Yellowstone Park / Mountainside KOA

1545 Targhee Pass Hwy

West Yellowstone, MT 59758

Reserve: 800-562-5640

Info: 406-646-7662

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14

Campground Reviews

Jul 25, 2015
Amazing campground, fantastic customer service, great restrooms and laundry room. We worked mostly with Mike, Lisa and Collin and they made us feel welcome and like family. We felt we made real friends there and the three of them are amazing! We are already discussing our next trip to this KOA!
Jul 25, 2015
Beautifully located. The tent site was nice and the bathrom accommodations were nice. If only it hadn't rained - but that was not the KOAs fault.
Jul 25, 2015
We had a great stay. The sites by the creek have an excellent view. The laundry facilities were very clean - new washers. We'll definitely be back.
Jul 25, 2015
4 day stay. Park undergoing renovation. Excellent guest laundry. More trees at each site would be nice.
Jul 25, 2015
Jul 25, 2015
Jul 25, 2015
Great location, close to Yellowstone. Quiet, clean and friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again.
Jul 25, 2015
Jul 25, 2015
Jul 25, 2015
Jul 24, 2015
fix up the grounds for the tents. They are far from facilities.
Jul 24, 2015
From the moment of arrival our stay was amazing. The ladies who checked us in were very friendly and helpful. The site was great and the bathrooms were clean and awesome! Love it, and will come back again!
Jul 23, 2015
I was initially disappointed that the hot water tanks in the deluxe cabins were small,however, the public showers more than made up for it. It was our first stay at a KOA and I would definitely stay again
Jul 23, 2015
Jul 23, 2015
Awesome!
Jul 23, 2015
Jul 22, 2015
Very quite gives the feel of true camping, love that you can still have a campfire. Great hospitality, would stay here again, hopefully will in a couple of years!!
Jul 22, 2015
We stayed at Mountainside KOA for 10 days while exploring Yellowstone National Park. The facilities were always clean, and we had no problems with our hookups.Staff were all friendly and helpful.
Jul 22, 2015
Our only disappointments were inability to access wifi most of time and unlevel pull thrus, otherwise great
Jul 22, 2015
Very nice store, restrooms, and laundry facilities. The lots are nice and large. Our only complaint would be that the pad was not very level.
Jul 22, 2015
Jul 22, 2015
Very nice. I will stay there again. I'm looking forward to all the improvements.
Jul 21, 2015
Wonderful stay in our full hook up trailer site and our kids/grandkids had the best tent site along Denny Creek. Great customer service from check in, to pizza ordering, shopping the store to saying goodbye. Delicious pizza! Loved the mountain views, playground for the kids, the creek and trails. Bathrooms/showers/laundry very clean. 24 hr access is great.Sites need leveling/paved. More grass.
Jul 21, 2015
There was a slight problem with our onine reservation and the staff went out of their way to find a work around for us! The bathrooms here are HUGE, they are like a home bathroom with shower and toilet combined and lots of space to change, shower, etc. and are kept immaculate. The laundry facilities are excellent. There is NO swimming pool at this time, but that is on their to do list.
Jul 21, 2015
Very nice campground with friendly staff that is caring and concerned. Nice location a few miles from town.
Jul 21, 2015
The great thing was the huge showers! They were the biggest on our whole trip and all our stays at all the KOA's I wish they had more activities for the kids, such as, a pool or banana bikes
Jul 21, 2015
Very poor (actually almost non-existent) internet service
Jul 21, 2015
The campsite was difficult to find and a very poor site for a truck camper to get level. It took us over an hour to try to get level and never really got level. Also I resent paying $250 for a cabin for six and then only one person could shower before the hot water ran out. and since it was a cabin for six I resent having to pay extra for any number over four.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

You should have asked for a refund. We would have gladly given it to you. Sorry that you were so unhappy.
Jul 20, 2015
We really loved our stay at Mountainside KOA. We rented the delux cabin next to the stream. The cabin was clean, comfortable and well equipped. Good proximity to Yellowstone. Beautiful campground. Staff were friendly & helpful. Check-in was easy and fast. Our sons loved the well-stocked store. A+!
Jul 20, 2015
I wish there was a little more room between the trailer/RV sites. It sometimes felt like we were right on top of each other.
Jul 20, 2015
We needed a couple of days to visit Yellowstone, and this park was one of the few that had openings for our late reservation. The park was clean, well organized, a little more rustic. 5 miles away from the park, all worked well, but seemed a little pricey, but being next to a high traffic National Park, to be expected.
Jul 20, 2015
Check in was simple, my first time ever using KOA so this was a big plus. Great sites, the fire pit was awesome, the view was beautiful, the restrooms and showers were immaculate. Just can't wait to stay again! Loved this place...
Jul 19, 2015
The cabin we stayed at was awesome! Views were amazing! The other cabins didn't have as nice of views so I'm glad we got the one with the tree in the staircase. Cabin was very clean and easy to use with four adults and two children.
Jul 19, 2015
Beautiful mountain views! Close to town and Yellowstone west entrance
Jul 19, 2015
Friendly staff and great service. Not much for kids/family to do though. Nice sites but could use some border clarification. More shade/trees would be nice.
Jul 19, 2015
Traveling with a small child that was of the opposite sex, the bathroom in my cabin was very helpful. I really do not like to send him in to public showers alone. This solved the problem. The cabin was roomy, also. This was a very nice stay.
Jul 19, 2015
Staff was friendly and helpful bath house always clean laundry very nice grounds clean and quite things to do for all ages
Jul 18, 2015
Will be back!
Jul 18, 2015
Jul 18, 2015
The deluxe cabins were wonderful. I just wish it had an oven.
Jul 18, 2015
7/15. Pros: Conveniently located. Staff friendly, nice store. Site level. Pleasant views. Cable. CoVERY inadequate shower, bathroom and laundry facilities. Staff person in laundry room every AM & appears to be doing laundry for cabins-tying machines up in AM; inconvenience to guests. Internet service VERY poor. Fix # of bathroom, shower & laundry & it becomes 8/10. Fix internet too = 10/10
Jul 18, 2015
This was a nice place to stay. I found the showers and restrooms clean. It was convenient to west Yellowstone I'm glad to hear that improvements are being made. Cable TV and Internet would be a nice improvement. Also, it would be great if the employees were not doing laundry for other employees during prime time in the mornings.
Jul 18, 2015
It was dirty floor in the bathroom
Jul 18, 2015
The facilities very new. The bathrooms large, clean and hot water. The store had a lot of items. My problems came when we were leaving. Check out is at 11am. Around 11 a woman comes to check on us and asks how long before we are done. My wife says maybe 10-15 min. She comes back and is rude telling us we needed to be out by 11. That someone is waiting. We were out by 11:25. Check in is at 1pm.
Jul 17, 2015
The cabin we stayed in was great! Bathrooms are very nice and staff keeps the campground clean. Not much for kids to do except for a playground located away from most of the campsites.
Jul 17, 2015
Great site. Bathrooms and laundry were wonderful.
Jul 17, 2015
Very friendly and the views were gorgeous we have told people all about it
Jul 17, 2015
Already been recommended 2 times. Lovely natural facilities
Jul 17, 2015
We were there for four nights. It was quiet and nice. Staff were terrific. We would like to see electricity and water added to tent sites.
Jul 17, 2015
We loved it. Great staff, beautiful site next to a creek. We will absolutely go back.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.