Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 10, 2017
Wonderful place to stay! The staff was so friendly and the location peaceful and very well-kept. The cabin was just the basics, but all we needed for our stay.
Sep 10, 2017
Best campsite u can remember
Sep 10, 2017
Sep 10, 2017
Upon arriving Adam met us and even guided us easily into our spot. He has the nicest mist friendly personality. Made us feel welcome from the first moment.
Sep 10, 2017
Very clean. Wonderful stay. just needs a little bigger parking spot. Would recommend and will go again. Thank you.
Sep 09, 2017
Very clean Great customer service.
Sep 09, 2017
Please continue to emphasize that people clean up after their pets. Thx.
Sep 07, 2017
Sep 07, 2017
Our third visit here. Wonderful park. Terrific, friendly staff. Fantastic location. One mile from National Park. Townsend is great little town. Much less "touristy" than Gatlinburg or Pigeon Forge.
Sep 07, 2017
Our fourth long term stay. The staff is like family. The best KOA that we have stayed with. Awesome experience!
Sep 06, 2017
Our favorite campground. Very well kept, lots of things for children and families to do, and very friendly, helpful staff. Only one suggestion - please emphasize that all people that have pets to clean up after them. We have noticed about half do and the others do not. Also many children play in the grassy areas where people walk their dogs.
Sep 06, 2017
We stay here every year and is great. Staff very friendly and always helpful. Only downfall is seems they keep raising rates every year. Is very expensive to camp here.
Sep 06, 2017
Office staff very friendly! As was the guys that helped me "back in" my river-side lot and delivered the wood. Only an hour from my home so we will definitely stay here often.
Sep 06, 2017
A wonderful stay. Enjoyed the river view and swimming pool would like to stay again next summer. Thanks. For a great time. The Fasigs
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
This was our 2nd time to stay at this campground. Both times we have rented a cabin. This campground is very clean and all the staff is super nice.
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
It would be a five if the sites were not so very close together. The facilities were clean and the staff was very friendly
Sep 05, 2017
Great place. Great people. We love the Townsend KOA!!!
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
mostly okay. neighbors ran extension cord right through our camp, random children kept running through our site. showers were nice.
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 04, 2017
Sep 03, 2017
Sep 02, 2017
Sep 02, 2017
The cabins are nice but we spent 3 nights in 2 very small cabins and spent 1200.00. That is a lot of money to spend and not have a stove, washing machine, and other things. The showers were either very cold or very hot, we could not adjust the water temperature. Next time we will rent a larger cabin that has a full kitchen with a stove. Having children along makes it necessary to wash clothes .
Sep 02, 2017
Sep 01, 2017
Our grandsons thoroughly enjoyed their first camping experience at Townsend KOA! All workers were very friendly and most helpful! We will be back!
Sep 01, 2017
Wonderful Staff, campground is very clean and well kept. Our kids love to come back, great playground and lots of activities, i.e. hey ride is the end of day highlight. We've been coming here for years and enjoy the continued improvement and up keep , so needless to say we book again soon !!
Aug 31, 2017
LOVED our stay, very much. Your staff is very helpful and very present. I like that! If we have trouble with hook-up, etc., those guys are on the spot to help in any way they can. This was our 2nd time back. I booked 3 stays next year and cannot wait to get back. Thank you! Robin Luttrell, TN
Aug 31, 2017
Very clean, great place to stay, I would recommend to anyone.
Aug 31, 2017
Aug 31, 2017
Stayed here about 10 years ago and always wanted to come back. I love how quiet it is but yet still a short drive to activities. Facilities are always clean and you feel very welcomed.
Aug 30, 2017
Great campground but internet service is terrible. Everything else about campground was great. I would recommend this campground to everyone, just don't expect much for internet service.
Aug 30, 2017
Our stay was fine. The air mattress on the couch doesn't work. Otherwise, we will be back
Aug 30, 2017
We had a delightful stay at the KOA/Great Smokies campground. Jeff and Shortie (staff) were a tremendous help to us and every staff member in which we came in contact was courteous and helpful. Our lot was beautiful and the grounds were well manicured. It was most relaxing for us! Thank you, KOA/Great Smokies, TN
Aug 29, 2017
The campground is beautiful and the staff are awesome!
Aug 29, 2017
Very enjoyable. Lots of fun activities for kids and adults. Clean well kept restrooms and showers.
Aug 29, 2017
We came in for 4 days and extended for 7. Beautiful park, extremely friendly staff, clean level pads, well groomed landscaping, clean bathhouse, quick accessibility to SMNP. Only complaint is the WiFi is just about useless. Good wifi is essential since there is virtually no cell coverage that close to the national park.
Aug 29, 2017
Delightful setting along the river, with easy access to tubes for an enjoyable, lazy afternoon, when not hiking in the surrounding mountains. Staff friendly (gave my dad several rides in the cart from his cabin to our RV site) and knowledgeable. Restrooms clean and inviting. Enjoyed the stay!
Aug 29, 2017
My wife and I were celebrating our 38th Wedding Anniversary, but couldn't get away for too long. We were able to book a cabin for just one night, which was perfect for our schedule. Enjoyed our visit at the Townsend very much. We may come back and tent camp next time, but really enjoyed the Deluxe Cabin Accommodations.
Aug 28, 2017
This was our third summer visit and we have already reserved our spot for next summer
Aug 28, 2017
One of the best KOAs we have stayed at, very beautiful and clean. One of the most unfriendly group of staff that we have ever come across at any RV Park. Everyone appeared to be very stressed. At other KOAs and RV Parks staff always say hello or wave, not so much here. However, the camp ground is wonderful - one of our favs!
Aug 28, 2017
My wife and I had a great time there in August, it was very busy because of the eclipse which was FABULOUS!! Even though the camp was very full there was always plenty of hot water, the restrooms and showers were very clean. The staff was always kind, helpful and friendly.On Sunday morning there was a church service at the pavillion which we enjoyed very much. We're coming back in the fall, C-YALL
Aug 28, 2017
Great campground! Loved the ability to do tubing right from the campground. Beautiful campsite! Lots of trees and shade. Pool was refreshing, store was well stocked, workers were helpful and friendly. Arrived at the campground after the office closed and there was still someone available to bring us to our site. We will be back and definitely would recommend this KOA.
Aug 28, 2017
Friendly staff, welcoming atmosphere, and a quiet location right on the creek. The whole family had a blast!
Aug 28, 2017
So very relaxing. Sites are a tad close to each other, but not enough for a decreased rating. Grounds, facilities were all very clean and neat in appearance. Lots of activities on site.
Aug 28, 2017
BED BUGS!!!!!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award