Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email This Campground

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Mar 31, 2018
Our vacation was GREAT as always. Nice to see all the improvements done since last spring. Especially enjoyed the new swing at our camsite (30). Awesome staff as usual. Hopefully will be back in February!
Mar 31, 2018
Mar 30, 2018
The camp ground is very nice! It’s one of our favorites and we will definitely be returning. The staff is friendly, the sites are clean and the bathrooms are clean.
Mar 30, 2018
Staff was very friendly. Place was very clean. Enjoyed our stay.
Mar 30, 2018
Everyone very nice we loved the campground very family friendly can’t wait to go back.
Mar 29, 2018
First time using a KOA. Townsend KOA is a beautiful and quite campsite with exceptional, helpful and friendly staff. Highlights for myself included waterfront areas and finding Pileated Woodpeckers on site to photograph. Easy access to bike trails , Cades Cove and hiking trails. Great place!
Mar 29, 2018
Everyone at the KOA was incredibly happy, friendly, and helpful! Even when they seemed busy, they stopped to say hello and chat for a bit - even with the kids! The whole campground was clean, cozy, and incredibly comfortable! My kids had such a great time, they cried when we left!
Mar 29, 2018
This was our first stay here and we will definitely be back! Super friendly staff. Very clean facilities!
Mar 29, 2018
Mar 28, 2018
Everyone was very helpful and nice. We really enjoyed our stay. Except for the weather and you can't control that. haha
Mar 27, 2018
The front desk staff was very nice and super helpful. She was so thoughtful about our pets. The deluxe cabin is small but super clean and has everything you’d need to be pampered after a day in the GSM.
Mar 27, 2018
Mar 27, 2018
Mar 26, 2018
Staff is very friendly and take pride in keeping the entire campground clean. We stayed in a deluxe cabin on the river that allowed pets. It isn't roughing it but we wanted the peacefulness of the river while having a bathroom and warm dry bed (since it was cold and raining). We have already decided to book another trip but stay at least 3 days. The cabin was stocked with more than listed. Fab
Mar 25, 2018
Very nice campground and extremely friendly staff. My only complaint is the closeness of the different sites. There is not a lot of room between each campsite.
Mar 25, 2018
My son and I spent the night there and went hiking on Sunday. The cabin saved us from sleeping out in the rain and hail!
Mar 23, 2018
Beautiful quiet and relaxing. Can't wait to get back to Townsend KOA
Mar 21, 2018
Perfect 10 day stay. All the host were so very nice, and very easy to work with. Exceptionally clean! Beth is the best��entire campground is kept up daily. Park entrance less than a minute from campground. Perfect amenities, on Little River...what could you possibly ask for? Perfect location-with laundry and country store-fudge-firewood delivery! The best!!!! Will be back soon
Mar 21, 2018
Mar 19, 2018
Wonderful location and friendly and helpful staff.
Mar 19, 2018
The staff were so kind, polite and helpful. The grounds are well kept and beautiful. We will be back many times.
Mar 19, 2018
My family had a great time , weather was perfect
Mar 19, 2018
Only stayed for a night to get familiar with our new camper. Could not have been more pleased with the staff and park. Will definatly visit again.
Mar 19, 2018
Excellent grounds staff!! Nice and clean.
Mar 19, 2018
Very pleased! Location is perfect to stay out of a lot of traffic and be in Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge, Maggie Valley or Knoxville in just a few minutes. Staff bent over backward to help us set up. Reservations were the easiest I have ever made. Can't say enough about pleasantness and accommodations of the camp ground. Pleasantly surprised about the WiFi and cable connections. I definitely be back.
Mar 19, 2018
Excellent facility. Clean with top notch service
Mar 18, 2018
Very nice place
Mar 17, 2018
Mar 17, 2018
Wonderful, friendly staff. Clean, attractive campground. Kids loved the playground, and dog park was great for the pups!
Mar 16, 2018
We love the cabins and when we tent camp we love those spots too! It’s close to everything in the Smokies however Townsend is so peaceful. Everything is always clean And everyone is very friendly and helpful.
Mar 16, 2018
Only one thing to improve, and it is simple. Turn up the hot water temp for the showers. Just 10 degrees would make a world of difference.
Mar 16, 2018
Continue to make improvements and continue to love this place!
Mar 16, 2018
The campground is tidy, attractive, and well-maintained. The staff members are awesome—including the folks at the little store. Check-in was very easy, and we were guided to our site by a staff member who sssisted us in parking the trailer. Firewood was delivered to our campsite, and propane gas was added to our tanks while they were still mounted to the travel trailer. Great place to stay!!
Mar 10, 2018
Everything was great except the showers The showers were extremely cold and this just made things so much worse when it’s 20 degrees outside. We paid extra money for the extras koa offers and wouldn’t do so again
Mar 06, 2018
Each off season, Mark and the staff continue to make major upgrades and improvements to this KOA. After seeing the work on the river front sites, this year is no exception. Hands down the best KOA I've ever been to!
Mar 04, 2018
Wonderful stay! Great staff, beautiful grounds, we will definitely be back!
Feb 28, 2018
we enjoyed our stay very much staff was very helpful in all ways grounds was very clean and restrooms was will taking care of
Feb 27, 2018
Had a really great time just not long enough. Everyone working there was extremely nice. Campground was very clean and well taken care of. I had a really great visit
Feb 27, 2018
Feb 26, 2018
It was a very nice Campground with many amenities.
Feb 26, 2018
Well kept clean campground, friendly staff, and great weather during our stay. Loved the hiking and biking. Will definitely be back.
Feb 26, 2018
Feb 26, 2018
The campground was under some construction, but it was still top notch. The workers were very friendly and helpful. The river front site we had was amazing. Have already made reservations to go back in May!!!
Feb 25, 2018
Had a great time. Had to leave a day earlier than we wanted due to sickness. But still had a great time. Thank you
Feb 23, 2018
Feb 23, 2018
Great campground!! Great campsite!
Feb 22, 2018
Employees are very helpful,
Feb 21, 2018
It is so clean and the staff was so friendly and helpful with everything.
Feb 20, 2018
Great cabin and location! We only stayed for one night but we will definitely be back!
Feb 19, 2018
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award