Washington DC / Capitol KOA Reviews

Let us be your guide for everything Washington DC!

Campground Reviews

Oct 01, 2018
Oct 01, 2018
Sep 28, 2018
The people were very nice. But the kamper kabin we stayed in was very musty smelling & we could see mold on the floor !!! Also the deck outside was moldy smelling. Was very dissapointed with the kabin. Paid over $ 500.00 for a smelly room !!!!
Sep 27, 2018
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Sep 26, 2018
Had a wonderful time. The staff is great, the campground is very clean, and it feels like you are in the middle of nowhere but yet you are close to everything. Looking forward to our next visit
Sep 25, 2018
Stayed for 5 days left early due to heavy rains. they refunded us our last night which is something we didn't expect. shuttle service advertised only ran on weekend, of course we were there after Labor Day so maybe it runs regular on peak times.There is no cable and local channels are few. But this park is a nice base camp when exploring Washington ( metro line is only 15 miles away) Annapollis
Sep 25, 2018
Sep 25, 2018
I wish they would work on leveling the sites instead of moving and adding cabins. Unless you are in premium sites, you don't have much of a chance getting a level site.
Sep 25, 2018
Clean
Sep 25, 2018
The campground manager Cheryl was very helpful and made me feel right at home during my stay, I will definitely be taking another to this KOA in the future
Sep 24, 2018
Sep 24, 2018
Sep 24, 2018
The campground is a decent campground. The grounds seemed clean and maintained. The trail needs some maintenance and it needs to be marked along the trail. The showers and bathrooms were fairly clean. My husband had to wait for a very long time for the hot water to get to the shower and I never did get any hot water with my shower. The staff was friendly and helpful.
Sep 24, 2018
low water pressure, uneven sites, high cost but all KOA are for what you get
Sep 24, 2018
It was nice and clean. The sales in the store were amazing, and the staff was very helpful! Can't wait to go back next season.
Sep 24, 2018
Awesome playground and great craft activities!
Sep 24, 2018
We had a wonderful time, facilities were great and the employees were very courteous and easy to work with
Sep 24, 2018
This is the best campground ever! Cheryl & Bob McGinnis are the nicest people you can meet. They made us feel very welcomed & are friends for life. We will definitely be going back! The staff was great also. Blair Shaw & Dr. Bob were very attentive to our needs. Tatiana was always cheerful and bubbly. John is a great guy and Chris was very helpful. Great location. I wish I had more room. Just Go!
Sep 24, 2018
rainy day but everyone was friendly and campground was very clean.only thing is you need cable tv
Sep 24, 2018
Sep 23, 2018
Sep 23, 2018
Loved the location. It was also very peaceful and quiet at this camp ground. Really enjoyed staying here and would love to come back soon.
Sep 22, 2018
Location was Great 20 of us came to visit and booked 5 cabins. Other campers were amazing the general manager was great. Older Members of the staff were horrendous. They talked down to members of our group , one particular staffer harassed that same member for a day and a half and overall no one seemed to care until it was escalated to the top. Even though the GM was great he didnt seem to care.
Sep 22, 2018
Clean, manicured and well run. The camp site was more than long enough for our motor home and towed car. WIFI was adequate for our needs of e-mails and messaging.
Sep 22, 2018
This is our 2nd time staying at Capitol KOA [once a year for a few days) and it is a great place to stay, if you want to visit DC. It's close to stores, restaurants, highways and the METRORAIL station is not far away (about 20 mins). Will stay again next year, for sure
Sep 21, 2018
Sep 21, 2018
Great time
Sep 20, 2018
All employees were very friendly. Camp was very clean, everywhere. The setting was very pretty and relaxing.
Sep 18, 2018
Was a great time.
Sep 18, 2018
We were passing by and needed to stay for a night. At first I was skeptical about the noise being beside the highway but it was very quiet. The sites are not level and my pull through would of destroyed my camper if I actually pulled through but the staff helped me back in. The lady's in the office were extremely nice and helpful.
Sep 17, 2018
We had a wonderful time, Campground was very nice and we will definitely be back. Thanks
Sep 17, 2018
Sep 17, 2018
clean accommodations, clean grounds friendly staff
Sep 17, 2018
Always a great time! Peaceful and quiet. I love staying in the cabins and enjoying what nature has to offer.
Sep 17, 2018
Campground clean, staff friendly. Not many amenities. Great if you want to take their shuttle to D.C.
Sep 17, 2018
Sep 17, 2018
Very nice stay. I loved our site!! It was Great. My daughter had a blast doing the craft and playing games. And at night doing the s’mores and movie.
Sep 17, 2018
There wasn't anyone around trained in propane refills. Every time I tried to get a refill. So I didn't cook on the stove. All in a all a very nice place.
Sep 17, 2018
We camp here often... Our staycation! We love the staff and our boys stay entertained. The rewards weekend is always my birthday weekend. So we had a lot of friends come visit for an additional cost that we feel is fair to pay! The hurricane weather held off so we were able to enjoy the entire weekend. �

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for responding and also for your great survey. See you wedding weekend!
Sep 16, 2018
We stayed late in the season and pool and other activities were closed. Still it is a nice campgrounds and and met our expectations
Sep 16, 2018
despite the heat very enjoyable stay. Wish the pool could stay open after labor day with the 90 degree heat. Staff said not permitted to be open in maryland after labor day but western Maryland campground open until Sept 7. Confusion.
Sep 16, 2018
Hot water in the showers was unpredictable - trying to take a shower (10 PM and 3 PM) we would get lukewarm water that would then turn cold. When I complained they said:"Oh, yes, we know about that but all you have to do is run the water in the dish-washing area until it gets hot". Of course they didn't tell us about this when we checked in - we found out when we were undressed. Also, no cable
Sep 16, 2018
A little bit too expensive
Sep 16, 2018
Sep 15, 2018
Nice campground, nice staff, great facilities.
Sep 15, 2018
This is the third time staying there. Still wonderful but I was disappointed that when I called three different times Saturday to say we'd be arriving late that night and ask what we needed to do no one called back. It added more anxiety then needed. Also the water at our site #121 came out rusty no matter how long we ran it for. Even when it looked clear it tasted really off.
Sep 14, 2018
Our stay (both times) was fine. No problems with site, office etc. Our only reason for giving a 4 rating is the low tree limbs. We have a High Profile 5th wheel and they were so low they scraped the top of the unit no matter which drive you taken. Our neighbors (both times) who were in Coach RVs said the same thing happened to them and Coach RVs are not as high profile as our 5th wheel.
Sep 14, 2018
great location
Sep 14, 2018
Sep 13, 2018
We loved the campground and it is conveniently located to the whole Baltimore/DC/Annapolis area!
Sep 17, 2018
Super schöner Platz. Netter Empfang. Es sollte aber vorher gebucht werden.
- Carola Nevermann on Google
Jul 31, 2018
The kids love spending time in the cabins and swimming in the pool we go just to getaway from everything, its a good place to spend the weekend without breaking the bank!
- chris hirsch on Google
Oct 13, 2019
So, I've evaluated this against some criteria I look for in a campsite: Rated out of 5: 1) cleanliness of bathroom facilities: 5 - very clean and practically laid out, including rubber mesh area to dry after showering. 2) size and condition of plot: 4 - while all/most of the plots were flat, we had a deluxe tent site that worked for us, but some of the others were a little cramped and very close to kids facilities and difficult not to walk through other peoples plot to get to washrooms etc. 3) facilities: 3.5 - we were out of season so we were limited to playground & jumping pillow. Which would have been ok, but the jumping pillow was too small for the number of kids, and the wasnt really enough room or activities for the number of children there were at the campsite, I would think it feels extra crowded in summer 4) noise levels: 3.5 - quite significant noise level from the nearby road. We were perhaps unlucky with a few noisey neighbours and I dont think there was any security to encourage people to be quiet. Perhaps on other nights you would just have the road. Overall it's in a good location for access to dc and Annapolis so that justifies the price. A solid 4 and if you dont expect it to be amazing you will probably set your levels right.
- Chris Nicholas on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.