Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email This Campground

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 21, 2018
This was our first time at a KOA and we loved it!! We will definitely be back
Aug 21, 2018
Aug 21, 2018
Aug 21, 2018
Aug 20, 2018
This is our favorite campground. We always enjoy our time. The staff is always great. Love bingo.
Aug 20, 2018
Aug 20, 2018
Patio sites were very nice. The lady who checked us was very nice. Sam( i think) helped us back up perfectly and you always saw him with a smile.
Aug 20, 2018
We had a great time! The entire campground is meticulously kept...including the bathrooms. The entire staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Kids loved the playground and playing in the river. Loved the little dog park area too for our dogs to run around. We will definitely be back to camp there again!
Aug 20, 2018
Great place. Convenient to all the stuff of The Smokies. Very nice pool, clean facilities, neat grounds. Well laid out campground. A few sites are a bit close but manageable. We really enjoy this campground!! It is among our favorites!
Aug 20, 2018
We stay at this KOA at least once every year. In my opinion it's the best campground we've ever stayed in. It's always clean and well maintained, and the staff is always friendly. I love the fact that someone always helps my husband back into our camp space - lets me off the hook!
Aug 20, 2018
Everybody was very courteous and friendly. The campground was clean and well kept.Good times.
Aug 20, 2018
We love our camping trips there!
Aug 20, 2018
We love this campground. Definitely the peaceful side of the Smokies!
Aug 20, 2018
Everything was clean and as expected. Enjoyed the activities!
Aug 20, 2018
My wife and I had a great time with our grandson for a 4 day stay. There are so many activities in the camp ground and many we didn't have to travel very far to enjoy. We had a special cruise around Cade's Cove which is only a short drive away and saw many different types on animals. My grandson loved the bear in the cherry tree eating away! The cabin and restrooms were clean and well maintained.
Aug 20, 2018
Rained all weekend was told one thing then it was not true no amenities on site for a family more or less have to go off site to do anything at all.
Aug 20, 2018
AWESOME. Beauty / relaxing..Love the river and available restaurant / store.....GREAT Place !
Aug 20, 2018
We loved the Campground, very clean definitely coming back. The only thing no really good was the internet service for the people that are business owner it is important to have internet signal.
Aug 20, 2018
Aug 20, 2018
Aug 20, 2018
It was a great stay. Would definitely recommend it to campers.
Aug 20, 2018
I gave you a four because I had a site (70) at which the electrical circuit breaker was defective. After it was repaired we had a very enjoyable stay.
Aug 20, 2018
Aug 19, 2018
We’ve stayed at many KOAs and this is by far the most beautiful KOA of them all! The staff is very accommodating and so nice. The park is immaculate. The river that runs behind the campground is great for tubing and trout fishing. We will definitely stay here again
Aug 19, 2018
Great place, very friendly staff, we stayed on the river. Made reservations for next year before we left.
Aug 19, 2018
Loved campground and loved both my sites on river. Have been here before and will come again.
Aug 19, 2018
A very quiet and peaceful campground, All of the staff very friendly and offers help. We stayed in the handicap camping lots of room and clean. We had everything we needed.
Aug 19, 2018
Amazing stay!!! All staff was friendly and always greeted you. The campground was peaceful and relaxing.
Aug 19, 2018
Absolutely PERFECT! They were so nice and friendly, the grounds were super nice and clean. We had a site on the river and it was by far the coolest site we have stayed in. My 4 and 8 year old loved very second of our stay.
Aug 18, 2018
We have stayed here many times over the years. It’s a lovely campground. They continue to improve it every year! It’s close to National Park which makes it a must stay destination! We have already booked for next year.
Aug 18, 2018
This was the nicest camp site we have ever had at a KOA. We really enjoyed our time there and hope to be back.
Aug 18, 2018
Aug 17, 2018
Aug 16, 2018
Pros : Smokey Mountian KOA is always a great time. The staff is top notch especially tha girls in the office and Adam with a smile always on his face and eager to help everyone. Cons: WiFi is usually challenging and customers cannot be put on a waiting list for cancellations anymore since changing to a new system. The Lewis Family has been coming for over 20 yrs. and we camp nowhere else.
Aug 16, 2018
We had a wonderful time. It was very clean and the staff was very helpful and nice
Aug 16, 2018
Had a great stay. Staff was helpfull and very kind. Restrooms were very clean.
Aug 16, 2018
very helpful all around our needs
Aug 16, 2018
Aug 16, 2018
Loved our stay. Kids had alot of fun. The cabin was perfect.Friendly staff. We will be back again.Thank you.
Aug 15, 2018
Fantastic ad always!!
Aug 15, 2018
We loved everything about this KOA. It was clean, nice and well kept. The only issue we had was that we were in a deluxe cabin and we couldn't rely on a warm shower, mostly the water in the shower was cold.
Aug 15, 2018
Large campground with plenty of room. Only negative was volume of traffic that we encountered on our road, which was a dead end street. Too many people traveled to our cabin only to have to turn around, which took away from our otherwise peaceful location. Maybe installing a sign informing of the dead end?
Aug 15, 2018
THE CABIN WAS VERY CLEAN SO WAS THE CAMPGROUND ITSELF. VERY FAMILY ORIENTED AND THE STAFF WAS AMAZING. CAN'T WAIT FOR THE NEXT STAY
Aug 15, 2018
My wife was injured while tubing and when i asked for help,no one wanted to help or acted like they were concerned to help, will not camp there again,very disappointed.
Aug 15, 2018
My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in August camped with our 2 dogs did some hiking and relaxing at our camping site by the river. We plan to come back soon. Very Quiet at night!!
Aug 14, 2018
Great campground and great location.
Aug 14, 2018
Great Time! Very Friendly. Nicely kept facility.
Aug 14, 2018
Our stay was great!! We were a little surprised at the amount of guests walking around with open containers. We just feel like if they want to drink that is fine just wish they were in unmarked containers ecspecially with the amount of children wandering around.
Aug 14, 2018
RV site was way too small. Our awning was less than 5 ft from our neighbor's RV. Otherwise, scenic, wooded park on the river. Lots of amenities.
Aug 14, 2018
The trip was way better then I anticipated it to be. Originally booked it as just a quiet get away wasn’t too sure what to do in the area. But as soon as I checked it the staff at the reception help us out right away and we had the weekend of our lives
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award