Washington DC / Capitol KOA Reviews

Let us be your guide for everything Washington DC!

  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

May 28, 2019
Perfect location, staff is wonderful. However, the spaces are thin and uneven. No matter where I moved my rv, I couldn't get level.
May 28, 2019
This campground was so nice! And the lady helping us check in was so polite and nicely recommended somewhere to eat for dinner as we just picked up our camper and was just spending one night! I would definitely recommend staying here!
May 28, 2019
May 27, 2019
May 27, 2019
Very fun wish the office could be open longer though.
May 26, 2019
It was good. We wish store hours were longer.
May 26, 2019
May 26, 2019
Nice shaded site, firewood was delivered promptly, bathrooms were clean. Overall great place to camp and close to home.
May 25, 2019
Great stay, friendly staff, clean bathrooms!! Tent site was spacious compared to other KOAs we've stayed at.
May 25, 2019
The sites are small but the facilities are in good shape. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We were in the area for a military funeral and this was the only campground around. Good for a couple of nights but too pricey for longer stays. Although the name says Capitol Washington DC, you are still 30 miles or 45 minutes from Capitol Hill.
May 25, 2019
May 25, 2019
At least 20 really nice tent sites available. Only one other tent camper so it was empty, and instead of giving us a nice site they put us on a dirt/rocky knob. Car had to be parked at a 40 degree angle. No flat spot to put the tent. Not even close to level. Office hours were 8-5 and we left before 8 and came back after 5 so we couldn’t get switched. Storage yard was by entry. Overall kinda crap
May 23, 2019
Place is getting expensive. Campground has upgraded more of the standard long 50 amp sites to their more expensive patio sites. Now there is only a few standard 50 amp sites available. Their answer is to cram you into a smaller 50 amp site which makes the camping experience less enjoyable.
May 23, 2019
Like camping in a parking lot. We got a sun spot with an uneven lot which rendered the picnic table unusable. We were next to the maindriveway and cars were going too fast. Was dangerous for our toddler. I asked to move to another site and was told they were full. That was an outright lie. By next day there were still many vacant spots. The office doesn't answer the phone if you have a problem.
May 23, 2019
Site was a bit rough but overall ok. Surge protector indicated reverse polarity. Manager blamed my surge protector. Was fine stop before and the one after so they have some issue there.
May 23, 2019
May 23, 2019
Excellent campground! Super clean showers, great cabin and the shuttle too and from DC was super handy!
May 22, 2019
Issues with our sites...we requested sites 2 & 3, ours a deluxe patio site & theirs a regular pull thru site but did not get the sites we requested & got no notification that we didn’t get them until we got there.. & our deluxe patio site was more like a ghetto patio site with the sewer line of the RV beside us right beside our grill & the furniture rusty & wobbly... We will be writing a letter!
May 22, 2019
May 22, 2019
May 21, 2019
May 21, 2019
Road noise, small spaces, full dumpsters... Hard to enjoy an evening campfire while the smell of the neighbor's sewer is floating in your nostrils. It would seem that this is becoming the standard for parks these days, pack'em in, they'll get over it...not
May 21, 2019
Cheryl was awesome
May 20, 2019
May 20, 2019
Great people very helpful beautiful park!!
May 20, 2019
In a nutshell, it’s just too expensive to stay in this park. $95 a night for a premium site, which we had to get for our 42’ ft RV to fit into, have sewer and be able to reach our electric cord to the box. The first spot we were in, we had to pull in backwards to reach the box. Therefore we had no picnic table or fire pit.
May 20, 2019
Very loud in case of the close interstate, not very clean and old equipment, employees very friendly but not flexible. We had a side and the sewer far to the water and electricity, therefore we must Tür our RV for dumping. All about, only interesting that this campground is close to D.C.
May 20, 2019
Way too expensive for what is offered. Too few bathroom accomodations. No hot water in 1 of 2 bath houses.
May 20, 2019
Quiet, clean, great staff.
May 20, 2019
The campground a facilities were well taken cared of, clean and well groomed. The staff was very pleasant and kind, helpful and took the extra time to say hello There just really isn't much for kids to do. With only having a small park at the lodge, this is they type of place that is geared towards retired traveling campers, its not designed for family with children who aren't infants.
May 19, 2019
Excellent!
May 18, 2019
Most accommodating.
May 18, 2019
friendly people at check in. very well maintained campground. nice sites at lower in.
May 18, 2019
Really enjoyed our stay in one of the cabins, the amenities were very nice, as was the staff. Also liked the gift shop very much, keep up the great work!!
May 17, 2019
The KOA was nice. The price we were quoted when booked was less then check-in. was told rates increased and they didn't have to accept the quoted fee. Also signed up with KOA fan card, was only given $30 off instead of 10% total fee. The extra fee and less than expected discount fee really put more financial strain on this vacation. Not sure if will camp at KOA again
May 17, 2019
Very nice campground within good proximity to metro station and attractions for the area.
May 17, 2019
Very satisfied,clean , neat, well kept
May 17, 2019
Friendly staff. Took the shuttle into DC. Very convenient. Drivers were great. Showers/restrooms were very clean with plenty of hot water.
May 17, 2019
The location in proximity to Washington DC was great and the personnel were friendly and helpful
May 17, 2019
Bel accueil. Chambres de bain très propres. Navette pour Washington très appréciée.
May 17, 2019
It was a great stay. This was our first experience with our new travel trailer
May 17, 2019
We arrived late, but they left the cabin key and info for us. The campground was beautifully maintained and the staff was busy and very helpful. We loved our stay!
May 17, 2019
May 17, 2019
Very friendly/ clean campground
May 17, 2019
Very nice campground and the people there are extremely friendly and helpful only downfall I would say is rv sites are in need of repairs to make them level
May 17, 2019
May 17, 2019
We had a awesome time here, So close to the Capitol and lots to do and explore in the area.
May 17, 2019
Cleanliness, amenities, staff support were amazing. Proximity to highways and lack of immediate access to well-maintained hiking trails are weaknesses of the site.
May 17, 2019
May 17, 2019
I love that this place is so close to virtually everything. It's 15 minutes from our home and allows us to get away without a long drive.
Mar 07, 2020
My wife and I had a wonderful time! The cabin was beautiful, Cheryl and Bob could not have been nicer. They went out of their way to accommodate my wife and I.
- Tracy Young on Google
Feb 11, 2020
Looks like a nice place to stay. Nice website.
- Luke Baumann on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.