Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 30, 2017
Great time and awesome facilities!
Oct 30, 2017
As usual, first class - thanks!
Oct 29, 2017
We cannot ask for better accommodations than what we receive at the Townsend KOA! Absolutely the best staff we've ever had the pleasure of knowing!
Oct 29, 2017
Great staff, very clean & quiet campground.
Oct 28, 2017
Very enjoyable!
Oct 28, 2017
Very peaceful, very beautiful. Will come again.
Oct 28, 2017
Loved the wooded sites with concrete patio. Staff very helpful.
Oct 28, 2017
Staff friendly and helpful, campground clean. "Deluxe" cabin cramped, terrible mattresses and bunk bed room questionable for safe fire exit. We have stayed in about every variation of KOA camping cabin and this one disappoints. Ok for 2 people, but needs new bed frame, mattress and linens for sure.
Oct 28, 2017
We will return..thank you
Oct 27, 2017
This was a wonderful trip. It was the first vacation of this type for my mother. She had an absolutely grand time. She and I can't wait to visit again. Thanks to the wonderful staff
Oct 27, 2017
Beautiful place on God's earth. Had a wonderful time.
Oct 26, 2017
Nice campground,sites are closer together than I Iike but I can live with it.Hosts are really good people.proximity to Cadeâs Cove is main reason we stay here.I will return next year,Steve.
Oct 25, 2017
Oct 25, 2017
Everything was very clean. The staff was excellent and very friendly. Only suggestion would be to include cooking grills at all the campsites. We had a fire ring but no way to grill our food. Some of the campsites had grills.
Oct 25, 2017
Neat place near the park. Tight parking but the staff escorts you to your spot or cabin.
Oct 25, 2017
Oct 25, 2017
Oct 25, 2017
I liked that the staff smiled all the time:-)
Oct 25, 2017
We had a wonderfully relaxing, peaceful time. We liked it so much we stayed an extra day. Very clean, family oriented, friendly staff. Will definitely stay again.
Oct 24, 2017
Exceptional stay - as always. From the ladies at the front desk to the guys maintaining the campground to Mark and the management team, this KOA is top notch. Thanks for another great visit!
Oct 24, 2017
Marshall helped me to fix my hydraulic system. He went far be on what you would expect, he said us time and money! Thanks so much!
Oct 24, 2017
Great as always. Appreciate the new restrooms and dishwashing area next to the pavillion.
Oct 24, 2017
Clean grounds. Roomy sites. Great staff.
Oct 24, 2017
We had a wonderful time. The office staff was very friendly and the working staff went out of their way to make our campsite clean and also helped us back in the right position on our site. We camped by the river, it was awesome!
Oct 24, 2017
We love camping here!! Only place we go! Faculties are kept nice and clean. Staff super friendly!
Oct 24, 2017
I came to hike for the weekend. I felt safe. The campground is beautiful, well maintained, clean bathrooms, hot showers... perfect!
Oct 24, 2017
The campsites are pretty tight, but the overall experience was very enjoyable. The campgrounds are very well kept and staff resources were readily available to assist with any need. I must say that firewood at $8 a bundle is a bit of a rip off and feels like you're taking advantage of your customers.
Oct 24, 2017
A bit on the expensive side for the size of the cabin but nice and staff was very good
Oct 24, 2017
Great stay, very clean. Refridgerator, A/C, heater and TV in cabin. Very little cell service in the area but internet was provided.
Oct 23, 2017
always great absolute best staff
Oct 23, 2017
Decent campground. Prices are way too high for this campground though.
Oct 23, 2017
This is a yearly event for us to stay at this KOA in Townsend. We have been going there for the last 3 years and have never been disappointed. We love the location, close to the cove but still close enough for the tourist area. The staff is always so helpful and friendly. The facilities is very clean and organized.
Oct 23, 2017
We enjoyed the stay. The sites with the decks behind them were nice; however they were quite close and hard to park so we would not choose those again especially at the cost per night!!!!!!!!! You could actually hear conversations of campers inside their campers- that is too close. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and we will likely return but would not choose the deck sites again.
Oct 23, 2017
This was our first stay at a KOA campground. We so appreciated the employees who helped us navigate into our spot and were always available and visible to answer questions. The facilities are very nice. My only complaint is that the spots are too close together and there is very little privacy. Maybe this is typical for KOA, but I prefer state and federal parks that give me a little more room!
Oct 23, 2017
The campground was clean, nice amenities, and easy to move around in. Wonderful stay!
Oct 23, 2017
Oct 23, 2017
Great stay. Helpful people. Small site.
Oct 23, 2017
This is our third stay at the Townsend KOA. Every time we go we have a wonderful time. The staff is friendly and helpful, the campsites are level, and the campground has plenty to do for the kids.
Oct 23, 2017
We loved the Smokies! KOA access off the Hwy. was short and difficult to maneuver. The camp store was very expensive and we felt we were taken advantage of.
Oct 23, 2017
We have stayed at this campground for years, on and off. It is a great campground for kids. Pool, river for tubing and lots of kids activities. I would say we have been there 15 times. Every time we go there has been more improvements made. Sites are fairly close together as they are in most commercial campgrounds. Close to Cade's Cove and the loop. It is a great spot in a quiet part of mountains.
Oct 23, 2017
Very clean and so friendly !!! Loved it!!
Oct 23, 2017
Stayed in travel trailer for 3 days. Very nice staff and very helpful and friendly. Have already booked another stay.
Oct 23, 2017
Park personnel were especially friendly and helpful. The sites were clean and well kept. We are planning on coming back soon.
Oct 23, 2017
First time camping with our new rv camper. Camped on the river sight 78 being a newby did not know what to expect all I can say is awesome!From the moment we drove in what a great staff can't remember all the names but they ROCK!Looking forward too our next trip there in July.Thanks again
Oct 23, 2017
Very friendly staff. The gentleman who helped us back in the site was very helpful. Good to see folks take pride in keeping the campground very clean from one end to the other. Really enjoyed our late evening fires in the pit. You have a great facility and we hope to return soon. Thanks for all you do.
Oct 22, 2017
My wife, dogs & I just spent 4 days with you on a tent site. I can't think of a thing that could have made it better. The restrooms & showers were always clean and well maintained as were the grounds in general. You have a beautiful facility and a great staff.
Oct 22, 2017
Site and bathrooms were very nice! All staff were very friendly!
Oct 22, 2017
We loved this KOA! Our site backed up to the river and was so close to the national park. Our kids loved the playground! We were going to make it about 15 minutes after closing and the staff stayed to help us back in. We couldn't have done it without their help! Thanks for a great visit...we can't wait to come back!!
Oct 22, 2017
The staff was wonderful, cabins and bathrooms immaculate, campgrounds are gorgeous... Even my three teenagers were impressed and they're definitely not used to "camping" (we stayed in a no bathroom cabin.) They requested that we stay at this KOA again next year!
Oct 21, 2017
Loved the cabin !!!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award