Yellowstone Park / Mountainside KOA

1545 Targhee Pass Hwy

West Yellowstone, MT 59758

Reserve: 800-562-5640

Info: 406-646-7662

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

Campground Reviews

Aug 01, 2015
Not our type of camping. Sites were very close together and for the price it wouldn't have been much more to stay in a hotel. Showers and laundry facilities were nice. Staff was very friendly.
Aug 01, 2015
Nice and quiet.
Aug 01, 2015
Very nice cabin, great location. We had a great stay.
Aug 01, 2015
Not the best KOA I was ever in, but not bad. Some of the site numbers in the center isle are very hard to see, they need to be re-done in black, instead of white. I was in #29, and I couldn't find the number at first.
Aug 01, 2015
Tent camping area was great. Showers were clean and big. The guy in the pizza shop was incredibly polite.
Aug 01, 2015
Loved the campsite right by the stream, showers were clean. The only thing I would have wanted were electrical hookups by the tents it's! Otherwise great stay would always come back!!;)
Jul 31, 2015
Clean and friendly and comfortable. Excellent koa. Public bathrooms best I have ever seen
Jul 31, 2015
For the price per night I expected much more for a premium site. Muddy when it rained, jacks sunk. Someone stole my $350.00 surge protector wright off your power branch. Not happy, will not return.
Jul 31, 2015
This site has beautiful new bathroom facilities that allow campers a private toilet/sink/shower. The sites are wooded and spaced out. Very close to Yellowstone, which was very convenient.
Jul 31, 2015
My daughter and I camped for 2 nights in 172 on 7/28/15 -7/30/15. The whole property was beautifully groomed. The staff was kind and helpful. The bathroom/shower combo rooms were an awesome bonus. They were kept very clean. And we had the opportunity to stay real close to Yellowstone. Thank you so much! We are already talking about another camping trip there. It was amazing.
Jul 31, 2015
We were so happy to add this 3rd night to our Yellowstone vacation
Jul 30, 2015
The cabin we rented was quite small for five adults. We told the reservation person that there were five adults so should have been advised how small it was. There really isn't even room to sit around the table. The bath is also quite small. It would be more suitable for a family with a couple of children. The setting was nice but noisy with all the motorhomes. Staff was friendly.
Jul 30, 2015
Thank you so much. Very friendly staff and they try there best to help you. You need more place for parking, all the RV and there was no more place.
Jul 30, 2015
Beautiful site, great location near Yellowstone. We were tent camping and an unusual cold rain came through for July, but this made their wonderful bathrooms and laundry facilities more than nice --a life saver!
Jul 30, 2015
It was a lovely adult park. There was plenty of space between the tent spaces giving us some privacy. We have stayed at the other W. Yellowstone KOA and it is more kid oriented, noisier and less privacy. As adult tent campers, we loved this park and will stay here again.
Jul 30, 2015
Beautiful forest setting, very friendly and helpful staff. Something for everyone of all ages!
Jul 30, 2015
best KOA bathroom faculty we've come across. Tent sites were a kinda shabby. Front desk staff needed some customer service training...she was too worried about gossip from coworkers to even look me in my eyes during my registration and later purchases at the store.
Jul 30, 2015
Convenient for touring. Nice they offer extras; rodeo, etcb
Jul 30, 2015
The concept of having full restroom is good, but separate toilets et sinks would be more efficient. Also we regret not having seen any recycling for the garbage. Thanks
Jul 29, 2015
The campground was clean and new but some of the staff was rude to the customers in the store and the outdated food on the shelves was crazy! Pizza prices we way out of line,48.00 for 2 16 inch pizzas is just nuts. Would we stay again-not sure.
Jul 29, 2015
The staff was very friendly and helpful. They went above and beyond to make sure we are having a great time and all of our needs were met.
Jul 29, 2015
The Kampground was tidy and quiet. Everything worked and all the staff were friendly. We can't wait to come back.
Jul 29, 2015
Bathrooms were awesome, always clean, a pleasure to take a shower with heated floors
Jul 29, 2015
Staff was excellent with recommendations as to the Park. Facilities and grounds were impeccable.
Jul 29, 2015
NO POOL NO NEARBY WATER FOR KIDS TO SWIM IN. TV RECEPTION VERY POOR.
Jul 29, 2015
Great staff. Expensive pizzas!! Clean all around!
Jul 28, 2015
Jul 28, 2015
Campground was fine service was great but too many campfires with wind was smoking us out. Rv had alot of smoke in it.
Jul 28, 2015
Booked and end site and found out when we checked in that they had squeezed in another campsite beside us. Sites not very level and defined.
Jul 28, 2015
Work is underway but not up to KOA standards but they charge KOA prices.
Jul 28, 2015
Clean and nice KOA. Need a hot tub and pool!
Jul 28, 2015
This KOA was great, but the one right down the road was much better.
Jul 28, 2015
Beautiful spot, great access to Yellowstone without being in the middle of a busy area. Showers and laundry room are new and very nice! The ladies at check in are very helpful and kind, and the store is clean & well- stocked.
Jul 28, 2015
Great value. Very clean and nice sanitary. Finally we found a KOA campground that's worth being KOA! improvement would be toilets on their own. Now the toilets also have a shower or a basin in it, causing that the toilets were occupied in the morning by people shaving, taking a shower.. Wi-Fi is not great but hey it's free.
Jul 28, 2015
It was my first time at a Koa and this stay was great.
Jul 27, 2015
The pet walk area was exceptional, and made our stay extremely delightful. The campground is beautiful, clean, and well maintained. Even the bathrooms were sparkling. Thanks for helping us enjoy a wonderful weekend.
Jul 27, 2015
Wow! A perfect K.O.A.
Jul 27, 2015
Had trouble with WIFI, doggy doo picked up 3x we didn't have a dog, Hogs Weed in casting ponds where children play. Very pleasant stay with an excellent chef pizza makers!! Our stay for 5 nights was 4 star Great! We left the campsite with no trace we had been there. Thanks, Keith & Cathy.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Most clean bathrooms I've ever seen in a campground!!!!
Jul 27, 2015
This was a very nice campground but the lack of water for tent sites was frustrating. For the price I expect all amenities. Also, the lack of places to park and the small tent sites stacked on top of each other was less than ideal. Overall this was nice, I'm not sure I would stay again though.
Jul 27, 2015
Great stay. Would have liked night table in bunk bed area and a mirror in one of the bedrooms. Will come again!!!
Jul 27, 2015
The staff were very helpful and friendly. The lack of landscaping in the rv sites and the lack of a swimming pool were definite drawbacks.
Jul 27, 2015
Very nice staff. Facilities are well taken care of as well.
Jul 27, 2015
Best KOA we stayed at during this trip. Really enjoyed the Private showers/Bathrooms. but may need to have locks checked.
Jul 27, 2015
front desk was very helpful, grounds were clean, but the rv parking area was not level. Some were worse than others. This mattered to me because my jacks were broken and I had to usse 2X6's to lavel the rig.
Jul 27, 2015
Wow! Made reservations 2 days prior and still got stuck with the worst site being told I made the reservation that day. We checked in a little late (8:30). My dog barked for maybe a minute, aS dogs due to excitement or whatever and was told we would need to leave if we couldn't keep her quiet, my husband slept in the car with her. The tent next door was ransacked! Very disappointed!
Jul 27, 2015
We were on a motorcycle, we came in at about 5 pm, the campground was full but you found a spot for us, thank you
Jul 27, 2015
First time pitching a tent and I was robbed. Will never stay here again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We've never had any problem like this before either. We are very sorry.
Jul 27, 2015
The "Private bathrooms" were very nice and plentiful. The laundry room was affordable, modern, roomy, and very clean. This style shower/sink/toilet is an good example/model. After a long travel this is one of the top, best KOAs, ever! Great stay, great shopping in West Yellowstone.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Wow! Thank you for the great comments.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.