Mitchell KOA

Open May 1 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-1236

Info: 605-996-1131

Email

41255 South Dakota Highway 38

Mitchell, SD 57301

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Sep 18, 2016
We were able to pick where we wanted to put our tent which was a big area to pick from. It is very windy but they do let you know that it is beforehand. Tents are definitely hard to put up here with the wind.
Sep 05, 2016
Convenient and clean
Aug 17, 2016
The pig farm next door reeks. The reactionary and sexist signs in the bathrooms, men's and "ladies," were really unwelcoming. While as an owner you're entitled to your opinion, you might want to remember that it's a place of business, and that everyone's money is green. I won't be spending more of mine there. And I've already posted photos to warn off all my friends on Facebook. Never again.
Aug 14, 2016
Other than a storm it was a very enjoyable stay.
Aug 07, 2016
thanks
Aug 04, 2016
Great staff!!' Jim was very helpful and active throughout kampground. Very clean and felt very safe.
Aug 02, 2016
Friendly staff, clean facilities, plenty of stuff for the kids to do.
Jul 31, 2016
Nice campground, and nice pool, but the water was chilly!
Jul 30, 2016
we stayed here 2 times, the first in a tent site on the way to Black Hills, then on our way back, with a wet muddy tent, we stayed in a Kabin. WONDERFUL! I cannot say enough positive things about this place, clean, friendly and accommodating, THANK YOU!
Jul 26, 2016
Showers are wonderful, staff is friendly.
Jul 24, 2016
Nice location, campground had good facilities including best of all a dishwashing sink easily found by anyone visiting restrooms/showers.
Jul 18, 2016
Great campground. Very nice and good place to spend the night.
Jul 18, 2016
The campground is very clean. We got to pick our own tent site. The only downfall is that the main office isn't open all night. During a storm, the only option we had was to sit in the bathroom. We opted to pack up and leave when our tent wouldn't stay up in the wind.
Jul 17, 2016
It was nice
Jul 12, 2016
This was our first visit to a KOA, and we had a great time tent camping. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Restrooms clean, great facilities!
Jul 10, 2016
The flies were terrible. Hard to eat your food outside. You could really hear the highway traffic all night long and it woke us up a few times"
Jul 09, 2016
We had a great time, and we were thrilled to come back for another night on our way back through Mitchell. Lots to do at the campground, everything is clean and in great condition. Very friendly staff.
Jul 03, 2016
Campground tent sites are great. Loved that you pick a space anywhere in the tenting area and its yours! Did not love the lack of water pressure in the shower when anyone else used water. Nor the offensive plaques on the bathroom walls.
Jul 01, 2016
It's a nice average camp ground.
Jun 21, 2016
Friendly and very accomadating. A great atmosphere for a family camping experience!
Jun 16, 2016
Nice place, close to Cabela's, but look out for mosquitos. Tent sites have plenty of room.
Jun 16, 2016
Jun 11, 2016
May 31, 2016
They are absolutely the friendliest best campground hosts we have ever experienced - can't say enough good about them or the campground!
Sep 15, 2015
The staff was GREAT. Super friendly and the cabin we stayed in was great. We had late check in and it went without a hitch! They also had a great little store that had the few things I was missing. I would most likely stay here again if I make it back this way!
Sep 04, 2015
Nice sites available for tenting. Enjoyed our stay would camp again here.
Aug 27, 2015
Great camping spot. Nice and level area, very friendly. Mitchell has a cute downtown area, great coffee spot. It was just an overnight for us but it was perfect. Minimal noise from the highway, clean bathrooms. I would definitely stop here again.
Aug 23, 2015
No pancakes,swimming pool okay.sight was nice.showers clean and wonderful water pressure. It was good.
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
felt like home!!
Aug 15, 2015
spacious and affordable. For being so close to Sturgis during the rally, a wonderful find.
Aug 06, 2015
Friendly owners, clean washrooms and convenient location, a little noise from highway
Aug 01, 2015
Nice place to stay but somewhat noisy with all the highway noise makes it hard to sleep.
Jul 31, 2015
Jul 31, 2015
Nice and clean but kind of noisy with all the traffic close by.
Jul 29, 2015
nice
Jul 26, 2015
Wasn't much here, but it was a place to rest. Enjoyed the grassy tent area as opposed to the palates of other KOA. Tornado 30 miles to north of campsite was unnerving.
Jul 22, 2015
Very friendly staff, nice sites, and close to town. A great place to stay if you're visiting the Mitchell area. Thanks to Jim & Jerry for being great hosts!
Jul 21, 2015
We needed a spot. A tent spot for our little camper so we could get a good nights sleep after driving for 15 hours. it was perfect and just the right price. Not to forget we felt secure there.
Jul 16, 2015
Very nice owners! Nice place - only thing that needs work is the smell! The horse trailer back by the dog park smelled horrible and the body of water behind that didn't help. Otherwise, a great place!
Jul 09, 2015
Very helpful hosts! Good tent camping site. Well maintained bathroom facilities. Good tourist info!
Jul 05, 2015
We enjoyed minigolf and the very friendly staff. We appreciated the "quiet hours" because we were there the 3rd to the 4th of July.
Jul 03, 2015
Great folks. We'll stop back every time we cross the country.
Jun 28, 2015
Was great till the Wind Shear problem scared me pea green BUT the Crew were RIGHT there and helping get things back together again. Clean, Friendly and careing.
Jun 28, 2015
It's an OK place probably better if you have a rv or trailer. We tent camped so I herd was highway noise all night
Jun 27, 2015
although we did not get water & electric site, we were very pleased with the stay
Jun 19, 2015
Everyone was very helpful and the campground was well kept
Jun 10, 2015
Kids had a lot of fun the mini golf and pool were a hit. Lots of bugs was thinking you sprayed to try and cut down on them
Sep 22, 2014
The owners are very friendly and make our stay awesome! We make a point to camp there every year!
Sep 11, 2014
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy