Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email This Campground

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 07, 2018
Beautiful setting! We loved our cozy camping cabin.
Jun 07, 2018
We have so much fun at the Townsend KOA! It's clean and well-maintained. The staff is helpful and accommodating. The bathrooms are really nice. We like the BINGO and outdoor movie the campground does. We walked to Burger Master one day for lunch and went tubing with River Rats. It's a great way to spend a weekend.
Jun 06, 2018
Very relaxing place!!! My favorite campground!
Jun 06, 2018
We have stayed at the Townsend Koa for the past 8 years in a row and we love it. Most of the staff are very helpful and friendly but have a couple of run ins with a member of staff the past two years. We were instructed to pull in and get set up and then come back and register because it was busy. But within five minutes we had an older gray hair gentleman harassing us for parking passes.
Jun 06, 2018
It was simply beautiful and relaxing with everything in town just a walk down the path
Jun 05, 2018
We stayed in a camping cabin. It was all great although the mattress left a bit to be desired.
Jun 05, 2018
Perfect site, great playground, clean, and extremely friendly and helpful staff. I highly recommend staying here.
Jun 05, 2018
Very nice campground clean staff was very helpful and friendly
Jun 05, 2018
The staff were friendly, and wonderful in all ways. The campground was clean and well manicured. There were activities for families.
Jun 05, 2018
When we arrived the site was small and cramped for me. The workers were very helpful in getting us a larger site. Everyone is very friendly, the camp is clean and I love the dog park. Will be my continued campsite forever.
Jun 04, 2018
Love this campground! Enjoyed the upgrades to site 122. Already made reservations for next year.
Jun 04, 2018
Jun 04, 2018
Mike and lisa are awesome people to work with! We had a fluke chance on our plans getting a bit messed up with mixed reservations, but they were able to make the stay as accommodating as possible. We will definitely be back many more times.
Jun 03, 2018
We love staying at this camp ground. We have tent camped beside the river now for 28 years and went to make our reservation for next year on the site we normally get only to discover that our sites are being done away with to bring in cabin's. Not everyone can afford those cabin's or has a camper but enjoys being able to stay in a tent next to the river. After next year we may look some where els
Jun 03, 2018
The staff are some of the most helpful I’ve ever dealt with! The sites are always pristine and well cared for.
Jun 03, 2018
Really nice campground. We were not aware that a motorcycle rally was gping on in the area. We had loud motorcycles early in the morning and late at night. The group's would gather and party till 1AM. They were constantly walking through our camp site to join their group. Our sewer hose was flattened obviously by someone stepping on it. We will stay here again but will research the area events.
Jun 02, 2018
Bed mattress need to be upgraded in the deluxe cabins... noticed that cabin needed some repair on the outside by door area on due to weathering
Jun 02, 2018
Maybe a 11 if you power pressure wash the picnic tables.
Jun 01, 2018
Jun 01, 2018
Everything excellent except dirty sheets were found wadded up in the pull-out sofa when we opened it for the night. No one was in the office at that time and no phone number to call to get clean sheets exchanged for the dirty ones. Shouldn't there be someone on duty after hours?
Jun 01, 2018
Excellent kept grounds with very very friendly staff!! We had a great time.
May 31, 2018
We love Townsend KOA! It was the first place we stayed at when we got our camper in 2016. We have been back a few times and every time is great. This year we brought another family with us. It was their first time camping there. We want to bring our whole extended family one year for Thanksgiving.
May 30, 2018
Wash out! But that can't be helped. But rain and camping are never the best mix. Campground is beautiful but it is not cheap!
May 30, 2018
We had a great time. Tubing was a blast. Campground was clean and everyone very friendly.
May 30, 2018
In no way a primitive camp site. Sites are too close together with no authentic outdoor experience. Not for campers, but glampers.
May 30, 2018
Wonderful stay, very courteous and super helpful.
May 30, 2018
Loved the deluxe cabin. Great stay.
May 30, 2018
May 29, 2018
It was great !!!!!! It was the second time we have stayed there. All the new patio lots by the river look great !!!!!!!!!!. I will be back.
May 28, 2018
We had never been to Townsend, our son lives in Clinton and he suggested your place. We absolutely loved it and hope to be back there soon. Your entire KOA family was great, do not have one thing to complain about. Loved it, thank you?
May 28, 2018
As always, the park is beautiful, the sites well kept and the bathrooms A+
May 28, 2018
We enjoyed our stay very much! Very nice, neat and clean campground.
May 27, 2018
Very clean, great amenities and staff were very helpful and friendly.
May 26, 2018
Brand new sight 81 right by the water - perfect !!! Already reserved for next year.
May 26, 2018
First time at the Townsend KOA. Our stay was fantastic. The staff was wonderful. Adam did a super job getting us into our site. The sites were spacious and extremely clean. The bathhouse was amazing. We definitely will return. We're already booked our next stay. Can't wait! Thanks for a great vacation.
May 26, 2018
Well kept park in the beautiful location
May 26, 2018
May 25, 2018
Beautiful area and excellent Koa campground. We stayed in a cabin on the river which was ideal
May 24, 2018
Great staff. They were great help getting in and out of a tight camp site. First time i have had anyone help me pack that was actually helpful. Showers and bath rooms were very clean. I especially liked the design of the showers.
May 23, 2018
My only complaint this year is that we were not informed of a school field trip scheduled during our stay. We stayed in site 84A which packs up to the river and is next to the "Beach area". We woke up Tuesday, May 15th to a group of about 200 6th graders. The second two days we made plans NOT to be there for the early part of the day and avoided to rush.
May 23, 2018
Lots to see, lots to do, not enough time. Excellent family orientated facility. Staff extremely helpful. Campground very clean. Would stay again in a heartbeat!!!
May 23, 2018
Very beautiful campground! Will be back in the future!
May 23, 2018
Wonderful staff, beautiful well maintained campground. one of the best places I have ever stayed. Definitely recommend that people stay here that are looking for a place with lots of things to do and where staff will take care of you.
May 22, 2018
No pull through available. I always ask for pull through because my husband has a vision problem, therefore I am sure I asked for that at time of reservation. Could have been a serious problem.
May 22, 2018
We had a great time! Nice and Clean campground and cabin.
May 22, 2018
Amazing staff and campground!
May 22, 2018
Annual camping/birthday trip for my 2 kids, 10 & 11. Great time! Friendly staff! We made some good memories and are overall pleased with our stay :)
May 22, 2018
Bath houses were very clean and everyone was so helpful!
May 21, 2018
May 21, 2018
Convenient location for recumbent bicycle rally. I will be back next year for sure.
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award