Yellowstone Park / Mountainside KOA

1545 Targhee Pass Hwy

West Yellowstone, MT 59758

Reserve: 800-562-5640

Info: 406-646-7662

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Campground Reviews

Jul 22, 2014
Some tent sites are crowded and ill-defined. We switched to a bigger, corner plot. No pool as yet, but we were busy taking 2 day tours, which pick up right at the campground.
Jul 22, 2014
Great staff, friendly and accommodating! Park is in process of upgrades and we will be back!!!
Jul 22, 2014
Very nice campground. It's about 7 miles out of town, but that didn't bother us. We stayed 3 days in a 5th wheel. Office staff was friendly & helpful - went out of their way to help. It was nice to have a pizza place there as we arrived later than planned and didn't really want to have to cook. It is a bit expensive, but we enjoyed our time there.
Jul 22, 2014
This KOA has a little way to go before it will reach full quality. The major complaint was the site pads. They all looked pretty rough. Ours had a big muddy pot hole in it. Once the pads are graveled and leveled a little better, this will be a fine place. They should knock down the old green a-frame and put in a pool.
Jul 22, 2014
Nice views. Close to YNP. Clean bathrooms. Checking in and out was easy and staff was friendly. Our site was too close to cabin (privacy issue). Needs more grass but looks like they're working on that for some sites. I would stay here again.
Jul 22, 2014
My only complaint is the front desk staff seemed very unknowledgeable about where you could go besides Yellowstone. The exact words "I don't swim in the Montana lakes" instead of ...few great spots within 30 minutes of here... We even found a breathtaking picnic place and tried to tell the same guy at the front so he could tell others but he said "...I know" in a rude tone. Really?
Jul 22, 2014
The positive of the campground was the staff was extremely helpful. The location overall was pretty good. As probably previously stated in reviews, this campground looks like it was in the process of just being remodeled, or upgraded. Negatives - sites were not clearly marked at all. No privacy at the tent sites at all. You can probably hear conversations for 3 sites over.
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Sites have a respectable distance between them. Staff was friendly and helpfull. Beautiful mountain views. Pizza from the store was EXCELLANT !
Jul 21, 2014
The people in the office were VERY helpful. We had a problem with our camper and they were quick to give us the number of a man who came to the campground to help us. They even called the man on their phone and then let me talk to him. However, the grounds themselves could use come upgrading. We understand it is a new KOA and was obviously purchased from someone else. We'd like more trees.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Great facilities and nice staff. Would love to see hot water for the tenting area dish washing station though.
Jul 21, 2014
The staff were friendly and helpful. Bathrooms were clean.
Jul 21, 2014
The new office, the new bathhouse, restaurant and staff were great. The suggestions/complaints I have are no baby changing stations, poor signage in the tent area. The major issue is that the ground in the tent area is undermined with rodent holes and collapses when walking on it, I twisted my feet and ankles many times during our stay and that this area could be a danger. Would love hot coffee.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
We had a wonderful time. We stayed in Cabin 2. Everyone respected quiet time. We would stay here again.
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
Some of the tent sites were poorly demarcated and cramped. Bathroom facilities were not the best.
Jul 20, 2014
great stay, camp site for tent was great, only recommendation is that the toilets, showers do need updating/cleaning. They did run out of toilet paper and hand paper early in the morning. I did have to leave a day early however and the camp refunded the days cost of camping. Really impressed with that
Jul 20, 2014
Our campsite (78) was on the edge of campsites and not prepared for tents - little grass, full of weeds and gopher mounds which became mud after rain. Otherwise our stay was great - scenic, fair bathrooms and shower facilities, and store, friendly management and staff.
Jul 19, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
It is way overpriced. 72.00 a night is overpriced even if it is 7 miles from Yellowstone.
Jul 19, 2014
Very happy we chose KOA because the staff is friendly and the bathrooms are very nice:)
Jul 18, 2014
This is a new campground and is still being worked on. That being said, I really enjoyed it. I loved the location of our tent site which was located along a fast moving stream. There are two things that need to be improved: more showers available and do something about all the MUD. It didn't rain the whole time we were there, but we couldn't walk anywhere without being covered in mud.
Jul 18, 2014
The facilities are very nice, but most of the people who work here are not friendly. The only people who were friendly were a man named Mike who helped us with a reservation to extend our stay and 2 young ladies who worked in the evening in the pizza café and the young man who was baking the pizzas. These 4 were great.
Jul 17, 2014
New to KOA, but an older campground. We had a super meal and super service at the onsite pizza/sandwich shop. This will probably be a great campground once they finish upgrading. They treated our Boy Scout troop and crew nicely!
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Did not realize when we booked on line that this campground was under MAJOR repairs. We paid a premium rate for a deluxe site #39 whifh wad not deluxe at all. The ground was rutty and there was another camper right on our side on lot #39A which in our opinion should not be that close on a premium site! The bathrooms were very muddy and dirty! I put a towel on the mat that had to b thrown out.
Jul 16, 2014
My only complaint was the uneven ground to park my motorhome on.Ruts and holes.
Jul 15, 2014
We had a wonderful stay at the KOA campground. Our lodge was clean, spacious and had an amazing view. The staff was friendly and the pizza hit the spot when we were too tired to cook ourselves. We enjoyed staying outside of West Yellowstone to escape the crowds. We'll definitely be back! Thank you!
Jul 15, 2014
Not nearly as nice as the KOA just up the road, no pool, very little grass, though newly KOA, people were very nice
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
The campground was ok; the bathrooms and showers could use some attention and the staff at the registration a little training in customer service. It felt like tent campers were tolerated but not treated as paying guests. The tenter's kitchen hadn't been cleaned in days with food left in the sink. Not a good idea since the campground is located in bear country. The location is convenient.
Jul 15, 2014
New and not much for amenities like it mentioned on the website. Disappointed with this KOA.
Jul 15, 2014
While we had a cargo trailer we were given a site that was pull thru. This site was very shady and you were in a fishbowl. We had asked for a more secluded site and was informed that there was nothing available. We stayed for three nights. There were definitely other sites available. I think the woman could have been more accommodating. Especially for a new KOA. Close to YNP tho!
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Very nice KOA. But $90 to TENT camp for two nights?
Jul 14, 2014
Tent camped, the site was not very level and after we pitched, noticed we had some ants. The staff took care of it quickly the first day, the maintenance man was all over it. But third day ants back, went to office to ask for additional treatment. Man behind the counter was not sure what to do... Promised to look for ant killer and come to our site in 20 minutes; he never showed.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
The thing we thought could be improved the most was the campsite needed to be leveled like the deluxe sites in the middle of the campground. It was very difficult to level our trailer. the store, laundry mat and the employees were very nice and helpful. I realize that you are a work in progress. Work on leveling all the campsites not just the delux sites. Need a swimming pool also.
Jul 14, 2014
Ideal location to entrance to Yellowstone. Friendly staff.
Jul 14, 2014
The location is great, but the park needs some work. I know they are working on the park, but they need some gravel or something to level the sites. A few more trees would be nice. Why don't they have a pool. Sites 39A needs some work...big ruts.
Jul 13, 2014
Great pizza and wings. Great location to ynp and West yellowstone. Could use a pool. Gets very hot and nowhere to cool off. Otherwise great visit.
Jul 13, 2014
Its new so need a few extras and it will be a KOA
Jul 13, 2014
Had a great time reception was great host was wonderful facilities were well maintained stayed in 5th wheel nice large site with all the amenities loved this campground!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.