Washington DC / Capitol KOA Reviews

Let us be your guide for everything Washington DC!

Tent Reviews

Oct 22, 2018
Staff was very friendly! We rented 2 tent, no electric sites (95, 96). These 2 sites are horrible for a tent. Both are on a steep hill. No where was it flat. It is also full of big roots and rocks. My tent got 2 holes in the bottom from stumps sticking out of the ground. They need to do better with these spots if they plan to rent these out.
Oct 09, 2018
Nice
Sep 25, 2018
I wish they would work on leveling the sites instead of moving and adding cabins. Unless you are in premium sites, you don't have much of a chance getting a level site.
Sep 24, 2018
It was nice and clean. The sales in the store were amazing, and the staff was very helpful! Can't wait to go back next season.
Sep 24, 2018
Awesome playground and great craft activities!
Sep 05, 2018
At a glance this KOA is nice and the facility is well maintained. However, once the sun goes down the noise ratchets up and the management is nowhere to be seen. Several tent campers partied, fought and played music late into the night, making it very difficult to get sleep.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Manager is on call and available all night. There are after hours numbers posted for immediate response. Manager was not contacted all night.
Sep 04, 2018
We had another great stay! Our guaranteed site reservation was not correct when we arrived, but the office staff worked hard to get it corrected. The only thing I think the campground is ever missing is some type of Friday/Saturday night event (other than the outdoor movies) for the campers at least on the big weekends. (e.g. a dance or party in pavilion w/ music, etc.)
Sep 04, 2018
Very nice staff, accommodating and helpful. The shuttle was the best way to go into DC!
Sep 01, 2018
Aug 23, 2018
From the moment we arrived until we left we had a blast there. Very informative and always asking how things are going. Also informing us on other resources available.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for responding to the survey we are glad you enjoyed your stay. the front desk does a great day giving information about DC. Makes it easy for campers to plan their day. Come and visit again soon.
Aug 22, 2018
Aug 21, 2018
Aug 21, 2018
we were told my grandson needed a certain vest to get in but then another family came with a smaller child and they were aloud to hold there baby in the pool the rules should be the same for everybody i don’t like to use the race thing but we are a multi race family and the other family was all white
Aug 21, 2018
My stay was just ok. The website said that no electric and water tent sites were available for the weekend I stayed so I booked a regular one where they put us was a very bad spot. It was right next to the cap for the septic tank and we smelled sewage almost the entire stay. It was not a nice camp site. We walked about several times and found lots of campsites open that had electric and power.
Aug 17, 2018
It was very nice . Lots to do when at the campground!
Aug 15, 2018
Aug 14, 2018
Friendly Staff, clean accommodations, and has a safe, home-like environment.
Aug 14, 2018
Aug 13, 2018
Si vous y aller avec une tente demander les site de luxe car les autre sont mal placer plein de vase et non adéquat pour une tente. Sinon le personnel est tes courtois.
Aug 12, 2018
The staff was phenomenal, courteous informative and attentive and smiled through my son flooding the bathroom lol. Overall campground was great. Pool, outdoor pool table, ping pong, chess and always the pillow got heavy use. Upgrade to power and water tent site, rustic sites or around pillow have biting ants and some sort of gnat. Also, defy GPS at times, the merge onto 3 sucks.
Aug 12, 2018
We stayed for a week and had a really good time. A few bonus things would be an arcade/club house for kids on rainy days, maybe more movie nights and deli meats/cheeses. We will definitely be va I!
Aug 09, 2018
Aug 08, 2018
Just not up to a FUN family KOA stay. Told no water at tent site but there was, told no fire pit use but others did, pool shuts down every 60 minuets for 10 minuets for a chemical check. That's nuts don't tell me about pool chemicals I live in Miami. EVERYONE here has a pool. Not a lot of stuff for kids. Not a good value overall.We loved the KOA in Cape Cod, MA. Thats a great KOA.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The rules are different in Maryland compared to Florida. It is a county rule the water must be tested once an hour. The pool service contracted is required to follow these rules. It is the law. The playground, jumping pillow, fun bikes, pool table, ping pong, basketball and swimming pool is enjoyed by many children. On weekends there is a full list of activities.
Aug 06, 2018
Quiet, clean, and peaceful.
Jul 30, 2018
Jul 29, 2018
Nov 05, 2019
This campsite is a diamond in the rough! We booked a cabin for the Halloween festivities and worried it might be a let down. It was the opposite! It was packed full of things to do and lots of people to do them with. They even did trick or treating on the grounds and my kids loved going from RV to cabin and getting candy. My whole family talked about going back in the summer and seeing how it would be in a different season. Definitely check it out!
- Shea Hopkins on Google
Nov 02, 2019
Clean family campground.
- Sam Morthland on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.