Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Apr 16, 2018
There were 14 of us camping by the river in 5 sites (3 adjoining). Mid-April, weather was great ... we had a blast! Loved the scenery, food and the area attractions. The locals were so friendly! We're coming back in September!
Apr 16, 2018
Apr 16, 2018
Apr 16, 2018
Nice campground. Very convenient. Showers great! Staff very friendly. Definitely would stay there again!
Apr 15, 2018
Very nice place to stay
Apr 13, 2018
Apr 11, 2018
We arrived Later in the day and the staff was very very helpful. They brought us firewood ice and marshmallows from the camp store even though it was closed and let us settle up with everything in the morning. A beautiful location and a beautifully well kept campground. Will definitely stay again
Apr 10, 2018
As always we enjoy our stay at Townsend KOA. The added improvements to the sites over the winter are very nice as well.
Apr 10, 2018
We loved our stay!!! We have two small girls and we loved that the playground was right next to us. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly. Very clean place also. We will be back.
Apr 10, 2018
We loved our stay and plan on coming back with our family. Our site was along the river and very peaceful. The patio was spacious and a blessing on those rainy days. The staff was helpful and courteous. Hope to be back soon.
Apr 09, 2018
We were very pleased with the facilities and staff. Staff were very helpful and considerate. Facilities were clean and well kept. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and plan to return in the near future.
Apr 09, 2018
Great campground. Employees very helpful & friendly.
Apr 09, 2018
We stayed 6 nights while visiting the area and as this was our very first RV experience, we certainly picked a great location. The front office staff was MORE than helpful when we ran into issues. The grounds crew did everything possible to make our stay a great one, even lending us a few items we forgot. The overall site is well-maintained and clean. The area is nice and quiet.
Apr 09, 2018
Apr 09, 2018
Everyone was super friendly and helpful!
Apr 08, 2018
Such a nice campground on the river. Nice facilities. Wonderful, helpful staff! Playground is neat. Will definitely stay again in the future.
Apr 08, 2018
Apr 07, 2018
This was a very clean and well maintained campground. My family had a great visit! The only reason I'm giving this 4 stars instead of 5 is that the sites were a bit on the small side and I needed to enforce quiet hours with one of our neighbors rather than campground personnel.
Apr 07, 2018
Staff friendly/helpful except rude store staff. Appreciate efforts to get our parties campsites closer together! Bathrooms not maintained, no potty paper for men and no paper towels for women all of one day and the morning of the next before we left. River access needs scaping/cleaning..dirty diapers, bags of trash, and trashcan stinch was terrible. Loved BB courts/playground! Nice place to ride
Apr 07, 2018
This KOA campsite was our first time camping and we had a fabulous time. The staff were fantastic & very kind. The location of the campsite we had was perfect near the river .... view was outstanding. My family & I will definitely will return at this KOA. To the staff, THANK YOU so much for great to us. �
Apr 05, 2018
Great location before the smoky mountains entrance. Really nice kids playground area. We stayed along the riverfront. Very pleasant. Great patios. A little pricey. For what you pay, it would be nice if they would have main paved roads so you could ride bikes.
Apr 05, 2018
Wonderful. The upgrades are amazing. It is a beautiful campground
Apr 03, 2018
Apr 03, 2018
Your campground was beautiful. Our site was very nice. The bathroom was cold in the morning. People in the office very nice. My only real complaint was the only news station on cable was Fox. That was very disturbing to us as we never never never watch FOX news!
Apr 03, 2018
Beautiful place, clean, quiet Until the party campers moved in on Friday and played loud music loud laughing from Late morning until app 10 pm and put something like lighter fluid on the fire that blew toward us and we had to retreat inside. But First night was great!
Apr 03, 2018
Fantastic as usual. Can’t get much better than this.
Apr 03, 2018
great place to stay. friendly amazing helpful staff. they show you to your spot and help you get parked.
Apr 02, 2018
Wonderful place for kids to play magnificent river sites with patios. My kids had the best spring break week at the campground
Apr 02, 2018
Love everything about this Koa # 83 was the BEST !!! Really enjoyed Adam � Great place !!!!�
Apr 02, 2018
Family friendly, clean and nestled in a lovely community. We will definitely be back!
Apr 02, 2018
Everyone was so fabulous! We loved the campground
Mar 31, 2018
Our vacation was GREAT as always. Nice to see all the improvements done since last spring. Especially enjoyed the new swing at our camsite (30). Awesome staff as usual. Hopefully will be back in February!
Mar 30, 2018
The camp ground is very nice! It’s one of our favorites and we will definitely be returning. The staff is friendly, the sites are clean and the bathrooms are clean.
Mar 30, 2018
Staff was very friendly. Place was very clean. Enjoyed our stay.
Mar 29, 2018
First time using a KOA. Townsend KOA is a beautiful and quite campsite with exceptional, helpful and friendly staff. Highlights for myself included waterfront areas and finding Pileated Woodpeckers on site to photograph. Easy access to bike trails , Cades Cove and hiking trails. Great place!
Mar 29, 2018
This was our first stay here and we will definitely be back! Super friendly staff. Very clean facilities!
Mar 28, 2018
Everyone was very helpful and nice. We really enjoyed our stay. Except for the weather and you can't control that. haha
Mar 25, 2018
Very nice campground and extremely friendly staff. My only complaint is the closeness of the different sites. There is not a lot of room between each campsite.
Mar 21, 2018
Mar 19, 2018
The staff were so kind, polite and helpful. The grounds are well kept and beautiful. We will be back many times.
Mar 19, 2018
My family had a great time , weather was perfect
Mar 19, 2018
Only stayed for a night to get familiar with our new camper. Could not have been more pleased with the staff and park. Will definatly visit again.
Mar 19, 2018
Excellent grounds staff!! Nice and clean.
Mar 19, 2018
Very pleased! Location is perfect to stay out of a lot of traffic and be in Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge, Maggie Valley or Knoxville in just a few minutes. Staff bent over backward to help us set up. Reservations were the easiest I have ever made. Can't say enough about pleasantness and accommodations of the camp ground. Pleasantly surprised about the WiFi and cable connections. I definitely be back.
Mar 19, 2018
Excellent facility. Clean with top notch service
Mar 18, 2018
Very nice place
Mar 17, 2018
Mar 17, 2018
Wonderful, friendly staff. Clean, attractive campground. Kids loved the playground, and dog park was great for the pups!
Mar 16, 2018
Only one thing to improve, and it is simple. Turn up the hot water temp for the showers. Just 10 degrees would make a world of difference.
Mar 16, 2018
Continue to make improvements and continue to love this place!
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award