Chicago Northwest KOA

8404 South Union Road

Union, IL 60180

Reserve: 800-562-2827

Info: 815-923-4206

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 25, 2015
Jul 25, 2015
We loved the campground. Our ONLY complaint was the noise from the roads nearby.
Jul 25, 2015
There was always a yellow shirt around during the day! Always there to help! Love the gated entrance! Wifi was spotty but thats ok, I was there to relax! The place was clean and well cared for! Don't worry, we will be back! Thanks!
Jul 25, 2015
Aside from the initial check in snafu (first person could not find our name on list. Another lady did find it) it was great. Even the tornado warning and torrential rain didn't prevent us from having fun. My 10 year old grandson loved the ice cream social, won the frozen tee shirt contest and really enjoyed himself. Looking forward to visiting your location again.
Jul 25, 2015
The place is gorgeous, the staff is friendly and the camp spite prices were reasonable
Jul 24, 2015
Campground is great but we seemed to have a problem with the water this time. We could never get clear water, it came out rusty in color along with particles.
Jul 24, 2015
Jul 24, 2015
Great place to stay with lots of activities for the family. Very clean and wonderful staff.
Jul 24, 2015
Fun campground...will stay again.
Jul 24, 2015
it was a grandkids camping experience & they loved it. already asking when they can go back.
Jul 23, 2015
Overall this was a nice campground. We rented the barebones cabin. Would have been nice if the AC had been turned on before our arrival so it wasn't so hot. No control of rain but our cabin had standing water all week outside around the picnic table which made the Mosquitos bad. WiFi signal was very poor unless you were by the camp store. Pool was very nice but hours could be longer.
Jul 23, 2015
Jul 22, 2015
We will stay again next year. Campground is really clean and well maintained. Staff is friendly....
Jul 22, 2015
Local KOA for me. have stayed many times and all have been great. easy in and out pull thru site with a 40 foot 5th wheel.Clean quite campground. will go back for sure.
Jul 21, 2015
Very peaceful prairie side area. Always clean and welcoming with outstanding staff.
Jul 21, 2015
Location was the biggest interest of mine. I attended "Diesel Days Weekend" at IRM. Otherwise, the KOA grounds & facility was very clean & neat. I'll definitely return!
Jul 21, 2015
All the staff make you feel at home and look out for all the campers safety. I have been here three different weekends and each time we have had severe storms. I want to say thank you for activities and helpfulness.
Jul 21, 2015
We greatly appreciated the cleanliness of the campground and the attentiveness of the staff. Though our last night was marred by a difficult and loud neighboring cottage family, we will consider coming again.
Jul 21, 2015
Nous y allons à chaque été pour faire une visite dans la ville de Chicago. Non seulement l'endroit est propre et serein, ce camping est situé près du train de banlieue pour se rendre au centre-ville de Chicago en 90 minutes. De plus, le personnel est courtois et la gérante peut dire quelques mots en français!
Jul 21, 2015
Nothing real negative to say about this campground just not much going on as compared to many of the other KOA's like amenities and attractions. But defiantly was not unsatiafied I will only camp at KOA.
Jul 20, 2015
This is a nice campground with many activities. The sites were very narrow, but everyone is very nice and helpful. My only complaint is when we went to dump, there was not a fitted end to the hose. We have to hook up a hose to our flush system to properly dump the black tank and we were unable to. It is a small issue though. If it wasn't for the hose, our stay would have been perfect! Thank yo
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
Very Clean campground.
Jul 20, 2015
Friendly staff. Very clean restrooms and campground. Campground is attended to consistently. Staff helpful and easily accessible. Little pricey as far as campgrounds go. Need more fun activities.
Jul 20, 2015
It was nice to stay at KOA two nights. Events are awesome.
Jul 19, 2015
Stay was fine. No issues or problems.
Jul 19, 2015
Only issue we had was the lawn mower guy had no respect for people getting their trailers ready and packed up. If people are getting ready to leave, hold off on that spot till they are gone.
Jul 18, 2015
Staff is super friendly, and they work really hard to keep the campground looking great. Everything was very well kept and extremely clean. Thanks for a wonderful camping experience!
Jul 18, 2015
Overall the stay at KOA Was a pleasant experience The only recommendation I could make is that the sites would be a little more level other than that I would give it an a rating and and we love staying there
Jul 18, 2015
Very nice and well-kept park. Staff was very friendly. Thought the price was a little high though.
Jul 18, 2015
outstanding clean restrooms and showers a great team taking care of everything there,security you could not ask for a safer place to stay I wish there was a lot more KOA,s then they have you want a clean secure place this is it !
Jul 17, 2015
Was our first time there with the family. We had a great time. The grounds were very clean. We really loved the activities for the kids.. the other thing we like was seeing the owner drive around d every morning saying hello.. very friendly place.. we will recommend another visit for sure.
Jul 17, 2015
The people were very very friendly willing to help in anyway very clean
Jul 16, 2015
Our grandkids were with us for a few days. They both had fun. Campground is located about 30 minutes from Rockford, IL. Spent one day at the Discovery Center Museum and one day at the fun Wild West Town right next door. The staff at KOA were very nice and helpful.
Jul 16, 2015
Landry:'lors de pluie il sont hors service. Internet est mediocre
Jul 15, 2015
See you again in about four weeks. That says it all.
Jul 15, 2015
pool needs to stay open later for Adults only
Jul 15, 2015
We had a great time. It was very kid friendly.It rained on Sat so the hayride was cancelled but to compensate they showed a movie in the theater. Which was great because the grandkids would have been cooped up in the tent until the rain stopped. We will definitely come back.The staff was friendly and the store had supplies that we forgot to bring.
Jul 14, 2015
Very clean, lots of activities.
Jul 14, 2015
My family goes camping annually and the just important features of a campground to us are clean restrooms and friendly staff. Both of these tiny true of KOA. I like that the grounds are small because too many extra activities separate the group and take away from the togetherness we strive to gain from camping. My only complaint is the insects. The grounds need to be fumigated better.
Jul 14, 2015
Friendly staff (Tx to Jennifer) and service oriented. Improvement area : Internet service.
Jul 14, 2015
Had a very nice stay. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Jul 14, 2015
Enjoyed the pool (wish it was a little warmer), the playground & mini-golf. Things are nicely maintained & a variety of activities. One child had issues with mosquito bites, do you spray the grounds?
Jul 14, 2015
I feel that the campsite's are way to small. The restrooms smelled like outhouses. And, really? $5.00 for 3 large pieces of firewood. I cut tree's for a living. It doesn't cost you that much money to make firewood!! However the people working there were friendly, so that was a plus I guess.
Jul 14, 2015
Tent site near to road is not ideal for camping. "Free" wifi didn't work. Rest is OK.
Jul 13, 2015
Very well maintained property with nice trees. Staff very helpful and nice. Its 1 1/2 to 2 hours to downtown. Good location.
Jul 13, 2015
Very clean and a lot of activities
Jul 13, 2015
LOVE the family activities.
Jul 13, 2015
Grandsons enjoyed the candy flashlight hunt. Facility was clean and well kept. Had full hookup site but found the sewer drain connection was up hill making draining tanks a bit of a pain.
Jul 13, 2015
Great stay. Only comment I have is there seemed to be an excessive amount of flies in the kids playground area. Not complaining about it, just wanted to share the observation.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.