Washington DC / Capitol KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 02, 2019
We had a great stay. Thanks for all the amenities
Jun 01, 2019
Great site. Loved spot 50. Appreciated the transport to Washington D.C. That was main reason selected this campground to start with. Used it for 3 different days. Drivers very friendly and courteous. People in office were very friendly and helpful also. The bathrooms closest to my spot were clean but had a lot of bugs in them . Didn't understand why the emergency door and bathroom doors were open
Jun 01, 2019
We were given a bad tent site and was told nothing was available, we stayed for two nights but there were A LOT of tent sites vaccant! :(((
Jun 01, 2019
the Staff were great. Very caring people to anything we needed.
May 30, 2019
We always enjoy our stays at Capitol KOA. Unfortunately our grandson was admitted to the hospital over the weekend (he's fine now), and we weren't able to go to the campground. We have several stays planned for later in the year and hope to enjoy them as usual.
May 30, 2019
It was a great weekend
May 30, 2019
Busy weekend but park was run smoothly
May 30, 2019
Always enjoy staying at the D.C. location. Had to leave 3 days early because I received a call from the location my 87 year old mother lives at that she was having problems. I advised the front office folks at D.C. location. I was told I would not get a refund. I don't agree with this at all, and I'm not happy about this.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

This camper got a refund of $ 121.00.
May 29, 2019
May 29, 2019
We always go to Capitol KOA for Rolling Thunder on Memorial Day weekend. Always for 5 nights. Cheryl and Bob (Managers) are the best. Always pleasant and will do anything to help you out. The staff is also excellent. Dr. Bob has been there for years and is the best. We are already booked for next year and hopefully for many years to come. Wonderful campground.
May 29, 2019
We love the kids playground area and the pool. A big plus is your proximity to Sig Flags and the Bowie Baysox.
May 29, 2019
We had an amazing week celebrating our sons USNA Graduation. We had 2 lodges and 3 cabins. All of which were very clean and well kept. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.
May 29, 2019
We did enjoy our stay. The campground is very nice and now we know which sites we would like in the future. The only negative as that our neighbor had 2 dogs that were a little vocal, thankfully we were visiting relatives and did not spend a lot of time outside.
May 29, 2019
Staff is excellent. Very accommodating. Clean.
May 29, 2019
Great place!�
May 29, 2019
Had a great time, the only thing we didn't like was they close the pool for ten minutes out of every hour to check chlorine and Ph levels. This seems a little excessive to do it hourly.... Never experienced that at any location we've stayed at
May 29, 2019
Reservation wrong, tried to charge for extra night and 4 children that we dont have. Rented us a site that was obviously not a tent site for a tent. Had to argue to put tent on friends site even though I paid full price for site I couldn't use. Not first time reservation has been wrong. Very disappointing, because park is nice.
May 29, 2019
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The campgrounds were clean. My only complaint was the rain and that certainly was not KOA's doing. We will try for a cabin next year.
May 29, 2019
Staff was very friendly and helpful.
May 28, 2019
Stayed there to attend the Commissioning at the Naval Academy in Annapolis. Wonderful location for Annapolis visit. Good wifi, hot showers, large patio site, nice people.
May 28, 2019
Perfect location, staff is wonderful. However, the spaces are thin and uneven. No matter where I moved my rv, I couldn't get level.
May 28, 2019
This campground was so nice! And the lady helping us check in was so polite and nicely recommended somewhere to eat for dinner as we just picked up our camper and was just spending one night! I would definitely recommend staying here!
May 28, 2019
May 27, 2019
May 27, 2019
Very fun wish the office could be open longer though.
May 26, 2019
It was good. We wish store hours were longer.
May 26, 2019
May 26, 2019
Nice shaded site, firewood was delivered promptly, bathrooms were clean. Overall great place to camp and close to home.
May 25, 2019
Great stay, friendly staff, clean bathrooms!! Tent site was spacious compared to other KOAs we've stayed at.
May 25, 2019
The sites are small but the facilities are in good shape. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We were in the area for a military funeral and this was the only campground around. Good for a couple of nights but too pricey for longer stays. Although the name says Capitol Washington DC, you are still 30 miles or 45 minutes from Capitol Hill.
May 25, 2019
May 25, 2019
At least 20 really nice tent sites available. Only one other tent camper so it was empty, and instead of giving us a nice site they put us on a dirt/rocky knob. Car had to be parked at a 40 degree angle. No flat spot to put the tent. Not even close to level. Office hours were 8-5 and we left before 8 and came back after 5 so we couldn’t get switched. Storage yard was by entry. Overall kinda crap
May 23, 2019
Place is getting expensive. Campground has upgraded more of the standard long 50 amp sites to their more expensive patio sites. Now there is only a few standard 50 amp sites available. Their answer is to cram you into a smaller 50 amp site which makes the camping experience less enjoyable.
May 23, 2019
Like camping in a parking lot. We got a sun spot with an uneven lot which rendered the picnic table unusable. We were next to the maindriveway and cars were going too fast. Was dangerous for our toddler. I asked to move to another site and was told they were full. That was an outright lie. By next day there were still many vacant spots. The office doesn't answer the phone if you have a problem.
May 23, 2019
Site was a bit rough but overall ok. Surge protector indicated reverse polarity. Manager blamed my surge protector. Was fine stop before and the one after so they have some issue there.
May 23, 2019
May 23, 2019
Excellent campground! Super clean showers, great cabin and the shuttle too and from DC was super handy!
May 22, 2019
Issues with our sites...we requested sites 2 & 3, ours a deluxe patio site & theirs a regular pull thru site but did not get the sites we requested & got no notification that we didn’t get them until we got there.. & our deluxe patio site was more like a ghetto patio site with the sewer line of the RV beside us right beside our grill & the furniture rusty & wobbly... We will be writing a letter!
May 22, 2019
May 22, 2019
May 21, 2019
May 21, 2019
Road noise, small spaces, full dumpsters... Hard to enjoy an evening campfire while the smell of the neighbor's sewer is floating in your nostrils. It would seem that this is becoming the standard for parks these days, pack'em in, they'll get over it...not
May 21, 2019
Cheryl was awesome
May 20, 2019
May 20, 2019
Great people very helpful beautiful park!!
May 20, 2019
In a nutshell, it’s just too expensive to stay in this park. $95 a night for a premium site, which we had to get for our 42’ ft RV to fit into, have sewer and be able to reach our electric cord to the box. The first spot we were in, we had to pull in backwards to reach the box. Therefore we had no picnic table or fire pit.
May 20, 2019
Very loud in case of the close interstate, not very clean and old equipment, employees very friendly but not flexible. We had a side and the sewer far to the water and electricity, therefore we must Tür our RV for dumping. All about, only interesting that this campground is close to D.C.
May 20, 2019
Way too expensive for what is offered. Too few bathroom accomodations. No hot water in 1 of 2 bath houses.
May 20, 2019
Quiet, clean, great staff.
May 20, 2019
The campground a facilities were well taken cared of, clean and well groomed. The staff was very pleasant and kind, helpful and took the extra time to say hello There just really isn't much for kids to do. With only having a small park at the lodge, this is they type of place that is geared towards retired traveling campers, its not designed for family with children who aren't infants.
Jul 16, 2019
Nice KOA, well run, many decent sites with full service and some trees / shade.
- ufragme on Google
Jul 11, 2019
Amazing campground but a little bit far away from DC
- Dege Over Here on Google