Yellowstone Park / Mountainside KOA

1545 Targhee Pass Hwy

West Yellowstone, MT 59758

Reserve: 800-562-5640

Info: 406-646-7662

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 31, 2015
Beautiful, serene, & Clean!!! We only use KOA's and this is by far the best!! Will definitely come back again😊
Aug 31, 2015
We loved the family friendly KOA. The site is well kept. We loved the new private bathroom/shower facility. We stayed for 4 nights in Aug. 2015. The only suggestion we have is asking them not to place another camper right next to us when there was plenty of other sites. However, this did happen after hours so it could have been a mistake. thanks for the great stay! We will be back!
Aug 31, 2015
This was our first time staying in a KOA and it was a fantastic experience. The staff is friendly and helpful. The cabin we stayed in was amazing! Super clean and new and beautiful! Having two rooms was nice and the kitchen was spotless. The beds were comfortable and we had plenty of bedding. The campground was clean and beautiful and so close to a nice stream. Four stars!!
Aug 31, 2015
We had a very large tent site, larger than any othe koa we stayed at on our travels, and it was in the open, but I liked that and it was right by the creek, which was so nice to be right beside and hear the water through the night. The bathrooms were very clean and I loved that they felt like a private bathroom instead of a public one. The laundry was so convienient and very clean as well. loved
Aug 30, 2015
Best showers during our entire trip.
Aug 30, 2015
Everything was wonderful. It is a very clean, quiet campground. We stayed in one of the deluxe cabins and thoroughly enjoyed it. My 4 year old grandson didn't want to go home. Definitely will go back again, hopefully in the spring.
Aug 28, 2015
We have never stayed at a KOA before but I will be doing it again. Great way to do camping with out having to take everything
Aug 28, 2015
excellent bathrooms! and laundry! but grassy sites were uneven, lumpy.
Aug 27, 2015
We had a very wonderful stay at this KOA.
Aug 27, 2015
Nice location, close to the park as well to downtown West Yellowstone. Office staff were very helpful, park was clean and the bathroom/shower accomodations were awesome!!
Aug 26, 2015
Warm friendly people. They even allowed us to check out early to find a place in Yellowstone.. although we froze there so should have stayed with KOA :)
Aug 26, 2015
Aug 26, 2015
Friendly staff. Clean faciities. Downside . . .too few trees in RV areas.
Aug 25, 2015
The tent sites were shady and quiet. The bathrooms were new and clean and huge.
Aug 25, 2015
Reserved a tent site, RV site, and small cabin. Tent site was out of the way and wonderful. RV site was average...nothing special. Cabin was wonderful except for the horrible mattress. It was akin to an air mattress on a piece of plywood. Sleepers "bottomed out" and had three poor night's rest. Common shower area, store, etc. were great. Nice employees.
Aug 25, 2015
Aug 25, 2015
Great staff good people wonderful view
Aug 25, 2015
Everybody was extremly nice and helpfull! I would love to stay there again :)
Aug 24, 2015
It was really nice cabin.
Aug 24, 2015
Tent sites could use some leveling in the area designated for the tent.
Aug 24, 2015
Convenient to Yellowstone and nicely laid out. My only complaint is that he light above the tent area meant no dark night for sleeping.
Aug 24, 2015
Aug 24, 2015
We stayed in a cabin. Except for slow bandwidth on wifi, this was an extremely well provisioned comfortable stay incl. full kitchen for much less than other plain W. Yellowstone motel room choices. Add to that the helpful and professionally extending staff, and I was impressed way beyond any unfair readiness to think KOA might be a "lesser" choice.
Aug 23, 2015
We were so impressed with all the facilities. We utilized a RV space, a tent site, and a cabin. Everything was topnotch! We will be recommending your campground and using it again ourselves!!
Aug 23, 2015
Very nice staff,quiet park even though it's close to the highway. they assisted us with renting a car and gave good suggestions for our stay. Close enough to Yellowstone Park yet far enough away from all the crowds.
Aug 22, 2015
Best facilities of any KOA we have stayed in. Very nice restrooms and an excellent staff!
Aug 21, 2015
I was very pleased with the facilities you had to offer. We were greatful for the dryers since all our bedding got wet in the storm. The showers were beautiful, clean, and roomy. The service was exceptional. Thank you for all your hard work. We had a wonderful time.
Aug 20, 2015
The only problems were with space 53 - overhanging branches from the two trees scraped the roof etc. Awfully tight for a 4-slide out rig. Ground terribly soft also and there is pitch that got on things and our dog. Should not have tall rigs stay in this site or fix it. Otherwise great!
Aug 19, 2015
Nice staff, beautiful campground, and SUPER clean bathrooms. A great place to stay during our trip to Yellowstone! We'll be back!
Aug 19, 2015
Roomy sites for Big Rigs with long sites. Clean laundry and restrooms. Upgraded facilities are a plus. Need to continue upgrades with utility connections at the sites. Personnel friendliness needs to improve.
Aug 19, 2015
KOA is the friendliest place to camp. Everyone was helpful and kind and our site was clean and quiet. It's not "glamping" or "survivalist" but a perfect in between! Thank you! We WILL be back and WILL recommend!
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
We stayed in a 4 person cabin and we loved it! Even though we arrived late, a map and our key were waiting for us. The cabin was cozy and spacious. The location was easy to find and convenient to Yellowstone.
Aug 18, 2015
Loved this place!
Aug 18, 2015
Our cabin was fantastic. The people that checked us in and out were very helpful and friendly.
Aug 18, 2015
just a place to stay before going to Yellowstone for 1st come 1st serve
Aug 17, 2015
Need a few activities for kids. Deluxe cabin was nice. Immediately replaced a bad coffee maker. Shower pressure low. Hot water heater needs to accommodate more than one shower when you're paying what we paid for a cabin. New/very clean shower facility a short walk away almost made up for it. I thought it was too much $. KOA at Mount Rushmore was cheaper and more family friendly by far.
Aug 17, 2015
The staff were all very nice. The pizza at the restaurant was exceptional.
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
Friendly staff.Looks like new ownership, so in transition. Bath houses are new and clean suite style very nice!The pizza was amazing at Lodge Pole Pizza. Only complaint was our tent site had plenty of room and grass but no level tent pad.
Aug 17, 2015
The staff was awesome. Bathrooms, and grounds very clean and well kept. Wish there was a pool.
Aug 17, 2015
Great place to base yourself from for visiting the park thou staff regularly experience internet failures which flow onto the wifi for guest very clean toilet/shower suits well setup would recommend
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 16, 2015
The location was great, the showers and laundry facilities were clean and nice, having propane for sale on site was great. The particular spot that we had was not level (we don't have levels on our older motor home), was very noisy with traffic coming in and out and the spot had no trees for privacy.
Aug 16, 2015
Extremely nice wash facilities! Beautiful country, our tent site was nice and quiet
Aug 16, 2015
For the Premium site fee, the site was very lumpy and uneven and muddy with a crumbled concrete pad that looked misplaced. Laundry/restrooms were nice, but lots landscaping needed. Overall, many KOAs out perform this one...spent way too much money at this Koa!!
Aug 16, 2015
Excellent facilities
Aug 15, 2015
Would like to see more trees.
Aug 15, 2015
loved the shower setup. Very private
Aug 15, 2015
Staff was great. Restroom and showers were wonderful. Would have rated it 5 stars except the tent sites were rough but tent part of the campground appeared to be a work in progress.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.