Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email This Campground

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 08, 2018
Glamping for sure. The people that work there treated us like family. They even sent someone out to us while we were setting up to let us know they had a cancellation on the spot we really wanted. Above and beyond great customer service throughout the stay. Super clean, neat and new. We felt very comfortable letting the kids run around and ride bikes. Can't wait to go back. The Rose Family
Oct 08, 2018
Only problem we had was within the first 5 minutes of us being there my husband stepped in dog crap.. There were 3 different places where we saw it within our small site. If people have their animals camping they need to clean up after them.
Oct 08, 2018
Oct 08, 2018
Beautiful campground, friendly staff, excellent restroom facilities, excellent location for seeing Great Smoky Mountain National Park
Oct 08, 2018
Oct 08, 2018
We had a wonderful stay at KOA Townsend. The site was wonderful and the whole campground was well cared for. The staff was superb—very helpful when we had questions or requests.
Oct 07, 2018
We arrived on Sunday afternoon. As soon as we had registered, 2 KOA staff members led the way to our campsite and assisted us in backing in to our site. We very much appreciated that! Very friendly and helpful staff. The campground was decorated for autumn which was delightful. This was our first experience with this campground, and it definitely won’t be our last!!
Oct 07, 2018
Great stay at a great campground! Best service.
Oct 07, 2018
Great as always, very well run, we had a problem with out camper jack and they had one that we could borrow.
Oct 07, 2018
Oct 06, 2018
nice campground except you can let your kids drive around on those battery operated cars with plastic wheels. even 3 and 4 year olds driving down the road.
Oct 06, 2018
We love to stay at KOA because it is always clean & the workers are so helpful helping us set up our camper.
Oct 06, 2018
We had a great time. Very well kept and clean. Just wish the pool had still been open.
Oct 06, 2018
The stay was great and had a good time with our grandkids, �� however, wanted to stay one extra day which was October 1st she said due to the October price change and time of year the price would be almost be $40 more than I paid the on the previous day. $90 plus, we thought that was out rages to bring up the price that high due to the time of season, plus the fall colors were not even showing.
Oct 06, 2018
The spots were very tight. We were tent camping and I don’t understand why showers were clear across the campground since it’s mostly tent and cabin campers who use the showers. That being said, the staff was the sweetest group of people and the facility spotless and beautifully decorated!
Oct 06, 2018
The staff was very helpful. The restroom facilities were very clean as well as the park grounds. Beautiful campground. We will be back.
Oct 06, 2018
Everything about our stay was wonderful. Campground is neat and clean. People are friendly and helpful. The only negative is the cost for the experience. The value could be improved by lowering the cost a bit.
Oct 05, 2018
Very nice ,friendly staff especially Adam,Jeff? Aka smiley
Oct 05, 2018
It was our honeymoon, we had a great time. It was very clean, employees were very friendly.
Oct 05, 2018
Appreciate assistance in getting camper parked on site and shower rooms very roomy. Staff very accommodating and FRIENDLY! AWESOME Stay.
Oct 05, 2018
Gorgeous place! We will be back for sure! Staff was incredible...
Oct 05, 2018
GREAT
Oct 04, 2018
Outstanding KOA, We have been there many times and it has always been a great experience.
Oct 04, 2018
Have stayed before and would stay again. Great setting and convenient. The bathrooms and showers were not as clean as in the past.
Oct 04, 2018
Loved the area but sites way too close together! Was afraid neighbors fire pit was going to burn our slide out!
Oct 04, 2018
Recently stay two nights in a tent site by the river. Everything was beautiful! The campground is very clean and family friendly. It's a little more expensive than camping in the park, but the convenience of having stores and restaurants so close by as well as the ability to take a hot shower are well worth the extra cost. Would definitely stay here again!
Oct 04, 2018
Restrooms and showers were nice and clean. Campground was clean and nicely decorated for fall.
Oct 04, 2018
Oct 03, 2018
I hate to give a great review because more people will want to stay here. The owners and staff are unbelievably friendly and they bend over backwards to make your stay as smooth as possible. This is the only place we will stay. Already reserved our sites for next year. Keep up the great work.
Oct 03, 2018
The staff was wonderful and always very helpful, already booked for next September.
Oct 03, 2018
Oct 03, 2018
As always, we had a great time and the staff members were wonderful.
Oct 03, 2018
Bed sheets did not fit correctly, kept waking up with bottom sheet wadded up. Very uncomfortable! Cabin we had has no place to hang clothes, unlike others we had before. We will ask for different cabin next time. We were in cabin 10. Everything else was fine we enjoyed our trip.
Oct 03, 2018
Oct 02, 2018
Mark, Adam, Craig, Dominick, Dan.all were working hard to keep the No..1 KOA campground ranking in the USA (God's Country Townsend Tenn and Great Smoky Mountains) All the Ladies at the front desk did an "Outstanding" job helping my wife out in changing reservations for next year. I would give everyone a bonus or week paid vacation if I were in charge. Mark keep up the great work you do! Ron S
Oct 02, 2018
The campsites are too close to each other and there's no privacy at all. We were right by the water and strangers kept walking by our camper. We wanted to leave after our first day.
Oct 02, 2018
We love this campground! This was our third stay at the Townsend/Great Smokies KOA. The employees are VERY NICE and helpful. Adam has helped us to our site the last two visits and he is awesome! The grounds are very meticulously taken care of and the location is so convenient to the National Park, restaurants in Townsend and Wears Valley Road. We look forward to our next visit in September 2019!
Oct 02, 2018
We enjoyes staying in a diffeent part of the campground than we stayed in the past. It is fun to see the new improvements each time we stay.
Oct 02, 2018
We love this campground, the river and the wonderful employees who go ‘above and beyond ‘ to help with anything we need!!
Oct 02, 2018
We had a great time! The only complaint that we had is that my son and daughter in law stayed in camping cabin cc3 and they said it was very musty and had mold. They were a little dis appointed in that
Oct 02, 2018
The stay was great, Adam met us at the entrance and took us to the site. We didn’t like the one he had for us and requested a new one and he radioed headquarters and got us a new site. We had a great time and the staff was very friendly and responsive to any requests.
Oct 02, 2018
It’s was great!!!
Oct 02, 2018
The camping cabin was a great place to stay. We especially enjoyed the new restrooms instead of the portable one!
Oct 02, 2018
We stayed in a cabin it was clean amd cute. We had fun making smores and doing the hayride. We had been looking forward to campground activities but the only one they had while we were there was the hay ride.
Oct 02, 2018
I have stayed there many times in the past and I love the improvements you have made. I really liked the fact that you had someone lead us from the entrance to our site and assist us in backing into our site. Can't wait to see you soon.
Oct 02, 2018
We stayed here a few years ago and liked it then so decided to come back when hurricane Florence changed our plans. We were so glad we did. They have made wonderful improvements and we really love it. It is so close to the entrance to Smoky Mountain National Park and so easy to get to other areas. We will definitely return when we come that way again.
Oct 01, 2018
We try to stay with you at least twice a year and we love it. One of the two best campgrounds in the KOA system.
Oct 01, 2018
First class all the time!!
Oct 01, 2018
Arrived on Saturday and departed on Saturday (1 week stay). Arrived at about 10pm but the host was there to assist and guide us in which was a lifesaver! Beautiful facility/grounds. Great area to ride bikes, walk dogs.Parking is tight and the spaces are tight is the only negative. All employees extremely helpful, professional, and go that extra mile. Already made my reservations for next year!
Oct 01, 2018
Great facility with an outstanding staff. The river front cabins are excellent, well maintained and just perfect. The staff goes out of the way to see that your stay is just the best that it can be.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award