Charlottesville KOA

Open March 11 - November 13

Reserve: 434-296-9881

Info: 434-296-9881

Email

3825 Red Hill Road

Charlottesville, VA 22903-9710

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jun 20, 2016
Eh. Amenities were so-so. Sandy at the front desk was helpful and friendly. Sites are close together and tight squeezes throughout. We had site 38 with 36' MH and tow car - very pleasant, but wouldn't want to spent more than a few nights there; this was one night stop enroute to Shenandoah. KOA could use a facelift.
Jun 20, 2016
Everything was fine; I just was unaccustomed to the very small spaces, being from the West. WAY better than the next one I went to, which I can't wait to rate.
Jun 20, 2016
The office staff were friendly.
Jun 19, 2016
very clean and quiet.
Jun 17, 2016
Bathrooms pretty well maintained, though with a full camp, you had the expected signs of traffic in there. The showers were clean. Staff was friendly, good camp store. Sites are pretty close together, so be prepared to feel a little camping-claustrophobic. Camp has free wifi, unsure about range from main building. Cell signal weak to non-existent for Verizon, I've read it's non-existent for AT&T.
Jun 17, 2016
Friendly staff!! Very helpful with directions and places of interest in the area. Very clean!!
Jun 16, 2016
Nice,peaceful campground. Far enough off the beaten path that there is no highway or traffic noise. Nice newer shower with a nice bench not the little ledge. Only reason I would not come back is because of their internet poicy. Free wi-fi should not have limitations. Mine worked fine the first 24 hours then they started throttling me. I guess that felt I was using too much.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do not throttle anyone back. Our Wifi system automatically throttles anyone back who is using too much data so that it doesn't slow down to much for other users. Remember, you are sharing the internet with others.
Jun 14, 2016
Nice place to stay while visiting Monticello and Shenandoah NP.
Jun 13, 2016
I haven't tried many campgrounds in the area. It was "fine" but I was amazed at how squished together the spaces were. Out West, one space would equal five of yours.
Jun 13, 2016
Campsite was quiet and centrally located. The free WIFI that was advertised is unreliable, slow and should not be advertised as a perk. Cell phones cannot be used at the campground and that should be made clear especially since WIFI is unreliable. Cooking grates are not on the fire rings and not all wood that was sold was dry. I did not think it was a good value.
Jun 13, 2016
Not well maintain
Jun 12, 2016
We were only here for a couple of days for sightseeing so did not use a lot of the facilities. Site was great and easy to get in and out of - we felt safe during a thunder storm :)
Jun 11, 2016
Nice wooded campsites. Still had to unhook truck from camper because pull thru was too short.
Jun 11, 2016
totally different than any other KOA we stayed at, no amenties here, kind of a dump
Jun 10, 2016
Nice park. Roads are narrow and a little more challenging for a big rig but we managed it pretty well. The dumpster was so full the entire time (3 nights) we were there you couldn't get your trash in it. Otherwise, I would recommend it and stay there again.
Jun 10, 2016
Convenient to attractions nice pool clean bathhouse friendly and helpful staff.
Jun 08, 2016
Always a nice stay. Very clean bathrooms. Friendly staff. Close to many things to do and see. Highly recommend.
Jun 07, 2016
Jun 07, 2016
Jun 06, 2016
Family and pet friendly. Accessible to the wine trail.
Jun 06, 2016
Campground is OK for day trips but I have been in better KOA's.
Jun 05, 2016
A bit off the beaten path, and twisty winding roads to get there, but overall a decent campground. Interior roads are also a bit narrow, but we would stay here again.
Jun 05, 2016
Very shady campground , we enjoyed our stay here and the sites around Charlottesville .
Jun 05, 2016
Great place to stay. Very close to I-81. Easy access. Beautiful surrounding.
Jun 05, 2016
First time at a KOA Campground, great experience. Staff very friendly and helpfull.
Jun 01, 2016
While I was at the campground, I experienced an issue with my camper's electrical system. Brian Stanley, the owner, happened to be an electrician and over the next 3 days he visited me several times and helped me get back up and running so my food in the refrigerator would not spoil. He absolutely refused payment and was the utmost in courtesy to my wife and I. I highly recommend this facility.
Jun 01, 2016
Would have liked a more private site and better internet. But other than that it was very clean and the owners were very friendly. Good place near Charlottesville.
Jun 01, 2016
The extra charges for kids activities were never brought up until I got there...would of been nice to know. I got charge for 3 days of kids activities but there was no activities on the third day....wasn't too happy with that. Overall OK.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We charge for extra people for each day that they are on the campground, holiday weekend or not. The more people on a site the higher the cost of utilities and upkeep. We do NOT charge a daily activity fee. For some activities we sell items at cost (tie dye t-shirts or pillowcase/backpack coloring).
May 31, 2016
Smaller KOA with less activities for campers; however we appreciate the friendly staff, quiet surroundings,and clean sites. This was our second visit of multiple days. Thank you!
May 31, 2016
I can't speak for bath houses as I did not use them. Very spacious sites. Nicely wooded areas. Gravel over whole site.
May 31, 2016
Good for a day or two for sight seeing.
May 30, 2016
I would suggest for safety reasons, I would trim all vegetation away from fence surrounding pool. Safety signs are not completely visible.
May 30, 2016
Convenient access, lovely wooded lots, well placed sites angled for privacy, convenience items in store, courteous & knowledgeable staff familiar with area,attractions & UVA.
May 30, 2016
A small and wonderful campground! Very friendly & helpful staff - they really went beyond the call for us when we drove in with a dying battery! Very clean, quiet and well maintained. Can't say too much good about this campground!!!
May 28, 2016
May 25, 2016
The campground was very clean. Bathrooms were cleaned daily. The dog park was an added bonus. Location is within a short drive to many of the must see activities in the area!
May 25, 2016
clean neat well taken care of very friendly and a nice place to stop for the night
May 24, 2016
Very nice and clean. Clean restrooms and showers. Easy pull thrus.
May 24, 2016
Other than the weather which was out of your control. We had a great time. Love the amenities of the KOA. Everything you need.
May 24, 2016
Perfect place for us to overnight when heading west or returning. Easy in and out. 43' with 3 slides
May 23, 2016
Easy to work with and nearby the places i wanted to go
May 23, 2016
Could not get internet or phone service
May 23, 2016
This is a very nice campground. It's a bit off the beaten path, but we enjoyed it.
May 21, 2016
Charlottes ville: Toilettes très propres Tranquillité très appréciée Site très petit , camping vétuste et mal entretenu
May 20, 2016
May 19, 2016
Two nights visiting Monticelo. Great. Dogs loved pet playground and actually pulled us there once they knew where where it was.
May 19, 2016
My favorite KOA so far. Beautiful, quiet place.
May 17, 2016
nice campground, a little pricey and spots are close together, the pond area would be beautiful if they cleaned it up some. Nice folks run it, adequate store, didn't visit the bath house so can't comment on it. small game room and laundry. Great location when visiting Charlottesville and Monticello, not much cell service and internet was fair.
May 17, 2016
Clean campground, friendly staff. For us, a reasonably priced, quiet place to stay.
May 17, 2016
First time ever camping in every. They made it easy and now I'm hooked! I'll be back!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals