Montrose / Black Canyon Nat'l Park KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9114

Info: 970-249-9177


200 N Cedar Avenue

Montrose, CO 81401

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 749 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Sep 30, 2015
outdated bathrooms and weak tenting area
Sep 28, 2015
Met all expectations
Sep 03, 2015
Very welcoming, and the small bag of goodies was a lovely touch. Great facilities, very clean, nice communal areas and okay for tent camping.
Aug 28, 2015
It is a bautiful KOA but the tent area seems to be an after thought. It is located on the outside edge of the park along someones driveway.
Aug 12, 2015
Awesome service and so easy to work with! One of the friendliest that we have been to!
Aug 10, 2015
The tent area was great, an out door kitchen sink prep area for the tent sites would be nice.
Aug 09, 2015
Stayed in the Tent area, but there are no dedicated sites, nice grassy space but no fire rings and it can get crowded. Bathrooms were clean and nice.
Aug 06, 2015
Aug 05, 2015
Enjoyed the stay
Aug 04, 2015
It was very clean and friendly
Jul 29, 2015
nice campground with beautiful green grass for my little dog to roll in! she gets excited about grass when traveling in the West.
Jul 29, 2015
The people were very friendly but access to the Kampground was difficult do to very poor signage. There should be a sign on the highway and where there is a sign that says Campground it should say KOA Campgound.
Jul 23, 2015
We had a great time camping at the Montrose KOA. The tent camping area was clean, on grass, and convenient to the bath house. There is so much to do in the area we couldn't work it all in. Even though the KOA is in "town" we enjoyed our stay, and hope to come again someday.
Jul 21, 2015
Bathrooms dirty/not regularly cleaned and poorly stocked. Women's room out of toilet paper on a couple of occasions. Tent site area is terrible. No assigned spaces means people scatter tents all over the place, you have to look for a nook or cranny to put yours. No fire pits or grills in the tent area. Community grills were dirty. Disappointing as I generally love kOA's.
Jul 13, 2015
I had looked at the tent space about 2 weeks prior to the arrival date and decided this spot would be perfect. We arrived and the spot was ready for us. It was a busy weekend so the area all around us filled up. It got a little crowded but it was still nice, The facilities were kept very clean and the staff was very courteous.
Jul 13, 2015
We did not enjoy our stay at this KOA. The tent sites are not designated, it's just a free-for-all in finding a spot and as one would expect, people aren't considerate and take more than their fair share of the space. There are limited picnic tables and only 3 fire pits for the entire campground which are handed out if the staff feel like it. We will never stay here again.
Jul 13, 2015
It really wasn't the campgrounds- they were nice and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The reason why we most likely will not come back is because the tenting area was so crowded. Very little room to set up.
Jul 13, 2015
Nice, friendly staff and a clean and safe campground.
Jul 12, 2015
Jul 09, 2015
Jul 01, 2015
nice gas grills , but not friendly to swim
Jun 23, 2015
Everything was great except for traffic & generator noise throughout the night, and a band playing until 11 pm or so.
Jun 01, 2015
Apr 07, 2015
Too close to the highway and people being loud after quite hours but the campground was very clean and well kept
Jan 10, 2015
The staff was friendly and the campground was clean. the bathrooms were nice and clean. The tent sites were frozen over so they found us a spot with no snow and electric for a few dollars more in an area with no RV's. The town is cool Black Canyon was closed so we didn't get to do that. It was a whole day traveling and visiting Telluride & Oray which were awesome but their campgrounds were closed
Sep 28, 2014
Clean, pleasant, convienant, quiet. 2nd time there.
Sep 10, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 24, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
I stay here every time I visit Montrose, CO. Owner Tom is a friend of mine; he always takes good care of me. This time I camped in a tent.
Jul 13, 2014
Unfortunately the Montrose KOA isn't kid friendly. I wish I had known this before bringing my family. The staff smothered my children's fun with constant can'ts and not alloweds. I ended up leaving early and staying elsewhere.
Jun 09, 2014
It was fantastic. The pool was refreshing and we needed to change to a cabin on the second night. We were accommodated nicely and thoroughly enjoyed the Montrose KOA.
Jun 02, 2014
Would have been 5 stars but no one at office during regular business hours and answer machine did not work properly.
Sep 06, 2013
Very friendly staff, excellent campsites with power and water, quiet grounds, nice bathhouse, fast internet
Sep 02, 2013
perfect, quiet.
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
Very clean and nice campground. Sparkling bathroom. We really enjoyed the clean and warm swimming pool, as well as the very nice and helpful people at the campground.
Aug 06, 2013
Very clean and quiet! About 30 min to Black Canyon, and an hour or so down to Ouray.
Aug 05, 2013
Great staff and facilities! Thanks.
Jul 31, 2013
Awesome campground. Staff was so nice and friendly. We had a wonderful stay.
Jul 11, 2013
Very nice campground with good facilities and helpful staff.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
It was okay. No shade trees, very small area for tents. The tent area seems to be set apart from the rest of the campground. The plus side; swimming pool and showers.
Jun 24, 2013
Jun 04, 2013
Hosts are great, location is very convenient, and the rates are good.
Jun 01, 2013
When making our reservation, we let them know that we would be arriving late. In spite of this, there was no indication of any kind that they were expecting us. The late check in directions were not clear and there was only one map available. The location of the tent sites made us feel isolated and unsafe. Facilities were clean. Grass was fabulous.
Oct 01, 2012
Facilities for tent campers was almost nonexistant. We were relegated to an unsecured lawn area at the outer edge of the campground adjacent to a private home and vacant industrial lot.No fire ring.
Sep 22, 2012
Place full so we were accommodated in 'overflow'. Some campers noisy. Buildings and grounds looked good.
Sep 14, 2012
Had trouble finding KOA; no signs; town layout confusing...but, owner was very helpful when my new tent box had no poles. He stayed late to upgrade me to a sleeping cabin. Many thanks to him.
Aug 25, 2012
It was a little odd not having set tent sites, but all and all a good experience. Thanks!

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy