Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Sep 10, 2017
Very nice will be back
Sep 10, 2017
All of the staff was super friendly and the grounds were very well kept. We were waiting to check in and a couple was checking in ahead of us as they were there from Florida and would be staying until they could go back home and the sweet lady that was checking them in was so helpful to them and giving kind words. Little river was beautiful and clean along with the cabin. Thank you so much.
Sep 10, 2017
Wonderful place to stay! The staff was so friendly and the location peaceful and very well-kept. The cabin was just the basics, but all we needed for our stay.
Sep 10, 2017
Very clean. Wonderful stay. just needs a little bigger parking spot. Would recommend and will go again. Thank you.
Sep 09, 2017
Very clean Great customer service.
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
This was our 2nd time to stay at this campground. Both times we have rented a cabin. This campground is very clean and all the staff is super nice.
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 02, 2017
The cabins are nice but we spent 3 nights in 2 very small cabins and spent 1200.00. That is a lot of money to spend and not have a stove, washing machine, and other things. The showers were either very cold or very hot, we could not adjust the water temperature. Next time we will rent a larger cabin that has a full kitchen with a stove. Having children along makes it necessary to wash clothes .
Sep 01, 2017
Wonderful Staff, campground is very clean and well kept. Our kids love to come back, great playground and lots of activities, i.e. hey ride is the end of day highlight. We've been coming here for years and enjoy the continued improvement and up keep , so needless to say we book again soon !!
Aug 31, 2017
Aug 30, 2017
Our stay was fine. The air mattress on the couch doesn't work. Otherwise, we will be back
Aug 29, 2017
Delightful setting along the river, with easy access to tubes for an enjoyable, lazy afternoon, when not hiking in the surrounding mountains. Staff friendly (gave my dad several rides in the cart from his cabin to our RV site) and knowledgeable. Restrooms clean and inviting. Enjoyed the stay!
Aug 29, 2017
My wife and I were celebrating our 38th Wedding Anniversary, but couldn't get away for too long. We were able to book a cabin for just one night, which was perfect for our schedule. Enjoyed our visit at the Townsend very much. We may come back and tent camp next time, but really enjoyed the Deluxe Cabin Accommodations.
Aug 28, 2017
BED BUGS!!!!!
Aug 28, 2017
Wonderful place to stay! This was our 3rd time here and it been great every time.
Aug 26, 2017
Enjoyed the deluxe studio cabin, compact but very nice. GREAT access to GSMNP and the Little River, which is so beautiful. The people who run this particular camp are friendly and helpful. This place is perfect for families. All in all, a great stay. -- Chris and Tony
Aug 25, 2017
The place was great. We stayed for the solar eclipse and it was fully booked. The staff was helpful and friendly. Great time
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
The cabin was outstanding! Very clean, comfortable, and it felt like home.
Aug 23, 2017
The staff was very helpful. The facilities were clean. Our teenagers had a great time playing basketball, frisbee, swimming, rafting, etc. Will definitely be back.
Aug 22, 2017
Townsend KOA was awesome. Environment was clean. Ambience was great, riverfront cabin was the best.
Aug 22, 2017
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Adam was knowledgeable and went out of his way to provide information that was very useful. The desk staff who checked me in was very courteous and sweet. The only problem we encountered was a rude and short tempered lady at checkout. Have no idea of her name but she had dark hair and rings on every finger. She refused to give me a paper receipt.
Aug 22, 2017
Great place to take the grandkids for a fun time.
Aug 21, 2017
Nice clean facilities, helpful staff, great location... we have always enjoyed Townsend, Cade's Cove and the Smokes...
Aug 20, 2017
Aug 19, 2017
Had a great time. Stayed in cabin on the Little River. Fantastic. Cabin was great and much cleaner than most hotels.
Aug 15, 2017
Excellent location, great wi-fi throughout the campground. The kamping kabin was in very good shape and was very spacious. I would highly recommend this location.
Aug 14, 2017
As always, we had another great stay this year! This year made fifteen years at this campground. Nice to see familiar faces year after year, as well as meeting new ones. Mark you are running a great campground with great friendly employees! CC7 was a good location, looking forward to next year. See ya then!
Aug 14, 2017
We've been coming to KOA for several years,we always have a great time. The only thing I could say is the couch bed was trouble for both our cabins. One wouldn't stay blown up and the other one had a mattress that was really to thin. But overall a great place!
Aug 13, 2017
Best place around!
Aug 13, 2017
The staff was totally amazing. We were on our 1st night of honeymoon it was terrible down pour with a tent. They gave us a free upgrade to a cabin and had no idea who or why we were there. Thank you from upstate NY
Aug 11, 2017
We rented 2 deluxe cabins and a campsite. The cabins were very nice, but it was stretching it to advertise a 6 person cabin that only slept 4 comfortably. When the sofas were open you could not open the front doors or pass by to get to the rest of the cabin. There was kitchenware for 4 instead of 6 (plates,cups,etc.)The well-groomed grounds and amenities were wonderful. We enjoyed our stay.
Aug 09, 2017
I love this KOA. It's beautiful, family friendly, convenient for bike riding and a great atmosphere. The only small issue I had with our deluxe cabin stay were some supplies missing but the staff was quick to resolve. There was a pretty bad ant issue with the cabin which I didn't address directly with the staff since we were "camping" but I just tried to make sure open items were bagged tight.
Aug 09, 2017
When my family arrived we found our deluxe cabin more the week had hoped for and the staff was very helpful and the campground itself was very quite we have found our new tradition I do believe
Aug 09, 2017
We loved Townsend. Quiet compared to Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge yet close enough to drive over. The campground is very small/tight so parking was limited/tight because they use every amount of space for tents. Even had a tent in front of our yard, making parking harder. The bathrooms/showers were clean/nice. Cabin was clean. Beds were soft compared to others. Will stay again but in deluxe by river.
Aug 04, 2017
Impressed with how nice the cabin was. Staff is fantastic
Aug 03, 2017
Stay was nice, just over rude staff that treat you like a problem for years on end. We used to feel like family, now we feel unwelcome. Never going back!
Aug 02, 2017
We have stayed here 3 summers in a row. My kids absolutely love it. They are always sad when it is time to leave.
Aug 01, 2017
Great staff wonderful location with nicely appointed cabins
Jul 31, 2017
We had a wondeful family reunion. The activities at the KOA along with our planned activities had something for everyone to do no matter the age. I personally had themost fun at the Bingo for all ages.
Jul 30, 2017
Jul 28, 2017
The staff is super friendly. The place is very clean. The cabins are extremely nice. We had the best time. Enjoyed being right on the river. Definitely recommend!!!!
Jul 25, 2017
Awesome park Awesome facilities Awesome staff. What else can I say AWESOME. Paul Groves.
Jul 25, 2017
Beautiful campground. Very gracious staff. This is our second time staying and we've loved it both times.
Jul 25, 2017
Thank you for installing the new bathrooms and dish wash area by the pavilion. Beautiful addition to the campground. Been asking for you to remove the porta johns for years. Staff were very friendly and helpful as always. Will continue to return every year to our favorite campground in the Smokies!
Jul 25, 2017
Love this KOA. Been staying at this location for 28 years-since before it became a KOA. Beautiful location and well cared for property. Best spot on the planet.
Jul 24, 2017
Cabins are close together. Sites are close together to the point everything feels overcrowded. Cabins are overpriced.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award