Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 13, 2017
Absolutely love this campground. It's very scenic and relaxing, very well kept and very friendly people work there. I hope to go back
Oct 13, 2017
Oct 13, 2017
Absolutely spectacular! A huge KOA on a quiet street. Lovely sites. Impeccable facilities. Unless you live in brand new luxury apartment, these bathrooms are an upgrade. Wonderful staff and TONS of them keeping the place clean and taking care of us/you. Our best ever KOA. A bit more expensive than others but totally worth it! Book with confidence.
Oct 12, 2017
One of my most favorite places to stay. The people are always extremely nice and the campground is very well kept.
Oct 12, 2017
Nicest park weâve ever stayed at! Beautiful views & sites & the employees were very pleasant & helpful.
Oct 12, 2017
great location, super staff, but we were shoe-horned into a site that was just plain weird - trailers at all angles so absolutely no privacy. Glad we had nice singing neighbors!
Oct 12, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at the Townsend KOA although we were only at our campsite in the evenings as we were out seeing the sites. We had a site along the river and we enjoyed the peace and quiet we had sitting out, watching our fire and the water flowing along. The showers and bathrooms were great. We thought the sites were overpriced though for them and the road being gravel/chat and unpaved.
Oct 11, 2017
Oct 11, 2017
A very helpful staff, Nice and clean, and the sites nicley planned out
Oct 11, 2017
Thanks to "Shorty," your friendly host for all the help and tips. Very friendly and kind!
Oct 11, 2017
We had a family adventure with our 4 kids and 8 grandkids...We stayed in the camping cabins and it could not have been any better! Facilities were sparkling clean, staff was very courteous and helpful. We will be back!!
Oct 11, 2017
Many cons: entrance & exit a bit risky, sites extremely stacked atop each other - camp map not true layout: added sites squeezed in - high light pollution all night - no directional arrows/signs in some areas - roads extremely narrow, shared by walkers, unattended children on bikes and vehicles, people come from all directions; tough driving safely at any speed Pros: amenities, clean, ok staff
Oct 11, 2017
Restrooms and showers very clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. The lots are well maintained.
Oct 11, 2017
Oct 10, 2017
This was are fifth year staying at Townsend Koa and it just keeps getting better and better. This is such a great place for families and just for a great get away. It's so clean and the staff is very helpful and friendly. Thank you for another great year of camping.The Whites from Indiana
Oct 10, 2017
Oct 10, 2017
Our stay was great as always at The KOA in Townsend Tn. Been camping here for years even before it became a KOA campground, Hope to many more years, the good thing about it is they have made a lot of the sites better and have so much for your kids to do, makes it even greater. If you love camping you need to try this KOA ! ! !
Oct 10, 2017
Wonderful!! All interactions with staff enjoyable. All very friendly professional etc from front officer to all in campground area. Appreciated clean restrooms!! See you next time!!!!!
Oct 10, 2017
We thought the campground was fine but "WAY OVERPRICED".
Oct 10, 2017
Oct 10, 2017
Needed a few days for the grandkids to finish their fall break. they enjoyed the stay as much as we did. youngest caught his first rainbow trout and he now want to go back as soon as possible;
Oct 09, 2017
7 nights. It was great weather. Nice clean park.
Oct 09, 2017
Very friendly staff. Beautiful campground.
Oct 09, 2017
Our stay here was excellent. The river/creek along all the back sites was beautiful. Restrooms and showers look brand new, The staff was very friendly and welcoming, the only negative was our site and a few others were a little tight getting in and out of but doable. Good local restaurants and bike or walking trails outside the campground. We will definitely be back.
Oct 09, 2017
Really nice campground. The only negative I can think of it is very expensive. That is the only thing I can think of that would keep me from coming back. Helpful staff, nice facilities, and a great location.
Oct 09, 2017
Very clean. Great location.
Oct 09, 2017
Stayed in one of the small cabins and was perfect for a short getaway weekend! The staff is great and the restrooms/shower facilities are excellent!!! We will be back again!
Oct 09, 2017
Oct 09, 2017
Very nice campground. The staff was both very helpful and very friendly. This is my new favorite campground!
Oct 09, 2017
Wonderful time even in the rain on Sunday!!
Oct 09, 2017
Everything was clean and organized, we had a great time.
Oct 09, 2017
This stay was not as good as last month. Site behind us did not adhere to quiet times & were VERY loud with lights & music till after 11 when someone finally said something to them. They turned off the lights & music but continued to be loud till after midnight. As my children & I were walking to the bathroom the site beside it had a movie playing outside that my kids did NOT need to see.
Oct 09, 2017
One of the cleanest campsites I've stayed at. The bathrooms and showers are spotless and the staff was very friendly.
Oct 08, 2017
We wanted a great launch point to the National Park which you were. We enjoyed the wi-fi and cable tv. A return is likely.
Oct 08, 2017
Oct 08, 2017
Car door slams all though the night. Too pricy, and too strict with visitors parking.
Oct 08, 2017
tent camping with no hookups. Had a nice river site, just wish there wasn't so much hard rock in the particular site. Very quiet and the weather was perfect. All staff was very helpful and friendly as usual.
Oct 07, 2017
Love the improvements that have been made since we were here last fall. So glad to see the new restroom and dishwashing station. We love bringing our granddaughters here. They live the playground.
Oct 06, 2017
Oct 06, 2017
great !
Oct 06, 2017
Absolutely beautiful place to stay. Very clean and lots of personal working. Always seen someone cleaning or interacting with the guest. Will most definitely return. This was our first stay..Very peaceful...Thank you !
Oct 06, 2017
We enjoyed our stay, just felt it was very over priced.
Oct 06, 2017
Oct 05, 2017
Excellent staff. Very clean facilities. Really pleasant trip!
Oct 05, 2017
Everything was convenient and the staff was friendly and helpful and the accomodations were nice and clean .
Oct 04, 2017
Had a fantastic time!! The rate increase is a bit disappointing, though. With so many of the surrounding campgrounds having lower rates, that may have a bearing on future decisions to stay at KOA. Still a great place to stay, and the staff is wonderful!
Oct 04, 2017
Outstanding staff and owners. Since finding this place we have not stayed at any other campground in the Townsend area. Very well maintained and equipped. Bathrooms could use a little extra care but that is by no means a deal breaker. Already made reservations for next year. Keep up the good work.
Oct 04, 2017
Helpful staff. Great location.
Oct 04, 2017
Great stay and great people to work with. We had the best lot #77 and I will be coming back for more stays. Thanks
Oct 04, 2017
Very nice. Checked in after hours. The staff brought a bundle of firewood to my sight to make sure I had a great night, which I did.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award