Ashland / Huntington West KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-2649

Info: 606-929-5504

Email

80 KOA Lane

Argillite, KY 41121

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 937 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 26, 2016
very courteous in the office, we were only here for a short night. Good stop off point when driving on I-64 in KY.
Aug 25, 2016
Too noisy after 10 pm. Park long term residents drive around the lark, loud exhaust on their vehicles, stopping and talking car to car.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The gentleman you are referring to is not a park resident. He technically is not allowed in our campground. His exgirlfriend is an employee. He was trespassing and should have had the sheriff called out. We now have patrols for the campground in case he shows up again.
Aug 24, 2016
Aug 23, 2016
Cabins need a general update. Curtains broke, bedroom window wouldn't open, bathroom door lock needs replaced and air conditioner wouldn't shut off- fan ran continuously.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for bringing these items to my attention. Maintenance will be taking appropriate actions.
Aug 21, 2016
very nice.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you.
Aug 20, 2016
Very good hosts, will camp here again soon

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you. See you soon.
Aug 19, 2016
Always a great time. Staff members and owners are always freindly and helpful.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

So glad you had a wonderful time. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Aug 18, 2016
The cabins were nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were clean.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

So glad you had a wonderful time. Hope to see you again soon.
Aug 17, 2016
Nice campground. Well maintained. Clean bathrooms. Quiet location. Thanks.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you. See you soon
Aug 16, 2016
Aug 16, 2016
Aug 16, 2016
Our water had no pressure in our site when we arrived. They immediately upgraded us to a deluxe site at no add'l charge. Everyone was so nice & everything was so clean. We've stayed there several times & we'll definitely stay again!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you. We want to make everyone's stay as GREAT as possible. See you soon
Aug 16, 2016
A very convient campground for our purposes. The staff was friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay there again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you soon
Aug 15, 2016
Two nights stay for a wedding in town. Very easy on and easy off I64. Staff very friendly. No escorthodontist to our site. Site was level but much shorter than advertised. 43'coach with a 15' motorcycle trailer barely fit. Expected a 70' site but wasn't much over 60'. Good water & electric. Pool was nice & clean. Nice two play grounds for small & bigger kids.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We love our exit to I64 Thank you and we are happy you enjoyed your stay.
Aug 15, 2016
I love coming here with my family!!! Great things for the whole family and you don't have to break the bank. Staff is very friendly and helpful as well. Can't say enough about this place.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We love having you all here. Keep telling others about us. You will definitely have to be here our next lip sync contest.
Aug 14, 2016
Easy to find, great help with last minute reservation! thanks again!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

You are very welcome. See you soon
Aug 12, 2016
Very nice facility!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you.
Aug 11, 2016
Highly rated except for tap that would not completely shut off upon departure. Reported problem to office and apparently repeat problem for site 15

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

A repair that had not lasted as hoped would be a better description. Hydrant broke and had to be replaced. Thank you for reporting the problem.
Aug 10, 2016
Everything is super clean. The staff is very friendly.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you. We have a GREAT staff here.
Aug 10, 2016
Was quiet pleas at stay

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Oh, you didn't get to hear the whipperwill or the frogs. They are about the noisiest guests we have. Thank you. Come back soon.
Aug 09, 2016
Had a great time. Nice pool. Great playground for toddlers. Cabins much nicer than expected.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for all the kind words. We will see you soon.
Aug 09, 2016
Place is very nice, male employee(?)is not helpful and I would say he's rude. When we pulled out on Mon, he was walking right by us. We waved and he never even looked up! Never encountered this at any other KOA we've stayed at.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I apologize for him. We try to say "see you soon" to all our guests as they are leaving, whether they see us or not.
Aug 08, 2016
Campground is clean. Friendly staff. They offer order ahead breakfast that is delivered to your camper the next day. Pull thru Sites are extremely narrow putting you on top of the camper next door. Camp store is stocked pretty good. I give this rating because I expect more space to enjoy outdoors at my site and all gravel drives and pads.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
Aug 08, 2016
Beautiful location and very well laid out. Nice stay.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you.
Aug 07, 2016
Aug 05, 2016
Clean and newer..Friendly and helpful staff..grounds need some tidy up work..asphalt at checkin location is sunk and grooved from vehicles ..gravel at sites is not edged well..so it spills and mixes with grass..

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you. Yes we are getting bids to replace asphalt in early spring. We also have a landscaper working for us now. Sites are being redone as vacancies allow.
Aug 02, 2016
Our site was extremely close to our nieghbor's, 6ft from our tent to theirs. They chose to stay up until 2am talking and playing music. With a different situation I am sure it would have worked out fine, but I am hesitant to return or recommend this campground to another family based on my experience.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm sorry your experience with us was not GREAT, Sometimes we do have guests that are not very kind. Most of our complaints in the tent area are about the sounds of the tree frogs.
Aug 01, 2016
Cam,p ground was plagued by technical problems. most was not their issue. They need a stronger wifi signal.A booster would help.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have two boosters, they just slow down when park is full.
Jul 31, 2016
Not enough mature trees for the age of the campground. Pool and shower/restroom facilities were very good.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have planted and will continue to plant trees since we have opened. I will pass your kind words to housekeeping.
Jul 30, 2016
Staff were friendly and kampground was very clean.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you very much.
Jul 30, 2016
The facilities are fine HOWEVER we were met by a sign that said boil water advisory. I think we should have been told this when we registered by phone that morning so we could have had the option to go elsewhere.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The boil water was put into effect for safety concerns. We chose to keep the sign posted so all would be aware. Our city water supplier has to issue and lift all boil waters.
Jul 29, 2016
Campground was over rated. Looks good from the entrance but sites were not that great. When we arrived there was a sign on the door to boil your water. This would have been nice to know when we made our reservation. This campground also seemed to have alot of destintation campers. KOA needs to revamp your rating scale. Most KOA campgrounds are eye candy up front (Office area).

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The boil water was put in place by our city water supply. They do so for our guests protection. We try to notify if we get enough notice ahead, which is not the case sometimes. This time they were to fix one leak, but ended up replacing the whole pipe.
Jul 27, 2016
It is in an open field. No trees. The door had a boil before drinking notice for the water. We had water for drinking so stayed the night anyway. This is OK for just an overbite stay.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We plant trees every winter. It's hard to get them to grow as quickly as we want them to. The boil water notice was put into place by our city water supplier. We choose to notify our customers for their health and safety.
Jul 26, 2016
Jul 26, 2016
Wonderful place. Pool was the main attraction for the grandchildren. Shower house was the cleanest I've ever used. Very comfortable in there with the hot days we had. A relief to have air conditioning in a shower house during summer days camping. Staff very helpful in getting me set up for extra days on my site I was in without moving.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our pool stays busy all summer. Thank you for the comments on housekeeping, I'll make sure all see it. We try to do everything we can to help our guests enjoy their stay with us.
Jul 25, 2016
Nice new looking or recently updated. Everything worked fine. Definite lack of shade. Nice place.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are 9 years old. But we are constantly updating, adding new or better items. Suggestions are welcome. Trees are planted at the average 50+ a year.
Jul 24, 2016
Jul 24, 2016
It certainly met our needs.
Jul 23, 2016
Jul 22, 2016
Good campground for a small KOA

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our campground is over 49 acres but is divided into two separate camping areas. Some like the more remote lower 57 site section vs. the upper 56 site locations.
Jul 21, 2016
Jul 20, 2016
Jul 19, 2016
Everyone and everything was great

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you. I'm glad your stay was GREAT.
Jul 19, 2016
Very friendly and extremely clean sites were nicely level

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you.
Jul 19, 2016
While the campground appeared to be a nice place, I was charged a $50 cleaning fee for the cabin we stayed in. We left it just as clean as it was when we arrived. If you are planning to stay in a cabin, you may want to consider a different KOA to stay at. We have never had an issue at any other KOA.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It took an extreme amount of time for our housekeeping team to remove all the pet hair. The Board of Health requires extra cleaning for all cabins left in this condition.
Jul 18, 2016
We stayed for just one night but very nice campground.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you. See you soon.
Jul 18, 2016
Great overnight stop. Good laundry, clean bath houses. Needs more shade though

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you. We are planting 50+ trees each year. Come watch us grow.
Jul 18, 2016
Very nice but there isn't much shade.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have planted almost 400 trees in the last 8 years. We have another 5 years to see a huge difference in shade, but we hope to see you before that.
Jul 18, 2016
Very friendly staff, clean sites. Staff always working around campground to keep it looking good and working great. Nice dog park, nice pool.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you. We try to make all stays GREAT.
Jul 17, 2016
Showers small but basically a nice well kept campground.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals