Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 19, 2017
Extremely relaxing. Didn't want to leave, and everyone was so friendly!
Jun 19, 2017
Very clean, pleasant staff, and great campground!
Jun 19, 2017
We really enjoyed staying at the Townsend KOA. My only complaint is that our patio was right next to the main road so it was a bit noisy and not as peaceful as we'd hoped. Thank you for a memorable Father's Day weekend with our kids!
Jun 19, 2017
Wonderful experience, super clean and employe had great attitudes.
Jun 18, 2017
El único inconveniente es que los sitios de parking son demasiado estrechos y muy juntos unos con otros, por lo demás muy lindo campground
Jun 18, 2017
The toilet paper was bad and the water wasn't hot all the time. Other than that I LOVED it!!! It is the best place to stay in the Smokies😊
Jun 18, 2017
Clean cabin, helpful staff, beautiful site!
Jun 18, 2017
Everything was clean. The people were friendly and it is the perfect location!
Jun 17, 2017
Kids loved it,and it was very clean,already booked for next year
Jun 17, 2017
It was a great place to stay. We loved our site, the employees were friendly and the amenities were very nice.
Jun 17, 2017
Very clean and well maintained park. Beautiful!!! Kind and courteous camp staff. Amazing stay!!! Would highly recommend
Jun 17, 2017
The campgrounds and the staff where all top drawer. Mike and Marshal went above and beyond to aid us when we had a malfunction in our MH. The grounds where beautiful and well kept.
Jun 17, 2017
Beautiful place! Very helpful& visible staff. Sites are easy to enter but somewhat small; pool small too but very clean with nice chairs. Pros: store, ice cream shop, river for tubing, close to businesses, some nice cabins,lots of shade, hook-ups easy to access. Great place to stay!
Jun 16, 2017
Another great stay!
Jun 16, 2017
Loved every day employees friendly,very helpful, most people friendly be back next yr
Jun 16, 2017
Wonderful campground with super helpful staff who go above and beyond to make sure you're stay is great. Highly recommend!
Jun 16, 2017
It's a beautiful place the staff is as friendly as they come. And it's in our top two as being "CLEAN"!
Jun 15, 2017
Great, as usual!
Jun 14, 2017
The best KOA in the USA. Loved it clean,very friendly,perfect area.
Jun 14, 2017
We enjoyed our stay as we always have in Townsend, however it would of been nice if the grass area behind sites 3-9.It needed mowing when we arrived and was not mowed during our 6 day stay. We still think it's a great camping facility. Thanks
Jun 14, 2017
Jun 13, 2017
Enjoyed our stay. Made a reservation for the fall
Jun 13, 2017
Great stay
Jun 13, 2017
Nice KOA with a pool, nice river, big kool playhouse, dog pen, float a long the river offer. Must be the best? Nice warm showers. I slept in basic cabin with AC. Next time I would go for a cabin a long the river.
Jun 13, 2017
I have a complaint and I emailed it. Please respond .
Jun 13, 2017
Very clean , family oriented camp ground . My shoot out to the men who take you to your camp sight and help you park your camper ! I had to back in to a tight space and my guide was the BEST. And he had the cutest ship tzu dog . He was just a champ , I asked him if he wanted to do it and I think he thought I was being mean , but finally he understood that with out him i couldn't do it !!!thanks
Jun 13, 2017
This campground was so beautiful. The people running this KOA were very nice and helpful too. If in the area again, would definitely stay here
Jun 13, 2017
Very nice, clean camoground in excellent location on the Little River. Very conveniently located near National Park.
Jun 13, 2017
Ladies in front office are angry and bitter. They are busy yet cant answer phone. We happened to arrive late and i have cancer i couldnt get up and out of cabin on time we were moving to a tent slipbut because of mean women we left koa. And i wasnot credited my tent spot of 40$. I will not recomend although sites are great front office lost you my fam8lys trips
Jun 12, 2017
The staff was very friendly. The site on the river was excellent. The sewer connection was a little misplaced and uphill from my connection on my rv. You could use more shower houses with a better location than where there are located. They need to be placed closer to the campers that need them. Thanks, was a great week.
Jun 12, 2017
It is a great place for kids. We were right by the river and the activities were nice for the kids. Plenty of shade and mature trees there. The front desk is very helpful.
Jun 12, 2017
Had a great week. This is the kids favorite place to camp. Couldn't ask for a better staff.
Jun 12, 2017
My friends and I went up to Townsend for The Crawl and the mini bikes. We had such a phenomenal experience! All of the employees went above and beyond for us the entire time, even when registering for the camp site. They stopped to chat with us about our bikes and we all really bonded. The site was beautiful and everything was clean and the showers are fantastic! We'll be back again next year!
Jun 12, 2017
I can't say enough how wonderful my family's KOA experience was! Beautifully run campground and cabins. We will definitely be back!
Jun 12, 2017
Have been to Townsend many times, but thought KOA was a little pricey. It is well worth it. Much nicer and a very relaxing atmosphere. Love the dog park! Excellent playground. Loved the middle sites with the brick patio and fire pits. Walking distance to some good sweet treats.
Jun 12, 2017
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jun 12, 2017
Had a great time, very close to Cades Cove. Campground family freindly, plenty for kids to do. Kids 12 and 17, on way home were already asking when we could come back. All staff was very freindly and helpful.
Jun 12, 2017
Best campground we've stayed in. Everyone was super friendly and the campgrounds were immaculate. We were very comfortable and can't wait to return!
Jun 12, 2017
We visited this campground with 3 motorcycles and we were treated like children and watched our whole trip. Couldn't enjoy our stay with staff breathing down our neck the whole time.
Jun 11, 2017
Beautiful campground! We loved the landscaping around EVERY campsite and the dog playground was awesome for our little Yorkies. The people working were awesome in every way to help us with anything we needed. We truly enjoyed our stay. Best campground we have ever stayed in and we will be back in November!
Jun 11, 2017
Wonderful place for families
Jun 11, 2017
Great spot for families!
Jun 10, 2017
The weather was nice even when we got news of a bad wind storm. The actives for the kids and adults was "GREAT" we really enjoyed what they provide for us, they were the best!
Jun 10, 2017
Great campsite. Friendly staff, clean facilities, lots to do on campground
Jun 10, 2017
really meant for families with children
Jun 10, 2017
We stayed in a 2 room camping cabin. Wifi worked well, larger than expected refrigerator. Cabel tv picture was clear with many channels. Great location and surrounding area. Friendly staff, even after I had a portable potty tank accident in the bathroom. Clean showers and bath rooms. I can't really complain about anything. Maybe some new picnic tables but that's it.
Jun 09, 2017
Are stay was great, every thing was clean, and lots to do. Also just 25 min from pigeon forge/Gatlinburgh
Jun 09, 2017
Very friendly staff. Very clean. Lots of activities for kids. Ice cream was a huge plus!
Jun 09, 2017
Very clean,you need to spend the extra money to get the better site, we stayed in 47 some of the less expensive sites are small and tight
Jun 08, 2017
Been coming here for 22 years. I think that says it all!
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award