Washington DC / Capitol KOA Reviews

Let us be your guide for everything Washington DC!

Campground Reviews

May 02, 2019
Apr 29, 2019
Apr 29, 2019
We have stayed here before for doctors visits to DC. I was very put off by the sale of "impeach mints" prominently positioned at the check in area. We came for an appointment and a quick vacation not political satire directed at this or any other president.
Apr 28, 2019
Everything was very good except the KOA store. I would have spent quite a bit of money. When one of the workers was quite rude to my 12 year old grandson. He picked up a squishy toy to buy andof course he squeezed it. She took it out of his hand and told him not to touch it. So I took my grandchildren and left.
Apr 28, 2019
very happy with my stay at capitol koa. friendly staff, clean facilities, and clean campsites.
Apr 28, 2019
very small lots and you are feet/inches away from neighbor. Wish the site were wider. Overall the park was clean and trash/dumpsters hidden from view. Very convenient for a one night stay and right off the highway.
Apr 27, 2019
Apr 27, 2019
Apr 27, 2019
Unfriendly staff! The woman in reception barely spoke and acted like we were bothering her when checking in. Grounds keepers/maintenance ignored us when we asked for assistance. The website showed DC shuttle not available until May 1 but we saw a shuttle taking guests. A+ on clean bathrooms. Women's toilet overflowed everyday we were there.
Apr 27, 2019
Very friendly people here. Also dog friendly, which is important to us.
Apr 26, 2019
Everything was ok, just the noise of the nearby thruway was annoying at times.
Apr 26, 2019
Apr 25, 2019
Apr 25, 2019
Got there at 5pm, store and registration were closed. Found the paperwork for our site in late arrival cabinet. Map wasn’t marked. Someone came in golf cart when we were confused. Grounds were terrible. At least bathrooms were clean and water was hot. Other than that this is worst KOA I ever stayed at.
Apr 25, 2019
This is a beautiful campground. The people here are very nice. However while there's enough room between sites to be comfortable, the sites themselves are short. When I made the reservation, I informed them that I would not be unhooking and that I have a 36' RV and am towing a pickup truck. The site I was given was just big enough for us to fit with our truck in the road a little bit.
Apr 25, 2019
A little expensive on the camping side but what isn't in DC. We had a great time and the grounds were great. Definitely recommend and we will be back.
Apr 25, 2019
Beautiful park. The staff was very nice and helpful. Bathrooms and shower clean. We will be back!
Apr 24, 2019
Easy check-in, very friendly/helpful staff. Loved our cabin, our boys really loved the loft bed setup. The TV equipment could use a some updating but for a camp it was ok. Everything was clean in the cabin and having the towels, linens, paper towels, dish soap, trash bags, etc provided was great! The campgrounds are well maintained and lots of fun for everyone.
Apr 24, 2019
Horrible noise from the highway everywhere . Nice showers thou.
Apr 23, 2019
I called on the way there, no one answered the phone. Then, with a half empty campground asked to extend one day, but was initially told there were no sites available. While packing to leave, I was then told I could stay. That night and the next morning, there were plenty of empty sites. The camp store had POLITICAL items but they were pro-liberal and anti-Trump. Conservatives not welcome there.
Apr 21, 2019
Location was okay, sites were close together, customer service was lacking.
Apr 21, 2019
Close enough to DC to make daily trips in easy. Usual KOA high standards.
Apr 21, 2019
Apr 21, 2019
We stayed at a newly set up site which was nice. The bathrooms were not very clean and the plumbing was not working very well. Toilets would not flush properly.
Apr 21, 2019
Didn't advertise very well that their bus service was only on weekends. Cleaned and CLOSED the bathrooms between 8:30 and 9am when everyone was trying to leave. Not much hot water esp in bathrooms!
Apr 21, 2019
Apr 21, 2019
Very, very expensive! Charge $73/nite for a 30 amp site with no septic! Site was not level and more dirt than grass in lawn areas. Electric / water was on wrong side of site... Maintenance staff was very friendly and helpful. Front Desk person tried tocharge me an extra $10 because I arrived at 10:30 am, even though my site was empty... Looks and feels like a KOA that has absentee franchisee
Apr 21, 2019
Apr 21, 2019
The lady who checked us in was so friendly and helpful. Loved the pull-thru sites, kids loved the play area. Laundry, free showers, dish sink, dumpster, all pluses. Rates were comparable and reasonable. We stopped due to impending weather, and were accommodated without having a reservation. Thank you!
Apr 20, 2019
Apr 20, 2019
Apr 19, 2019
Close to DC, nicely wooded grounds, friendly staff....
Apr 19, 2019
Apr 18, 2019
We enjoyed our stay and the campground. The only issue we had was the sign for bathhouse cleaning read Closed from 9-10:30 daily for cleaning. They closed at 8:00 one day which when you plan around their time for cleaning and they change it which made it difficult to get ready to go somewhere.
Apr 18, 2019
Excellent place to stay if visiting Washington DC Baltimore or Annapolis. Everyone who works there was friendly and very helpful. We will be back �
Apr 16, 2019
Lots of traffic noisr
Apr 16, 2019
First of all we checked in the and there is impeach trump mints on the counter, everyone is entitled to there political opinion however the KOA is the last place I want to see this kind of stuff when i check. The girl at the desk and assistant manager where filthy and not what i would expect when i check in. They also told us that there where shuttles that go into DC.
Apr 15, 2019
This was a very nice KOA. Very clean people were very friendly and helpful. Our site was very nice and as described on their website. I have not had a bad experience with any KOA that I have stayed at this KOA was very very nice I would stay here again.
Apr 14, 2019
The campground was very clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly and very helpful! We loved that there was a dog park in the campground, that we could take our Sheltie a couple times a day to be able to run around and play.
Apr 14, 2019
Apr 14, 2019
Apr 14, 2019
The staff was very accommodating during my stay. I had to extend my stay due to vehicle issues and the staff worked to keep me in my site. I was surprised that they required me to take my trash to the dumpster. Several other Holiday KOA’s have daily trash pick up. Would have like a site with more gravel on the site and cable.
Apr 14, 2019
Apr 13, 2019
Clean, quiet, close to friends I was visiting.
Apr 12, 2019
The staff was very friendly. No complaints there. But the hookups at our site (and on every site on our row) were at the front of the rv, which meant it was a loooong way from the electrical connection on our rig. Luckily we carry an extension cord and were able to plug in. Not sure what we'd have done. Someone needs to spend the time/money to swap those boxes! Not good.
Apr 10, 2019
Apr 09, 2019
The cabin was beautiful. Everyone was friendly. My daughter was a little disappointed that the jumping pillow wasn’t inflated but we understand since it was really off season. Would definitely come back here again.
Apr 06, 2019
Our cabin had an infestation of ants that was noticeable upon our unpacking. We left early and returned after office was closed. The office has very limited hours that made it impossible to contact anyone. The so-called TV was horrible as well. Channels constantly cut out. You couldn’t watch any shows or even finish the weather forecast on the news. We had had much better conditions at other KO
Apr 06, 2019
A bit overpriced in my opinion. Several of the amenities advertised were not available which was aggravating. Staff is friendly. Laundry room was sufficient since it’s off season. I can imagine it being a hassle during peak.
Apr 06, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
We arrived for Ohio and when we got there we wanted a more shaded lot they were very willing to accommodate us
- Lynn Davis on Google
Sep 15, 2019
Wonderful relaxing weekend
- Tammy Forwood on Google
Sep 04, 2019
We went to the Renaissance Fair and this is the best place to stay.Debbie in the office was so funny and great with the kids. And Helen at the front desk checkin was so pleasant and Bob took us to our site. We Ubered to the Faire. New this year they have a GaGa Ball Pit. The kids had a blast and they had a new jumping pillow thingy. We stayed on a premium patio campsite and it was nice and relaxing. They delivered firewood and ice right to our site. We are coming back for their great Halloween.
- I3249Evegasgal on Trip Advisor