Newport / I-40 / Smoky Mountains KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9016

Info: 423-623-9004

Email

240 KOA Lane

Newport, TN 37821

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 11:00 am, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 18, 2017
People friendly. Nice & quiet.
Aug 18, 2017
Neighbors okay but a little more nosy than would have been preferred. Overall though, a nice location.
Aug 18, 2017
good for an overnight stay. clean restrooms and laundry. Site was too short for us to pull through and leave our car hooked up. nice campfire. grocery store close by.
Aug 18, 2017
Aug 18, 2017
Campground past its prime. Tight turns in the park. Site infrastructure needs attention, posts supporting water faucets and cable connection are rotten. Had to get a shovel to uncover my sewer connection. Horrible entry/egress road. There is a lengthy one lane road; if two rigs meet each other, a tricky backing challenge to resolve the issue. There are lots of old/abandoned campers throughout park
Aug 17, 2017
Stayed for 2 nights on a trip to the west from the east. located near I 40 easy on and off. I have a 36 " motorhome. Roads inside the park were very narrow requiring some coach back and forth maneuvering on tight turns to get to our parking spot. Staff were all very friendly. Their are many trees limiting satellite service. they do have excellent cable at no charge just ask for a converter box.
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 16, 2017
Nice little campground nestled back in a wooded area. Pull through site had a clear sky for satellite reception. Easy in and out. We came in and left during rain and unfortunately there were several low tree branches on the access road and the campground.
Aug 15, 2017
Really nice and pleasant team! Thanks a lot
Aug 15, 2017
very friendly and they worked hard to get the digital cable TV working for us
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
We were only there for an overnight stay while traveling but found a clean campground with a pull-thru spot as promised when we reserved it. Pleased!
Aug 14, 2017
We just stayed overnight, but it seemed to be a very well kept KOA. The pad was good size but was gravel. Lots of trees - beware there are some low lying branches. They have a small, but interesting shop. The people we interacted with were friendly.
Aug 14, 2017
The bathrooms were clean. The campsite was well kept. There was enough lighting to walk to the bathroom at night but not so bright it bothered us to sleep. Very nice, we will be back.
Aug 13, 2017
Love the online reservation and kamping Kabin. And the night registration was very convenient. We did have an incident where a drunken campground guest would not leave our site but he did not pose any danger- just uncomfortable inconvenience.
Aug 10, 2017
Staff very nice, roads tight for big rigs and electric service weak, only able run one a/c in middle of day.
Aug 09, 2017
Only stayed one night, but would not make it a base camp. Rough entry. Check-in fine. Lady at desk nice. Gravel roads need work. Tree limbs need cutting. Was placed in the back area where a lot of older RV's have been neglected. Good WIFI. If you watch any TV at all , you will need a "box"; need to up grade their cable. Not up to standards of other KOA's we have stayed at.
Aug 08, 2017
Very clean and friendly KOA. Recommended
Aug 08, 2017
clean pool, small quiet little campground
Aug 07, 2017
Aug 06, 2017
The staff was friendly and helpful. Sites are terribly uneven. Not a flat site in the place. Nice pool and laundry facilities. When it came time to flush out black tank the pipe in the ground was backed up. So we paid for sewer we could not use.
Aug 06, 2017
Had a break down in our RV. They held our site for a late arrival and when we didn't make it, they applied it to the next night when we arrived,
Aug 05, 2017
I tent camped for one night. There seem to be plenty of grass for spots but instead they had my spot on gravel. Luckily I brought an air mattress. The fwy was very close and I could hear it all night long. The price was right though.
Aug 05, 2017
Sites spaced way too close together. Layout os sites not as organized as other KOAs.
Aug 04, 2017
This KOA was way too cramped. Sites are VERY close together (compared to other KOAs) and the roar of the Interstate kept us up at night. Playground for kids was ok and pool seemed nice and clean although quite small.
Aug 03, 2017
FHU, Cable & wifi worked good. Pool & play areas looked well kept. PT site 23 plenty long for our 42 ft MH towing. Welcoming hosts & easy checkin. Road in narrow glad we didn't pass another unit. The grassy area w/table by our site very uneven, with some deeper ruts/holes.
Aug 03, 2017
Friendly people, we had a great night here.
Aug 02, 2017
Aug 02, 2017
We have not been here in years, the last time we were here was a few years ago & it still looks the same,we will be back here for sure.
Jul 31, 2017
Decent price but I guess you get what you pay for especially compared to other KOA's in area. Extremely disappointed the "fishing pond" was dry and nonexistent.
Jul 31, 2017
Trees drag on camper top..need 16ft minimum clearance from ground Wifi very poor, Antenna at my sight hanging down. Pavilion rafters showing mold. Dangerous. Shower was flooding in floor, stopped Drain, I guess. To many dead trees in park that can fall on campers or persons. Dog in camper beside us, barked at everything.
Jul 30, 2017
OK
Jul 28, 2017
It was ok for overnite. The noise from highway traffic was very loud.
Jul 27, 2017
Clean, friendly host. Nice shade area's. Only spent 1 night but would again. You can hear freeway noise
Jul 27, 2017
nice campground but site 78 should not be given to a big rig. stie was very small with 2 LARGE stumps. was suppose to be pill through but had to back out because of trees. We could make the turn out.
Jul 26, 2017
The campground was small, yet very clean and friendly. We loved being close enough to tour Gatlinburg, yet being far enough away from the chaos.
Jul 26, 2017
Nice place to stay. Mostly quiet area, but you can hear interstate noises in the background. Clean facilities and friendly staff. The pond was nearly dried up, so no fishing, but plenty of small turtles around. Cabin air conditioner was barely able to keep up with temperatures in the 80's and low 90's, but it was better than tent camping.
Jul 26, 2017
Difficult entry. Poor condition of some sights.
Jul 24, 2017
This KOA continues to improve the property every year. The owners and full time staff are great. I just wish they could get the lake to refill (its dried up) and improve their wifi which is all but non existent. Very convenient location to several outdoor recreation activities and also about 30 minutes from either Gatlinburg or Pigeon Forge
Jul 23, 2017
I very much enjoyed the quietness of the camp ground and the comfort of the Kamp Kabin at this park. It had a commode and a sink which made the stay more relaxing. The only complaint would be the lack of comfort provided by the mattress. It was extremely thin and hard. Otherwise a very pleasant experience and I would stay here again. Just bring my air mattress to put on the bed.
Jul 23, 2017
we stayed in one of their cabins which was a little smaller then other Koa cabins. The cabins that we have stayed at before all came with microwave, small refrigerator, and tv w/cable. Although this one did have access to cable but you had to bring your own tv or you could rent one. Paid alittle less for all the amenities compared to this site. But all in all we wanted to get away for a couple
Jul 22, 2017
Old but clean and well maintained campground. Very helpful during phone call.
Jul 22, 2017
Nice place
Jul 19, 2017
a quick overnight stop.
Jul 19, 2017
Wonderful campground handy tp I-40 . Our only complaint that being that !handy to the interstate is that we could hear to traffic. Very friendly staff
Jul 18, 2017
Nice campground. Friendly staff, Shady sites.
Jul 17, 2017
Friendly staff. Sites are shaded well. Internet and cable are awesome. Very clean.
Jul 17, 2017
Nice lots. Friendly staff.
Jul 16, 2017
Jul 14, 2017
We scheduled a 6 night stay months in advance and I think we were assigned the smallest site there. Staff not helpful nor friendly. Ok for overnight but any longer a mistake. Good local to Smokey Mtn attractions only plus I saw. Lots of noise from interstate and owners dogs.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals