Montrose / Black Canyon Nat'l Park KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9114

Info: 970-249-9177

Email

200 N Cedar Avenue

Montrose, CO 81401

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Aug 14, 2017
We were very please with everything, very friendly and helpful attendants and very clean facilities.
Aug 10, 2017
See email. Management & staff behavior & demeanor at this facility not conducive to my family recommending or returning to the Montrose Rv park.
Aug 10, 2017
The tent "sites" are a disorganized mess. There were so many tents that there wasn't even room for us to set up our own tent and we had to sleep in our car. The Wi-Fi wouldn't connect and there was barely room for us to park. I don't even know what we paid for at that point.
Aug 08, 2017
The bathrooms were nice. But they changed the door code on the men's bathroom while we were there, and they didn't notify us, so my husband couldn't use the bathroom until the office opened the next morning. We didn't know there was contact information on the door of the office. I wish they had pointed that out to me. Also, the tent sites weren't defined. And quiet hours weren't observed.
Aug 08, 2017
Aug 07, 2017
Arrived at 6pm and started putting up our tent. It seemed that there was a corn festival in Montrose which caused all hotels booked out. As a result, the tent site was a full, even a little crowded. The restroom was clean and staff super helpful and friendly. There were quite some mosquitoes around dawn time, which was a downside.
Aug 07, 2017
Very good location, close the mian street of Montrose. Clean bathroom, kind personnel.
Aug 07, 2017
One clap of thunder, barely audible prompted the closure of the pool on a hot Saturday afternoon. When asked how they decide when to reopen, they weren't sure. Tent camping area very nice. No rhyme or reason as to where one should set up or park. Kind of a free-for-all.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry but if we hear thunder we close the pool for everyone's safety
Jul 27, 2017
Great KOA and great staff!
Jul 26, 2017
Jul 22, 2017
Neat, clean campground with an accommodating staff helpful staff. We'd recommend staying here.
Jul 19, 2017
Beautiful location! Great amenities!
Jul 19, 2017
Great KOA to be. Clean showers and bathrooms!
Jul 18, 2017
We enjoyed our vacation, because KOA was great, very clean and friendly, Thank You!
Jul 16, 2017
I feel the tent site spaces were an after thought. When I made reservations on line there was nothing that said that there's only a 3 day stay for tent sites. So if we are to ever stay here again it will have to be a cabin or hopefully we'll have an RV. Otherwise it wasn't too bad.
Jul 07, 2017
We called and reserved a tent space, but when we arrived we did not have a place to put our tent. The spaces were not easily identified, so we had to pitch our tent in front of the play area. Apparently this has been this way for a while. It is a shame because we rely on them for a safe place to go at the end of the day. Very frustrating!
Jul 06, 2017
We had a lovely stay and everybody was so helpfull. The tentsite was flat and a perfect place to set up your tent.
Jul 02, 2017
Good location. Easy in and out. Tent camping area is grassy, level, and close to all the amenities. Staff looked at me strange when I said I was cooking my dinner at my campsite. Overall, great stay.
Jun 29, 2017
Jun 26, 2017
Nice KOA, with a good layout.
Jun 12, 2017
Very friendly staff, fluffy grassy tent site, clean restrooms. It felt a little bit strange, that the tent site was outside of the KOA property with no fence to the neighbourhood.
Jun 11, 2017
The tent sites at this campground are barely that. You are just given a spot in a strip of grass on the opposite side of the fence from the rest of the campsite. For the price I was expecting something better, especially since there is better camping in the area with individual sites and access to running water for far less.
Jun 10, 2017
This campground was great! Clean! And very well kept! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!
May 30, 2017
We had a great stay at this Koa.
May 29, 2017
This is one of the best KOA's I ever stayed in. The host was helpful and nice. This place is supper clean, all of it just shined with pride all around. I should just move there. What a memory they have gave me.
May 27, 2017
1 nite tent camping on a lawn area. No firepits! Otherwise seemed nice.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do have portable fire rings you can request one in the office but they are a on a first come first serve basis as we have only 10
May 04, 2017
Especially nice tent camping spot compared to some that I have stayed at
Apr 15, 2017
The reason we stay at KOA is for the shower and flushing toilet. The Montrose KOA had ONE shower and toilet for the entire campground!ONE!Reason being the showers were being remodeled, which was in progress for 3 months. This was NOT disclosed upon reservation. I feel cheated as I paid full price for the site. I wish I did not stay at this site as it was my worst KOA experience. BEWARE campers!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are very sorry for your bad experience at our KOA but we had to remodel our restrooms they were out dated and needed to be done.
Mar 29, 2017
The host was extremely friendly and welcoming and I would surely come back if I visit Montrose again! I just wish we had the showers and restrooms available all day instead of from 9-4.30. I do understand this was off-season but having to use the porta-potty was definitely an inconvenience.
Oct 05, 2016
always a clean nice convenient place to stay. bathrooms always clean and nice. suggest that people with animals are reminded where to potty their pets.... and not in the grassy area where the tents are pitched. thank you
Oct 03, 2016
Very friendly staff. Great showers. Covered palvilion meant I had enough light to cook when I forgot my camp light. We tent camped and took advantage of the provided grills to cook in the pavilion. Nice place for a fire as well.
Sep 14, 2016
Loved it!
Sep 11, 2016
We got to our tent site before 8:00pm. Talked to a great host and connected. We love the grassy area to set up tent.
Sep 07, 2016
Very well kept, attractive campground with clean facilities (pool, laundry room, covered picnic area with grill). We stayed in a tent, and were quite content with the undifferentiated tent sites. The grass was well maintained and there was a picnic table available at the site for our use The only negative is the lack of benches in the individual shower areas for organizing possessions.
Sep 07, 2016
Quiet campground with clean facilities.
Sep 05, 2016
Tent spaces are open plan in a grass area we arrived late and as a result we didnt have a parking spot near our tent nor a picnic table. Women's Showers were clean. Men's room needed attention. The pool area and laundry looked good but we didn't use them.
Aug 31, 2016
The hosts were friendly and accomodating. The service was prompt. I was pleased with the cleanliness and condition of the facilities. It would be nice if every KOA campground could have walking/jogging tracks around each location.
Aug 29, 2016
Very friendly staff & beautifully kept grounds. We enjoyed our stay so much we came back on our return trip.
Aug 26, 2016
Great campground, very friendly staff!
Aug 23, 2016
Tent area was on back side of an alley, in a grass area surronding the playground. Kids played until midnight. Police came to a fight between camp host and neighboring house. Lots of foot traffic from non guests and guests.
Aug 23, 2016
Very nice facility with friendly staff. Tent camping sites need some sort of enclosure to help feel they are a part of the KOA family of kampers at this location. Maybe a fence to help feel you are on the property. Cars were flying in and out of the gravel driveway during the nights of our stay. Otherwise it is,a great location and nice place.
Aug 18, 2016
Good place to stay.
Aug 18, 2016
The is cool place, the bathroom is clean but the tends are too close to each other. Thankfully that wasn't a problem because our neighbors were very friendly.
Aug 15, 2016
Great people very friendly and clean
Aug 13, 2016
Tent sites are not designated well, and are situated near the playground rather than a separate section of the campground. Office staff was not especially helpful. Sign prominently posted in office claims that they can refuse service to whomever they choose.
Aug 10, 2016
I really liked this campground. Nice grass, clean bathrooms, bbq''s and shelter for rainy days. Only less good thing is the price, I think $27 per night for a 1 person tent is pretty much.
Aug 10, 2016
Just an overnight stay. Clean facilities.
Aug 02, 2016
If you are arriving at night to use a tent site, this is not a good KOA. I reserved a campground ahead of time, but there is really no security for that because there are no separated tent sites. It's one pretty small section of grass where people seemingly set up their tents at random. We arrived at night and were very confused, and ended up tenting somewhere weird. Facilities were nice though.
Aug 02, 2016
a "CAMP"of 24+ teenagers woke us at 6:10AM on 8/1, migrated to our picnic table for their breakfast & noisy conversation. Their girls used the men's room. I asked a KOA worker if there weren't some norms about being quiet and respecting other tent campers in the AM. He said no published norms existed.
Aug 01, 2016
This "campground" is no more than a grassy area. All campers camp in the same place, side by side. I was traveling with a buddy and we had 2 tents so we had to pay for 2 campsites. If you just need a place to sleep, it is adequate but no privacy, no campfire rings, and only 3 or 4 picnic tables for multiple campers. If you are looking for a true camping experience this is not it.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals