Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 30, 2017
We had a delightful stay at the KOA/Great Smokies campground. Jeff and Shortie (staff) were a tremendous help to us and every staff member in which we came in contact was courteous and helpful. Our lot was beautiful and the grounds were well manicured. It was most relaxing for us! Thank you, KOA/Great Smokies, TN
Aug 29, 2017
The campground is beautiful and the staff are awesome!
Aug 29, 2017
Very enjoyable. Lots of fun activities for kids and adults. Clean well kept restrooms and showers.
Aug 29, 2017
We came in for 4 days and extended for 7. Beautiful park, extremely friendly staff, clean level pads, well groomed landscaping, clean bathhouse, quick accessibility to SMNP. Only complaint is the WiFi is just about useless. Good wifi is essential since there is virtually no cell coverage that close to the national park.
Aug 29, 2017
Delightful setting along the river, with easy access to tubes for an enjoyable, lazy afternoon, when not hiking in the surrounding mountains. Staff friendly (gave my dad several rides in the cart from his cabin to our RV site) and knowledgeable. Restrooms clean and inviting. Enjoyed the stay!
Aug 29, 2017
My wife and I were celebrating our 38th Wedding Anniversary, but couldn't get away for too long. We were able to book a cabin for just one night, which was perfect for our schedule. Enjoyed our visit at the Townsend very much. We may come back and tent camp next time, but really enjoyed the Deluxe Cabin Accommodations.
Aug 28, 2017
This was our third summer visit and we have already reserved our spot for next summer
Aug 28, 2017
One of the best KOAs we have stayed at, very beautiful and clean. One of the most unfriendly group of staff that we have ever come across at any RV Park. Everyone appeared to be very stressed. At other KOAs and RV Parks staff always say hello or wave, not so much here. However, the camp ground is wonderful - one of our favs!
Aug 28, 2017
My wife and I had a great time there in August, it was very busy because of the eclipse which was FABULOUS!! Even though the camp was very full there was always plenty of hot water, the restrooms and showers were very clean. The staff was always kind, helpful and friendly.On Sunday morning there was a church service at the pavillion which we enjoyed very much. We're coming back in the fall, C-YALL
Aug 28, 2017
Great campground! Loved the ability to do tubing right from the campground. Beautiful campsite! Lots of trees and shade. Pool was refreshing, store was well stocked, workers were helpful and friendly. Arrived at the campground after the office closed and there was still someone available to bring us to our site. We will be back and definitely would recommend this KOA.
Aug 28, 2017
Friendly staff, welcoming atmosphere, and a quiet location right on the creek. The whole family had a blast!
Aug 28, 2017
So very relaxing. Sites are a tad close to each other, but not enough for a decreased rating. Grounds, facilities were all very clean and neat in appearance. Lots of activities on site.
Aug 28, 2017
BED BUGS!!!!!
Aug 28, 2017
Great place to stay! Friendly staff! Clean bathrooms and showers!
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
We had 2 great spots! Bath and showers were awesome. Would love to stay again, next time for the whole weekend.
Aug 28, 2017
Wonderful place to stay! This was our 3rd time here and it been great every time.
Aug 28, 2017
The campground is beautiful and the staff is extremely nice and helpful. We will definitely be back.
Aug 28, 2017
Beautiful grounds, great location, friendly and helpful staff.
Aug 27, 2017
Great place we'll be back
Aug 27, 2017
Our cat escaped the first day while unhooking the towed vehicle the staff and management at KOA Townsend were very helpful. We had to extend our stay to look for the cat and had no problem extending the stay. All the time we were there the staff were constantly on the lookout for the cat and passed the information to all the campers. They found the cat on the first day of our extension. Thanks all
Aug 27, 2017
Aug 27, 2017
We had a spot on the river. Simply gorgeous! The spots not on the river were really nice with spacious patios, wrought iron table in chairs and fire pits. We gave up those amenities to be on the water. We had a picnic table, gravel and an iron ring for fire, but the view was worth it not only for the view but to play. There was a pool and a playground though no scheduled activities for kids.
Aug 27, 2017
All the staff at Townsend KOA are pleasant and helpful, the site is neat and clean you could not ask for a better campground. This was the extension of our original stay to find our lost cat, the staff was very helpful and found our cat on the first day of our extension.
Aug 26, 2017
Aug 26, 2017
We were there for the eclipse. Our second visit here from Ohio this year. Beautiful clean campground. Nicely laid out sites. Shower house spotless. Beautiful river. Super close to GSMNP. Quiet, mature trees. Our new favorite campground.
Aug 26, 2017
Enjoyed the deluxe studio cabin, compact but very nice. GREAT access to GSMNP and the Little River, which is so beautiful. The people who run this particular camp are friendly and helpful. This place is perfect for families. All in all, a great stay. -- Chris and Tony
Aug 26, 2017
Aug 25, 2017
KOA people were great, also the nicest, and cleanest KOA we"d been to, (been to about a dozen) However made reservations 10/16 for the Eclipse in 8/17 and still payed $100+ a night, also, you had to buy their firewood at $8 for a small bundle(15-20 mins worth) bathrooms only had 2 stalls, and like the showers, had inadequate ventilation, be glad to stay again but not at that price
Aug 25, 2017
The place was great. We stayed for the solar eclipse and it was fully booked. The staff was helpful and friendly. Great time
Aug 25, 2017
Aug 25, 2017
Great people, great sites, great facilities and a total eclipse to boot. Bravoð
Aug 25, 2017
This is an absolutely GORGEOUS camp ground with a wonderful location. We camped our tents and had a site right next to the river. The site however was on gravel and we could not get our tent steaks in the ground. Walked right up to the store and bought some gallons of water to hold it down, but still an inconvenience..but overall had a wonderful experience!
Aug 25, 2017
Awesome site and great staff. Perfect place to watch the eclipse
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
Great campground in a beautiful mountain setting. Our family spent five nights here for the total eclipse and had a great time! Tubing was great and pool was awesome! Very friendly and helpful staff, real nice people. Would definitely return if ever in that area again! 5 stars!!!
Aug 24, 2017
Best campground in Townsend! Friendly, accommodating staff, beautifully kept grounds and sites, awesome pool and playground, and great location to activities. Can't wait to go back!
Aug 24, 2017
We'll kept facilities and although it was a busy time with the weekend and the eclipse there were no issues... Friendly staff...
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
Wonderful :)
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
We had a great time. Loved our spot & the sweet patio area. It was clean and good sized. The river was a bonus. The only thing that upset me (and this isn't the KOA's fault) was too many pet owners did not have their dogs on a leash. A bulldog actually ran out from its site and attacked my leashed mini labradoodle as we were out for a walk. She is fine, but we were very upset to say the least.
Aug 23, 2017
Fantastic stay - loved the cabin right on the river and the easy access for tubing.
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
Friendly staff and a beautiful setting with lots to do! Renovations are beautiful, they really keep on top of it and it has a resort feel. Highly recommend! :)
Aug 23, 2017
The cabin was outstanding! Very clean, comfortable, and it felt like home.
Aug 23, 2017
The staff was very helpful. The facilities were clean. Our teenagers had a great time playing basketball, frisbee, swimming, rafting, etc. Will definitely be back.
Aug 23, 2017
Beautiful campground along the entrance to the Smoky Mountains. Great staff, and well maintained.
Aug 23, 2017
Stayed four nights and had a great time. Campground well taken care of. Friendly staff very helpful. My only complaint: The WiFi is terrible. It's a blessing to be able to travel and work online. When a campground says it offers internet, it should be dependable.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award