Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 27, 2017
I like Mike (Shorty), he was very helpful in getting us to our site.
May 27, 2017
This was our first time staying at a KOA Campground and we were absolutely thrilled! Had a Deluxe Cabin - it was so cute!! Everything we needed, spotlessly clean, and the staff were extremely helpful in every way. We'll definitely be back next year. Thanks so much for a job well done, KOA!
May 27, 2017
Great as usual , See you again !
May 27, 2017
We have stayed here every year for at least 8 years. Very family friendly, always willing to help if you need anything. The staff are wonderful. Beautiful campground and excellent location.
May 27, 2017
Loved our site!!! We were right on the river and the site was beautiful! When we arrived everyone was very friendly. Was a little worried about giving my husband directions to back into the site as it was a little odd, but we had a very nice staff member Marshal get him in and it was perfect!! Loved this place!! Definetly recommend staying here!!
May 26, 2017
May 26, 2017
Attentive & helpful staff. Nice dog park and walking areas. Park is kept neat and clean
May 26, 2017
Awesome location on the river and near hiking trails in GSMNP. Good family restaurants within walking distance and bike trail across the road.
May 26, 2017
We have stayed at the Koa twice now and both times have been wonderful. The staff makes sure everything is perfect.
May 26, 2017
May 25, 2017
We really enjoyed the quiet campground. The employees were extremely nice and helpful. We would especially like to thank the helpful, bearded, southern gentleman, who escorted us to our lot, for his wonderful directions on getting to Interstate 40. If we ever get to the Smokey Mt again we will be staying with you!
May 24, 2017
Staff is very friendly and helpful; sites are roomy, level, and landscaped beautifully; loved the showers: facilities are always clean and functional. Grounds are beautiful: plants, flowers, mature trees, decks on some riverfront sites, and some rustic fences.
May 24, 2017
Always amazing. Beautiful place with lots of great people.
May 23, 2017
I like the Townsend KOA for its location and the friendly staff. There is solitude, yet, plenty to do and in a great area for exploring.
May 23, 2017
River front lots are much to close together. People on lot 12 were very noisy after quiet time hours. When we stay again it won't be on a river front lot. The lots on the doggie run side of park were much nicer.
May 23, 2017
I would have given it 5 stars but the wifi was not consistent.
May 23, 2017
Absolutely delightful! The staff and crew were everywhere all the time, greeting, assisting constantly on watch to ensure a superb visit was had by all guests. The care and concern for the comfort and beauty of the grounds were outstanding.
May 23, 2017
Wonderful campground!! Craig showed us to our beautiful riverside site and insisted on helping us to rotate our popup 180 degrees with his four wheeler so that we would wake up to the view of the river. Thanks, Craig and Townsend KOA!!
May 23, 2017
Fantastic campground. Well maintained and everyone was friendly!
May 23, 2017
We had a wonderful experience our 1st time staying in a camping cabin
May 23, 2017
Prettiest park ever. Just difficult roads to destination. Very clean!
May 23, 2017
Our stay was great, staff was super friendly. Cabin was nice and clean
May 23, 2017
The view is cluttered with weeds and bushes cabin 5 so you could it see the river setting on the porch, the coffee pot did not work and the door knob was broken, had to get someone to open it. Check in was a night mare. They offered a discount and I had to ask for it when he over charged me. Campground clean cabin clean workers friendly place next to the hwy so little noice. Over all nice place
May 22, 2017
Great place to stay. The showers, restrooms, and dishwashing station are fabulous!
May 22, 2017
The place was really nice but changing the price on us after we booked and had a receipt, was very unprofessional
May 22, 2017
great campsites & very clean shower houses
May 22, 2017
May 22, 2017
This was our first family camping trip with our son and it was amazing. Very clean, beautiful views and the staff was wonderful.
May 22, 2017
Beautiful setting on a river, friendly and helpful staff, large clean showers, bike trails accessible from campground, near entrance to Smoky Mountains park and 10 minutes from Cade's Cove. I'll be staying here next time.
May 22, 2017
Clean Restrooms, great site. We don't have kids but there were plenty of activities for them away from our site so we could enjoy the day in peace.
May 22, 2017
May 22, 2017
LOVE this campground!!!! Love all the trees and being so clo se to the river! Kudos to all of the staff - very friendly, accommodating and helpful!
May 22, 2017
We have camped at this campground since our kids were lil & now we have grandkids.we have always been made to feel @ home here with friendly service.however this yr our ck in lady was extremely rude & hateful both to myself my grown daughter & my very quiet husband.The guy that came to tell us about pending Storm was very nice !!!& Helpful. Looking for friendly people when we camp:)
May 22, 2017
May 21, 2017
WE LIKE COMING TO TOWNSEND. PEOPLE ARE SO KIND AND HELPFUL. THE PARK IS NICE AND CLEAN... I LIKE THE NEW BATHROOMS BY THE CABINS. WE STAY THERE AND THEY SURE ARE HANDY,,
May 21, 2017
Clean! Clean! Clean! The grounds,the bathrooms and the showers. Excellant staff! Very efficient and very professional! We will definitely come back!!
May 21, 2017
It was so beautiful and clean and the staff is extremely nice and helpful. I got engaged there by the river. Ill never forget it. It was an amazing experience.
May 20, 2017
Beautiful campground. Love all the trees, landscaping and how clean it is. Helpful staff. Nice pool, laundry was great, and enjoyed the fudge cookie store. Wonderful that it was so close to Smoky Mountain national Park and Townsend. Nice quiet town also. We could live without the noise of t the leaf blower's! Thanks so much!!!
May 20, 2017
the hospitality was great. Our stay was quiet and relaxing. Will be back.
May 20, 2017
This KOA was our final stop last year and our first stop this year. We had a site on the river,very peaceful watching the river and family of geese with 4 babies. The national park service provided a class for school children and repeated a portion for us after the children left. It was very interesting. Will return.
May 20, 2017
Very nice
May 18, 2017
Without a doubt, the best campground in the Smokies!!!! Staff is friendly and helpful. Sites and facilities always clean.
May 17, 2017
We stayed in a deluxe cabin this trip. No BBQ tools came with the BBQ provided, & a live-in staffer loaned us his. Wonderful gesture!
May 17, 2017
We have been coming for 14 yrs. love it but the prices are getting high.
May 17, 2017
Very nice campground, but very expensive!!
May 17, 2017
The lady that completed our check in was extremely friendly and helpful.
May 17, 2017
Beautiful well kept park. Hope to go back soon. Everyone friendly and helpful
May 16, 2017
We had a wonderful time. We stayed on a beautiful site on the river. The Koa workers went way beyond making sure we had a good time.
May 16, 2017
Excellent campground and staff!
May 16, 2017
Was great
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award