Chicago Northwest KOA

8404 South Union Road

Union, IL 60180

Reserve: 800-562-2827

Info: 815-923-4206

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Jul 25, 2014
We felt very secure and safe. The bathrooms could use some deep cleaning.
Jul 25, 2014
This was my 2nd time staying there. The men's room toilets were filthy. Don't want to pay $30 for a small campsite with no power. $10, maybe $15, but $30 is ridiculous, especially with filthy bathrooms. I was planning on staying there every week during summer/fall, as I would rather stay in my tent than a hotel room. But during this last trip you lost me as a customer. Never again.
Jul 23, 2014
Everything was nice & clean. I liked the setup of the showers with the doors & bench. I just wished the water stayed on longer!
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Great campground. People were very friendly, helpful, and professional. This was our first KOA stay and we were impressed.
Jul 20, 2014
We spent three nights and it was a great place to stay and convenient to the activities we wanted to do. It was close to a busy road and the ice at $2.50 a bag seemed a little expensive. They were able to accommodate are wishes for a tent site.
Jun 23, 2014
Sixth year in a row doing our annual Dad's Weekend! Both kids and dads REALLY enjoyed their time. Thank you, and we can't wait to bring the moms back in a few weeks!
Jun 21, 2014
Enjoyed listening to the Canadian geese on the pond next door. Slept well.
Jun 17, 2014
Very clean and well groomed. The hosts were very nice. Movie night was quite a treat.
Jun 13, 2014
Great facility with plenty of activities for the kids. Would definately stay here again. Thanks!
Jun 09, 2014
This was our first time camping with our children. I've camped a lot in the past. This was the cleanest, most well kept campground I've seen. It was close to home and a great way to test out camping with the little ones. We would certainly return again.
May 27, 2014
Perfect weekend for camping and plenty of activities to enjoy. It was nice being close enough to Chicago to be able to go in and out of the city as well.
May 27, 2014
good place to stay with kids . May 23-26 2014
May 15, 2014
May 13, 2014
We had a great time! Everyone was so friendly and the campground/bathrooms were incredibly clean. Thank you! We will be back later this summer!
Oct 15, 2013
The camp grounds were clean, so friendly & private. My family had a blast. Our site was so nice close to the playground, restrooms & office. The privacy was nice, & the cost was decent. This is a place I will be revisiting next year. Thanks for a great time.
Oct 15, 2013
I've stayed at KOAs @ other locations. This was my first @ this one. I was disappointed because the campers across from us played music loudly and were very boisterous well into the evening. I expected the staff to advise them to quiet down, but this never happened. At the other KOAs I experienced a peaceful atmosphere, with no loud parties or music from other campers, but not this time.
Oct 08, 2013
Oct 02, 2013
Hello, My stay went well and I can reccommend the site. My only complaint was a truck that used his Jake brake during my sleep (subsequently awake) time. Could you check to see if Illinois DOT can place "No engine braking" signs on Rt 20 at your intersection?
Sep 30, 2013
This is one of the best KOAs we stayed at. However, it was also one of the only KOAs where we had a not so nice staff member. Bossy was a tad rude.
Sep 23, 2013
We arrived 1 night early and stayed in a cabin the first night. The next 2 nights we did the primitive tent camping. A picnic table at every site. A VERY CLEAN fire ring at every site. Nice really well kept grass area to camp on. Average showers. Overall a very clean and extemly well kept campground. Nice folks. Expensive fire wood. I would love to stay again some day!
Sep 08, 2013
We had a beautiful night with clear skies. The grouds are well kept and freshly mowed. Showers/bathroom are kept clean. Friendly staff making facility improvements all year long it appears. Wxcept for some occasional traffic noise very peaceful. Would certainly do it again. Thanks
Sep 07, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
The bathrooms are outdated and could be improved. The candy hunt was chaotic and poorly organized. Our tent was close to the playground and we heard kids on squeaky swings at 5am. The live music from Wild West next door went very late on Saturday night. There was a variety of activities for kids. The playground kept the kids busy.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Our family had a great time at the campground for our Labor Day camping trip. Our daughter loved the playgound area and the swimming pool was a welcome relief from the heat. We also enjoyed the activites throughout the weekend. My only complaint would be that the sites are pretty close together, but other than that we had a great time and will be coming back.
Sep 02, 2013
Wonderful staff!! Great flashlight candy hunt! We had a great time. I wish there were paper towels in the bathrooms to wipe up water dribbled on the counter - but I understand paper towels bring other messy issues too.
Aug 28, 2013
Great campground! Family friendly. Excellent staff. Plenty of wooded sites. Reasonably priced.
Aug 26, 2013
The price was reasonable. The campground was very clean, and there was plenty there to do for the kids. I will definitely come back again.
Aug 26, 2013
We were warmly greeted with hash browns to cook for breakfast upon entry into the campgrounds. All the staff were so friendly and inviting. They were genuinely cared how our stay was and if they could assist us in any way. Our campsite was perfect and the ground so comfortable for sleeping. Better than any 5 star hotel.
Aug 22, 2013
Nice folks, extremely clean grounds and facilities. New owner's upgrades are well thought out and are helping to restore this great location.
Aug 19, 2013
had a good time
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 15, 2013
Everyone was very nice and helpful. Restrooms and showers very clean. Water pressure not very strong in showers.
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
The staff were considerate and informed us of all the benefits and accomadtions, it was very clean, and well organized. It felt safe, and that was important for me with two smal children.
Aug 12, 2013
Very friendly staff and accommodating. The grounds and facility's are very clean and well taken care of. Pride is put into this KOA and it shows!
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Not secluded enough, way... too many little kids yelling and screaming, no communication. We got our map 6 hours after we got there.
Aug 05, 2013
Great experience for our family, especially as it was the first time we took the kids (ages 4,8,9) camping. Very clean site and staff was extremely helpful.
Aug 05, 2013
Staff was friendly and helpful. Area was very clean. I took my 5yr old son here for his 1st camping trip. This was the best way to introduce him to it all. Will go here again before end of the season. Thanks!!
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
In our experience it is rare to find a Koa that does not have highway noise all night so this was a dream come true. Fun and safe family atmosphere. Everything clean and attractive. Bathroom a bit too damp & tired, but for such a busy place, understandable.
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
Very nice tent camping (we didn't want electric or water, so were "away" from all others). That was a plus because there were a LOT of tents / people in the other section. Bathroom facilities were the best we've had so far on our trip.
Jul 09, 2013
great time!
Jun 24, 2013
We had our annual Dad's Weekend trip. Every dad and child (7 dads, 13 children) had a GREAT time. Thank you!
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.