Mackinaw City / Mackinac Island KOA

Open May 1 - October 15

Reserve: 800-562-1738

Info: 231-436-5643

Email

566 Trailsend Road

Mackinaw City, MI 49701

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations, Kamping Kabins

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Sep 20, 2016
We've been coming up the same weekend and staying at Mackinaw City KOA for about 10 years. We really like it here. Very clean and quite. We started out with just us, now we rent at least 4 spots and 3 cabins. The new owners are really nice, looking forward to getting to know them. They were very accommodating. we will stay there again next year!
Sep 13, 2016
Nice quiet clean. Friendly staff. Felt safe traveling alone. Close to town, yet secluded. Loved it. Mostly middle aged travelers, which was a good fit.
Sep 12, 2016
Good location, helpful and friendly staff.....
Sep 07, 2016
We've stayed at this campground for the last 28 years Labor Day weekend. The transition to the new owners didn't appear to go as smoothly as it did the last time the campgound changed hands. I'm sure next year will be much better. There were a lot of questions, confusion and changes to deal with.
Sep 06, 2016
It was awesome- it was quiet and very relaxing. Had a lot of other things to do if me and my fiancé weren't relaxing as well!!! So much fun!
Aug 31, 2016
We appreciated the willingness to accomodate our needs. We also liked the friendly personnel.
Aug 22, 2016
We had a great time at the Mackinaw City KOA. The Staff was very friendly and helpful. KOA provided a wonderful campground that was clean and quite. I would highly recommend KOA and will be coming back for future stays.
Aug 21, 2016
Aug 21, 2016
very accomadating,frendly and clean park
Aug 21, 2016
Very clean and friendly.
Aug 19, 2016
clean comfortable campground. Staff are very pleasant.
Aug 17, 2016
Awesome friendly staff very clean,helpful and well maintained couldn't ask better.THANKS.👍😎
Aug 17, 2016
Aug 16, 2016
We had a fantastic time camping at KOA. The campgrounds were clean and quite at night. The bathrooms and showers were very clean. Our family will definitely be back to camp again.
Aug 16, 2016
Aug 16, 2016
Wonderful environment, clean area, and helpful staff! Would camp here again!
Aug 15, 2016
Aug 15, 2016
Aug 14, 2016
D
Aug 12, 2016
Aug 12, 2016
As always enjoyed our stay. Our site (Q)clean and quiet. Staff friendly and helpful.
Aug 12, 2016
No complaints. Bathrooms were clean just the size of a tent site with electricity was tight. Wish we would have gotten a standard site so the tent was not so close to the fire pit. Was happy to see a free shuttle for the Mackinac Island Ferry Star Line.
Aug 12, 2016
As difficult as it is to find a place to camp in northern Michigan, KOA comes through! Campground was quiet and showers were hot. Nice people!
Aug 10, 2016
The lot we got was super tiny and was littered with trash, but the most annoying thing about the place was the fact that they only had one set of bathrooms throughout the entire campsite. It was a little frustrating to have to walk all the way there, especially when it was the middle of the night. I would suggest this campsite if you are only going for one night and have no where else to go.
Aug 08, 2016
Wonderful staff, clean facilities, comfortable environment, large tent site, fun games for family fun, nice pool
Aug 08, 2016
Aug 08, 2016
The staff was extremely helpful and has great hospitality! They smile and wave when they pass you and drive around the campgrounds to pick up your trash and check on how your stay is going. They'll even drop fire wood off at your campsite so you don't have to carry it back. My siblings and I had a great weekend at this KOA!
Aug 07, 2016
Staff was friendly and helpful. They were nice enough to move us to site T back by the nature trail. Our first site, I, was totally unacceptable. Right on a corner between two "roads" with no suitable place to put a tent. Group across the street drinking and very loud. Bathrooms too small for number of people in campground. Needed to be updated.
Aug 03, 2016
Staff was wonderful. Bathrooms were clean. Friendly environment. Great stay :)
Aug 03, 2016
Aug 02, 2016
This is a great campground! The bathrooms are very clean...it was a little unsettling checking in at 12:15 to find out the bathrooms were closed from 12-2, but they sure are clean! We didn't use it, but the pool looked nice too!
Aug 01, 2016
Awesome service. Very helpful hosts. Was as expected for KOA!
Aug 01, 2016
Nice campground, friendly staff, clean bathrooms. We will definitely stay here agin!
Jul 31, 2016
Friendly owners, clean facilities
Jul 31, 2016
Everything was perfect! Except site N was mostly dirt so when it rained we were dealing with a ton of mud.
Jul 22, 2016
This KOA was very clean and well maintained. Everyone working there was quite friendly and a wealth of information. We enjoyed our time there.
Jul 20, 2016
Very nice tent sites with tree s to hang a hammock...
Jul 19, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Everything was great! This was my 1st trip to a KOA, so I'm not sure if this is standard for the brand or if this place is exceptional! The staff was so friendly & accommodating. The bathrooms were clean. And the location was perfect to get to town, McGulpin Pt Lighthouse and The Headlands all by bike. If you're tent camping I recommend sites A or Q as they are more spacious & away from noise.
Jul 18, 2016
Facilities were very clean, staff was friendly, had a great weekend of camping.. Thanks!
Jul 18, 2016
I was shocked to see bathrooms only cleaned between 12 & 2. You need to address this at least six times in a twenty four hour period with this many families. Cars should not be allowed to enter after 11:00pm and should be required to park in the guest lot after that. Late check in should be limited to 11:00 as well. Friendly, responsive staff and a great location to bike to the ferries.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for choosing Mackinaw City KOA. We will reevaluate our signage outside of our restrooms to clear up any confusion. We deep clean our restroom everyday from 12-2 but go in hourly to make sure they are clean. I am so glad you felt welcome here and enjoyed the bike trail. Kathleen
Jul 16, 2016
The campground is clean and easy to get into town from. The sites are clean and they even pick up your trash. The only thing i wish they would fix is the bathrooms have no air flow and are very hot.
Jul 14, 2016
Jul 13, 2016
loved the cleanliness of the bathrooms and helpfulness of the staff. We also appreciated the shuttle to the ferry. We would suggest selling kindling bundles along with your firewood. We also felt our tent site could have been about 5 feet wider.
Jul 11, 2016
Jul 08, 2016
I came there last year but, the weather wouldn't agree. Now, this years trip was awesome. The weather held so I could see all the sights and the staff of the park were very helpful in recommending a few of their own to make this vacation even better. Thanks to all members of koa and all the staff that work there. Thank You VERY much.
Jul 08, 2016
I loved this campground! I typically stay at a different campground in the area, but was unable to get a site there this time, so I ended up at the KOA. From now on, this is my first choice of campgrounds. The staff was SO friendly and helpful. The park was clean and very well cared for. There's access to a wonderful bike trail to the city. The pool and outdoor games at the playground were great.
Jul 08, 2016
Stay was great, just the bathrooms were to far away, need to have some half way into the park.
Jul 07, 2016
Pictures led us to believe there were grates on the firepits for grilling on. Was disappointed there were not. Other than that, the stay was great!
Jul 07, 2016
Clean modern bathrooms and shower. Beautiful location. Close to walking trail to mackinaw city. The staffs were very nice and helpful. Bob and Carol were awesome to have conversations with. Thank you for the wonderful stay!!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy