit noise for the traffics close by.
Jul 22, 2015
Great campground. Friendly, helpful people.
Jul 20, 2015
The KOA goes out of their way to host our event and make us feel like family. Electric needs to be upgraded, we lost power on Saturday for the 5th year in a row.
Jul 20, 2015
Bert and his family goes above and beyond to make sure our group has everything we need and or want.
Jul 20, 2015
The place is super clean and all the people are super nice!
Jul 19, 2015
Jul 15, 2015
Very clean and welcoming! Nice shady sites...very friendly and helpful. Will stay again!!
Jul 15, 2015
Jul 15, 2015
Jul 14, 2015
Jul 14, 2015
Trees and bushes leading into park not trimmed. Power problem at our site, 105 volts on 1 leg, we had to move. They parked another 43 foot coach at site and he had to move. Really did not seem to care.
Jul 13, 2015
Not the typical KOA. It gave us the impression of a mid-level trailer park. I don't think we would return to this KOA. (I typically never give poor ratings, however, since other KOA campers use reviews as a means of choosing where to stay, I feel that I had to share my true impressions)
Jul 12, 2015
Always clean and well taken care of. Great place to stay.
Jul 12, 2015
This campground was not what I expected. We were told it was paved, and it was grave, there was no game room. The camping spots were right on top of each other and the fishing pond was completely dried up. Not to mention, the campground was filled with individuals that lived there on a permanent basis. If I wanted an experience like this, I would have just parked in a truck stop.
Jul 10, 2015
The staff was friendly and helpful.Everything was clean and the restrooms and showers were very clean.Great place to stay.😎
Jul 10, 2015
Very nice staff. Friendly and willing to help in any way. We are tent campers and we enjoyed our stay. The only recommendation I have would be to install a camp kitchen.
Jul 08, 2015
It was fine for one night while traveling I-40. The main issue were the large pot holes at the entrance and exit.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.