Yellowstone Park / Mountainside KOA

1545 Targhee Pass Hwy

West Yellowstone, MT 59758

Reserve: 800-562-5640

Info: 406-646-7662

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

Campground Reviews

Jul 29, 2015
The campground was clean and new but some of the staff was rude to the customers in the store and the outdated food on the shelves was crazy! Pizza prices we way out of line,48.00 for 2 16 inch pizzas is just nuts. Would we stay again-not sure.
Jul 29, 2015
The staff was very friendly and helpful. They went above and beyond to make sure we are having a great time and all of our needs were met.
Jul 29, 2015
The Kampground was tidy and quiet. Everything worked and all the staff were friendly. We can't wait to come back.
Jul 29, 2015
Bathrooms were awesome, always clean, a pleasure to take a shower with heated floors
Jul 29, 2015
Staff was excellent with recommendations as to the Park. Facilities and grounds were impeccable.
Jul 29, 2015
NO POOL NO NEARBY WATER FOR KIDS TO SWIM IN. TV RECEPTION VERY POOR.
Jul 29, 2015
Great staff. Expensive pizzas!! Clean all around!
Jul 28, 2015
Jul 28, 2015
Campground was fine service was great but too many campfires with wind was smoking us out. Rv had alot of smoke in it.
Jul 28, 2015
Booked and end site and found out when we checked in that they had squeezed in another campsite beside us. Sites not very level and defined.
Jul 28, 2015
Work is underway but not up to KOA standards but they charge KOA prices.
Jul 28, 2015
Clean and nice KOA. Need a hot tub and pool!
Jul 28, 2015
This KOA was great, but the one right down the road was much better.
Jul 28, 2015
Beautiful spot, great access to Yellowstone without being in the middle of a busy area. Showers and laundry room are new and very nice! The ladies at check in are very helpful and kind, and the store is clean & well- stocked.
Jul 28, 2015
Great value. Very clean and nice sanitary. Finally we found a KOA campground that's worth being KOA! improvement would be toilets on their own. Now the toilets also have a shower or a basin in it, causing that the toilets were occupied in the morning by people shaving, taking a shower.. Wi-Fi is not great but hey it's free.
Jul 28, 2015
It was my first time at a Koa and this stay was great.
Jul 27, 2015
The pet walk area was exceptional, and made our stay extremely delightful. The campground is beautiful, clean, and well maintained. Even the bathrooms were sparkling. Thanks for helping us enjoy a wonderful weekend.
Jul 27, 2015
Wow! A perfect K.O.A.
Jul 27, 2015
Had trouble with WIFI, doggy doo picked up 3x we didn't have a dog, Hogs Weed in casting ponds where children play. Very pleasant stay with an excellent chef pizza makers!! Our stay for 5 nights was 4 star Great! We left the campsite with no trace we had been there. Thanks, Keith & Cathy.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Most clean bathrooms I've ever seen in a campground!!!!
Jul 27, 2015
This was a very nice campground but the lack of water for tent sites was frustrating. For the price I expect all amenities. Also, the lack of places to park and the small tent sites stacked on top of each other was less than ideal. Overall this was nice, I'm not sure I would stay again though.
Jul 27, 2015
Great stay. Would have liked night table in bunk bed area and a mirror in one of the bedrooms. Will come again!!!
Jul 27, 2015
The staff were very helpful and friendly. The lack of landscaping in the rv sites and the lack of a swimming pool were definite drawbacks.
Jul 27, 2015
Very nice staff. Facilities are well taken care of as well.
Jul 27, 2015
Best KOA we stayed at during this trip. Really enjoyed the Private showers/Bathrooms. but may need to have locks checked.
Jul 27, 2015
front desk was very helpful, grounds were clean, but the rv parking area was not level. Some were worse than others. This mattered to me because my jacks were broken and I had to usse 2X6's to lavel the rig.
Jul 27, 2015
Wow! Made reservations 2 days prior and still got stuck with the worst site being told I made the reservation that day. We checked in a little late (8:30). My dog barked for maybe a minute, aS dogs due to excitement or whatever and was told we would need to leave if we couldn't keep her quiet, my husband slept in the car with her. The tent next door was ransacked! Very disappointed!
Jul 27, 2015
We were on a motorcycle, we came in at about 5 pm, the campground was full but you found a spot for us, thank you
Jul 27, 2015
First time pitching a tent and I was robbed. Will never stay here again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We've never had any problem like this before either. We are very sorry.
Jul 27, 2015
The "Private bathrooms" were very nice and plentiful. The laundry room was affordable, modern, roomy, and very clean. This style shower/sink/toilet is an good example/model. After a long travel this is one of the top, best KOAs, ever! Great stay, great shopping in West Yellowstone.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Wow! Thank you for the great comments.
Jul 26, 2015
My family had so much fun there in the Deluxe Cabin next to the creek.... Thank you so much for your wonderful hospitality... The Taylor Family
Jul 26, 2015
Stayed a week , great location to all the park & area had to offer. More of the camping feel, not the glamping you get at some KOA's.
Jul 26, 2015
Very clean and ample bathrooms and good service. Surprised at this being KOA, since most of them gave only bad experiences.
Jul 26, 2015
It was fine. Just a lot of money for what we got.
Jul 26, 2015
I realize that KOA is just taking over this park, and it should be a better park in the future, but it has a long way to go.
Jul 25, 2015
Amazing campground, fantastic customer service, great restrooms and laundry room. We worked mostly with Mike, Lisa and Collin and they made us feel welcome and like family. We felt we made real friends there and the three of them are amazing! We are already discussing our next trip to this KOA!
Jul 25, 2015
Beautifully located. The tent site was nice and the bathrom accommodations were nice. If only it hadn't rained - but that was not the KOAs fault.
Jul 25, 2015
We had a great stay. The sites by the creek have an excellent view. The laundry facilities were very clean - new washers. We'll definitely be back.
Jul 25, 2015
4 day stay. Park undergoing renovation. Excellent guest laundry. More trees at each site would be nice.
Jul 25, 2015
Jul 25, 2015
Jul 25, 2015
Great location, close to Yellowstone. Quiet, clean and friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again.
Jul 25, 2015
Jul 25, 2015
Jul 25, 2015
Jul 24, 2015
fix up the grounds for the tents. They are far from facilities.
Jul 24, 2015
From the moment of arrival our stay was amazing. The ladies who checked us in were very friendly and helpful. The site was great and the bathrooms were clean and awesome! Love it, and will come back again!
Jul 23, 2015
I was initially disappointed that the hot water tanks in the deluxe cabins were small,however, the public showers more than made up for it. It was our first stay at a KOA and I would definitely stay again
Jul 23, 2015
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.