Chicago Northwest KOA

8404 South Union Road

Union, IL 60180

Reserve: 800-562-2827

Info: 815-923-4206

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 01, 2015
Silvia was wonderful, we'll all the staff was very nice, I would recommend this KOA for anyone in the Chicago area.
Sep 01, 2015
Sep 01, 2015
The campground was very quiet,and bathrooms and showers exceptionally clean. The pool was freezing. The flashlight candy hunt was great for the kids. Would liked to have seen more family/kid friendly events.
Sep 01, 2015
Unfortunately we were parked next to a horse trailer and we were engulfed in flies. We were in the Motorhome more than out. Also there was an angry older gentleman that worked there that was screaming at children on their bikes. He should have talked to their parents. We will return, it is a nice campground.
Aug 31, 2015
It was our 2nd time ever taking our trailer out and 1st at KOA. I was impressed.
Aug 31, 2015
Aug 30, 2015
Office closed too early to get coins for laundry. Would recommend a change machine in the laundry area as well as longer hours for laundry facilities.
Aug 30, 2015
Aug 30, 2015
We had our grandkids (4&7) with us, they had a great time with all the kids activities. The grounds were very clean. We had a great stay and would recommend to anyone with kids.
Aug 29, 2015
We had a wonderful stay at this KOA, the staff was friendly, facilities were really clean, and there were nice activities for the kids. The showers were some of the nicest we have ever had at a campground. The advice the staff gave about taking the metra into Chicago was greatly appreciated.
Aug 29, 2015
Quiet (after 5pm when attraction next door closed), friendly staff,clean,very dog friendly, wish we could have stayed longer
Aug 29, 2015
It was like camping in someone's front lawn. Open. No privacy. Also it's gated to you have to use a key to get in and out which you have to put a deposit down for. Keep moving is my opinion.
Aug 27, 2015
pool is not handicap accessible Tent sites were very close no privacy at all
Aug 27, 2015
Very enjoyable and great car rental deal Thanks
Aug 27, 2015
The recommendation to eat at Joe 's was really helpful. Very secure feeling at this campground.
Aug 27, 2015
I loved this camping site! Very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. My family and I will definitely stay there again!
Aug 26, 2015
Staff was not very friendly and there was a huge fly problem.
Aug 26, 2015
Aug 25, 2015
wonderful people....the grounds look great..nice lawn care and flowers and plants..clean restrooms and Kabin :) Thank You we will be back
Aug 25, 2015
The sites are way too close together. With only a total of 6 feet between, our picnic table was only 3 feet of the next site's water, electric and sewer. The pool was not heated so my 4 year old grandson would not swim. There were several barking dogs that continued after dark. On the positive side, they did have activities for the kids like a flashlight candy hunt and a hay wagon ride.
Aug 25, 2015
Trop proche des voisins. Trop loin de Chicago
Aug 24, 2015
We had a wonderful stay with KOA Northwest Chicago. We rented the travel trailer and it fit our needs with 4 adults and a toddler. Everyone from the time we pulled in till we left were very friendly. They had many activities planned for the kids. Especially loved the flashlight candy hunt. The restrooms and shower were very clean. Hope to stay at this location in the future.
Aug 24, 2015
Too close to the highway making it noisy all night. Also too crowded, sites too small
Aug 24, 2015
Employee service is great
Aug 24, 2015
Efficient check-in/ out. Good activities for kids. Pool was cold, defi not at 74 deg. Younger Kids could not be in pool for more than 15 mins.
Aug 24, 2015
Aug 24, 2015
Extremely friendly and knowledgeable staff. They took us directly to our site and helped us set up.Restrooms were clean and kept up at all times. Hard to do with children always around and thought staff was intent on keeping the grounds and facilities very clean and friendly. Will be back and will continue using KOA based on this experience. Thank every one very much.
Aug 24, 2015
Nice place, but a few suggestions. The flashlight candy hunt was a little unorganized. Split kids into age groups before telling them where the candy was. Half the group left and left others still listening to leader. Small kids lost in craziness of others taking off. Fix mini golf holes. The one close to road that's slanted up needs help where hazard starts and course ends. Pool water freezing.
Aug 24, 2015
very welcoming and hospitibale staff. we had a wonderful time.
Aug 24, 2015
from the moment we arrived until the minute we left. we found the grounds and staff pleasant and accommodating. With all the activities for kids and games we never even thought of leaving the grounds for anything! we cant wait for our next stay!
Aug 24, 2015
Nice campground, great location for our family to go to Day Out With Thomas and Wild West Town. Only complaint is the price, awfully pricey for a no hook-up tent site. My kids love the hayride and the flashlight candy hunt.
Aug 23, 2015
Staff very helpful, information on getting around in Chicago, large playground, improved bathrooms. Only knock is the site sizes as medium/small. We enjoyed our stay.
Aug 23, 2015
We stayed here for one night while passing through the state. Pros: Clean bathrooms. Good service. Off major highway so less road noise than some KOA's. Cons: Wifi was intermittent.
Aug 23, 2015
We had a great stay and wish we could have stayed longer. Great place. We will be back another time.
Aug 22, 2015
Love it. Beautiful campgrounds!
Aug 22, 2015
It was a OK stay the people working there were very nice but weren't able to accommodate me for any extra day's Even though there were plenty of empty sites so unless you have reservations don't bother stopping people traveling through the area you need to find another place to stay
Aug 21, 2015
Clean and friendly staff.
Aug 21, 2015
The reason for our stay at this KOA, was that we have Family in Chicago and it was the closest KOA to Chicago. It took us a hour to get into the city each day. A nice drive. The staff was very helpful. The campground is gated and that made us feel safe during our stay, an added plus! We will be returning yearly.
Aug 21, 2015
Clean,secure and friendly service! Great KOA!
Aug 21, 2015
I appreciate the late check in. Thank you for having that, as well as circling the lot information. We arrived around 9:30, set up our tents in the dark. My son (just turned 5) had a wonderful night. We had a "Whisper Party," lol. He loved being close to the park. Thank you ☺
Aug 20, 2015
Very clean and well kept will definitely visit again
Aug 20, 2015
Great stay except for the ungodly amount of flies.
Aug 19, 2015
Aug 19, 2015
I've stayed at many KOA's while traveling and yet again, this one didn't disappoint. Convenient location, friendly staff, and clean showers.
Aug 19, 2015
My rating does not reflect the campground itself. I was locked out of my RV about 1 hour upon arrival. the campground had an empty cabin and offered it to us. Thought it was a nice gesture until they charged us $91.00. No break whatsoever ever . A cabin with a light and a bed. Rip off. Took advantage of our misfortune.
Aug 18, 2015
We had a very nice stay,but I have one complaint that almost makes me not want to return.I was shocked on how close the campsites were to each other.They've literally carved out every inch of space in this campground to make a site.We stayed on a very busy weekend so every site was taken and my awning was almost touching the slide-out next to me.No other complaints,but to close for comfort for me.
Aug 18, 2015
Always very friendly staff and nice pull thru sites . Short drive to Illinois Railway Museum
Aug 18, 2015
Great peoples and very nice location.
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.