Yellowstone Park / Mountainside KOA

1545 Targhee Pass Hwy

West Yellowstone, MT 59758

Reserve: 800-562-5640

Info: 406-646-7662

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Campground Reviews

Jul 28, 2014
We stayed in what was supposedly their deluxe site. You could see some mountains if you looked past the dumpsters and sheet metal buildings that dominated our view. The site was dirt weeds, & rocks and was not very spacious. The site was so unlevel that even with the jacks fully extended we were still crooked. There were lines for the limited restroom facilities. Overall, very expensive but lousy
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
This was our first time at a KOA and I read the reviews ahead of time saying it wasn't very good for various reasons; however, we loved our stay here. We had a campsite right next to the stream and it was very pleasant. We liked it better than the two campgrounds we camped in in Yellowstone four years ago.
Jul 28, 2014
This KOA apparently was new since it wasn't there a year ago. Very nice & it was great there was so much space for walking a dog.
Jul 28, 2014
Stay was great. However, bathrooms were not well cleaned. Dusty at top ridge of showers or at least two I was in. Otherwise I would have rated ten and great.
Jul 28, 2014
The facilities of the campground were good, especially the newer shower and laundry house. However, most of the tent sites around us were very bumpy and overly sloped and I could see our tenting neighbors coming in each day and struggling where to put the tents. I would recommend to this KOA that they spend the time and money to put in level gravel tent pads with wood frames.
Jul 28, 2014
Nice and clean. Nice showers staff was very help full. Will look forward to our next trip.
Jul 28, 2014
Would be swell if the light in the tenting area could be not so bright during late July / August meteor showers and the wifi was a bit hot or miss. But it is a nice little place and It worked out well for us. I camp KOA fairly often because I expect a quality place to camp and it met my KOA expectations.
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
Cleaner bathrooms, would like to see tent sites more level in some spots.
Jul 27, 2014
Very quiet and relaxing. Good views. Donna is the best. More places need a welcoming face such as hers. Sites are spacious with full hookups. Our dog enjoyed the creek.
Jul 27, 2014
Very nice park. Great location easy to travel from. The only thing that was wrong was the spots could be leveled better
Jul 27, 2014
The laundry & showers were clean, the staff was friendly & helpful, the location was great for us. We enjoyed it very much.
Jul 27, 2014
Great experience and very helpful staff. They even had a grease gun for me to use on my camper.
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Very roomy sites. Very clean park. Nice staff.
Jul 26, 2014
New park - registration desk employees need more training. Would appreciate restrictions on campfires - too much smoke. Location/scenery fantastic
Jul 26, 2014
Great tent site right next to a creek and underneath shady trees....made for a relaxing stay. Thank you!
Jul 26, 2014
We paid for a pull thru site for a 40 ft. 5th wheel.We were put in a long enough site but were on mud that was so unlevel we never could level our unit.We noticed other sites were graveled and level but not the ones around #27 where they put us.The sewer drain was uphill and the water hookup was 6ft behind the trailer [poor layout].We stay in lots of KOA but next ???
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 25, 2014
RV site was not even close to level. Dog walk area was used for tents. Only other area was on the far side of park. Wi-Fi was awful.
Jul 25, 2014
My site did not meet the standards that I expect from a KOA. I am a lifelong KOA user and have never had to park my RV on a muddy site full of pot holes. Little grass, no gravel, no concrete. What a mess this was. Everything else about the facility was just fine. KOA needs to go out and inspect the "full hook-up sites 89 - 108. Just a little gravel would have been a big help. I will still use KOA.
Jul 24, 2014
Family of 4 stayed in the single room cabin with one double and a set of bunk beds as well as 3/4 bathroom. No complaints. Close enough to Yellowstone that we didn't feel like we were driving too far to get to the park, although the town of West Yellowstone is 10 miles closer. We enjoyed our stay immensely.
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
A much more knowledgeable and friendly staff then the KOA 1.5 miles away. Although both are now owned by the same people. Very good large level sites with good cable. Wifi was a little slow but was expected in such a large campground.
Jul 24, 2014
Very relaxed the Tony is to thanked he was always happy and concerned about the campers. Stayed there a month

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We enjoyed you folks too. Hope to see you next year.
Jul 23, 2014
We enjoyed our stay here. Got used to the drive into West Yellowstone but wished the KOA was closer to town. Should add doggie waste bags and trash near pet walk for convenience.
Jul 23, 2014
We had a great stay at Yellowstone, restrooms were clean, staff was very helpful. Our campsite was on a hillside, which made getting our trailer level a little difficult, but nothing we could not deal with. this campground is great for visiting Yellowstone park, we had a great vacation.
Jul 23, 2014
I thought I was reserving the other KOA with the pool and a much higher Good Sam rating. Had I known that this was the KOA I was staying @ I would have booked the Grizzly RV Park instead.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
The only downside was the unreliable internet, otherwise, everything was great! Thanks
Jul 23, 2014
Although, KOA campgrounds offer great amenities for children; however, they don't offer enough space per site. There were no paper towels in the women's restroom one morning and tepid water at 6:45 a.m. the next morning. Quiet hours were not enforced until an hour after they began. Our fire pit had not been cleaned after the previous campers left and contained cans, plastic, and other refuse.
Jul 23, 2014
IT is a KOA underway.. It is a previous RC park that is trying to become a KOA. But it is far off still for tents. The tenting kitchen for example is an open air sink with a leaking cold water tap that is never being cleaned. The rear toilets are old and quite dirty badly maintained. The front one's are fine, but very few facilities and overcrowded easily. All in all: come back next year..
Jul 23, 2014
The campground is still a work in progress, but should improve with time.
Jul 23, 2014
Ok place to stay while visiting Yellowstone.
Jul 22, 2014
Some tent sites are crowded and ill-defined. We switched to a bigger, corner plot. No pool as yet, but we were busy taking 2 day tours, which pick up right at the campground.
Jul 22, 2014
Great staff, friendly and accommodating! Park is in process of upgrades and we will be back!!!
Jul 22, 2014
Very nice campground. It's about 7 miles out of town, but that didn't bother us. We stayed 3 days in a 5th wheel. Office staff was friendly & helpful - went out of their way to help. It was nice to have a pizza place there as we arrived later than planned and didn't really want to have to cook. It is a bit expensive, but we enjoyed our time there.
Jul 22, 2014
This KOA has a little way to go before it will reach full quality. The major complaint was the site pads. They all looked pretty rough. Ours had a big muddy pot hole in it. Once the pads are graveled and leveled a little better, this will be a fine place. They should knock down the old green a-frame and put in a pool.
Jul 22, 2014
Nice views. Close to YNP. Clean bathrooms. Checking in and out was easy and staff was friendly. Our site was too close to cabin (privacy issue). Needs more grass but looks like they're working on that for some sites. I would stay here again.
Jul 22, 2014
My only complaint is the front desk staff seemed very unknowledgeable about where you could go besides Yellowstone. The exact words "I don't swim in the Montana lakes" instead of ...few great spots within 30 minutes of here... We even found a breathtaking picnic place and tried to tell the same guy at the front so he could tell others but he said "...I know" in a rude tone. Really?
Jul 22, 2014
The positive of the campground was the staff was extremely helpful. The location overall was pretty good. As probably previously stated in reviews, this campground looks like it was in the process of just being remodeled, or upgraded. Negatives - sites were not clearly marked at all. No privacy at the tent sites at all. You can probably hear conversations for 3 sites over.
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Sites have a respectable distance between them. Staff was friendly and helpfull. Beautiful mountain views. Pizza from the store was EXCELLANT !
Jul 21, 2014
The people in the office were VERY helpful. We had a problem with our camper and they were quick to give us the number of a man who came to the campground to help us. They even called the man on their phone and then let me talk to him. However, the grounds themselves could use come upgrading. We understand it is a new KOA and was obviously purchased from someone else. We'd like more trees.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Great facilities and nice staff. Would love to see hot water for the tenting area dish washing station though.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.