Chicago Northwest KOA

8404 South Union Road

Union, IL 60180

Reserve: 800-562-2827

Info: 815-923-4206

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Oct 13, 2014
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 28, 2014
I can't say enough positive things about our visit. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. The bathrooms were always clean and stocked. The staff there always had a smile on their faces and kind words to say. I will recommend this site to everyone headed to the Chicago area.
Sep 17, 2014
Very clean bathrooms, well manicured grass areas, friendly staff. Will be going back to stay one last time for the year in a couple of weeks
Sep 15, 2014
Had a nice time at this KOA, farther away from activities-but we knew that beforehand.
Sep 09, 2014
My girlfriend and I asked for a secluded corner, and KOA gave us the most secluded corner. Thank you KOA! It was a very romantic and intimate trip. We also needed to add a day to our stay and KOA took care of everything, no hassle. Very impressed overall.
Sep 06, 2014
Aug 26, 2014
Nice campground, nice bathrooms.
Aug 25, 2014
I brought my two children camping for all of our first time. I was a little nervous being there without my husband with two small children. We had a wonderful experience! I felt extremely safe and as for "roughing" it this was a great place to try for your first time because they provide many amenities. The only down side was out loud neighbors but no fault of koa.
Aug 18, 2014
wonderful activities for kids and the adjacent cowboy attraction and train museum near by make this place one of te best in the country
Aug 11, 2014
It was a great stay, but not my kind of camping. I would recommend it to someone who wants to try out camping or wants a cheap couple days out with kids. But this experience lacks the escapism of camping and is very crowded (tents on top of tents). The overall effort put in by the KOA is top-notch. It's just not the kind of camping I enjoy.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
We had a good time.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Everything was wonderful. Swimming, Mini golf tether ball. The bathrooms were clean and the people were friendly.
Aug 05, 2014
Great camp area, very clean washrooms.
Aug 04, 2014
So friendly, so clean, efficient check in, fun for children, safe too!
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
We enjoyed this KOA! My boyfriend and I tent camped. The plot was perfectly lovely, but it was a little close to a fairly major highway. Other KOAs offered free coffee in the morning.
Jul 30, 2014
Location-not near interstate-good! A bit far from Chicago, but ok. Friendly staff and we were happy for the pool. We loved placing our tent near the playground. Kids enjoyed both pool and 3 playsets on playground. Kind of wanted paper towels in bathroom.
Jul 28, 2014
my family really enjoyed our stay at KOA!. the staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. we will be back the next chance we get. thank you KOA staff!
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
I was pleasantly suprised at how family friendly this place was! We brought my daughter, her best friend and our dog and they had a blast! I love how they have so much stuff for the kids to do. Plus accommodated to our dog as well. Friendly, helpful staff works quickly and are always willing to help as well. Will definitely be back in the future.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 25, 2014
We felt very secure and safe. The bathrooms could use some deep cleaning.
Jul 25, 2014
This was my 2nd time staying there. The men's room toilets were filthy. Don't want to pay $30 for a small campsite with no power. $10, maybe $15, but $30 is ridiculous, especially with filthy bathrooms. I was planning on staying there every week during summer/fall, as I would rather stay in my tent than a hotel room. But during this last trip you lost me as a customer. Never again.
Jul 23, 2014
Everything was nice & clean. I liked the setup of the showers with the doors & bench. I just wished the water stayed on longer!
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Great campground. People were very friendly, helpful, and professional. This was our first KOA stay and we were impressed.
Jul 20, 2014
We spent three nights and it was a great place to stay and convenient to the activities we wanted to do. It was close to a busy road and the ice at $2.50 a bag seemed a little expensive. They were able to accommodate are wishes for a tent site.
Jun 23, 2014
Sixth year in a row doing our annual Dad's Weekend! Both kids and dads REALLY enjoyed their time. Thank you, and we can't wait to bring the moms back in a few weeks!
Jun 21, 2014
Enjoyed listening to the Canadian geese on the pond next door. Slept well.
Jun 17, 2014
Very clean and well groomed. The hosts were very nice. Movie night was quite a treat.
Jun 13, 2014
Great facility with plenty of activities for the kids. Would definately stay here again. Thanks!
Jun 09, 2014
This was our first time camping with our children. I've camped a lot in the past. This was the cleanest, most well kept campground I've seen. It was close to home and a great way to test out camping with the little ones. We would certainly return again.
May 27, 2014
Perfect weekend for camping and plenty of activities to enjoy. It was nice being close enough to Chicago to be able to go in and out of the city as well.
May 27, 2014
good place to stay with kids . May 23-26 2014
May 15, 2014
May 13, 2014
We had a great time! Everyone was so friendly and the campground/bathrooms were incredibly clean. Thank you! We will be back later this summer!
Oct 15, 2013
The camp grounds were clean, so friendly & private. My family had a blast. Our site was so nice close to the playground, restrooms & office. The privacy was nice, & the cost was decent. This is a place I will be revisiting next year. Thanks for a great time.
Oct 15, 2013
I've stayed at KOAs @ other locations. This was my first @ this one. I was disappointed because the campers across from us played music loudly and were very boisterous well into the evening. I expected the staff to advise them to quiet down, but this never happened. At the other KOAs I experienced a peaceful atmosphere, with no loud parties or music from other campers, but not this time.
Oct 08, 2013
Oct 02, 2013
Hello, My stay went well and I can reccommend the site. My only complaint was a truck that used his Jake brake during my sleep (subsequently awake) time. Could you check to see if Illinois DOT can place "No engine braking" signs on Rt 20 at your intersection?
Sep 30, 2013
This is one of the best KOAs we stayed at. However, it was also one of the only KOAs where we had a not so nice staff member. Bossy was a tad rude.
Sep 23, 2013
We arrived 1 night early and stayed in a cabin the first night. The next 2 nights we did the primitive tent camping. A picnic table at every site. A VERY CLEAN fire ring at every site. Nice really well kept grass area to camp on. Average showers. Overall a very clean and extemly well kept campground. Nice folks. Expensive fire wood. I would love to stay again some day!
Sep 08, 2013
We had a beautiful night with clear skies. The grouds are well kept and freshly mowed. Showers/bathroom are kept clean. Friendly staff making facility improvements all year long it appears. Wxcept for some occasional traffic noise very peaceful. Would certainly do it again. Thanks
Sep 07, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
The bathrooms are outdated and could be improved. The candy hunt was chaotic and poorly organized. Our tent was close to the playground and we heard kids on squeaky swings at 5am. The live music from Wild West next door went very late on Saturday night. There was a variety of activities for kids. The playground kept the kids busy.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Our family had a great time at the campground for our Labor Day camping trip. Our daughter loved the playgound area and the swimming pool was a welcome relief from the heat. We also enjoyed the activites throughout the weekend. My only complaint would be that the sites are pretty close together, but other than that we had a great time and will be coming back.
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.