Montrose / Black Canyon Nat'l Park KOA

200 Cedar Avenue

Montrose, CO 81401

Reserve: 800-562-9114

Info: 970-249-9177

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9

Campground Reviews

Sep 17, 2014
clean, quiet, pool, 24 hour laundry
Sep 16, 2014
Sep 16, 2014
Nice park.
Sep 15, 2014
Enjoyed staying at the well designed and maintained KOA. The only suggestion is to install directional signage so RVs travel in the correct diredtions, because of this problem a fifth wheel trailer turning the wrong way hit my Jeep and caused over $1000 in damage. Still I would stay there again.
Sep 13, 2014
Sep 13, 2014
We loved our stay at this park. Particularly, we loved the fact that there was larger and lots of grass, trees, and the park was clean and well kept. Friendly staff. Close to downtown. Could not say more.
Sep 12, 2014
Excellent. We could tell it was new. Large lots and well taken care of.
Sep 11, 2014
Sep 10, 2014
Sep 07, 2014
Beautifully maintained park, large spaces, clean, staff extremely helpful, quiet, and rates very good for such a nice park. I wish more KOA's fit this description, sadly not enough do and we always try to stay at KOA parks. We travel approx. a total of 2 months per year across the country.
Sep 06, 2014
This place is the cleanest and well run of all the Koa's we've been in. Green space in the desert another plus.
Sep 03, 2014
Always enjoy staying in this KOA. Quiet and relaxing!
Sep 03, 2014
Very clean
Sep 03, 2014
One of the prettiest, most well maintained KOA's we've ever stayed in. Very friendly staff. Turns are a bit tight for big rigs, but just take your tow car off and hook it up out on the street.
Sep 03, 2014
Great park! Only one suggestion...PLEASE! change the check-out time to noon. 11 is just too early! and thanks!
Sep 02, 2014
We live only any hour away from Montrose but decided to stay the weekend as we were down for a soccer tournament. Developed campground camping is usually not our thing (we prefer the backcountry in the mountains & more privacy) but our experience here was wonderful! They accommodated our requests and were very helpful. Very clean facilities-LOVED the grass and trees! We will be back!
Sep 01, 2014
Even though we arrived before noon, when there were LOTS of empty spaces, the clerk wouldn't agree to move us to a larger site more suitable for our 40ft trailer. Said that the spaces were taken. This doesn't make sense since nobody gets to choose their site ahead of time. The park is pleasant enough but the roadways are not wide enough to accommodate big rigs without a lot of juggling around.
Sep 01, 2014
Sep 01, 2014
The pool and the cabins were nice and clean. It's a good location if you need to be in Montrose.
Sep 01, 2014
Very nice campground ....We stayed in 42ft motorhome...
Sep 01, 2014
nice and clean, good restaurant near by, friendly staff, very restful.
Aug 30, 2014
Aug 29, 2014
Aug 29, 2014
Big rig exiting was difficult - caused by turn sizing coupled with trees needing attention
Aug 29, 2014
Love the location and amenities. However we were not able to sleep From 1:20-3:30 am during our stay. A young man drove up an left his truck running while he did laundry. He was literally 2 feet from the cabin window. Even when I got up and told him he was keeping us awake he kept the truck running until he was done. Very unfortunate and he was definitely not a guest of the campground.
Aug 26, 2014
Aug 26, 2014
Beautiful landscaping,shade trees, sites were generous in size, the grounds, the pool, and playground were clean and in great condition. The staff was excellent. We will be back next year for a longer stay!
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Incredible. Best staff have ever seen. Great dog too......
Aug 25, 2014
A great site, very friendly and helpfull people.
Aug 25, 2014
We had a great stay! The room was neat and tidy, with everything we needed!
Aug 25, 2014
I was expecting a cabin, not a glorified Tuff shed. I have stayed at KOA's in Estes Park and Buena Vista and both had great, real log cabins with porches and swings. Needless to say I was a little disappointed. The campground and amenities were clean and pleasant.
Aug 24, 2014
Aug 23, 2014
Stayed there for 8 days, first part of August. The staff was friendly the grounds were very well maintained. Somebody was always cleaning or tidying up. No problem with water pressure are electrical surges. My wife & I have stayed here for a week at a time 3 years in a row. Great location always friendly people.
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay with you. This was a very clean,quiet and friendly park. Would certainly recommend this KOA.
Aug 18, 2014
Very well taken care of campgrounds...polite and helpful personnel. We will be back again.
Aug 16, 2014
I enjoyed the stay, nice and peaceful surroundings, I did not participate in your hot tub or swimming pool, but it is always nice to have such amenities available. The staff was always on top of things and should be commended. I wish that the shower stalls were a tad larger and the mirror above the sinks hung a little higher. all in all I had a very pleasant stay...thank you
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
This was a wonderful campground. Must have been recently re done. Each site had large healthy grass areas and greater spacing between sites, about double compared to other campgrounds. Large mature trees throughout. Entire facility is in excellent condition(newer). And best, no fire pits therefore no irritating thick blanket of smoke choking campground.
Aug 14, 2014
We were very disappointed with our stay at this particular KOA. The staff was not welcoming in any way - in fact, she seemed afraid of the owners. I felt sorry for her, but more sorry for us. We won't be back to this KOA. In fact, we did not renew our KOA membership. Sorry to be so bold and sorry that this is a negative report. Other KOAs have been welcoming and good places to stay. Thank you.
Aug 13, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
This is the most neat and organized KOA that we have stayed at! The grounds were kept neat and tidy. The bathrooms were exceptionally clean. The owners and staff always had our best interests in mind and were very friendly. We were very pleased and will definitely come back!
Aug 12, 2014
Nice park; would request a site farther from the main entrance; noisy in the early morning when folks were leaving for work & such. Otherwise liked the park.
Aug 12, 2014
It was great! Very family friendly. The cabins and all facilities were very clean. Staff was also great. Can't wait to do it again!
Aug 11, 2014
Stayed in your "bungalow" WAY MORE than expected!! VERY NICE!!
Aug 10, 2014
I really like this kampground, it is big, clean, lots of grass and trees and a nice pool. The only thing preventing me from giving it 5 stars is the Wifi. The wifi is terrible and most of the time you cannot even connect and when you do it is so slow you cannot even check email. I highly suggest they find help with their wifi and switch to a new provider.
Aug 10, 2014
Had a nice time, wish internet was better.
Aug 10, 2014
Everything was clean and nice! Staff was very nice
Aug 09, 2014
I stay here every time I visit Montrose, CO. Owner Tom is a friend of mine; he always takes good care of me. This time I camped in a tent.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.