Washington DC / Capitol KOA Reviews

Let us be your guide for everything Washington DC!

  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

Jun 10, 2019
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jun 09, 2019
Very nice campground. Clean and friendly staff.
Jun 09, 2019
Jun 09, 2019
The facilities were clean. Fire pits and sites even and well kept. The employees were helpful and friendly. The nature needs more ribbons for identified path. Great location and would love to return.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for filling out the survey and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are working on our nature trail. The trail is marked on the part that is our property. The adjoining property is not part of KOA. Would explain why ribbons were not on our neighbors property.
Jun 08, 2019
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jun 07, 2019
Our family loved our deluxe cabin! It was so clean, functional, and felt like home away from home. We enjoyed the many children's activities and a nice campfire in the evenings. Thanks for a great stay!!
Jun 07, 2019
Jun 07, 2019
Staff was very helpful. Very clean campground. Would like to see more sites with full hook ups.
Jun 07, 2019
Jun 07, 2019
Lots to do at campground for kids. Easy drive to metro station to get to dc area.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Latest addition that is a big hit is GAGA ball and of course our new bounce pillow. We add new games every year. The outdoor movie is also enjoyed by many under the stars.
Jun 05, 2019
Great stay! The staff was wonderful, the camp was very clean and in excellent condition. Very well taken care of. Can’t wait to return for another visit to the DC area.
Jun 05, 2019
Friendly staff. Helpful. Appreciated lifeguard at the pool.
Jun 05, 2019
My family couldn't swim because they make everyone wear bathing suits and I'm over weight I was very upset
Jun 05, 2019
Very nice KOA - a perfect place to stay when you're visiting the Capitol, Annapolis or even the Eastern Shore (don't miss the crab in Chesapeake!). Not a bad site in the entire camp - highly recommend.
Jun 05, 2019
Everything was good except for the price.
Jun 05, 2019
Run down, staff confused, no cable. Not up to KOA standards, corporate needs to take a closer look.
Jun 04, 2019
Nice clean campground. Great playground and bouncy pad. Over priced for amenities.
Jun 04, 2019
Had a great stay Location is the key near my son & Grandchildren
Jun 04, 2019
Jun 04, 2019
Staff do not follow up with return calls or emails and staff is not very polite.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The staff returns calls all day when messages are left. The staff advised the camper who was upset that we don't take Good Sam. They tried to tell him about the KOA Card would have saved him money. Our staff is polite with campers even if they are mad. We try to provide a solution when we can.
Jun 03, 2019
Bob, Cheryl, Dr Bob and the staff were wonderful. They did everything they could to make our stay a very happy one. My cabin was spotless and so were the bathrooms and the showers. I am handicapped and Cheryl made sure we had everything we needed. She went as far as calling CVS for me when I noticed I forgot one if my meds. I already booked my cabin for next year. I love The Capitol KOA .
Jun 03, 2019
Jun 03, 2019
GREAT KOA!!!! Excellent staff, Excellent Kampground!
Jun 03, 2019
Kids loved the pool and “jumping thing”! All personnel were friendly and helpful.
Jun 03, 2019
Jun 03, 2019
Jun 03, 2019
This KOA was clean and some of the sites were pretty. The cleaning staff was friendly & helpful. The front office staff could not have been less friendly and both ladies were unpleasant to deal with about everything. Very condescending and aloof and are the reason for 3 stars. They were cold and critical, opinionated and judge-y after our attempts to be kind. Pool staff alert and safety trained.
Jun 03, 2019
no 50 amp service or sewage hook-up as the site
Jun 02, 2019
The room smelled like mold and smoke when we arrived. There were 2 roaches on the floor during our stay. The cabin was not as clean as the previous years that we stayed there
Jun 02, 2019
Jun 02, 2019
We had a great stay. Thanks for all the amenities
Jun 01, 2019
Great site. Loved spot 50. Appreciated the transport to Washington D.C. That was main reason selected this campground to start with. Used it for 3 different days. Drivers very friendly and courteous. People in office were very friendly and helpful also. The bathrooms closest to my spot were clean but had a lot of bugs in them . Didn't understand why the emergency door and bathroom doors were open
Jun 01, 2019
We were given a bad tent site and was told nothing was available, we stayed for two nights but there were A LOT of tent sites vaccant! :(((
Jun 01, 2019
the Staff were great. Very caring people to anything we needed.
May 30, 2019
We always enjoy our stays at Capitol KOA. Unfortunately our grandson was admitted to the hospital over the weekend (he's fine now), and we weren't able to go to the campground. We have several stays planned for later in the year and hope to enjoy them as usual.
May 30, 2019
It was a great weekend
May 30, 2019
Busy weekend but park was run smoothly
May 30, 2019
Always enjoy staying at the D.C. location. Had to leave 3 days early because I received a call from the location my 87 year old mother lives at that she was having problems. I advised the front office folks at D.C. location. I was told I would not get a refund. I don't agree with this at all, and I'm not happy about this.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

This camper got a refund of $ 121.00.
May 29, 2019
May 29, 2019
We always go to Capitol KOA for Rolling Thunder on Memorial Day weekend. Always for 5 nights. Cheryl and Bob (Managers) are the best. Always pleasant and will do anything to help you out. The staff is also excellent. Dr. Bob has been there for years and is the best. We are already booked for next year and hopefully for many years to come. Wonderful campground.
May 29, 2019
We love the kids playground area and the pool. A big plus is your proximity to Sig Flags and the Bowie Baysox.
May 29, 2019
We had an amazing week celebrating our sons USNA Graduation. We had 2 lodges and 3 cabins. All of which were very clean and well kept. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.
May 29, 2019
We did enjoy our stay. The campground is very nice and now we know which sites we would like in the future. The only negative as that our neighbor had 2 dogs that were a little vocal, thankfully we were visiting relatives and did not spend a lot of time outside.
May 29, 2019
Staff is excellent. Very accommodating. Clean.
May 29, 2019
Great place!�
May 29, 2019
Had a great time, the only thing we didn't like was they close the pool for ten minutes out of every hour to check chlorine and Ph levels. This seems a little excessive to do it hourly.... Never experienced that at any location we've stayed at
May 29, 2019
Reservation wrong, tried to charge for extra night and 4 children that we dont have. Rented us a site that was obviously not a tent site for a tent. Had to argue to put tent on friends site even though I paid full price for site I couldn't use. Not first time reservation has been wrong. Very disappointing, because park is nice.
May 29, 2019
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The campgrounds were clean. My only complaint was the rain and that certainly was not KOA's doing. We will try for a cabin next year.
May 29, 2019
Staff was very friendly and helpful.
May 28, 2019
Stayed there to attend the Commissioning at the Naval Academy in Annapolis. Wonderful location for Annapolis visit. Good wifi, hot showers, large patio site, nice people.
Mar 07, 2020
My wife and I had a wonderful time! The cabin was beautiful, Cheryl and Bob could not have been nicer. They went out of their way to accommodate my wife and I.
- Tracy Young on Google
Feb 11, 2020
Looks like a nice place to stay. Nice website.
- Luke Baumann on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.