Montrose / Black Canyon Nat'l Park KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9114

Info: 970-249-9177

Email

200 N Cedar Avenue

Montrose, CO 81401

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Oct 05, 2016
always a clean nice convenient place to stay. bathrooms always clean and nice. suggest that people with animals are reminded where to potty their pets.... and not in the grassy area where the tents are pitched. thank you
Oct 03, 2016
Very friendly staff. Great showers. Covered palvilion meant I had enough light to cook when I forgot my camp light. We tent camped and took advantage of the provided grills to cook in the pavilion. Nice place for a fire as well.
Sep 14, 2016
Loved it!
Sep 11, 2016
We got to our tent site before 8:00pm. Talked to a great host and connected. We love the grassy area to set up tent.
Sep 07, 2016
Very well kept, attractive campground with clean facilities (pool, laundry room, covered picnic area with grill). We stayed in a tent, and were quite content with the undifferentiated tent sites. The grass was well maintained and there was a picnic table available at the site for our use The only negative is the lack of benches in the individual shower areas for organizing possessions.
Sep 07, 2016
Quiet campground with clean facilities.
Sep 05, 2016
Tent spaces are open plan in a grass area we arrived late and as a result we didnt have a parking spot near our tent nor a picnic table. Women's Showers were clean. Men's room needed attention. The pool area and laundry looked good but we didn't use them.
Aug 31, 2016
The hosts were friendly and accomodating. The service was prompt. I was pleased with the cleanliness and condition of the facilities. It would be nice if every KOA campground could have walking/jogging tracks around each location.
Aug 29, 2016
Very friendly staff & beautifully kept grounds. We enjoyed our stay so much we came back on our return trip.
Aug 26, 2016
Great campground, very friendly staff!
Aug 23, 2016
Tent area was on back side of an alley, in a grass area surronding the playground. Kids played until midnight. Police came to a fight between camp host and neighboring house. Lots of foot traffic from non guests and guests.
Aug 23, 2016
Very nice facility with friendly staff. Tent camping sites need some sort of enclosure to help feel they are a part of the KOA family of kampers at this location. Maybe a fence to help feel you are on the property. Cars were flying in and out of the gravel driveway during the nights of our stay. Otherwise it is,a great location and nice place.
Aug 18, 2016
Good place to stay.
Aug 18, 2016
The is cool place, the bathroom is clean but the tends are too close to each other. Thankfully that wasn't a problem because our neighbors were very friendly.
Aug 15, 2016
Great people very friendly and clean
Aug 13, 2016
Tent sites are not designated well, and are situated near the playground rather than a separate section of the campground. Office staff was not especially helpful. Sign prominently posted in office claims that they can refuse service to whomever they choose.
Aug 10, 2016
I really liked this campground. Nice grass, clean bathrooms, bbq''s and shelter for rainy days. Only less good thing is the price, I think $27 per night for a 1 person tent is pretty much.
Aug 10, 2016
Just an overnight stay. Clean facilities.
Aug 02, 2016
If you are arriving at night to use a tent site, this is not a good KOA. I reserved a campground ahead of time, but there is really no security for that because there are no separated tent sites. It's one pretty small section of grass where people seemingly set up their tents at random. We arrived at night and were very confused, and ended up tenting somewhere weird. Facilities were nice though.
Aug 02, 2016
a "CAMP"of 24+ teenagers woke us at 6:10AM on 8/1, migrated to our picnic table for their breakfast & noisy conversation. Their girls used the men's room. I asked a KOA worker if there weren't some norms about being quiet and respecting other tent campers in the AM. He said no published norms existed.
Aug 01, 2016
This "campground" is no more than a grassy area. All campers camp in the same place, side by side. I was traveling with a buddy and we had 2 tents so we had to pay for 2 campsites. If you just need a place to sleep, it is adequate but no privacy, no campfire rings, and only 3 or 4 picnic tables for multiple campers. If you are looking for a true camping experience this is not it.
Jul 29, 2016
very noisy but clean, need more tent space away from pool area with more shade
Jul 25, 2016
Location was great. A few more shaded areas in the test area would be nice. Also they asked us not to use a tarp under our tent because it would burn the grass, our tent was damp. Staff very kind. Great pool and spa.
Jul 23, 2016
Nice campground with all amenities. The bathrooms are super clean and all the common areas too. The campsite are not intimate and you put your tent on the grass with all the other tents around you. The shady tables to cook and eat was very useful.
Jul 16, 2016
I stayed in a tent at this campground because I was attending a class in the area. A section of lawn was the area where people with tents stayed. This area was behind some cabins which was set apart from the larger RV section. It felt set apart from the sites for RVs. Just opposite the tent area was someone's yard. This was awkward. No picnic table was available for tent patron ' s use.
Jul 15, 2016
The facilities are well kept and had nice amenities. As tent campers, we had to move our tent several times to accommodate grounds crew in their quest to water the grass.
Jul 11, 2016
We rented a tent space and had a pleasant stay. The tent area was somewhat crowded but the overall facilities were great. The camp hostess was very accommodating. Thank you.
Jul 09, 2016
We tent camped here for 1 night while visiting Black Canyon & drove the million dollar highway (US 550 S). The campground was very nice with clean restrooms & showers. Staff was very friendly & helpful. The only downside is it is pretty close to a busy highway so there was some road noise all night long. It wasn't terrible but definitely apparent. If you visit this area, don't miss scenic US 550!
Jul 08, 2016
Jul 06, 2016
Campsite is nice and clean. Friendly staff. Camp is farther from the national park than anticipated. Good place to stay for one night on way to black canyon.
Jun 25, 2016
Front desk staff was great. Bathrooms were spacious and clean. Pool was also very nice. Only issue was for us tenting. Tent sites are on a gravel road which seems slightly outside the main camping facility. Cars drive up and down road during the night which can be hard to sleep through.
Jun 24, 2016
OMG.If you tent camp,DON'T!Tent area is a SMALL grassy spot along the pool,playground & shelter.No designated sites.Set up WHEREVER!TEN tents stacked is a small place.You could literally hear others snoring and farting all night.WORST tent night I ever had.(Cator to big rigs). Pool is cold and FULL of bugs,bees,leaves & bandaids, GROSS.Staff was friendly.Next time Gunnison KOA or Ouray KOA
Jun 23, 2016
The people that worked at the KOA were great- super friendly. However the location of KOA is terrible- it is right next to a very run down house and there were people tent camping next to us that were screaming at each other. They appeared to be homeless or townies that normally crash there but do not have to pay. The facilities themselves were okay but the tent locations were not appealing at all
Jun 20, 2016
The area where tents go is so confined! The cashier when we registered was not friendly, she didn't listen to what was said and had to do refunds. I will not be staying again
Jun 19, 2016
Very nice quiet campsite, although so near to town and to the National Park; well run. Unfortunately there is no provision for tenters to have a fire or grill but the staff were very accomodating and let us use the grill station on the site which is well set up.
Jun 14, 2016
Lost our reservation and made us move from original site because we didn't meet their criteria
Jun 11, 2016
Nice area and wonderful staff
Jun 10, 2016
Simple but satisfying.
Jun 06, 2016
I decided to go up the street to black canyon park where we are allowed to have a camp fire. I liked the amedities we didn't use them and I wanted to show wife what camping was all about but how can I do that without a campfire. I recommend this place to nobody and won't ever come back unless we just want to use hot tub or pool at night or morning

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so very sorry that you did not have a positive experience at the Montrose KOA. We do have a limited number of fire rings available on request. We apologize for any inconvenience.
Jun 03, 2016
This KOA had some very nice amenities. We were doing a cross country with motels usually and some camping. We never got a pool or jacuzzi except this place. It has Pool Jacuzzi Laundry The RV spots and cabins seemed very nice. Cons The actually tent site was on flat ground and the grass was nice but, we were the only tent. There are supposedly 10-11 spots but there are no designat
May 31, 2016
First time to stay at a KOA and we weren't disappointed! Very clean and friendly! Kids loved the pool and playground! Will definitely stay again!
May 23, 2016
Very clean and friendly. Would definitely recommend to others.
Apr 11, 2016
The camp site is in the middle of a town, tucked behind homes and business'. Not a 'camping' experience really. Staff was nice and facility was not bad. If you want a good 'camping' experience with the outdoors this is not the place.
Apr 05, 2016
Tent camped with electric hookup for our tiny heater. No complaints. Bathrooms were close, showers were hot, staff was extremely kind. I'd recommend it to anybody.
Sep 30, 2015
outdated bathrooms and weak tenting area
Sep 28, 2015
Met all expectations
Sep 03, 2015
Very welcoming, and the small bag of goodies was a lovely touch. Great facilities, very clean, nice communal areas and okay for tent camping.
Aug 28, 2015
It is a bautiful KOA but the tent area seems to be an after thought. It is located on the outside edge of the park along someones driveway.
Aug 12, 2015
Awesome service and so easy to work with! One of the friendliest that we have been to!
Aug 10, 2015
The tent area was great, an out door kitchen sink prep area for the tent sites would be nice.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy