Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email This Campground

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 15, 2018
This campground has everything you need for a wonderful stay! The river was there for a cool, refreshing swim or you could go to the pool and swim in warmer water. I enjoyed the Bible activities each evening and I love the area. We rented tubes one day and found the service to be great. This campground is right at the entrance to the Smoky Mountain park and is very nice!
Jul 15, 2018
Jul 15, 2018
Very helpful staff. We arrived late, they magically kept our reservation. �
Jul 14, 2018
We loved this campground. The WiFi is spotty, so if that is important to you keep that in mind. It wasn’t important to us so it wasn’t a big deal. We had a riverfront site and it was beautiful. Loved how close this campground is to the National Park. We were so close to everything we wanted to do there.
Jul 13, 2018
It is a wonderful campground along a wonderful river but it is a little pricey.
Jul 13, 2018
We come here every year for a week and have for 24 yrs but the prices are getting too expensive and after paying for the whole week they charged me an extra $35 for having 2 cars on my campsite! Also the rocks around the campsite need to be moved, there too close to where we park cars and I actually hit one and it scratched and dented my bumper If things doesn't change I may find somewhere else to
Jul 13, 2018
We enjoyed our visit to this KOA for its proximity to the park entrance. Sites were however small and the restrooms were not very well maintained and/or clean.
Jul 13, 2018
We usually stay in another campground brand. This was our first KOA based on a recommendation from a friend. We were not disappointed. Campground was clean, well kept and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay there again.
Jul 12, 2018
Love this campground. Rates seem too expensive..Staff is great.. I have stayed here every summer for 20+ years..
Jul 11, 2018
Beautiful campground! Very peaceful we will be back�
Jul 11, 2018
We had a great stay. Wish the site was bigger; however we got the last campsite. The staff was very courteous and helpful. We are new to camping and they helped us park our camper within 5 minutes. The park is very clean. Would definitely go again.
Jul 11, 2018
Jul 10, 2018
Love the campground, staff, and management. However pricey and very limited WiFi service on campsites.
Jul 10, 2018
People were all very nice at checkin but attitudes appeared to change after they got your money
Jul 10, 2018
Campground was very clean and well maintained. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Jul 10, 2018
The staff was really helpful and friendly. I’m a single mom with three kids and the staff led me to our campsite and guided me while I backed into the campsite. The campground was very clean and well kept. The river is beautiful and the campground was very peaceful. We will definitely come back every year.
Jul 10, 2018
Jul 09, 2018
Jul 09, 2018
Jul 09, 2018
Very clean and nice. We will be back.
Jul 09, 2018
We stayed in site #57 and just loved the facility and the grounds. Very clean and well organized. The only thing negative was the wi-fi. Most of the time it was so bad that I couldn’t even get my emails!
Jul 09, 2018
The camp ground is nice and clean, but too expensive.
Jul 08, 2018
Mark is superb, he makes the entire campground a wonderful experience �
Jul 08, 2018
Jul 08, 2018
Best campground in the Townsend area.
Jul 08, 2018
Jul 07, 2018
Love camping at this KOA. Great staff!
Jul 07, 2018
Beautiful scenery, quiet, lots to do in and near campground, very friendly staff. We plan to stay again.
Jul 07, 2018
we had a great spot by the river. They guided us to our site and assisted with backing in our unit. Wifi was virtually non existent and cable was bad.Office staff nice but not knowledge about directions except to go to visitors center. lol.
Jul 05, 2018
Wonderful Christian based programs for the kids
Jul 05, 2018
Everything was perfect!
Jul 05, 2018
This campground has it all. Fantastic location, helpful staff and quaint mountain town. Away from the crowds but a pleasant and short drive to the middle of all the action. Also plenty to do in the town itself. We will be back.
Jul 04, 2018
Jul 02, 2018
We had a great time your staff was very helpful as this was our first time Thank you
Jul 01, 2018
Due to heavy rains, the campground flooded but the staff at KOA handled everything calmly and efficiently. By far, my favorite campground!!
Jul 01, 2018
Awesome all around
Jul 01, 2018
3rd vacation to Townsend in 4 years & still our favorite campground. Grounds/facilities were top notch (as usual), wifi was usable (although not super fast), staff was very friendly & eager to help. There was a flash flood this trip and was especially impressed at the staff's quick response to ensure the safety of campers and to correct the damage the same day. Already booked for next year!
Jun 29, 2018
Great location with the river running through it. Took off for horrible Wi-Fi, having no cell service in the campground only makes it more important to have adequate Wi-Fi. But would be a good place to take family and unplug!
Jun 29, 2018
This is a nice campground with good facilities.
Jun 29, 2018
Can’t say enough about this place! Clean and welcoming with amazing views
Jun 27, 2018
Jun 27, 2018
Needs better wifi
Jun 27, 2018
Very nice. Suggest installing gray water hookup in all RV slots. Your main dump station is in a rather difficult area to use. Next to pool pedestrians,bicycle parking and just a lot of congestion. Hard to pull a large RV to it. I don't think there should be a charge for the honey wagon services because of the location of the dump station. Other than the dump station location all was great. Well ma
Jun 26, 2018
Always a good stay in Townsend. Workers are helpful and polite and the facilities are clean. Plenty of activities for the kids. We will definitely be back!
Jun 26, 2018
Jun 25, 2018
Too expensive
Jun 25, 2018
The "MOST EXPENSIVE" campground that we've ever stayed at in the united states. We will not go back.
Jun 25, 2018
Not a bad campground in general, sites are a little small in my opinion, but well kept. Good location, and family friendly. An option to pick your actual site would help as I Certainly would never have chosen a spot right next to the basketball goal and Children’s pavilion. Understood that kids will play in a campground, but I wouldn’t choose to hear bouncing balls, movies, bingo, ect camping.
Jun 24, 2018
Kids liked it better than anywhere we’ve stayed. Lots to do, without the over commercialization of most places
Jun 24, 2018
2nd time here. Pros:Campsite clean and ready when we arrived. Staff escort to our site and help to park in the best spot for our travel trailer and our lot. Was on the creek as requested. Pool & playground enjoyed daily by our granddaughter. Bathhouse clean. Cons: Internet reception VERY poor & office staff not interested in my complaint until I persisted, Needed it for work, so a problem for me!
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award