Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jun 16, 2017
Loved every day employees friendly,very helpful, most people friendly be back next yr
Jun 16, 2017
Wonderful campground with super helpful staff who go above and beyond to make sure you're stay is great. Highly recommend!
Jun 16, 2017
It's a beautiful place the staff is as friendly as they come. And it's in our top two as being "CLEAN"!
Jun 15, 2017
Great, as usual!
Jun 14, 2017
We enjoyed our stay as we always have in Townsend, however it would of been nice if the grass area behind sites 3-9.It needed mowing when we arrived and was not mowed during our 6 day stay. We still think it's a great camping facility. Thanks
Jun 14, 2017
Jun 13, 2017
Enjoyed our stay. Made a reservation for the fall
Jun 13, 2017
Very clean , family oriented camp ground . My shoot out to the men who take you to your camp sight and help you park your camper ! I had to back in to a tight space and my guide was the BEST. And he had the cutest ship tzu dog . He was just a champ , I asked him if he wanted to do it and I think he thought I was being mean , but finally he understood that with out him i couldn't do it !!!thanks
Jun 13, 2017
This campground was so beautiful. The people running this KOA were very nice and helpful too. If in the area again, would definitely stay here
Jun 13, 2017
Very nice, clean camoground in excellent location on the Little River. Very conveniently located near National Park.
Jun 12, 2017
The staff was very friendly. The site on the river was excellent. The sewer connection was a little misplaced and uphill from my connection on my rv. You could use more shower houses with a better location than where there are located. They need to be placed closer to the campers that need them. Thanks, was a great week.
Jun 12, 2017
It is a great place for kids. We were right by the river and the activities were nice for the kids. Plenty of shade and mature trees there. The front desk is very helpful.
Jun 12, 2017
Have been to Townsend many times, but thought KOA was a little pricey. It is well worth it. Much nicer and a very relaxing atmosphere. Love the dog park! Excellent playground. Loved the middle sites with the brick patio and fire pits. Walking distance to some good sweet treats.
Jun 12, 2017
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jun 12, 2017
Had a great time, very close to Cades Cove. Campground family freindly, plenty for kids to do. Kids 12 and 17, on way home were already asking when we could come back. All staff was very freindly and helpful.
Jun 12, 2017
Best campground we've stayed in. Everyone was super friendly and the campgrounds were immaculate. We were very comfortable and can't wait to return!
Jun 11, 2017
Beautiful campground! We loved the landscaping around EVERY campsite and the dog playground was awesome for our little Yorkies. The people working were awesome in every way to help us with anything we needed. We truly enjoyed our stay. Best campground we have ever stayed in and we will be back in November!
Jun 11, 2017
Wonderful place for families
Jun 11, 2017
Great spot for families!
Jun 10, 2017
The weather was nice even when we got news of a bad wind storm. The actives for the kids and adults was "GREAT" we really enjoyed what they provide for us, they were the best!
Jun 10, 2017
really meant for families with children
Jun 09, 2017
Are stay was great, every thing was clean, and lots to do. Also just 25 min from pigeon forge/Gatlinburgh
Jun 09, 2017
Very friendly staff. Very clean. Lots of activities for kids. Ice cream was a huge plus!
Jun 09, 2017
Very clean,you need to spend the extra money to get the better site, we stayed in 47 some of the less expensive sites are small and tight
Jun 08, 2017
Been coming here for 22 years. I think that says it all!
Jun 08, 2017
The management and staff are top notch. We had the misfortune of being in a car wreck during our stay and they were all very helpful.
Jun 07, 2017
Jun 07, 2017
Excellent location, friendly and very helpful staff, bathrooms are clean, campground in excellent condition.
Jun 06, 2017
By far the best KOA that we have ever camped! We loved the staff, the clean park and clean sites/amenities. We appreciated the notification of a storm coming to put in our awnings. We loved, loved LOVED the Bingo game that was sponsored by the church group. One of the highlights of our stay. We all found Townsend rocks and kept them as souvenirs. We hope to come back again someday soon.
Jun 06, 2017
I am not a KOA type of camper but I was pleasantly surprised with Townsend KOA. Definitely step up to the nicer spot it is worth the few dollars. They have the nicest table and chairs I have ever seen in a public space. They also help you get into your space. Whether you think you need it or not. Which actually is nice because they know exactly how to angle so put your pride aside and get in there
Jun 06, 2017
We've stayed at several KOA's, I can tell you that this campground has them all beat. The place was nice, clean , and had beautiful sites that weren't on top of each other. The thing that stood out to me was how many employees are here, and they ALL, were so nice, and freely gave there opinions on things to do, restaurants, etc. So far the best campground we've ever stayed at!
Jun 06, 2017
My wife and I only stayed for one night, but it was very enjoyable! The grounds were clean and the whole campground was very immaculate!
Jun 05, 2017
We have a wonderful time every year and always look forward to the next year. The activities around Memorial Day are awesome. The church group that comes in are wonderful dear people and we always have a blast. Keep up the good work. We love it here.
Jun 05, 2017
One of the nicest campgrounds we have been to! The patio sites are awesome. The staff is great! We will definitely be back!
Jun 05, 2017
Jun 05, 2017
Fantastic staff, well maintained grounds, and great sites
Jun 05, 2017
We tent camped here for 2 days on site 70 and 72. We had water/electric. We have been camping here before it was KOA and have always loved it here.
Jun 05, 2017
This is one of our favorite KOAs. This wasn't our first stay here, and it certainly won't be our last!!!
Jun 04, 2017
Your staff is professional and friendly. The campground facilities were clean and well kept. The campsites are snug but the view of the river makes up for the space issue. We will be back! Ann Marie Insana
Jun 04, 2017
over priced we were in site 100 nothing but sunbusy spot lots of people cutting thru to get to the park on the river
Jun 02, 2017
I have been staying at this campground for 48 years. I love the changes that KOA has done. I am so thankful to have Mark and Samantha as my friends,but really family. Will continue staying with them for as long as I can.
Jun 02, 2017
This is a beautiful well kept facility
Jun 02, 2017
Probably the nicest campground we have stayed in Very nice Staff super clean unbelievable shower house and bathrooms. For sure worth the price. Level sites easy hook ups plenty of room to get in and out.
Jun 01, 2017
We always love staying here the staff is very knowable and friendly. They are always willing to stop what they are doing to assist us. The showers are always clean as if I am the first to use it. We always tell everybody if they are going to the Smoky Mountains to stay at Townsend KOA it the top.
May 31, 2017
Great campground. Very well taken care of. We had storms that blew down some limbs and they were out cleaning up before it stopped raining. Great shower facility's. They need a pool or splash park for little children.
May 31, 2017
we stayed on site # 30 liked the improvments but the shrub that was planted next to the pad is in the way you cannot access your outside storage compartment or sit under your awning.
May 31, 2017
As usual great stay,have been here several times, always great. employees are the best.
May 31, 2017
Thanks for being helpful!
May 31, 2017
We have stayed at this KOA in Townsend several times and have enjoyed it every time. We have a grandson that has Downs Syndrome and we don't have to worry about his safety.
May 31, 2017
As usual, the best campground in Townsend. Been staying there since 1983!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award