Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email This Campground

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 17, 2018
It was GREAT
Sep 17, 2018
We thought it was a great place except the spots were too close and it was a little more expensive than some full service facilities we have visited.
Sep 17, 2018
Sep 17, 2018
Sep 17, 2018
Very friendly staff! Bathrooms are very clean. Playground was large and clean. When we come back, we plan to stay here again.
Sep 17, 2018
The best KOA in Tn! We love staying here and the place is clean.
Sep 16, 2018
Campground was EXCELLENT! ! Very clean and well maintained!!!!!! Staff was AWESOME!!! Very friendly and helpful!!!! Plan on returning in the spring!!!!
Sep 16, 2018
Awesome location Can't wait to go back
Sep 16, 2018
Sep 16, 2018
It was great and ya'll had done a lots of great work since our last stay. Sincerely, George
Sep 16, 2018
Sep 15, 2018
Love this campground. Close to GSM NP, in a small town has everything you need, but close enough to the big towns for an evening out or other activities. The newly upgraded/updated river sites are awesome. There's always a friendly staff member around when you have a question or need a helping hand. Bath houses are clean and modern. We're looking forward to coming back next year!
Sep 15, 2018
Sep 15, 2018
The facilities were nice and grounds well maintained. The campground layout was very nice and our cabin by the river was beautiful. I would say the cabin could use some tlc. I will write direct to point out what i saw.
Sep 15, 2018
Beautiful setting right on the river bank. Sound of gentle rapids lulled us to sleep, along with the crickets and the breeze in the trees. Truly idyllic.
Sep 14, 2018
Stayed 2 nights. We cut our stay short as Florence inland track would bring bad weather at home and we wanted to prepare. The campground is very nice, well maintained and friendly and helpful staff. We will return for sure. They were generous to refund our 3rd nite stay because of the storm. I was impressed!
Sep 14, 2018
We had a wonderful time staying in our deluxe cabin at KOA. Everything we needed for camping in style plus more. We’ll definitely be back. Thank you so much to the office staff as well. They were awesome! Mike and Alicia
Sep 14, 2018
Staff very friendly and accommodating. Only complaint is that the rustic cabins are very musty smelling.
Sep 13, 2018
Perfect. Close to everything.
Sep 12, 2018
Sep 12, 2018
Sep 12, 2018
This was the 3rd time my daughter and I stayed at this KOA. We LOVE it. The cabins are nice and clean and the people are friendly and helpful. Of course, the location is amazing! Thank you for another beautiful stay at KOA!
Sep 12, 2018
Loved the cleanliness and friendly staff.
Sep 12, 2018
This was our first time staying at a KOA. We had a great time. The facilities were extremely well maintained and the staff was very welcoming and friendly. We will definitely be back.
Sep 12, 2018
Our site was beautiful. We had great help getting into our site. Everyone was friendly.
Sep 12, 2018
Very nice as always. The facilities are top notch. Personnel were friendly and helpful. The only drawback was the volume of the leaf blowers being used on sites nearby in preparation for new arrivals.
Sep 12, 2018
The staff is VERY friendly and the facilities are VERY clean!
Sep 11, 2018
The people that worked there were very helpful and nice.
Sep 11, 2018
Shady quiet, peacful!!!!
Sep 11, 2018
This year we traveled to Seattle and back using KOA campsites. Based on the various experiences, this campground is the best one we visited. The upgrades done over last year are beautiful. The staff are so friendly. I am truly impressed with their interest in our having the best camping experience we can have during our stay.
Sep 11, 2018
We were pampered by very friendly staff and our cabin was comfortable. We will return next year for the next GSMNP Vacation Race.
Sep 11, 2018
We have come to this location two years in a row now and love the atmosphere, team that works there and the location. It is close to the national park and great recreational activities. The facilities are syper clean, there is a gas station and general store for the items that you forgot. The picnic, pool area and dog park are a great bonus. Book here for a great stay!!
Sep 11, 2018
Great place to stay. Good service and convenient to the national park.
Sep 10, 2018
grate
Sep 10, 2018
Drove in for a 5k on Friday and a Half Marathon on Saturday, the staff was amazing, the campground was perfect. Showers and Bathrooms are clean with lots of hot water. I definitely will stay again.
Sep 10, 2018
Quite and peaceful on the river. If staying in the area again, this will be my first choice!
Sep 10, 2018
We loved it. The campground is very well maintained. They (Adam) assisted us parking the camper which was very helpful and so cheerful. We will be back.
Sep 10, 2018
It’s a great campground and seems well run. I would suggest some back up alarms on your maintenance equipment. Those are simple and reliable and would protect the guests and folks working around the equipment.
Sep 10, 2018
It was good and quite thank you..
Sep 10, 2018
One of the nicest campgrounds we’ve ever stayed at, with an extremely friendly staff. We will definitely stay there again.
Sep 10, 2018
Had a great time the staff was very helpful
Sep 10, 2018
The guys helping us back in were amazing! The sites were super close together though, making the use of a fire pit almost dangerous to other people’s rigs. Other than that we love the place and if we ever come back that way we’ll give a call and try to get a spot.
Sep 10, 2018
My tent site was verrry close to one that had 7 kids and 4 adults. The adults set their tent up partially on our site and allowed the kids to scream and play tag on our campsite while the adults were loudly yelling trying to control them while we slept.There either needs to be more room between campsites or fewer people allowed per site. The front desk was only able to move us with an upgrade fee.
Sep 09, 2018
Campground clean; staff friendly and helpful. Bathrooms and showers well kept. Stayed there first week in September, 2018 in a tent camper.
Sep 08, 2018
Townsend KOA is becoming our new go-to when we need to just relax in a quiet little corner of the Smokies. The campgrounds just blend right into the forest. There are plenty of activities- but there is nothing like the end the day by the fire!
Sep 07, 2018
Beautiful, well maintained campsites. Very nice showers. Very friendly people. Conveniently located.
Sep 07, 2018
The new patios at the sites are AWSOME! Great job! We'll be back next year!
Sep 07, 2018
Beautiful park with extremely friendly, helpful staff!
Sep 06, 2018
Everything was clean and great experience. Prices are in higher end ....compared to other KOA sites
Sep 06, 2018
It was awesome!! Staff were very friendly! A great family campground!!!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award