Washington DC / Capitol KOA

Open March 1 - November 25

Reserve: 800-562-0248

Info: 410-923-2771

Email

768 Cecil Avenue North -

Millersville, MD 21108

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Sep 25, 2017
The staff that we encountered were all very friendly and helpful. The dog park was cute and a great idea and I felt like my dog was welcome unlike other campgrounds. My rating is due to the fact that the sites were very small for the price that you pay. We couldn't even put our awning out because there wasn't enough room. We barely had room to set 5 chairs up to sit and hang out.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The area you stayed in is smaller then the top level. I see you booked late and that is what was left. Some campers like the site you were in for the shade. Capitol KOA Campers book early sometimes a year ahead. We suggest to pick favorite sites and get a site guarantee. Many campers have favored sites here at Capitol KOA. We will be working on the lower section over the next few years. Stay tuned
Sep 24, 2017
Sep 23, 2017
Sep 23, 2017
Came back for the Renaissance fair and this park is close to the fair. Hint. By your tickets online early. Seen a lot of improvements since last year. Like the new community fire pit. Had a good time telling stories and scarying my nephews. Very group friendly we will be back.
Sep 23, 2017
Nice KOA! Enjoyed our stay. The dog park was great for my dogs that were cooped up after a long day driving. Nice clean restrooms.
Sep 23, 2017
Sep 23, 2017
Stayed here with friends had an awesome time. Nice and quiet park . Clean restrooms. Showers were kinda cold. Staff member said to run the water on hot. That helped.We will be back next summer.
Sep 21, 2017
sites very unlevel and very close together , water was rusty .
Sep 21, 2017
Sep 20, 2017
Had a truly wonderful time and found the staff was extremely friendly and helpful I am looking forward to the next stay at the Capitol KOA
Sep 19, 2017
Dishonest. The book says "shuttle to the Capitol ". We arrive for 5 days and are told no shuttle and we should drive to take a train THEN take the metro or drive nearly 20 miles to the metro. This is closer to Baltimore than to D.C. . I really felt cheated
Sep 19, 2017
Sep 19, 2017
Great place. One of my favorite KOAs!
Sep 19, 2017
Had a great time and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Always had some activity going on that was a lot of fun.
Sep 18, 2017
Very clean and friendly staff. They escort you to your site and ensure you properly locate coach. Super sites have a nice patio, gas grill and concrete pad. Bathrooms well maintained. Firewood delivered direct to site.
Sep 18, 2017
Booked this KOA to take advantage of the shuttle offered into D.C. It doesn't operate after Labor Day, so it wasn't available to us. No where in the literature did I see that mentioned. We were traveling with friends, requested sites next to each other, did not get sites together. told that it's an extra $10.00 at booking time to get them. We didn't know that. Rusty water, severely Unlevel sites.
Sep 18, 2017
Our family enjoyed the weekend. We loved the outdoor movie, chess set and basketball hoop. Bathhouses were clean and the grounds were well kept. We were a bit annoyed by other campers, continually using our site as a walk through (we were on 24 and folks on the streets behind us, used us as a short cut). We noted 4-5 different groups (from different sites) walking through.
Sep 18, 2017
Friendly staff, nice store, sites were a decent size, good water pressure, stable power, clean restrooms and showers. The only negatives were that the nature trail needs blazing, trimming and about a dozen downed trees across the trail removed. That and they need an indoor meeting room. Other than that we had a nice stay here.
Sep 18, 2017
Sep 18, 2017
We were put in the wrong size site. There was one site that the camper had a trailer that stuck way out. They should of had to unhook and store. It was very dangerous site on the main area.
Sep 18, 2017
The campground is nice but there isn't anything overly special. The sites vary greatly in size and tree cover so it's good to know which ones are nice. The customer service is lacking. We were told when we reserved two sites we were next to each other, but when we got there we were very far apart. Kids activities are good and playground and bounce pillow were well used by my kids. Nice dog area.
Sep 18, 2017
Sep 18, 2017
This was one of our favorite KOA so far and we have been to several this year. The atmosphere, staff, location, and facilities were all excellent. This sites are on a hillside so I recommend bringing some extra wood for leveling. The store had great hours and very accommodating staff. Bathhouses are clean and maintained nicely. It was one of the higher priced Koa weâve stayed at but after such
Sep 18, 2017
Lots of fun, beautiful park
Sep 18, 2017
I didnât like how anyone can come into the campground. There isnât a gate or a check point. Also they need to have someone be on riding around at night and keeping watch. People there donât know what quiet time means. We hAd people next to us drunk and being loud till 3am !!! I donât think we will go back ever.
Sep 17, 2017
1. The prices that you charge are ridiculous - We had no cable, no 50 amp, a muddy site when there were many others available. We were there in a family emergency situation and got no compassion/help from your staff. Jill was rude - very bad customer service. Eleanor was not a whole lot better. The most important service you are providing is customer service. We will never be back.
Sep 15, 2017
A little expensive but few options in that area. Friendly staff, clean park.
Sep 15, 2017
It was pleasant both times we stayed this month . If we travel north again we would stay there !
Sep 14, 2017
Sep 14, 2017
Great campground. Friendly staff that always helps the guests. This was our second stay here and the quality remains surpurb.
Sep 14, 2017
We enjoyed our stay but the sites are really close together and the electric & water hook-ups are in odd locations in relationship to where they are locationed on your camper.
Sep 13, 2017
Great stay, 1st time there. Thanks to the retired sonarman (black shoe NAVY) who assisted this former airdale (brown shoe NAVY), i appreciate it. Well done, BRAVO ZULU!! Be back on 22 September :)
Sep 13, 2017
The stay was great but you gouge visitors who come to see you by paying $15 a car? We felt like we were being watched by the KOA police. We're from FL and I use this campground once a year to visit. One KOA Police came right up to our door and reprimanded us. Didn't appreciate it.
Sep 13, 2017
Go camping, visit family, visit the U. S. Naval Academy. Enjoy evenings by the fire. Enjoyed the nightly movie. Your campground was recommended by a friend. Thank you for the hospitality.
Sep 12, 2017
Sep 11, 2017
Site was ideal
Sep 11, 2017
This campground is nice for a pit stop while traveling. I say this because sadly it is right off the highway, and you can hear the traffic constantly. Other than that.. it is clean.. the staff is pleasant and helpful, we enjoyed our stay. Had some issues with neighbors dogs running wild, but that isn't the parks fault
Sep 08, 2017
2nd time. Very limited selection in this area, but this would be great even if there were others. They really promote the area and are very helpful.
Sep 04, 2017
Enjoyed our stay there. Lots of activities going on. Enjoyed the giant chess set it was hilarious. Clean Restrooms and park was well kept. Water pressure was a little low. The pool was clean and bathwater. They have lifeguards. Nice store that sells just about anything you forget. We had nice neighbors and had Smores with them. They also have outdoor movies.
Sep 01, 2017
fijne camping met ruime plaatsen, de voorzieningen waren goed en schoon
Aug 31, 2017
This was our 2nd stay here. We love the convenient location and the staff is outstanding. Everyone was friendly and nice!
Aug 29, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
Very helpful staff - helped us to find the location late at night when our GPS would not cooperate. Clean and well kept facilities.
Aug 29, 2017
The front desk person Debbie was very nice and informative. We are on Holiday and we have found we really like KOA. This park was clean and there is a lot to do. The pool was refreshing and we liked the Chest set. The park has a nice walking trail we went on. They park has lots of green space to walk around. bathrooms were clean and tidy. Cars do drive too fast through the campgrounnd though.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for responding to our survey. Thanks for the kind comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. We do try to inform campers to drive slower in the park.
Aug 28, 2017
Very friendly staff and extremely nice campground...very clean
Aug 28, 2017
The campground was very well maintained and the staff were exceedingly pleasant and helpful--the only negative was the cost, but this is understandable considering their marvelous location, within an easy drive of Annapolis, Baltimore and DC.
Aug 28, 2017
Camping spaces were very (VERY) narrow. The bathhouse doors constantly propped open making bathroom use awkward. Being located directly beside the highway is also a detractor. Great location for exploring D.C. and access to MD Renaissance Faire.
Aug 28, 2017
Good place to stay. Close to D.C. Would stay here again
Aug 28, 2017
Very friendly and helpful staff. Park is a little tricky to find. The open area with pull-through sites is level and tightly packed but very adequate.
Aug 28, 2017
Good campground, very enjoyable. Some quirky pool rules that need fixed but all in all a good time. (arm floats are not allowed on kids who cant swim as they may come off. But if the kid can't swim parent has to be in the pool with them (smart). But if the parent is there who cares if the arm floats come off. Especially weird is this rarely if never happens...)

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The new Maryland pool rules are that arm floaties are not permitted. Our General Store sells the new puddle jumpers floats that are required. Most parents have the new style as they are required in MD. And drowning accidents are the reason for the new rules. One time is too many times for a accident to happen. Pool safety is our top priority especially our young guests.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals