Mackinaw City / Mackinac Island KOA

566 Trailsend Road

Mackinaw City, MI 49701

Reserve: 800-562-1738

Info: 231-436-5643

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Sep 20, 2015
I loved this KOA, the married owners/managers were awesome, and really nice to my dog. The tent sites were really nice, the bathrooms super nice, they arranged shuttle to the ferry and my dog was allowed on it. The Kamp K9 was awesome, I will be coming back for sure and staying longer than just one night.
Sep 11, 2015
I don't Feel I should pay for days not used 9/4-5,forfeit money. Site was clean and great for tenting. Restrooms showers.who cleans them? Same dirt on toilets,floors and mold and hair in showers and floors from time I arrived on 9/6-8,2015.*complaints,forfeit money of non use of site and cleaning of restrooms/showers.never saw cleaning at anytime. Same crud on my stay.
Sep 11, 2015
Sep 09, 2015
Our family been camping here for over 25 years! Always great to see Beth and Bob. Pool, Showers and bathrooms always clean. Wish there were some bathrooms in the back of campground near our tent sites. Other than that this KOA is AWESOME!!
Sep 09, 2015
Always a great place for camping! Camp there every year!
Sep 08, 2015
The owner was great. She helped me with directions everywhere I wanted to go.
Sep 01, 2015
Aug 31, 2015
Aug 27, 2015
The facilities were clean and the water was hot for showers. The campground managers were friendly and helpful with getting around town. However, they should not advertise wifi for this place because it barely exists.
Aug 25, 2015
Great campground. Easy people to work with and nice space.
Aug 24, 2015
Everyone was extremely friendly, from the staff to the campers, and the site was very clean. There were a suprisingly few amount of mosquitoes, and all facilities were very accessible.
Aug 22, 2015
Very friendly staff. Unfortunately we caught am night of rain, but the campsite was wonderful.
Aug 19, 2015
Only stayed two nights and not three but the staff was very polite, the pool was amazing, I loved the trail to the city from the camp ground, and the store had everything we needed to camp all at a fair price! Thanks for the great experience!!
Aug 19, 2015
It was extremely hard to cook without a fire pit grate.
Aug 18, 2015
Stafs were friendly. We had 2 nights at rustic tent site w/o water & electricity. We didn't cook so this was perfect. Hot shower and bathroom were much appreciated.
Aug 17, 2015
Awesome campsite! Very friendly staff and a nice clean place to stay. The showers were very clean and the water was hot, which was great because all the other campgrounds we stayed at had gross bathrooms! Would highly recommend it to other campers!
Aug 11, 2015
Loved how close so many things were, especially the Dark Sky Park! Our stay here was great, but the bathrooms could have been a little cleaner
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
This was a nice quiet and clean campsite and the pool was great as well with friendly staff
Aug 03, 2015
It was a great little place! We already know we want to come back next year! But this time we want to stay a little longer!
Jul 28, 2015
Jul 23, 2015
The staff was so nice and the campground was beautiful. I am definitely going to plan another stay there sometime soon!
Jul 21, 2015
Sites are way too small. The people in neighboring campsite were just steps away from our tent when they were sitting around their campfire. I called before making reservations because they have a one tent per site policy. We are a family of 3 with 2 small tents, I was told it was fine since they were small. While we were there camping we were told that it wasn't acceptable, very frustrating.
Jul 21, 2015
The campground was very nice. We camped in the back tent sites. We didn't want to disturb others while camping since we were a bunch of rowdy kids, and we didn't have any complaints. The bathrooms were kept up well, and the beach right down the road is very nice. Everyone was very friendly, except one employee who was a bit rude to my friend and I. But, we didn't see him again after.
Jul 20, 2015
Great shuttle service to the ferry. Right beside the city bicycle path
Jul 20, 2015
Great stay. Friendly staff that was very accommodating.
Jul 15, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
It seems like a great campground for RVs lots of space, shade, and very clean restrooms and showers. The tent area on the other hand needs some work. Tiny sites, no privacy besides some weird fence panel in between each site, and it seemed like we were just shoved back in the corner of the campground. But overall our stay was nice and it was a great location to town, with a nice paved biked trail.
Jul 05, 2015
The staff is friendly & grounds are well maintained. The shower area is shared by males and females...not our cup of tea, but we realize not everyone shares our opinion. The campsites are really close together; if you like seeing & hearing your neighbors, you'll be golden.
Jul 05, 2015
Bare bones tent sites fairly long walk to bath house. Good location for access to town & tourist sites. Staff very helpful
Jun 30, 2015
This was a very quiet and well maintained campground that was close to all the local activities. I would consider staying here again in the future.
Jun 29, 2015
Sep 08, 2014
Loved it. Easy biking distance from the island. Great staff:-)
Sep 02, 2014
Aug 24, 2014
One night stay after trip out west. Park was clean and quiet. You have to ignore the road noise.
Aug 19, 2014
I stayed with my son for two days. The facility was great and clean. The staff was friendly and the store was well stocked and priced well.
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
All was good...
Aug 04, 2014
Beth was so accommodating!
Aug 04, 2014
We enjoyed our stay. The campground was quiet and clean. The bathrooms and showers were also clean. For improvements, we would suggest adding more bathrooms in another location in the campground so it's not so far of a walk.
Aug 03, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
The staff there at KOA are really nice people. They made time to answer our questions regarding to the ferry schedule and also provided us a free shuttle. Beside that, they need to upgrade their campground site. I meant the total renovation. No attraction events there as well. Lastly, mosquestios are everywhere on that site, it's no fun to deal with.
Jul 21, 2014
Wonderful hosts with great recommendations for dining in downtown Mackinaw City. The campground and bathrooms were very clean including the showers. Some loud noise from neighboring guests after dark and when arriving late (i.e. inflating air mattresses with an electric pump at 1:30am) but that is to be expected on summer vacations.
Jul 21, 2014
This is my second time at this KOA. It is clean and a great place to stay. The Mavkinaw bridge is nearby and so is the dark sky park. Both are wonderful attractions!
Jul 14, 2014
We just needed a affordable place to stay in our car, but found so much more. I wish we had had time to enjoy the campground. The hostess was amazing. We came in late and left early, so she made sure we were in an easily accessible spot. She was so friendly when we came back a few days later. Facility very clean and family friendly. Great spot for anyone to stay.
Jul 12, 2014
Everything was wonderful! The staff is very friendly and we already can't wait to come back! We had a much better expieiance here then at other campgrounds.
Jul 09, 2014
Pool was a delight after walking throughout the town and island for two days.
Jun 24, 2014
We love the location and the folks were very friendly! Also very quiet for being kind of close to a road.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.