Holbrook / Petrified Forest KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3389

Info: 928-524-6689

Email

102 Hermosa Drive

Holbrook, AZ 86025

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jul 20, 2017
Friendly hosts, even after hours. Nice campground and tent camping sites, and good kids play facilities.
Jul 16, 2017
We had a very good stay. The pool is nice and large and was very refreshing. The only thing that was a negative was getting soaked by the sprinkler system in the middle of the night. We were in our tent, but did not have the rain fly up because there was no chance for rain. We got soaked and had to cover the sprinkler heads. 5 or 6 other tents were affected.Other than that everything was great
Jul 08, 2017
This will be the last KOA campground I will ever stay at. Bright lights all night, loud highway noise all night, poor facilities - that sums it up.
Jul 08, 2017
Great experience. The campsite was well maintained and the bathrooms were clean. Easy to stay with my dog as well!
Jul 07, 2017
Loved everything but the showers. The shower headsdidnt turn making it hard to wash hair
Jul 03, 2017
Nice big campsites, bathrooms clean. Breakfast is nice too.
Jul 03, 2017
Everything was totally fine, except for that our tent was bombarded by sprinklers at 3 am, soaking us and the tent, as well as everything inside. We then had to sleep in our car for the rest of the night. Only giving a third star because they were kind enough to refund our stay. Putting A/C in the bathrooms as well would be a great addition to this KOA.
Jun 27, 2017
Perfect base for day trips or just traveling thru. Staff was great
Jun 24, 2017
This was a Great Place, service was great, we will definitely stay everytime we pass thru
Jun 24, 2017
Sprinklers we're on when I got there and asked to have them turned off. They soaked us again at 2:00am. Unacceptable! No sleep, should get refund.
Jun 24, 2017
Great park, great people, and pancakes!!
Jun 20, 2017
everything worked. helpful staff. coffee in the am available!
Jun 20, 2017
It's not the perfect stay which defines a great camp. It's the manner in which the staff addresses issues. I was very impressed with the staff's commitment to excellence, and cleanliness. Great campsites.
Jun 19, 2017
Bathrooms, pool, and campsite were all very clean. It was quiet, pleasant, and a great place to stay. The only downside was that the wifi barely worked. It was slow. But we just enjoyed tent camping and didn't use internet.
Jun 19, 2017
Campground is nice, good and clean. But tent sites are bit noisy because of I40next to IT.
Jun 11, 2017
Loved it !Can tell they are making lots of improvements! Loved the breakfast and dinner! Only one problem , no handicap shower/restroom! I had an impossible time in the shower!
Jun 10, 2017
Great campsite! Privacy and wonderful amenities! Everyone was welcoming and the facility was easily accessible
Jun 07, 2017
Our family stayed in the tipi, which was so fun! There was only one on the grounds so my kids felt special about that and it was much larger and more comfortable than we were expecting. The $2.99 all you can eat pancake breakfast at the outdoor cowboy corral was perfect!
Jun 06, 2017
A bit noisy being near I-40, but the great access to comfort facilities more than made up for this. Enjoyed our stay, would stay again.
Jun 05, 2017
Tee pee was awesome! Even went the extra mile and called us when we forgot something!
Jun 05, 2017
I pulled in to just get a space to sleep in my camper shell for the night. I was assigned to the furthest point in the campground possible where the bathrooms were "closed for the winter". it was a very very long walk, in the dark, poor lighting. was charged almost 40bucks for this.
Jun 05, 2017
Was so impressed with the campground! The bathrooms and showers were very clean. Grass for the tent was a bonus!
Jun 02, 2017
Staff was so friendly and the Chuckwagn food kiosk just awesome!! Nice showers and restrooms. The tent site had water and power at each site. Closely located to the road but far enough away that there wasn't traffic noise. We will gladly stay here again.
May 31, 2017
First time at KOA. tent camper. Used Super Tent spot. Very pleasantly surprised! Likely to stay again and may look into teepee and ka bins for quick stopovers
May 31, 2017
The restrooms were out of toilet paper for at least 2 hours in the mornings and the garbage cans were nearly always full to overflowing. We were there during Memorial weekend, but they didn't seem able to keep up with the number of campers.
May 31, 2017
The roadways can be a bit muddy when it rains in areas on the grounds. Otherwise okay.
May 31, 2017
The grass tent site we had didn't have a good table. splinters from the table, grill was really in-cleaned and very small to place charcoal in if you want to grill 2 steaks & corn on the cob if you want them all cooked together. The flood light that came on at 11 pm. Was so bright that sleeping in the woods like wasn't going to happen.
May 30, 2017
There is a very bright light that never turns off by tent sites makes it hard to sleep. The neighbors of the campground have many dogs who bark very early. The pool was closed but it did jit mention that anywhere on their site which was very disappointing. The kitchen breakfast was yummy and a good deal but I do not intend on going back.
May 27, 2017
Excellent
May 20, 2017
We had a wonderful stay in the Teepee. Friendly staff, clean and well maintained facility. Breakfast and Dinner available at the Campground.
May 19, 2017
Campground is very close to the highway (very noisy); tent campsites offer little to no privacy; grass for the tent campsites is a nice idea but people walk their dogs on it; very poor wifi, regardless the time of day; clean restrooms and showers.
May 18, 2017
MUST STAY IN TEEPEE!! Worth every penny!
May 10, 2017
Grass for tent camping was nice. The pancake breakfast and BBQ dinners offered was a nice service; food was good and staff very friendly. Bathrooms clean and bright.
May 04, 2017
We tent-camped in the super-tent area. It was absolutely lovely!! Only complaint too many lights. Well maintained and great facilities.
Apr 23, 2017
Had a great tent site. ST1
Apr 12, 2017
Nice tent site. Wifi marginal. Kept kicking me off or EXTREMELY slow. Would not even load weather app on my iPad
Apr 11, 2017
Very nice camp sites for tent camping...nice facilities as well
Apr 09, 2017
Next to freeway, no screening, lousy table, far from bathroom
Apr 08, 2017
The campground was clean. Sites level. Not to far from Petrified Forest National Park. On the downside. .they only had 1 set of bathrooms open and those were in the main building behind the office which was quite a distance from the tenting section. Also some road noise in that section as well
Apr 08, 2017
Employees were very nice. Clean. The back shower and restroom are under construction.They are remodeling.
Apr 06, 2017
Staff not as welcoming as other KOA's & bathroom & showers closest to the tent area not open for the season.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry but our back restrooms are not heated and seasonal. We have still been freezing at night, makes it impossible to open these yet.
Apr 03, 2017
Not much to do. No bike rentals. Pool was shut down, but it was too cold anyway. Bathrooms near the tents were closed, which it didn't say on the site, so we had to walk all the way to the front for bathroom use or dish sink. Tent sites were okay, could use a little update and separation as we would have been right neXT to a follow camper.
Mar 30, 2017
The campground is clean and they are trying to keep grass and trees (which can be hard in Arizona). I only gave 4 stars because the only bathroom that was unlocked was directly behind the office. I'm sure it's because it's still the slow season, however it was inconvenient to walk up to the front to use them all the way from the back where the tent sites are. I would stay again however.
Mar 21, 2017
The bathrooms/showers were amazing for a Campground, but we found the grill area disappointing. It was nearly impossible to even get wood to fit in the tiny pit and it definitely didn't provide any real heat. Not allowing campfires seems ridiculous in a campsite, but overall the place was clean, safe, and easy to locate.
Mar 21, 2017
The star-lit night sky was glorious, the playground was a HUGE plus for my travel-weary kids, and the laundry facilities were a real blessing for a family full of dusty tent campers. I'm giving 4 stars instead of 5 because the tent bathroom facilities were not available, due to repairs (?). The trek to the front wasn't that big of a burden, though. We would definitely stay again!
Mar 18, 2017
Very nice.
Mar 08, 2017
Made me feel very welcome. Wish I could have seen more of the park in the daytime.
Feb 21, 2017
Althought hostess was nice, NEVER again! This was 3rd KOA fail. KOA means located in commercial area, packed in like sardines. PF, AZ website sells grass and water at sites. Truth: Few & for EXTRA fee with very little grass; water off for season; Fire ring" is half an oil drum - no air flow, no view of fire. All this under the light of a huge Burger King sign with I-40 roaring behind.
Feb 12, 2017
Super clean, nice and quiet, great staff
Jan 07, 2017
Although ratings were high we were disappointed. Upon arriving we were presented with a couple of problems. Only a few sites have grass. There was tons of mud too. Secondly we found dog crap right on our site and to make matters worse, the bathrooms closest to the tent sites were closed (seasonal) RVs were closer to the only open bathrooms than the tents were.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals