Washington DC / Capitol KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 25, 2018
Stayed for 5 days left early due to heavy rains. they refunded us our last night which is something we didn't expect. shuttle service advertised only ran on weekend, of course we were there after Labor Day so maybe it runs regular on peak times.There is no cable and local channels are few. But this park is a nice base camp when exploring Washington ( metro line is only 15 miles away) Annapollis
Sep 25, 2018
Sep 25, 2018
I wish they would work on leveling the sites instead of moving and adding cabins. Unless you are in premium sites, you don't have much of a chance getting a level site.
Sep 25, 2018
Clean
Sep 25, 2018
The campground manager Cheryl was very helpful and made me feel right at home during my stay, I will definitely be taking another to this KOA in the future
Sep 24, 2018
Sep 24, 2018
Sep 24, 2018
The campground is a decent campground. The grounds seemed clean and maintained. The trail needs some maintenance and it needs to be marked along the trail. The showers and bathrooms were fairly clean. My husband had to wait for a very long time for the hot water to get to the shower and I never did get any hot water with my shower. The staff was friendly and helpful.
Sep 24, 2018
low water pressure, uneven sites, high cost but all KOA are for what you get
Sep 24, 2018
It was nice and clean. The sales in the store were amazing, and the staff was very helpful! Can't wait to go back next season.
Sep 24, 2018
Awesome playground and great craft activities!
Sep 24, 2018
We had a wonderful time, facilities were great and the employees were very courteous and easy to work with
Sep 24, 2018
This is the best campground ever! Cheryl & Bob McGinnis are the nicest people you can meet. They made us feel very welcomed & are friends for life. We will definitely be going back! The staff was great also. Blair Shaw & Dr. Bob were very attentive to our needs. Tatiana was always cheerful and bubbly. John is a great guy and Chris was very helpful. Great location. I wish I had more room. Just Go!
Sep 24, 2018
rainy day but everyone was friendly and campground was very clean.only thing is you need cable tv
Sep 24, 2018
Sep 23, 2018
Sep 23, 2018
Loved the location. It was also very peaceful and quiet at this camp ground. Really enjoyed staying here and would love to come back soon.
Sep 22, 2018
Location was Great 20 of us came to visit and booked 5 cabins. Other campers were amazing the general manager was great. Older Members of the staff were horrendous. They talked down to members of our group , one particular staffer harassed that same member for a day and a half and overall no one seemed to care until it was escalated to the top. Even though the GM was great he didnt seem to care.
Sep 22, 2018
Clean, manicured and well run. The camp site was more than long enough for our motor home and towed car. WIFI was adequate for our needs of e-mails and messaging.
Sep 22, 2018
This is our 2nd time staying at Capitol KOA [once a year for a few days) and it is a great place to stay, if you want to visit DC. It's close to stores, restaurants, highways and the METRORAIL station is not far away (about 20 mins). Will stay again next year, for sure
Sep 21, 2018
Sep 21, 2018
Great time
Sep 20, 2018
All employees were very friendly. Camp was very clean, everywhere. The setting was very pretty and relaxing.
Sep 18, 2018
Was a great time.
Sep 18, 2018
We were passing by and needed to stay for a night. At first I was skeptical about the noise being beside the highway but it was very quiet. The sites are not level and my pull through would of destroyed my camper if I actually pulled through but the staff helped me back in. The lady's in the office were extremely nice and helpful.
Sep 17, 2018
We had a wonderful time, Campground was very nice and we will definitely be back. Thanks
Sep 17, 2018
Sep 17, 2018
clean accommodations, clean grounds friendly staff
Sep 17, 2018
Always a great time! Peaceful and quiet. I love staying in the cabins and enjoying what nature has to offer.
Sep 17, 2018
Campground clean, staff friendly. Not many amenities. Great if you want to take their shuttle to D.C.
Sep 17, 2018
Sep 17, 2018
Very nice stay. I loved our site!! It was Great. My daughter had a blast doing the craft and playing games. And at night doing the s’mores and movie.
Sep 17, 2018
There wasn't anyone around trained in propane refills. Every time I tried to get a refill. So I didn't cook on the stove. All in a all a very nice place.
Sep 17, 2018
We camp here often... Our staycation! We love the staff and our boys stay entertained. The rewards weekend is always my birthday weekend. So we had a lot of friends come visit for an additional cost that we feel is fair to pay! The hurricane weather held off so we were able to enjoy the entire weekend. �

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for responding and also for your great survey. See you wedding weekend!
Sep 16, 2018
We stayed late in the season and pool and other activities were closed. Still it is a nice campgrounds and and met our expectations
Sep 16, 2018
despite the heat very enjoyable stay. Wish the pool could stay open after labor day with the 90 degree heat. Staff said not permitted to be open in maryland after labor day but western Maryland campground open until Sept 7. Confusion.
Sep 16, 2018
Hot water in the showers was unpredictable - trying to take a shower (10 PM and 3 PM) we would get lukewarm water that would then turn cold. When I complained they said:"Oh, yes, we know about that but all you have to do is run the water in the dish-washing area until it gets hot". Of course they didn't tell us about this when we checked in - we found out when we were undressed. Also, no cable
Sep 16, 2018
A little bit too expensive
Sep 16, 2018
Sep 15, 2018
Nice campground, nice staff, great facilities.
Sep 15, 2018
This is the third time staying there. Still wonderful but I was disappointed that when I called three different times Saturday to say we'd be arriving late that night and ask what we needed to do no one called back. It added more anxiety then needed. Also the water at our site #121 came out rusty no matter how long we ran it for. Even when it looked clear it tasted really off.
Sep 14, 2018
Our stay (both times) was fine. No problems with site, office etc. Our only reason for giving a 4 rating is the low tree limbs. We have a High Profile 5th wheel and they were so low they scraped the top of the unit no matter which drive you taken. Our neighbors (both times) who were in Coach RVs said the same thing happened to them and Coach RVs are not as high profile as our 5th wheel.
Sep 14, 2018
great location
Sep 14, 2018
Sep 13, 2018
We loved the campground and it is conveniently located to the whole Baltimore/DC/Annapolis area!
Sep 13, 2018
Campground very clean, friendly and helpful staff. Biggest complaint is that you cannot get thru to-the campground, they very rarely answered the phone had a group coming and when one cancelled needed to adjust sites to keep us together could not reach them. Also employees taking reservations need to learn size of sites, put the largest trailer in our group on smallest site.
Sep 12, 2018
It rained 95% of the time we were there but you aren't responsible for the weather. It was a very nice place all the same.
Sep 12, 2018
It was a very nice and clean campground. The only thing was they closed the pool the first day we arrive and all week temperature was above 90 degrees. The reason they gave was end of season.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

In this area the pools close on Labor Day as the lifeguards are mandatory. We have to hire a pool service and the lifeguards are college age and have to return to school.
Sep 11, 2018
Sep 11, 2018
Pull thru sites were too short to actually pull through and leave toad parked. Fortunately we were going to disconnect anyway but overnighters, stop and go would have had to take time in morning to hook back up.
Jul 16, 2019
Nice KOA, well run, many decent sites with full service and some trees / shade.
- ufragme on Google
Jul 11, 2019
Amazing campground but a little bit far away from DC
- Dege Over Here on Google