Washington DC / Capitol KOA

Open March 1 - November 25

Reserve: 800-562-0248

Info: 410-923-2771

Email

768 Cecil Avenue North -

Millersville, MD 21108

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 15, 2017
The grounds and site were fine, but the desk staff at check in left alot to be desired, talking about other campers and complaining about how slow it was going to be and having to stay open on Saturday night with the bad weather. Not very inviting at all
May 15, 2017
May 15, 2017
Good morning, I am writing this complaint in response to the treatment my family and I received as guest at your campsite, we all felt that we were profiled from (1) one of your camp workers, he had a legitimate complaint about how many cars were at our site, but his approach was very unprofessional and at times threatening, to the point of him wanting to report the very nice lady that worked wit
May 15, 2017
Weather stunk, but that obviously was not KOA's fault. Great little campground. My family will be back throughout the year.
May 13, 2017
The sites that incline has to be fill because ours was so deep and was so difficult to get out Try to fill # 39
May 11, 2017
May 11, 2017
Kids loved it and we can't wait to come back!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for responding to our survey.We are glad you enjoyed your deluxe cabin. Campers love having a kitchen and bath. Kids really do enjoy the deluxe cabins especially the loft area. Be sure to come back again soon. Don't forget to use your KOA card for more savings.
May 10, 2017
Everyone was friendly and helpful the campgrounds was well maintained and clean the rv site was a little small but manageable would like to see lower prices on activities and guests fees but a very entertaining and enjoyable campground would stay there again
May 10, 2017
Noisy because of rain, trees kept dripping for hours. Also heavy traffic from freeway only 150 yards away, rush hour and sirens lasted well into evening.
May 09, 2017
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
May 09, 2017
It was very clean and a helpful staff it work for me this time but I work in the area and max stay does not work for me.
May 09, 2017
May 08, 2017
Great location for a short stay...
May 08, 2017
Beautiful campground, very clean, the staff are all very nice. A little expensive compared to other KOA's. My kid loved the jumping pillow, it was very quiet despite being near a highway. I would definitely stay here again.
May 08, 2017
Campground was very clean. Enjoyed the shuttle to Washington DC. The staff was very pleasant and helpful.
May 08, 2017
This KOA was clean and orderly, but it is not the normal KOA atmosphere we are used too. The employees were not very friendly at all and it is not a kid friendly campground. It seemed the kids actually bothered the employees. There were also no activities throughout the weekend. Even though this campground is only 20 mins from home we won't be back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our activities start in full swing next weekend. The weather has been not in our favor this Spring. We have tons of activities here for children to do. The jumping pillow is a #1 favorite as is the ping pong, giant chess set, playground, outdoor pool table, hiking in the woods.
May 08, 2017
I was not pleased at all with the site I was given, I have a 37 foot Motor Home, the site I was assigned was barely large enough for a 24 foot trailer. Over the years I have stayed at KOAs many many times, this was by far my worst experience.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you did not like your site. We see you booked a few days before your arrival. Motorhomes your size do fit on that campsite. It is not unusual for campers to book a year in advance at this campground. Some of the upper sites are bigger but they book fast.
May 07, 2017
Great campground close to D.C. By metro station

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for filling out the survey. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Come back again soon.
May 07, 2017
The staff at check in were kind of surly and not really hospitable to tent campers. My site was a bit difficult to get in and didn't provide much if a level spot to accommodate a person tent very well. The whole vibe was not warn and melcoming

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you did not like the site that you picked. When we have availability we will gladly move you to a site you like better. Our new deluxe tent sites are a new popular option as they have a special area to put your tent that is nice and level. We also have regular level tent sites.
May 06, 2017
Everything was good until the last night! What a disaster with the general manager Bob and the staff on hand that shift! Horribly treated our guests from Australia who had been there nearly a week. We highly suspected Bob of cutting our sewage hose ito strategically spray us when emptying black. Sometimes our daughter empties the sewage! The police knew he did it! Yes a report was made.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

This camper was upset because their guests had to pay guest fees. As their guests had checked out of the park a few days before. And had reentered without registering and were staying in the park without paying the required fees. The rest of these comments are untrue. And speak for themselves.
May 05, 2017
$75 way too much for this place Said DC but a long way from DC. guy mowed grass while I was unhooking and blew grass and dirt all over me
May 04, 2017
The shuttle bus to downtown was convenient. Janet in the office was especially helpful. Great WIFI!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to post regarding your recent stay at Capitol KOA. Your compliments are appreciated.
May 03, 2017
A very nice KOA. Especially enjoyed the shuttle to DC. The trees made it feel like a secluded forest, but the highway noise at night brought you back to reality.
May 02, 2017
Very accommodating and friendly staff. Spent four nights at this facility and found it very relaxing, clean and sites were large enough to have my RV with car trailer attached, no need to disconnect! Wonderful Stay!
May 02, 2017
Very well managed, clean, and pleasant
May 02, 2017
Fabulous stay, close to the city of Washington and really helpful staff. We loved it! Michelle Smit and Family

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for the great comments on our staff. We are glad you enjoyed your deluxe cabin. They are really popular! Please come see us again soon.
May 02, 2017
The campground itself was fine. We were in a full hookup site and everything worked fine. The escort on the golf cart was very rude towards us on multiple occasions.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We allow your guests to visit our campers in the park. We just ask them to register before they go to your site and pay the required fees. And we ask for only one car parked per site. Extra cars are to park in the overflow lot. Our campers have visitors all the time.
May 01, 2017
Don't carry brown soda bottles in a carrier from your car, or you will be stopped and questioned about them. Also if you wish to have a beer at your picnic table watch out for the people constantly patrolling around on those yellow golf carts watching what you are having to drink with dinner. I felt that we were under surveillance. Close to DC if you are visiting the Capitol
May 01, 2017
The staff where very helpful in assisting with the tickets for he trolley ride in Washington. The shuttle was the best way to get into the city and very accommodating when we were delayed returning to the shuttle. Definitely a place to return to.
May 01, 2017
Staff was very friendly and helpful and we loved the campground so much to do for the kids we will definitley come back
May 01, 2017
Don't expect a smile or a welcome from any of the staff at this Koa. Absolutely the worst that we've seen on our 3 week vacation. When finally allowed to check out other sites we were intercepted, treated as intruders and told that we would regardless end up at the site that we were first assigned. Sites are rough, very noisy from the highway. Definetly not recommended. Seek elsewhere
May 01, 2017
Friendly staff. Clean sites. Efficient management. This will be a regular stop for each of my monthly trips.
Apr 30, 2017
Friendly staff & great location.
Apr 30, 2017
Apr 30, 2017
Nice helpful staff. Clean site. Easy to navigate.
Apr 29, 2017
Great place to camp. Daily trip to D.C.
Apr 27, 2017
Courteous, helpful staff. Site was tidy and hookups were easy to use. No issues with WiFi. Shuttle availbe to D.C. Close to MD 32 so there was some traffic noise. Enterprise Car Rental will pickup for ride to office in Crofton.
Apr 26, 2017
We camped over the Easter break. Our family had a wonderful time. Your staff was great, always willing to answer questions and always had a smile on their faces. The gentlemen riding around on their carts were exceptionally fun to be around. Our grandbabies had an awesome time. All of the camp grounds were kept clean including the restroom/shower areas. Looking forward to another camping adventure
Apr 26, 2017
Nice campground to exspensive for a normal family. As much as I paid for a site the shuddle into DC should have been included.
Apr 26, 2017
GREAT SITES/KABINS. CLEAN. ACCOMODATING.FRIENDLY.
Apr 26, 2017
Very friendly staff. Clean facility.
Apr 26, 2017
Apr 26, 2017
convenient place to spend a night. Not very scenic and on the expensive side
Apr 25, 2017
great stay very peacefull wish the weather would have been better but I would stay there again.
Apr 25, 2017
This RV site is really nice, but way overpriced. Other than that it is a great site! My thanks for Dr. Bob and Lee for their help when I first arrived. Great customer service!
Apr 25, 2017
Apr 25, 2017
Nice place very unlevel sites. Very tight driving around with camper. Liked the staff a little confusion at check in. Called reservation desk to inform that I would be late, no packet on arrival had to wake management to get site number
Apr 24, 2017
The staff were friendly and accommodating. I needed to change sites and despite it being a busy week, I was given a site that better met our needs.
Apr 24, 2017
At one point a staff from the campground drove by and made a joke about my weight suggesting that I needed to have a two person tent because I was too big for a one person tent. I understand that he was just trying to make a good natured joke but it was offensive and inappropriate. Other than that I had a good time and will still return if I am coming through the area again.
Apr 24, 2017
First time there...convenient, easy access and close to a lot of amenities. Well maintained, clean & friendly. We enjoyed ourselves.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals