Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Oct 02, 2017
Great activities and Staff!!
Oct 02, 2017
"Wonderful" could not be any better..........
Oct 02, 2017
I had service well beyond the ordinary. Every staff was not only helpful they did it with a smile. I will always go back to this KOA.
Oct 02, 2017
Very enjoyable. All associates were very friendly and accommodating. We can't wait until our next visit.
Oct 02, 2017
Great location Awesome service Well maintained WiFi Not so good Sites are close together
Oct 02, 2017
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The personnel is wonderful to help each camper. The only drawback is that the spaces are so close to each other, which means there's not a lot of privacy.
Oct 02, 2017
Having stayed all over the Great Smokey Mountains over my life time, this was by far the best camping I have done. The bathhouse was clean, the grounds was very clean. They help guide me into my site a back in. The staff picked up my garbage with out asking, they delivered fire wood to me. The sweet shop was to die for. The cost of items in the store was resaonable. Great visit. Thank you.
Oct 01, 2017
Spent 5 night here. Staff was excellent. Helped with any problems/questions we had. Very busy/crowded park but a great place to stay.
Oct 01, 2017
Great enjoyable stay with you WILL BE BACK
Oct 01, 2017
Staff was great .. very friendly and helpful! The entire campground is beautiful and our stay was relaxing!
Sep 30, 2017
We had a wonderful time as usual. We have been coming and staying with you for the last 5 years. Great service, always helpful, clean restrooms. We love the pumpkin fudge!! So pleased that the pool was still open.
Sep 30, 2017
Loved it. It was very relaxing and that was what we needed.
Sep 30, 2017
Beautiful campground and very helpful, friendly staff.
Sep 30, 2017
Great staff, very helpful. Whole campground was clean and well maintained. We liked it so much we made two additional reservations.
Sep 30, 2017
Beautiful campground in convenient location. Fantastic, helpful staff. Great doggy park. Very clean restrooms and showers.
Sep 29, 2017
we spent most of the time site seeing and engaging in the activates in Cade Cove - Pigeon Forge - Gatlingburg the only time at the KOA would have been from 7pm. to 8am. was kept clean & friendly.. Fire wood was a little high in cost for the amount you got average cost for Fire Wood out side a KOA and we travel a lot different states & towns for the same amount of wood $5.00 plus tax
Sep 28, 2017
Staff is very friendly, campsite is beautiful
Sep 28, 2017
Great campground that caters to the camper. Checked in, escorted to #9, then the escort spotted me as I backed in. While I unhooked, he blew the few leaves that were on the spot, table, patio and deck. After looking at the different spots, (we had a premium campsite near the river with a deck, all hookups and 50amp service. I would have preferred a non premium site next to the rapids. Great place
Sep 28, 2017
Great service from beginning to end!
Sep 27, 2017
Nice clean brooms with paper towels!!! Nice deep (8') clean pool. Friendly staff. Clean sites.
Sep 27, 2017
Enjoyed our stay very much. Our campsite #5 was close to campers on both sides of us but other than that it is a wonderful campground.
Sep 26, 2017
Great location, clean and overly-friendly staff. We were disappointed in three areas: We all missed the turn into the campground (all 4 other of our family members towing their trailers). We all ended up making a U-Turn in the Marathon Gas Station. We all had no cellular or WiFi reception at the campgrounds, and Staff was overly-helpful during arrival (didn't ask/want their help parking).
Sep 26, 2017
Sep 25, 2017
Our favorite place to camp is KOA in the Smokies. The staff are friendly and helpful. Best showers in a campground we have ever seen.
Sep 25, 2017
We loved it! Coming back next year for third year in a row!
Sep 25, 2017
Great time friendly people
Sep 25, 2017
Great stay!
Sep 25, 2017
We were camping in a tent surrounded by RV's and girlscouts. I didn't feel like I was in the wilderness nor did I feel like I had any privacy as there were 4 other sites within 5 ft of mine. On top of that my site was not set up for tent camping as it was all gravel and no plot of land suitable for a tent (it was almost impossible to stake our tent into the ground.) HORRIBLE.
Sep 25, 2017
Nice clean campground.
Sep 25, 2017
Very clean campground and the bathhouse was brand new. My wife and I had a very nice relaxing stay.
Sep 25, 2017
We had a beautiful campsite the only problem was we kept smelling a stench and we looked and found two green covers that we suspect was the sewage for the campground. It was hard to eat outside because of the smell. We was in 84a
Sep 25, 2017
Sep 25, 2017
Sep 24, 2017
Beautiful campgrounds, friendly staff, perfect location for riding motorcycles through the mountains!
Sep 24, 2017
I camped at Townsend KOA September 17 and also September 20, 21 and 22. I have camped here about 30 times since 1998. In all of these stays, I have never had reason to complain about anything. The grounds and facilities are always immaculate and the staff people are friendly, helpful and efficient. If you are looking for campgrounds located near the national park, Gatlinberg, THIS IS IT.
Sep 24, 2017
Great campground, very beautiful and clean! Friendly staff and a great location!
Sep 23, 2017
Super friendly ad helpful. Worked with my motorhome to get it of the road and have a very relaxed and pleasant location.
Sep 23, 2017
Campground was well kept; bathrooms clean and updated. Staff was eager to please and polite. Our site, 84A, kept getting wafts of sewer smell, which I think came from the sewer system pumps nearby?? Location on river was pretty, and access to bike path was great!
Sep 23, 2017
We stayed for 3 nights at a site on the river. It was FANTASTIC!... We were not ready to go home... wish I had been able to reserve one more night there. Loved the staff! Super friendly and very helpful! We felt safe at the campground knowing someone was riding around checking on things often! The other campers were very respectful of quiet hours, and we were able to get some much needed rest!
Sep 23, 2017
Awesome, very friendly and helpful
Sep 21, 2017
Had a great time, all amenities worked well, KOA employees were helpful and friendly.
Sep 21, 2017
Sep 21, 2017
This was a beautiful facility with helpful staff. We had car trouble upon arriving and the staff were all extremely accommodating and helpful in the process of getting our camper trailer set up without a working vehicle and assisting in communicating with the repair shop. At the campgrounds, there was plenty to keep our young children occupied with for the days we were without a vehicle.
Sep 21, 2017
Lean, well managed and beautiful site
Sep 21, 2017
Sep 20, 2017
Nice improvements since last year. Entire campground is always clean. Restrooms and showers always clean. Great addition with restrooms and dishwashing station at back of pavilion. Staff is always friendly and polite. Marshall is a great host. Fudge store is a bonus
Sep 20, 2017
The people there was very nice and helpful
Sep 20, 2017
We spent four nights here. The campground is right on the edge of the Great Smoky Mountain NP perfectly located between Gatlinburg and Cades Cove. We had a site on the river and it was beautiful, a large generous level site, The entire campground was impeccably clean, The large showers had Italian tile. Even the laundry was pleasant. If KOA is the Ritz-Carton of camping this is one of the reasons
Sep 20, 2017
We had just bought our 1st 5th wheel and wanted to try it out locally. Couldn't have picked a better place. Friendly and helpful park attendants . Property was absolutely beautiful! Large trees, river running on the back, nice little cabins in the woods, easy walking! Cant wait to go back again.
Sep 19, 2017
We enjoyed your beautiful campground. It was fun watching the wagon rides filled with singing kids. The staff was friendly and helpful, with a special call out to Mickey. She went out of her way to find an answer to a question I had. Because of our stay we plan to stay at another KOA next summer
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award