Avila / Pismo Beach KOA

7075 Ontario Road

San Luis Obispo, CA 93405

Reserve: 800-562-1244

Info: 805-595-7111

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 01, 2015
Sites too close together. Pool is nice. Too expensive for the gravel small sites!
Jul 01, 2015
We have stayed at other KOA's and the amenities here were not we believe up to the standards we are used to. The management did not seem flexible in picking our location, but assigned them. We asked to move and were informed the spot was taken. Some confusion as we not offered a choice of locations when we reserved. We stayed for five nights and the spot we requested to move occupied only once.
Jul 01, 2015
It was good. The spaces are to narrow and tight. the ones in the back should be on a angle not straight for better access. We had to move our truck 4 times so people could squeeze in. Very inconvenient.
Jul 01, 2015
Very friendly staff and nice pool/hot tub. Great little general store. Bathrooms need a makeover and spaces are too close with not much in the way of plants/wall for some privacy.
Jun 30, 2015
Beautiful park, just need to be on top of the bathrooms a little more.
Jun 30, 2015
Sites were tight but the campground was beautifully landscaped.
Jun 30, 2015
I was amazed at how cramed in the spaces were. Our trailer barely fit, we had to disconnect the truck and squeeze it next to it and had very little room to sit outside. Our neighbor had a lounge chair and umbrella in their space, but had to have it right up against our trailer. No privacy at all.
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 29, 2015
Great location! Spots are a little small and the bathrooms could be a little better, but we will for sure go back.
Jun 29, 2015
This CG sucks.Outdated bath house, CLOSE to neighbor sites.
Jun 28, 2015
It would be nice if someone would answer the telephone. I called 5 times and no one answered, ever.
Jun 27, 2015
It was great!
Jun 27, 2015
Extremely quiet RV park. Loved the proximity to the Bob Jones trail for walking and biking.
Jun 27, 2015
nice facility, small but comfortable. would like to see the RV sites leveled more. some are humpty dumpty
Jun 26, 2015
I made a mistake on my reservation and the staff were so helpful. I really appreciated their help.
Jun 26, 2015
It was too packed. We were put on a corner lot that should not have had an RV on it. The dogs next door barked until 10:30. The staff was not friendly.
Jun 26, 2015
Bathroom doors don't lock and bathrooms could be maintained better. Couple stools clogged and urinal overflows. Told office.
Jun 25, 2015
Friendly staff, heated pool, bike trail next door. traffic noise a little much from Hwy101 but altogether nice place to stay
Jun 25, 2015
The location of this KOA is great for visiting Big Sur and San Luis Obisbo. This is a great campground if it is just a place to sleep for you. Though there are some activites there aren't enough to make this campground your trip. Though it's near very scenic areas the views from the campground are nothing special. Lastly it was very cramped. We were 2 to a site.
Jun 24, 2015
We have been coming to this KOA for 5 years now. Not much has changed. Convenient location to SLO It could use some updating such as bathroom showers. Lights around pool turned off at time pool closed was walking dog in pet area became quite dark when lights when off.
Jun 24, 2015
Jun 23, 2015
From the time we got there one of the camp attendants was rude and told us if our dogs barked we would be told to leave! Dog friendly families stay away! Horrible KOA
Jun 23, 2015
Jun 23, 2015
The campsite was nice with a nice pool area and playground but the wifi was terribly bad.
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
Clean and comfortable, a little small.
Jun 22, 2015
The whole place was so small and cramped. The RV spots were so close together. Really just no room to move. It was clean. Pool was nice. Would not stay again.
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
Close to everything easy off and on to the freeway. A nice place.
Jun 22, 2015
Everything was good. Sites were a little to close for my taste, but still good. Camp Hosts/Managers were great. They were very friendly, and polite. My family is going to be wanting to stay here again.
Jun 21, 2015
Wanted to stay extra day during fathers day weekend and they made it happen Movie night on the big screen and excellent breakfast my family loves this place
Jun 19, 2015
We stayed two nights and had a great time in Avila Beach!
Jun 18, 2015
Parking for visitors near a site should not be made into a big deal if the campground is not full. There is no on site visitor parking and it is not really clear where to park. Otherwise it was a great experience
Jun 17, 2015
Super. Great staff and very clean.
Jun 17, 2015
Extremely helpfull and friendly hostess
Jun 16, 2015
Grumpy old bearded man (owner I think) snapped at us for parking in the wrong spot on the way in and then snapped at my kids on the playground for not having their parent present. We could see them from our campsite which was 4 spots down but he insisted we sit right next to the playground. We asked for a site that backed to the playground and were told they were booked yet sat empty for 3 days.
Jun 16, 2015
Bathrooms were filthy when we arrived and never cleaned during our stay. Shower fixtures not operating properly, broken door latches, feces on toilets, clogged toilets, no paper towels, same garbage in cans. Trash collection bins overflowing. Understand the facility is dated, but it should be kept clean. Beach public restrooms were way cleaner. Not up to KOA standards.
Jun 15, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay the only thing is the spots are super tight and there isn't much room left on the site with your trailer and vehicle parked. The traffic from the 101 is pretty loud. But the location is good. It's a bike ride to Avila beach and the Avila barn. We would stay here again.
Jun 15, 2015
Jun 14, 2015
No soap in ladies room.
Jun 14, 2015
Excellent location between San Luis Obispo and beach cities. Easy access from 101. Quiet.
Jun 14, 2015
Friendly staff, NO WiFi available.
Jun 14, 2015
Small gravel site, no campfire allowed and no indication of that on website, so we carted along unnecessary firewood. One if 3 showers not working, no soap in bathrooms and curt, unfriendly management
Jun 12, 2015
wish we could have stayed longer
Jun 11, 2015
Stayed at many KOA's. This one is way overpriced and not worth the money. No brochures or local maps. Unfriendly and inattentive staff not helpful with local directions. Young lady behind desk more interested in texting suggested we Google to find info we asked about. Dumpsters overflowing. Dirty picnic table and generally in need of maintenance. In fact we left a day early.
Jun 11, 2015
Poor bathroom facilities - need renovation
Jun 10, 2015
Pull through site wasn't level. Had a difficult time disconnecting my 5th wheel fm truck.
Jun 08, 2015
The hosts there were extremely friendly and accommodating. It's also nice to see the KOA team working hard to keep this property well maintained and clean. We've enjoyed our visits there and will certainly be back.
Jun 08, 2015
Very nice staff, clean Grounds. s little noicy due to freeway so close by.
Jun 04, 2015
Although very clean could use updated sites. Updating the shower area and asphalt pull through sites would go a long way

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.