Montrose / Black Canyon Nat'l Park KOA

200 Cedar Avenue

Montrose, CO 81401

Reserve: 800-562-9114

Info: 970-249-9177

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

RV Reviews

Sep 11, 2014
Sep 07, 2014
Beautifully maintained park, large spaces, clean, staff extremely helpful, quiet, and rates very good for such a nice park. I wish more KOA's fit this description, sadly not enough do and we always try to stay at KOA parks. We travel approx. a total of 2 months per year across the country.
Sep 06, 2014
This place is the cleanest and well run of all the Koa's we've been in. Green space in the desert another plus.
Sep 03, 2014
Always enjoy staying in this KOA. Quiet and relaxing!
Sep 03, 2014
One of the prettiest, most well maintained KOA's we've ever stayed in. Very friendly staff. Turns are a bit tight for big rigs, but just take your tow car off and hook it up out on the street.
Sep 03, 2014
Great park! Only one suggestion...PLEASE! change the check-out time to noon. 11 is just too early! and thanks!
Sep 02, 2014
We live only any hour away from Montrose but decided to stay the weekend as we were down for a soccer tournament. Developed campground camping is usually not our thing (we prefer the backcountry in the mountains & more privacy) but our experience here was wonderful! They accommodated our requests and were very helpful. Very clean facilities-LOVED the grass and trees! We will be back!
Sep 01, 2014
Even though we arrived before noon, when there were LOTS of empty spaces, the clerk wouldn't agree to move us to a larger site more suitable for our 40ft trailer. Said that the spaces were taken. This doesn't make sense since nobody gets to choose their site ahead of time. The park is pleasant enough but the roadways are not wide enough to accommodate big rigs without a lot of juggling around.
Sep 01, 2014
Sep 01, 2014
Very nice campground ....We stayed in 42ft motorhome...
Sep 01, 2014
nice and clean, good restaurant near by, friendly staff, very restful.
Aug 30, 2014
Aug 29, 2014
Aug 29, 2014
Big rig exiting was difficult - caused by turn sizing coupled with trees needing attention
Aug 26, 2014
Aug 26, 2014
Beautiful landscaping,shade trees, sites were generous in size, the grounds, the pool, and playground were clean and in great condition. The staff was excellent. We will be back next year for a longer stay!
Aug 25, 2014
Incredible. Best staff have ever seen. Great dog too......
Aug 25, 2014
A great site, very friendly and helpfull people.
Aug 23, 2014
Stayed there for 8 days, first part of August. The staff was friendly the grounds were very well maintained. Somebody was always cleaning or tidying up. No problem with water pressure are electrical surges. My wife & I have stayed here for a week at a time 3 years in a row. Great location always friendly people.
Aug 20, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay with you. This was a very clean,quiet and friendly park. Would certainly recommend this KOA.
Aug 18, 2014
Very well taken care of campgrounds...polite and helpful personnel. We will be back again.
Aug 16, 2014
I enjoyed the stay, nice and peaceful surroundings, I did not participate in your hot tub or swimming pool, but it is always nice to have such amenities available. The staff was always on top of things and should be commended. I wish that the shower stalls were a tad larger and the mirror above the sinks hung a little higher. all in all I had a very pleasant stay...thank you
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
This was a wonderful campground. Must have been recently re done. Each site had large healthy grass areas and greater spacing between sites, about double compared to other campgrounds. Large mature trees throughout. Entire facility is in excellent condition(newer). And best, no fire pits therefore no irritating thick blanket of smoke choking campground.
Aug 14, 2014
We were very disappointed with our stay at this particular KOA. The staff was not welcoming in any way - in fact, she seemed afraid of the owners. I felt sorry for her, but more sorry for us. We won't be back to this KOA. In fact, we did not renew our KOA membership. Sorry to be so bold and sorry that this is a negative report. Other KOAs have been welcoming and good places to stay. Thank you.
Aug 13, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
This is the most neat and organized KOA that we have stayed at! The grounds were kept neat and tidy. The bathrooms were exceptionally clean. The owners and staff always had our best interests in mind and were very friendly. We were very pleased and will definitely come back!
Aug 12, 2014
Nice park; would request a site farther from the main entrance; noisy in the early morning when folks were leaving for work & such. Otherwise liked the park.
Aug 10, 2014
I really like this kampground, it is big, clean, lots of grass and trees and a nice pool. The only thing preventing me from giving it 5 stars is the Wifi. The wifi is terrible and most of the time you cannot even connect and when you do it is so slow you cannot even check email. I highly suggest they find help with their wifi and switch to a new provider.
Aug 10, 2014
Had a nice time, wish internet was better.
Aug 08, 2014
your koa is perfect in every way. lets hope the new oweners keep it that way thanks for the good time. the /Boughtons MEL/BECKY
Aug 08, 2014
nice quiet location-good spacing between spaces. We have set-up here before and found that It was very acceptable and this-our second visit-confirmed our opinion.
Aug 06, 2014
This is an amazing KOA. Most sites are HUGE with a nice bump out where the utilities hook ups are located. Montrose is a great place to stay if you are doing the. Black Canyon.
Aug 06, 2014
We made the mistake of extending our stay one day before learning that we had to leave town. Dispite our attempt to cancel the refused to refund cash for the extra day that we didn't use. No chance that they turned anyone away because they were far from full. Guess we learned a valuable lesson before our next visit to Montrose.
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
Need fire pits, it's not camping without having a campfire and s'mores.
Aug 05, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Great park, it is so well kept that we always enjoy it.
Aug 04, 2014
Motorhome towing in a pull through site. Very nice sized site, landscaped, paved patio with amenities.
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
Facilities and services are top notch but there were a few rough edges: 1. One washing machine didn't spin dry the clothes...needs fixing. 2. The price increase for people spending a month or more was pretty radical. The loss of a monthly reduced rate is a serious degradation in Value at this park. Please reconsider this change or I will be forced to look at alternatives for a month visit.
Aug 02, 2014
Staff is very friendly and helpful. Makes for a nice camping experience.
Jul 31, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Very, nice and well kept campground. Will be going back in the future
Jul 26, 2014
Lovely place to stay
Jul 24, 2014
great
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Clean quiet pleasant surroundings
Jul 22, 2014
Great location. Nice grassy and shady sites. We were right across from the pool so it was a little noisy. Not too bad.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.