Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email This Campground

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 27, 2017
We had a spot on the river. Simply gorgeous! The spots not on the river were really nice with spacious patios, wrought iron table in chairs and fire pits. We gave up those amenities to be on the water. We had a picnic table, gravel and an iron ring for fire, but the view was worth it not only for the view but to play. There was a pool and a playground though no scheduled activities for kids.
Aug 27, 2017
All the staff at Townsend KOA are pleasant and helpful, the site is neat and clean you could not ask for a better campground. This was the extension of our original stay to find our lost cat, the staff was very helpful and found our cat on the first day of our extension.
Aug 26, 2017
Aug 26, 2017
We were there for the eclipse. Our second visit here from Ohio this year. Beautiful clean campground. Nicely laid out sites. Shower house spotless. Beautiful river. Super close to GSMNP. Quiet, mature trees. Our new favorite campground.
Aug 26, 2017
Enjoyed the deluxe studio cabin, compact but very nice. GREAT access to GSMNP and the Little River, which is so beautiful. The people who run this particular camp are friendly and helpful. This place is perfect for families. All in all, a great stay. -- Chris and Tony
Aug 26, 2017
Aug 25, 2017
KOA people were great, also the nicest, and cleanest KOA we"d been to, (been to about a dozen) However made reservations 10/16 for the Eclipse in 8/17 and still payed $100+ a night, also, you had to buy their firewood at $8 for a small bundle(15-20 mins worth) bathrooms only had 2 stalls, and like the showers, had inadequate ventilation, be glad to stay again but not at that price
Aug 25, 2017
The place was great. We stayed for the solar eclipse and it was fully booked. The staff was helpful and friendly. Great time
Aug 25, 2017
Aug 25, 2017
Great people, great sites, great facilities and a total eclipse to boot. Bravoð
Aug 25, 2017
This is an absolutely GORGEOUS camp ground with a wonderful location. We camped our tents and had a site right next to the river. The site however was on gravel and we could not get our tent steaks in the ground. Walked right up to the store and bought some gallons of water to hold it down, but still an inconvenience..but overall had a wonderful experience!
Aug 25, 2017
Awesome site and great staff. Perfect place to watch the eclipse
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
Great campground in a beautiful mountain setting. Our family spent five nights here for the total eclipse and had a great time! Tubing was great and pool was awesome! Very friendly and helpful staff, real nice people. Would definitely return if ever in that area again! 5 stars!!!
Aug 24, 2017
Best campground in Townsend! Friendly, accommodating staff, beautifully kept grounds and sites, awesome pool and playground, and great location to activities. Can't wait to go back!
Aug 24, 2017
We'll kept facilities and although it was a busy time with the weekend and the eclipse there were no issues... Friendly staff...
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
Wonderful :)
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
We had a great time. Loved our spot & the sweet patio area. It was clean and good sized. The river was a bonus. The only thing that upset me (and this isn't the KOA's fault) was too many pet owners did not have their dogs on a leash. A bulldog actually ran out from its site and attacked my leashed mini labradoodle as we were out for a walk. She is fine, but we were very upset to say the least.
Aug 23, 2017
Fantastic stay - loved the cabin right on the river and the easy access for tubing.
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
Friendly staff and a beautiful setting with lots to do! Renovations are beautiful, they really keep on top of it and it has a resort feel. Highly recommend! :)
Aug 23, 2017
The cabin was outstanding! Very clean, comfortable, and it felt like home.
Aug 23, 2017
The staff was very helpful. The facilities were clean. Our teenagers had a great time playing basketball, frisbee, swimming, rafting, etc. Will definitely be back.
Aug 23, 2017
Beautiful campground along the entrance to the Smoky Mountains. Great staff, and well maintained.
Aug 23, 2017
Stayed four nights and had a great time. Campground well taken care of. Friendly staff very helpful. My only complaint: The WiFi is terrible. It's a blessing to be able to travel and work online. When a campground says it offers internet, it should be dependable.
Aug 23, 2017
The campground itself is very nice although over priced for a KIA in my opinion. The problem that we as well as other campers found was that the children at the playground were unsupervised and when we mentioned the noise level to a worker there, after 9 P.M. We were told that children need to let off steam and he was willing to do nothing about it. After 4 nights of this we were DONE. Very poor s
Aug 23, 2017
Great.....as usual!
Aug 23, 2017
Friendly staff. Beautiful accommodations. Great stay. We cannot wait to go back.
Aug 22, 2017
We have been camping here for years. It is a beautiful campground. They really do a nice job!!
Aug 22, 2017
Very well maintained. Nice staff. QUIET!!!!! long drive to Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg, but near Cade's Cove, IGA, and had great basic food within short distances. Would stay again when in Smokys
Aug 22, 2017
Townsend KOA was awesome. Environment was clean. Ambience was great, riverfront cabin was the best.
Aug 22, 2017
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Adam was knowledgeable and went out of his way to provide information that was very useful. The desk staff who checked me in was very courteous and sweet. The only problem we encountered was a rude and short tempered lady at checkout. Have no idea of her name but she had dark hair and rings on every finger. She refused to give me a paper receipt.
Aug 22, 2017
Great place to take the grandkids for a fun time.
Aug 21, 2017
This is our favorite campground. The staff are very helpful.
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Nice clean facilities, helpful staff, great location... we have always enjoyed Townsend, Cade's Cove and the Smokes...
Aug 21, 2017
This KOA is by far our favorite place to camp! We visit there at least once a year, but usually twice. It's always clean, things we love to do are nearby, and the staff is super friendly and helpful - with a special shout out to Adam, who always has a smile on his face! If I have a complaint at all, and it's not a complaint against KOA, it's that our last 2 visits we had rude neighbors!
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Very quiet atmosphere
Aug 20, 2017
One of the best campgrounds we ever stayed at. Everything was very clean and well kept. Would always stay here when in the area.
Aug 20, 2017
Aug 20, 2017
Wonderful staff and flat out the nicest campground we go to.
Aug 19, 2017
Aug 19, 2017
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Adam was great. The campgrounds and restrooms were clean.
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award